We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Right Track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnie Castle Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
United States - East Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“On the Right Track”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. Our experience was comfortable and enjoyable. Having called the hotel a couple of weeks before our stay, I found the service to be outstanding right from the initial phone call. The room descriptions by the reservationist were completely accurate. The hotel was quite sold out by the time I booked our reservation a couple of weeks before our stay. My requests were very specific. I was accurately informed of the view and the bedding of the rooms we stayed in for the weekend. Here's the way to go here - the hotel is updating itself. So, 1. request a renovated room, 2. be specific as to the view you expect. We found the restaurant to be needing updating. The view from the front porch of the restaurant is of Boldt Castle and the St Lawrence River. I really wonder why they have not put a bar outside at this one of a kind locations. Alex Bay needs an upscale outdoor bar - this could be it. The wrap around porch is reminiscent of a charmed period. While we were there a couple of employees, in particular, stood out to us - Courtney in the dining room has energy to spare and an attitude that beams brightness. And, Alice, the housekeeping manager was extra sweet in ensuring that we had everything we needed for our rooms. Overall, our weekend stay was super and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room. Be specific as to view you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank circledarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Bonnie Castle for your recent visit to Alexandria Bay. We appreciate your business and your feedback on the staff. We are striving for excellent customer service and I will be sure to share your experience with the staff you mentioned.
Thank You
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    273
    234
    94
    62
See reviews for
274
448
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very old and stale smelling. Seems dirty. We were married here 22 years ago, and expected at least a little updating in that time, but nothing has been remodeled since then. Yuk! Very disappointed. Booked another room for my nieces wedding, but decided to change hotels due to dirt and because we only needed 1 night not 2 (which the hotel requires). We called 5 days in advance and were informed we would be charged for 1 night since they have a 7 day cancellation policy. Be careful of a hotel that makes you stay for 2 nights and has a 7 day cancellation. Go to Riveredge... it's worth the price difference.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surprised010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on Bonnie Castle, please know that I am available 7 days a week to speak with a dissatisfied customer that has complaints. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of renovating Bonnie Castle and although we are not where we want to be yet, we have come along way and will get there. Please feel free to contact me so that I can help you with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I were there for the 4th of July holiday. Our room was a bit outdated but clean. The beds were hard, but we prefer softer bedding. We dined at the main restaurant each of the 3 nights we were there. The food and service were great. We had lunch one of the days at the Pointe Bar & Grill. Again, found the food and service to be great. Alexandria Bay is a quaint small town. Some reviews complained that the resort was like a "70's motel". All the resorts in Alexandrea Bay are setup like motels. Most are marinas and such. This was not a horrible place as some reviews make it out to be. My husband and I will return and recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, we appreciate your business. We also can appreciate that you can see we are moving forward and striving to make Bonnie Castle a Better Place. Nice to hear that you will reccomend us to your friends and that we will see you again. Thank You again
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was an okay place. Our room was okay but they really do need to renovate the place. The rooms look old and tired. There was a small fridge and coffee maker in the room. Wi-fi was really bad there. We ate at the restaurant there, Sunday brunch. The place was beautifully decorated, clean and a nice view. However the food was not good. My husband was the smart one and got an omelette made. I tried a few things to include the hot meat selection of ham and pork loin, over cooked and tasteless. I would choose another place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: I would not stay at this resort again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for trying Bonnie Castle, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, we are in the process of renovating the property and we still have more to do. Please try us again and I can assure you wont be dissapointed. As for the Sunday Brunch I have notified our Chef to make sure we do better. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
303 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This appears to be an older property that was refreshed. The location is great in Alex Bay, directly across from the Boldt Castle. Stayed in a standard room with King Bed. The room was very cramped but up to date. I should have looked at the Jacuzzi room as well. The price was correct I thought for the location and room size being high season. The room was clean, internet was strong, bed was very comfy and the flat screen TV was a pleasure. There are two pools and two restaurants on property. When traveling to Alex Bay, I recommend considering this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for posting your positive experience with us at Bonnie Castle, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After reading a lot of the reviews, I decided to give this place a chance. I was very taken back by this "resort." I had read review after review of how this place was renovated and completely redone. Maybe my definition of renovation is different than that of Upstate New York. The entire place screams creepy 70s motel. I had never been to Alexandria Bay and the area overall was a little behind the times, but I was very apprehensive to even stay the night after checking in. I did, however, and survived; but will never go back again.
At check in, a woman Bonnie, seemed very overwhelmed. There was a "glitch" in the website and they only had one river-view room. I was understanding and we were giving another room without a view. I gave my mom the river-view room. The paperwork to do so seemed like it was far too confusing for her to comprehend. After this was straightened out, we asked about the ferry to see the Boldt castle. She stated that the last boat was at 6pm and the castle was only open to that time as well. We had read online that it was open until 7:30 and she seemed to be surprised. We ended up purchasing the ferry tickets and asked the workers on the boat about the times. They confirmed that the last boat was at 7:20 and the castle was open until 7:30. It was baffling to me that the person at the front desk, selling the tickets, in a resort where you can see the castle, would not know the operating hours.
As for the rooms. Our first room had such a pungent odor of mildew or must or something along those lines that we had to change rooms. A different lady at the front desk was helpful and apologetic. The 2nd room had the same look, but without the odor. All of the furniture looked pretty old and the chairs were so stained and dirty that I was afraid to touch them. The Jacuzzi was a joke and was green like the 80s and was crammed into a small bathroom. This probably explains the odor in the previous room (not enough ventilation). The rooms did have a flat LCD Tv,
I could go on an on with things, like the restaurant.... but I think that gets the feel. I don't want people to be blindsided, like I was, thinking this was a nice little resort to stay in a quite town with a view of a castle. It's a rundown motel with a pretty view that needs a COMPLETE overhaul, not just new sheets and a LCD TV. Very sad since the place could have so much potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. I am sorry to hear of your dissapointment with our facility. We are working every day at making Bonnie Castle a better place to stay, please feel free to contact me so that we can talk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iroquois, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrival

We left home at 1:15 pm to get to Alexandria Bay for a 3 pm check in time, but the main reason was that being July 4th we knew it was going to be crazy and A. Bay didn’t disappoint us. Traffic was great and customs was quick, no line up at the border

Our Room

Check in was quick and efficient by the very attentive front office staff. We were given room 229 an end unit on the main level, which came with two double beds (which were very comfortable), desk/chair and a Led TV, also there is a area before the bathroom where there was a great mini fridge and a second sink with a mirror. Across from the sink was a good sized closet, the room itself was in excellent shape and kept that way by the great housekeeping staff. The view from the room was very nice too with a view of the St. Lawrence River

Bonnie Castle

Bonnie Castle is a good sized resort with 129 rooms many with Jacuzzis. The resort also has a pretty big pool which has been totally renovated from a very deplorable state it was in a couple of years ago. It is now a big bright area with enough chairs and very comfortable sun lounges for everybody . While we were there, they probably could have used a couple more umbrellas if it ever got very busy. They also have an indoor pool with a hot tub which we didn’t use this trip. The resort also includes 3 restaurants/bars for whatever mood you’re in. Manor House Restaurant for all your elegant dining, Riverside Sports Bar for all your sporting needs and The Pointe Bar and Grill for all your casual dining, where all the boaters hang out. The last two restaurants mentioned offer a Happy Hour from 4-6pm where domestic beer can be had for $2

Restaurants/Outings

I ate all my breakfasts at the Riveredge resort, not that I couldn’t get a good breakfast at Bonnie Castle but I thought the exercise would do me good. I wasn’t impressed with what I received from Riveredge in a way of messed up orders on a couple of occasions and very slow service on another

We had supper twice at The Pointe both the meals and service was good, we also did their Happy Hour once on a different occasion

We ate two of our other suppers at the Riverside Sports Bar where Sandy ate the Crab Cakes on one occasion and said they were the best she ever ate. Music was provided one night we ate there which just added to the enjoyment of the night. We also did stop by for their Happy Hour once.

At The Pointe and Riverside Sports Bar we noticed the prices to be very reasonable and you get a good deal for your money.

Another spot we visited a couple of times was the Top of The Bay which is about a mile from Bonnie Castle on the river where we had a couple of cold ones while watching all the boats come in and listening to great music

On the only rainy day we had, we went for our usual trip to Boldt Castle and once again learned something new about the place. It is always fun to go and see what work has been done.

Of course a trip to Alexandria Bay wouldn’t be complete without a day for shopping

Final Statement

Our trip to A. Bay was probably one of our best trips in a while, from the comfort of the room to the fine food/service and good times we had while making new friends with some of the staff this is the reason we will be going back at the end of the month for our anniversary

The trip home was uneventful, we stopped in Ogdensburg for gas and to hit Walmart for few things needed at home, after that Customs was a breeze

Room Tip: We have stayed here before and never had a room we didn't like, but I would ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. We have a dedicated staff and ownership that has tremendous passion for Bonnie Castle and we are striving to making this a better place every day. We look forward to having you again at Bonnie Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
541 reviews
10.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Property: Bonnie Castle Resort
Address: 31 Holland St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1098
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands. A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina. Whether you're looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what's new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bonnie Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing