We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two castles and an exciting boat ride.”

Uncle Sam Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Uncle Sam Boat Tours is part of the Thompson complex of businesses at the downriver (NE) end of James Street directly across the channel from the Boldt Castle.
Friday: We booked an 18 mile boat excursion to Singer Castle (9 miles down river) and Boldt Castle (immediately across channel) for Saturday (Singer only offered for Tue, Thur, Sat. at this shoulder season). Generously, we were offered complementary water taxi/shuttle service to Boldt Castle for Friday. (The weather for Saturday was questionable.) We leisurely enjoyed Boldt Castle and the Yacht House (separate admissions fees, self guided, stunning). Particularly beautiful views out the castle windows (framed photo opportunities). The shuttle crew was competent and friendly. The shuttle runs continuously. (5 stars for Friday)
Saturday: The wind was up and rain was threatening as we breakfasted at the adjoining Riley’s. The larger tour boats rode fairly steadily but one of the smaller boats was bobbing enthusiastically. I expressed concern to my wife about my potential seasickness if we took the smaller boat. The smaller boat was the one that was assigned to the Singer trip. We considered forfeiting our payment but elected to go. To avoid seasickness I sat on the lowest level, in the middle of the boat both fore and aft and side to side.
Our tour was to go downriver (NE), directly into the wind, to Singer Castle (first) and then return downwind to Boldt Castle (second). At the last minute, a shuttle group destined for Boldt Castle was ushered aboard our boat. We were detoured across the channel to drop them off at Boldt Castle.
We then headed NE into the wind. With the long fetch of the wind coming down the Seaway the waves were impressive. Out of nowhere a large wave crashed over the bow forcing open a forward starboard window. A second unusually large wave immediately followed. As we plowed into the face of the wave a spray of water burst through the open port onto the first two or three rows of passengers. Our gallant ship’s docent rose to secure the window just as a third wave struck.
I was impressed with the skill of our captain and surprised how well our spunky little craft handled fairly heavy waves. I did not get seasick.
Due to the detour and the limited speed due to the high waves, things felt a little rushed. We went to Singer Castle, did the tour with the house docent. (Period furnishings. No ongoing construction work. Not as impressive as Boldt. Difficult to get photographs without capturing members of the tour group.) Heading downwind we glided over the waves.
This evaluation is based upon my experiences and opinions. For this activity, the boat ride is one of the three attractions. If you do not like boats or fear the water, you probably will not fully enjoy this tour.

2  Thank SilverTravZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"singer castle"
in 123 reviews
"top deck"
in 42 reviews
"hour tour"
in 60 reviews
"great tour"
in 52 reviews
"dinner cruise"
in 25 reviews
"the river"
in 78 reviews
"boldt castle"
in 325 reviews
"thousand islands"
in 86 reviews
"snacks and drinks"
in 11 reviews
"uncle sam"
in 45 reviews
in 23 reviews
"snack bar"
in 21 reviews
"millionaires row"
in 17 reviews
"ticket booth"
in 10 reviews
"canadian waters"
in 14 reviews
"beer and wine"
in 9 reviews
"alex bay"
in 45 reviews

780 - 784 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Take the longer cruise and see it all. Time flew as the views and guide kept us entertained. They were just starting to board up island houses for the winter, so late spring, summer and early fall might be the best times.

Thank huckcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Uncle Sam's was a great way to see the river, island mansions and get a feel for the1,000 Island experience. We got the meal package. The food was a buffet , good but not special. The staff was very accomadating, the tour truly interesting. Trip included a stop at Bolt Castle a must see, love to see it when they finish the interior.
They have different size boats for different tours, this was fun.

Thank tompa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed the two nations boat tour. Good commentary from guide, infotmative and amusing. Snacks available on board. Good value.

Thank PremierPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

On Wednesday August 31, we inquired about tickets for the Millionaire’s row Cruise in Alexandria Bay. It was about 10:30 and we wanted to go on the 11:00 o'clock cruse. We were told that it was full but we could go at 3:00 or wait until tomorrow and go on the 11:00 cruse.

We chose to go on the 11:00 on Thursday and purchased a two tickets. When we arrived on Thursday around 10:30, we were told “ Sorry a couple of buses are coming in and you will have to go at 3:00.”

We had done everything I we wanted too do the day before and did not want to wait 4 .5 hours for another cruse.

Our money was refund, BUT we left very disappointed and frustrated>

3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

My apologies for your experience here at Uncle Sam Boat Tours. We have been trying to increase our bus business here in the 1000 Islands and have experienced "growing pains" along the way. One of those is the fact that last year we had to cancel several of our one hour tours due to the boat being full with our bus customers. We have now corrected that by adding an additional vessel to our fleet so that the buses will have their own boat. Please give us another try and see just how beautiful the 1000 Islands and St. Lawrence River really are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Sam Boat Tours also viewed


Been to Uncle Sam Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing