We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$36
View deal
Hotels.comUS$36
PricelineUS$36
Booking.comUS$36
eDreamsUS$36
Orbitz.comUS$36
TravelocityUS$36
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
3
13
15
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
13
15
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is probably the seediest and most awful hotel I've ever stayed in. I should note that I travel frequently, especially in Asia, so that I can compare. However, Ban Chiang was the worst I've ever been in.
1) They insisted in prepayment in full, although we had several major cards
2) Even the so-called "WiFi internet" must be paid daily in cash
3) Most staff does not even speak basic english
4) Rooms are shabby and worn out. Reasonably clean, but no upkeep for ages
5) Furniture is wobbly, outdated and uncomfortable
6) Pool is across the parking lot, only 3 deckchairs usable. the other dozen is broken. Staff pretends not to understand when asked politely for something (and yes, I DO tip for service, LOL)
7) Breakfast isn't worth getting up for. Dishes not all too clean, selection pretty limited, service non-existent
8) Room phones work only occasionally
9) WiFi internet is hardly usable. Permanently logs out users, is unsecured and doesn't allow VPN use. CRAP.
10) Bathroom can be best described as "yuckie". Repairs with different types of tiles, lots of silicone and plaster, residue of black moldy spots. Pipes leaking. Tub small and shower in tub, unfit to be used for people over 5 ft / 160 cm
11) TV approx from 1980, no HBO or alike available
12) For a daily rate of about 1100 Baht for a deluxe room it's not worth it.
I've stayed in pleasant 2-star accomodations, but this 3-star is really the seediest place I have ever been. The 3-star Napalai Hotel in Udon (which was booked out) is also well-worn, but with acceptable service and working equipment as well as edible food and nice pool.
The Ban Chiang can be recommended only for by-the-hour use, if at all.

Room tip: Choose Napalai Hotel or President Hotel when in Udon Thani
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel has a good name, easy and free parking at the back next to the swimmingpool
The pool is big but not heated, so in the colder days you will feel the water is cold, but in the most time it is comfortable. some locals and school swimming going on.
The hotel is international and good english speaking, a little outside the city center, so you will have to taxi. rooms are ok, but starting to get dated...The food is in a building next to the hotel, breakfast buffet, standard but ok, and dining outside is just ok, a little choice and most of the time no people... sometimes live music in the lobby, piano...
Tip, outside in the evening there is nothing to do..... or the spa in the basement...
Go at about 18:00 hrs look outside at the big tree, thousands of brids wil swerm around it finding a place to sleep a nice sight...
Greetings A.P.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronin080
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This is a huge hotel in the centre of Udon Thani with airport pickup free if you ask for it. The rooms are good for one night stop over but the enormous restaurant is full of mosquitoes and the food - although the selection is large - is poor. The windows in the rooms are completely sealed and therefore it smells a bit.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We always stay at this hotel. It is a few minutes walk from Prajak Park which is a great place for people watching and exercise, especially in the evening. It is also close to Udon Thani's finest restaurant "Good Everything". The hotel itself is a bit faded and in need of updating, but everything works and there are some English cable stations. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are top notch - very comfortable. Breakfast is adequate, if uninspired. The hotel has a Wine Cellar which is amazing, and we get wonderful, well-priced bottles of wine to take to dinner with us each evening. There is local transport (tuk-tuks) right outside the door, and a 7-11 right across the street to stock your minibar. Excellent value.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Reception a bit understaffed but OK, voucher/reservatíon was immidiately recognized, and check-in went smmothly.
Good, clean rooms, with all amenities, wi-fi only in the lobby, but generally very reasonable standard.
Very large breakfast buffet, with both asian and european food.
Nice central location.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangla-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews