We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bay Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonnie Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Friendly staff, rooms are clean, in need of a little updating, and a microwave.
The outdoor pool area needed a few more umbrellas, only two, and 95 degrees out, so not much shade. The view from the pool would have been perfect except for the boats on trailers blocking the view of the water.
There were three resturants on site. The Pointe, which was on the water, nice place to get a burger, and relax and enjoy the view. The service here was great. The bartender pitched right in to help the waitress. The Mannor Resturant we used for breakfast. The first day the service was teririble. We didn't get our homefries with our meal, and when we asked for them only one order came out after the main entree was finished The second day it was great. Our server was plesant we got all of our food at the same time and didn't have to ask for anything. Different staff on the second
.All in all a nice place, Would go back again

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for a room on the water, and an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNSBRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank You for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, we appreciate your business and all feedback. I am sorry that your first breakfast visit wasnt what it should have been but I am glad you came back to try us again and were satisfied..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We called to make reservations in April 2013 for a stay in July 2013 . We were promised a room overlooking Boldt Castle and rooms next to each other , when We arrived the hotel started loosing point from the word go .... The reservation for my room was spelled incorrectly so upon arrival I was told I had no room , Then They didn't give us a room overlooking the castle , And My room was no where near the other group traveling in our party . ... The clerk at the hotel did try to make up for the error and he gave us rooms near one another but when we went to those rooms they were not the King Suites we had booked but standard doubles ,,, We decided it was more important to be near one another than to have king beds so we just dealt with it . .. But again we were to be quickly disappointed when we discovered that one of the two rooms was not clean the other non smoking room smelled like a wet dirty ashtray ... YUK ... so one of the rooms was moved again and housekeeping was sent in to clean the other . But again luck would have it that the air conditioning did not work .. we had finally had enough and wanted to speak to the manager as the front end clerks were trying .... but the many issues kept overcoming their abilities . The Hotel manager did come down to assist and within a few minutes gave us Jacuzzi rooms to compensate for the disaster of the day and the rooms overall were clean . Apparently as mentioned in previous reviews the hotel has changed hands and they are attempting to renovate the hotel and grounds and especially the staff , There were a few more glitches during our stay .. Like the Jacuzzi did not work in one of the rooms and a lamps were broken in another but as mentioned the manager did everything she could to help improve our stay ,, Overall I'd say a 7 out of 10 . for the hotel ... The restaurant was a 10+ for a fantastic brunch .. that's the only meal we had there but the manor house restaurant is amazingly beautiful , beautiful views and excellent staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryIusihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for giving me the oppurtunity to make things right with your stay. We truly appreciate your business and we are striving towards excellent customer service. Bonnie Castle is an amazing place to be and we Thank you for your business..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place has a new owner as of 2012. They have been fixing up the place. It has a new outdoor and indoor pool.The landscaping on the grounds has been improved as well as the dockside bar. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Staff was friendly. I have stayed here twice this year and will stay here again. The location is great being right across the river from the castle and it is an easy walk into Alex Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddyo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, we appreciate your business and your feedback. We are truly happy to have new owners that are so paasionate about the property and to bring it back to the glory it deserves. Thank you for your support..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

They are thieves and liars.

They charge me twice for a room after I asked them to put me in different room because mosquitoes were all over in the first room.

They called me at 12 mid-night to tell me I have occupied two rooms so they will charge me two times. After I talked to them directly they say it is fine and it is their mistake. But when I checked out they called me and said you will be charge again.

Look clean but old inside. But customer treatment absolutely zero. They literally ruined my 5-day vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aam49516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your recent Trip to Bonnie Castle, I am sorry you feel the customer service did not meet your needs. I would love the oppurtunity to discuss this with you, please feel free to contact me.
Thank You
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After 20 years my wife and I finally made it back to the 1000 islands and one of my old haunts in my younger days Alexandria Bay NY. We chose to stay at the Bonnie castle resort cause the rooms were very comfortable 20 years AGO THEY are as well now. We got an off season rate of 79 dollars and found the place very nice. I guess the resort had fallen into a state of disrepair until it was sold to new owners last year but the repairs that were made and the improvements were noticeable and that made our stay even more enjoyable. Thats not to say there were a few minor problems one of the light fixtures had a broken bulb and one of the towel bars were broken but they had it fixed in rather short order.
NOW room was a nice king bed very cozy the room it self was very very clean had a coffee maker in the room as well as a mini fridge . The restaurant was excellent a bit pricey but if the food is top notch which it was it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for the king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike_Yahwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

We are truly delighted that you chose to come back to the Bonnie Castle 20 years after your first visit. As you can see we are in the process of getting the glory back to the Resort. With the new owners in place and a staff that really cares about this place we have a winning combination for what it takes. We hope to see you again

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have heard this place has recently changed hands and it is easy to see. I stayed at this hotel in March and the staff did everything they could to ensure a comfortable stay amongst the repairs.

The views are the best in the area. The food was definitely without a doubt the best I have had in a long time. I STRONGLY recommend the food and have no clue how anyone could argue that. It is a little pricey but well worth it!

The place was out dated; however, you can see where the new ownership is doing everything possible to bring this place up to speed. I have to say I spoke to the owners and they have the heart it takes to make this place a castle again. To compare this place to everything else in the area, it is par to say the least.

The staff was amazing; since our visit was during off season Angie helped us find things to do and was the nicest person I have talked to in ages. If you have a problem with the staff at this place, I would recommend you stay at the Marriott in Watertown where we stayed the night before we stayed here and compare.

Room Tip: 1. ask for a recently updated room. 2. rooms on the river have a great view but the balcony's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrdahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Bonnie Castle Resort. We are truly blessed with new owners who care deeply about the facility and the community. Thank you for the oppurtunity to show you that we are heading in the right direction. We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I picked this hotel mostly because it's right on the St. Lawrence River, overlooking Alexandria Bay. It looks like the new owners have been putting some effort to fix the place up lately, but it does seem a little tired in certain ways. The place is actually in two different buildings - one closer to the river with a parking lot in between. We were in the building overlooking the working marina, which wasn't too scenic but didn't really bother us. A walk around the grounds was pleasant. Staff was extremely helpful. Not sure I'd go back right away, but the place does have some potential. If you do go, it's probably not a bad idea to spend the money and stay in a riverfront view room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BBailey182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Bonnie Castle Resort, we are striving for improvements every day. New ownership has been a blessing for the Resort, the owners really care about the facility and are working towards making this a hot spot once again. Be sure to check are facebook and web page for renovation updates. Thank You, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
578 reviews
10.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
12.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Address: 31 Holland St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1098
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands. A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina. Whether you're looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what's new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bonnie Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing