We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outlander”
Review of Otter Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otter Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain Top, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outlander”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Located close to town, very convenient. Room & grounds are spotless & well maintained. Price is inline with other motels & inns in area. Having said that don't expect anything other than a basic room & amendments. If we where to visit again, we would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shotzysweetshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    107
    26
    12
    17
See reviews for
96
190
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When you price around for 1000 Islands, you quickly realize you have limited options, and pricing reflects that. We really couldn't find a great hotel/price, and anything in the area (Alex Bay) will not be chain or large corporation-run. I booked Otter Creek mainly from the reviews here on TripAdvisor. The thought of staying at a motel didn't appeal, but I thought I'd risk it.

In general, Otter Creek is a good bet. It is evident the ownership takes pride in the motel. Motels of course have a bad reputation in general, but this is a well-cared for place. There was none of the bad elements typically associated with motels at Otter Creek. Dennis (owner) was very accomodating, and provided great service. The room is basic. My only complaint was the quality of the comforter, blanket, and sheets. They were kind of warn, and it effected my sleep. However, my companions didn't have a problem.

Given the dearth of great hotels for 1000 Islands/Alex. Bay, Otter Creek was an acceptable choice, and I would recommend it, with the caveat that if you are used to indoor pools, Holiday Inn/Marriott etc level amenities, you are better off renting a place perhaps in Watertown, which is 30+ minutes away. But if you want something walking distance to Alex Bay/1000 Islands, Otter Creek Inn is a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ibookstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful value. Clean and well stocked rooms. Walking distance to everything! Boat docks and very helpful staff and owners! Lovely seating area with multi colored Adirondack chairs right on the Creek. Boat watching and sunsets are the best. We will go back to Otter Creek Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toritwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I arrived at the Otter Creek Inn on July 18th for a two night stay. I typically prefer to stay in a hotel or B&B, rather than an inn or motel, but having read all the reviews of how clean the rooms & how accommodating the owners are we decided to take a chance.

Accommodation is very pricey in this area in the peak season and the value of Otter Creek along with the majority of great reviews really made this place excellent value for a quick getaway. The owners were very friendly and greeted us on arrival. The lady provided us a map and recommended places to go for food and drinks, as well as live music venues. Our room was ready on arrival (about 4pm) and we were on our way.

The room is very clean with basic furniture (bed, table, 2 chairs, tv, small fridge, sink, hairdryer) with ensuite bathroom (bathtub with overhead shower and toilet). The airconditioning unit is a low mounted window one, which can sometimes be extremely loud but this one wasn't and it cooled the room down very quickly. The decor looks a little dated but it's satisfactory. The bed was very hard, which we're not used to but we slept reasonably well nevertheless. Housekeeping knocked about 10:30am after the first night to see if we needed anything, which we didn't and they said just to let them know if we should need anything later on during our stay.

The inn is located about 3-5 minutes walk from the main James Street where bars & restaurants are located. It's perfectly fine to walk there and back and the side streets are very quiet.

We made our reservation 3 months beforehand, which was a frustrating process. We rang and left a couple of messages with no response and couldn't get through to anyone for about a week. Finally we were able to get through to someone and make the reservation but it wasn't without a great deal of effort. I think perhaps the owners were away on vacation themselves or something but a brief answerphone message or out of office message with explanation when someone calls up would have avoided a lot of the back and forth.

All in all I would recommend this inn to others & stay there again in the future based on the excellent value for money, high level of cleanliness and good location to the main street.

Room Tip: The rooms are located on two levels. I personally prefer to stay on a higher floor incase noise trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeckyM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The owners are super nice. We had a wonderful time in A Bay and it was nice to have our boat in the water, right near our room already to go when ever we wanted to go out. Location is in town and easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meliasalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. Fabulous hosts(Debbie and Dennis) who went out of their way to be spot on. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and surroudings very pleaant. I see there are some negative comments made on here but please don't believe them because it is clean comfortable and affordable!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamapoofLLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnondagaHill
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My teenage son and I spent the 4th of July 3-night weekend here and love it at the Otter Creek Inn. We have a fishing boat and the ease of docking your boat within feet of your motel room is primo for us. There are colored Adirondack chairs one can sit out on the lawn, read a book, drink a drink and just relax. Gayla working the front desk when we arrived was so pleasant. The owners Debbie & Dennis are eager to make your stay welcoming and enjoyable. They work hard and take pride in maintaining their property and wish to be mutually respected also. The potted flowers, small rock garden and nautical motif outside make you feel like you're at home. Our room was spotless with 2 beds, shower had plenty of hot water and perfect water pressure. TV had plenty of channels for those that watch tv. Small refrig. if you need to use it. House cleaning staff were also pleasant. I think her name was Linda that asked if there was anything we needed to just let her know. Downtown is within walking distance, just a few short blocks in the quiet neighborhood to walk to. Thank you for a lovely stay. We look forward to coming back soon! Donia & Evan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnondagaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.6 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
10.3 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.4 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Creek Inn

Property: Otter Creek Inn
Address: 2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1800
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in picturesque Alexandria Bay on Otter Creek with main channel access and close to museums, golf, miniture golf, tennis, hiking, go-carts, Scuba diving and other family entertainment. We are 2 blocks from downtown and within walking distance to restuarants, boat tours, shopping, boat rentals, park with swimming beach, fishing and guides, and night entertainment. We also offer picnic tables, gas grill, lawn chairs, adjacent boat ramp, fishing from our docks and boat dockage by the foot. All rooms are smoke-free with two double beds or one king bed, AC/heat, full shower, cable TV, telephones and refrigerators. Coffee and microwave available in the office. Locally we have the best ameneties for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Otter Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Creek Hotel Alexandria Bay
Otter Creek Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing