We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, nice stay overall”
Review of Riveredge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riveredge Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Malone
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, nice stay overall”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Room was a little outdated with blue floral wallpaper and plush carpet, furniture a little beat-up and old-school tv. Kinda bummed there was no microwave or mini fridge, no continental breakfast offered and a cup of coffee in the lobby was $3! It was a little expensive for what we got, $139 with tax for 2, had a nice little balcony, was pretty clean (except for a couple hairs in the bathroom and fingerprints all over the drinking glasses). The hallways had crud all along the edges of the carpet and it was apparent the elevator hadn't been cleaned in a while. The bar is cozy and the staff was nice, we didn't try the food in the cafe but saw some going by and it looked good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I pleased to hear that, overall, you did enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, we have not yet completed all of our make-overs, in our rooms, which inlcude new tv's, refrigerators, painting, and new flooring. We are working every day to complete this goal. I hope, when in the area again, you will consider staying with us again. Please give me a call directly and I will assure that you are given one of our completed rooms. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    159
    102
    74
    47
See reviews for
136
242
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland Patent, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband took me on a Valentine's day getaway to the Riveredge Resort. We had a great room with a loft with a jacuzzi tub. We had dinner and breakfast the 2 days we were there. The meals were very good and the waitresses were excellent. The pool and the hot tub were great. I would recommend this getaway package to anyone. It would be nice to stay there in the summer when you could take advantage of boat tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking time, out of your day, to post these nice comments. Our customers feedback is very important to us, whether it is good or not so good, but it is always wonderful to hear the good. I am pleased that we did meet your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, most definintely you need to come back and visit when the town is thriving, it is a different world. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What a great place! We spent our Saturday in the lounge for Game Day. The affordable food and drink was a pleasant surprise - $2/domestic beer, $3/well drinks and 50 cent wings. The bartender, Ian, was attentive, social, and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar4rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I am happy that you decided to visit us and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We do offer affordable specials in our Lounge on a daily basis, such as the Game Day Menu. Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent three days over New Year’s at the Riveredge and had a great time. Reception was very welcoming and helpful, and the staff throughout our stay did everything they could to make our visit a very pleasant experience.
The main attraction was the New Year’s Eve Celebration, which included dinner, complementary open bar after 10:00 p.m., a band - Skippy and The Pistols, and a glass of champagne to celebrate the new year. They put on a really good party - the decorations were festive, the food very good,and the band top notch. We danced for hours and enjoyed the brass, who were very accomplished musicians. There was another band in the Bar area, and you could party there as well.
Our package also included brunch on New Year’s Day, which went from10:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. It was delicious and offered a wide variety of dishes - sufficient to suit anyone’s taste. It included hot and cold dishes and a huge dessert table. Needless to say, this was a quieter event, but no less enjoyable. It was open to the public, so there were families as well as revellers.
I would be remiss if I did not remark on the fantastic location. The Resort is right on the St. Lawrence River, across from Boldt Castle. This made for a lovely background on New Year’s morning as we enjoyed the delicious buffet in the dining room. Our room also overlooked the Castle as well, so in many ways, this was a memorable and very special New Year’s celebration.
On cold wintry days, when we did not want top venture outside, we could enjoy the pool, hot tub, gym or games room.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are great. However, on cold days in the winter, you may need to turn up the hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important and we do appreciate all feedback, the positive and even the not so postive, from our guests. The feedback we do get does help us learn and grow in order to improve our facility and services, which we continue to work on every day. Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you again. Have a Great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in December for a military ball we attended. The hotel was your average hotel as far as the rooms go. But it was clean and quiet! The bed slept comfortably. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great view of A Bay! Would stay again. No complaints.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MFM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Have a Happy, Healthy, and Safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Went for a new years eve weekend special. Found rooms to be very old and tired with gross carpets. We attended with 2 couples and expected to be seated at a table for 4 but ended up sitting at a large table with a bunch of strangers and was very noisy and hard to have any conversation. The meal was very modest and not one to rush back for. Breakfast the next morning however was very good. Very nice area to visit in the summer views are breathtaking and a boat tour and a visit to the castle is a must to complete the trip.

Room Tip: Northern rooms view the castle and shipping channel very nice view . A trip to view the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I am disappointed to hear that, during your stay with us in December 2012, we did not meet
your expectations.

I do not know what room you stayed in, seems it was not one that already had been renovated. We are working on improving and upgrading our rooms every day. I do apologize that you were not informed, at the time of reservation, that the seating for the New Year's Gala would be a banquet style seating, not intimate seating. The reservation staff should have made that clear to you.

Our quality of service is very important and is unacceptable when we fall short. I would invite you to give me a call, I would like to discuss this further with you.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We checked in on a quiet Sunday afternoon in early November. We booked the room online with a view of Boldt Castle. The clerk gave us the keys to what was presented as an upgraded room but it turned out to overlook the parking lot at the opposite side of the building, We laughed and exchanged keys and got a room overlooking the castle as we requested. By the time we finally got into the correct room the sun was beginning to set. My husband opened the door to our balcony and stepped out while I grabbed my camera and followed. A cold gust of air helped to close the door. After we got our photo shots we were unable to reenter our room. The door was locked. There was no one around or even in town ( our view was up the main street) but thankfully my husband had his cell in his pocket. We called the front desk and they sent up help. Brian was unable to open the door from the inside either. Did I mention it was lightly snowing and I was without a jacket. Brrrr. He opened another room and we went across the balcony to enter an adjoining room to get inside. Needless to say we needed to change rooms again. We were given two complimentary drink coupons and went down to the lounge. Wonderful bartender/server. About 6 others were in the lounge with 1/2 price drinks and reduced appetizers on Sunday. We later ate dinner and it was fabulous. My husband had a German style schnitzel called Pork Rhineland and I had Chicken Parmesan, a pan Fried Italian Breaded Chicken Breast, Topped with Marinara Sauce and Parmesan Cheese Served on a Bed Fettuccini Alfredo & Prosciutto.
Our final room was clean and a little dated but I noticed the room amenities have changed. There is a large shower dispenser for soap, shampoo and conditioner. Riveredge used to carry Bath and Body work products and have lufas and other little touches.
Our breakfast was also well done. One cannot complain about the beautiful views, pool, exercise room and pleasant staff. Our surprise was an additional discount on our room for current or retired military personnel. Overall, it was a good value with a view that cannot be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34SUZZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R, Manager at Riveredge Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
The room type, you booked on line, JCK4 (Jacuzzi King 4th Floor), is an upgraded room but unfortunately does not offer a direct view of the St. Lawrence River or Boldt Castle that you were looking for. We have ten rooms that offer this and they are CHK (Channel View King) or CHDD (Channel view Double Double). I am happy to hear that we did have these rooms types availabile to accommodate you. I certaintly apologize for any inconviences.

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay with us. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
0.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
969 reviews
10.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riveredge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riveredge Resort

Property: Riveredge Resort
Address: 17 Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riveredge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riveredge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riveredge Hotel Alexandria Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing