We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a DUMP!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boardwalk Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Farmington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its a DUMP!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I walked into this dump hole and i see some crappy beds which got like pee stains on them.I open up the refrigerator and theres a dead bug in it. I decided then to open up the drawer under the tv and what do i find, crumbs in the drawer.Then as i walk to the other side of the room i feel a slant in the floor, i walk back up and it feels like i'm walking up stairs its so slanted. The cleanest thing in this room was a beat up chair which had like no cushion but i decided i was gonna sleep on that and i did. The beds where so hard and sqeaky wouldn't stop making noises.This has to be one of the worst places ive ever slept. This place is worst then a dump its trashy place mean't for homeless people i would have rather slept in a cardboard box then this place. Its a rip off to for this place, the otter creak inn is actually less money and is actually clean so stay there not here!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay at the riveredge inn or otter creek inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    16
    10
    30
See reviews for
24
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life!!!! Dirty, old, RIP OFF! Upon arriving to the Motel it looked ok...until we unlocked the door to our room. GOD what a dump!!! Unfortunately the whole town was sold out so leaving this DUMP wasn't an option. The first thing I did was check the bed. The bedspread and blanket were stained and soiled. There wasn't a mattress cover either. The carpet was so dirty that I didn't walk on the floor without my shoes on and the toilet had a ring inside the bowl leading me to believe that this DUMP didn't own the proper cleaning supplies. The air conditioner was in such bad shape it was being held together by electrical tape and sounded like a jet engine! So off we went to the Family
Dollar, for cleaning supplies and pillows, after stopping at the front desk to let the clerk know they needed to change the bed linens and how terribly disappointed we were in the cleanliness of the room.
Oh and by the way, they don't service the rooms!! They charged $170 a night and the was no maid service!!!

Room Tip: don't stay at this motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria Bay hotels

Webster, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This place was terrible. The carpet had dark stains over the whole thing, walls were completely banged up, bathroom floor was slanted, pool deck had loose boards, and pretty sure that was puke on the wall! Stayed there one night, then got our money back for the second night. It was $177/ night (including tax). Luckily we found that the Riveredge had a room and went there for our second night...and were very happy with those accomodations!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestOpinion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The location was good. The only good thing I can say. The room are oldswith peeling paint. The beds were creeky and not comfortable. I would never stay there again. The outside decks were uneven and caution with the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda14206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

First thought was a possible bate-and-switch when in the middle of booking the room, the woman said she was sorry, what she described wasn't $120, but $190. Well, we were last minute and it was my birthday so we took it. The location was great, a direct view of Boldt Castle and all the activities of the excursion boats, and from our "private dock" on our end unit (#9) we enjoyed the activities of all the boats and even live music from the Riveredge nextdoor. I the unheated pool was clean and perfect for cooling off (no towels provided) That's about all we enjoyed. The jacuzzi - an ancient jetted tub oddly squeezed into the bathroom; the fridge was frosted over. The bed was soft and dipped in the middle, the sheets were not fitted and came off all night; I sat in the sofa and sunk down about 2 ft, the floor was on a major tilt. NO toiletries but a waxy little wafer of soap, no extra toilet paper. No hairdryer, no iron. Coffee was in a ziploc bag. Worst yet - the sliding door did not lock and the chain lock screws were falling out of the frame. The door is jalousied glass with an unattractive plywood backing. Yeah, we feel very ripped off. No money or care is put back into this place. The shame is it has this great location with dockage and it is a dump.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bielbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I stayed there with 6 other couples. It's not the Ritz,but we didn't pay for the Ritz.The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant.If anyone needed extra towels etc they were provided quickly. My wife has a bad back and the bed was a bit hard for her they brought us extra comforters and blankets so she could sleep better. We could hear people coming in late,but there was no loud parties. It was quite quiet after 11. The location is great, you can walk to most resturants and nightlife. They provide grills if you wish to cook out and docks if you come by boat. I feel it was very good value. It's not for snobs,but bang for the buck it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room number 9 has a deck overlooking the river. Its a bit bigger as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

07/15/12: Just got home from a four day stay at the Boardwalk. Rooms are old and worn. Beds are soft. Furniture totally outdated. Really needs a total rehab. Went of owner looking for ice-bucket and was told they do not supply, but we could walk down the street and buy a cooler. Asked about ice machine and was told they did not have one, BUT: we could buy ice from him. Gee, isn't that interesting......
Owner charged credit card for four nights stay five hours before we even arrived. Not very professional as I see it. Made is sound like he was doing us a favor. Rooms are overpriced. Would recommend looking at The Ship Motel or Otter Creek Inn or if you would like something better; seek the Thompson.
Bottom line, serves me right for not taking an overnight ride and inspecting this place before my group made our reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
10.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Motel

Property: Boardwalk Motel
Address: 41 Walton St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1404
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing