We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and stay”
Review of The Applewood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Applewood Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel offers excellent service. The current ownership is new this year and the renovations are striking. The new owner takes a very hands on and professional approach. He went above and beyond for us and was very accommodating of our requests. If you've been to sir Robert peel in the past, you know the big draw is it's location - near Alex Bay. But since it has changed hands it looks like a much finer establishment has surfaced!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Large group, had 10 rooms for River Run, clean and comfortable, undergoing updates. Any problems were quickly taken care of. Mickey was the most accommodating host, went above and beyond. Had a great time, will stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjsmotel, Owner at The Applewood Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your response. Mickey is a great host who really takes an interest in making everyones stay an enjoyable experience. We are striving to make continued improvements on the Sir Robert Peel as we progress thruout the year. The new forest green steel roof is being installed as we speak and Mickey is working on the new bbq pit area to cook over as well as the main bonfire pit area. He also plans to get the volleyball net up for everyone to enjoy. We will continue to do our best to make your stay here an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here because of the service we were provided. We were a group of bikers traveling together with several rooms reserved. Mickey took care of any issues that came up and was always available to take care of things. It is a great place to hang out in the evening with friends. We enjoyed the bon fire & morning coffee. There are also grills & picnic tables & separate balconies in the front (there is no pool). Location is just down the road from Alex Bay. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjsmotel, Owner at The Applewood Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Sir Robert Peel. Mickey is certainly a dedicated host who takes pride in making everyones stay an enjoyable experience. We look forward to making continued improvements as we progress thruout the year. Our beautiful forest green steel roof is being installed as we speak and we are making plans for our first bike run on August 10th of 2014...pirates weekend. Registration will be at the Sir Robert Peel with donuts and coffee to kick off the 1st Annual Run for the Booty to benefit the Wounded Warriors Foundation. Sir Robert Peel in cooperation with our sister location PJ'S Motel & Riverrat Cafe would like to give back to those who have given so much for our freedom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice room and service provided by owners was excellent. Couldn't have asked for a better host, Mickey went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy and taken care of. Will be back again for sure next time visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjsmotel, Owner at The Applewood Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We thank you for staying with us at the Sir Robert Peel and continue to strive to provide great accomodations and courteous service. Watch for continued improvements as we progress thoughout the year. Mickey is a dedicated and accomodating host who takes pride in making your stay a most enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gananoque Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Will definitely return next year for blues in the bay, treated great. Shelley went way above and did so much more than I am sure any other motel in the area or anywhere would have done. Everything was clean, Recently bought by new owners, so it does need some work but will be a great place to stay when reno's are done.
Dorie and Jim Keyes

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We stayed here in July with our daughter. As was the case most hotels were booked in Alex Bay, except this place. You can tell it's an old motel, one that's only open during the summer. However, it's clean, and we were placed in the corner overlooking the pool, and it was as if we were the only ones there, because it was very quiet. The pool was nice and clean, too, no frills. There's lots of free space to roam as it had a huge field behind the motel with picnic tables.
If you like your basic motel with no frills, and on a budget, this was a good choice. Alex Bay is a few miles down the road so you need to take the car to go wherever you need to go (gas, grocery store, etc.)

Helpful?
8 Thank sylvie.mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
2.1 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
929 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
541 reviews
8.9 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Applewood Inn

Property: The Applewood Inn
Address: 44810 New York 12, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607 (Formerly Sir Robert Peel Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Applewood Inn, formerly known as The Sir Robert Peel Motor Lodge, which is located just outside Alexandria Bay, was acquired in late summer of 2013 and we have begun to debut newly renovated rooms on an ongoing basis. A wonderful location, it boasts 7 acres of beautiful countryside for all your family time events. The Applewood Inn features King, Queen and Full size beds. Our rooms are huge compared to the rest(15X17). Wireless internet for your kids tablets, color cable TV, microwaves, refrigerators and A/C in every room. Mickey serves coffee and donuts on the back deck weekend mornings. The bonfire pit is a big hit on warm summer weekend nights. Pull up a chair and have a brewsky, toast the smores and have a blast. We are a pet friendly establishment with a small onetime pet fee. It's camping with a room!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sir Robert Peel Motor Hotel Alexandria Bay
Sir Robert Peel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing