We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvement”
Review of Hotel Palm Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palm Azur
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice hotel, rooms clean, hotel reception staff unhelpful and surly,and they struggled with English, pool bar staff ok, dining room staff efficient, good selection of food. Free wi fi is advertised but it was hard to connected to and staff were reluctant to re set it. Hard to get a bed around the pool after 8am as the other guests must have got up at the crack of dawn to put their towels on them. Nothing for young people/teenagers to do, entertainment geared for children upto 11 years or later on in the evening for adults but nothing for the inbetweeners, so they hung about in the hotel reception playing on their phones and tablets.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    240
    139
    65
    38
See reviews for
268
262
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Modern holiday village with very clean rooms. The quality of the food is good, although it is the same every single day, which becomes quite boring after a week.
The animation is good and not intrusive, there are 2 pools: a big one with thumping music, zumba lessons and beer drinking northern europeans from 9 am to 5 pm and a quieter one. The beach property has it's own beach, but there are sharp rocks in the otherwise nice water that for some reason we didn't find out haven't been removed by the hotel. Also there are waterplants washed on the beach sometimes which are not removed and make for a lesser and sometimes smelly experience.
The staff is very good and the deals are all inclusive so you can eat as much as you want and have many cocktails.
There are available which are not included, such as quad biking, buggy driving, jetski, riding on camelback or trips to the desert. All of these are priced quite high - at or above European standards.

Room Tip: Absolutely go for the seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iannellisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a family holiday, myself and partner, brother and partner and mother and partner. We wanted a hotel that could cater for all of our needs as we were going as a group and even though some of us wanted to venture out and experience new cuisine we decided all inclusive would be the safe option for all involved. We booked through Thomson and the hotel was highly recommended! Platinum i believe or may have been Gold....can't quite remember. But believe me when i say it was not even a Bronze!
On arrival we had to wait over an hour sitting in a room with another 100 odd people waiting for them to run through the hotel layout and individually handing out our room keys one by one! Not what you want after a flight and hot coach journey! Anyway moving on.....
The Hotel at first glimpse looks ok, but the longer you are there and the deeper you look the worse things become. Staff are not attentive, they could be on community service they are that unhappy and disinterested! The rooms were very bland, basic and run down and the tennis courts, pool area, pathways etc were not to a high maintained standard that you would expect. The Beach was AWFUL, with huge amounts of seaweed piled up, there appeared to be attempts to clear with some piles here and there but to little effect. Food i would say was good, maybe 7 out of 10.
We booked massages later on in our stay to try and cheer us up and even that went wrong! Partner had to wait for half an hour even though an appointment was made, and then to add to the disappointment her treatment was cut 15 minutes short and the girl gathered her things and left the treatment room and seemed to leave the hotel in rush! Obviously we complained to the management but to our shock he said he could not do anything other than comp us with a bottle of wine in the restaurant as the spa was separately run from the hotel! Unbelievable!
Now i must stop there because some people may think this review is just some anger relating to this issue and therefore we have decided to leave a bad review of the hotel but i can assure you this is not the case. This is just one of the bad experiences we had at this very poor hotel.
Moving on to the entertainment. Now, because there is VERY little to do around the hotel excursion wise or even shopping/restaurants/bar wise you tend to spend many evenings in the hotel. And you are in for a very nasty surprise!!! The entertainment was entirely run by local school/college kids, HONESTLY! I wanted to rip my eyes out, my ears off, and swallow them, at least i could then sit back and enjoy my drink in peace and possibly some sun during the day as believe it or not these kids are also your entertainment for the entire day around the pool too!!! You cannot escape! Running around prating about, music far too loud, splashing old people just wanting to sunbathe, singing, shouting and just creating a nuisance. Rather than an 18-30 holiday it was more like a 5-17 holiday! Truly nauseating....
Overall, i would NEVER stay in a Thomson hotel again, i would never recommend this hotel to anyone and i will never return to Tunisia or Djerba based on the lack of respect from the locals, the lack of things to see and do and the poor cuisine. Seems to be no identity in this country.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not knowing anything about Djerba we were a little aprehensive as to what we would find. We need not have worried. Of course the Riu holiday machine is in full control as usual. Reception by Manager as we arrived and a tour of the hotel, lunch and then to our rooms. They do not usuall cater for English guests but they are learning very quickly. The hotel itself is absolutely spotless, the staff are forever cleaning everywhere. The pool area is jet washed every morning and this includes the beds and umbrellas as well. What a wonderful pool big enough for all and surrounded with palm trees and big umbrellas. When the temperature rises too much (30deg in the shade at 9.00 in the morning) they operate 6 huges flumes which cover the pool and cool the air. The very young and dynamic animation team are all so friendly and helpful. They put on some wonderful dance shows in the evening. Beach, I have to say is a bit grotty. Not the fault of the hotel who keep it clean and tidy but the sea itself as it is full of sea weed. However it does not smell but beach could be nicer. Rooms are a good size we had a side sea view over the lovely gardens to the turquiose sea. Air conditioning is first class andnot noisy, you will really need it as it is very hot. (we went mid June, I might try earlier or later next time). Food is OK but not terribly imaginative, What is good in such a hot climate is that the fish and meat dishes are cooked in front of you so there are no half congealed trays of food. This does mean queuing but worth it. Amazing display of salads and fruit. You are allocated a dining table in the evening in one of 2 sittings, very good idea. There is a smaller restaurant near the beach for lunch if you wish. Dining room staff very thin on the ground but I did mention this to a Riu Inspector doing one of their hotel checks and believe it or not extra staff where found the next day, He even asked me if I thought it had improved. Must say a word for the pool barman Lotfi. Brillian man all on his own and he remembers everyone's favourite tipple without a prompt . Djerba itself is not a pretty place but they are doing their best by planting lots of flowering trees by the road side and the people are just lovely and eager to help. A smattering of French goes a long way here although I don't think it will be long before they learn English. As I have said not many of us go there and we should. We are definitely going back. For a really relaxing friendly holiday in delightful surroundings it could not be better. I more than recommend this hotel and Djerby - try and see what you think.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side with sea view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My experience didn't match the price I've paid.

It's an ok hotel. The rooms look like an average businness hotel room to spend a couple of nights. The "garden" view it's just the view of the back of the hotel (no garden at all...) and the view to an old and abandoned hotel.

I think the hotel have too many rooms for the dimmensions of the hotel. The main pool is nice and apparentelly big, but not big enough for all that people. People usually save their seat in the pool really early (or really late in the previous night...). I also see some of the staff saving seats in the pool (probably they were tipped to do so...). It's really annoying because at 7am there's no one in the pool and half of the chairs have a towel. at 8:30 am all the chairs have towels but... only towels...

The food is ok. The quality is nice although could have more variety. Even so It was above of I was expecting.
Sometimes dinner was very crowded, especially in the opening of the second service. People do behave like animals and fear that food may not last until the end... beaware!!! It would be better if there wasn't two service time...

Forget the beach. The water is nice but there are too many rocks. The beach is small and the water is not crystal. even so, I was expecting a worst beach so I was shocked...

The stores outside the hotel are amazing!!! You find really cheap stuff there!

I'm not reccomending this hotel. Unless you find a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very much like all other Riu hotels which suited us fine. The hotel itself is very clean although the communal hallways are a bit carpet stained in places.
The staff are very helpful and eager to please. There was no expectation to tip at any time in the hotel although we did tip the maid and bar staff at the end of our trip. Porters at the airport will move your bag 3ft and want a tip so be firm if you don't think it's worth it.
The food was good and varied but very typical all inclusive buffet style.
The drinks may have been watered down but it seemed to vary each day, some nights the vodka and rum was very strong! Personally, I'm not worried about this as you can drink and be merry but not get raucously drunk and ruin your holiday!
The pool was very large, plenty of room for all to enjoy but not especially quiet. We didn't find this an issue as love to people watch but the music played was loud if you were near the speaker. Plenty of sun beds but all taken or reserved by about 10am. We never had a problem getting any together.
There is little to do outside of the hotel which we weren't fussed by on this holiday but if you wanted to explore, there isn't much to see and do off your own back.
We bought some gifts from the supermarket opposite the hotel. Very cheap to pick up gifts - magic camels are about £2.
One of the best parts of this hotel were the animation team. They were very good and although we prefer to not get involved, we weren't pestered to join in as so many people, of all nationalities, joined in regardless and I have to say, it all was very well run and put on.
The evening entertainment varied but was generally well prepared and funny too, we watched every night which is unusual for us on holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmyAltava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just got back from a week in Palm azur djerba. Booked this last minute just needed a week away to wind down. We had a lovely week. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms nice and clean and a maid every day, no tea and coffee in rooms. The check in was one of the best we have encountered very organised and efficient and after a long day travelling this is just what you need. The welcome meeting was informative and the hotel management attended the meeting so you knew who they were around the hotel. Food was ok ( have had better) but for what you pay it is very good value for money. Did not like the two sittings for dinner in the evening, early was bit too early and 8.30 was a bit too late but we did not let this spoil our holiday just had to spend more time in the bar !!!. All areas of the hotel we're clean, tidy and well kept. All in all a very nice relaxing week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
4.3 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
1,770 reviews
4.9 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Djerba Castille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#3 of 102 in Djerba Island
1,522 reviews
4.9 mi away
SunConnect Djerba Aqua Resort
6.7 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#9 of 45 in Midoun
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Azur

Property: Hotel Palm Azur
Address: Zone Touristique Djerba | Midoun - Djerba, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Palm Azur)
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#21 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#23 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palm Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located to the south of the island of Djerba, in the heart of an oasis and surrounded by a spectacular beach. Midoun is 6 km away, the capital of the isle of Houmt Souk 23 km and the airport of Djerba 30 km. Opened in 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palm Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palm Azur Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Melia Hotel Palm Azur
Sol Melia Djerba
Melia Palm Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing