We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad....”
Review of Alkantara Thalassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alkantara Thalassa
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Djerba Island
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a tricky hotel to assess and really work out whether it is good value for money. We booked knowing it was a "5 star" hotel, but for 500 euro each for a week incl flights, we knew that something would have to give. I have to say the clientele certainly don't help by comparing star ratings against European standards. What you are left with is a simple 3 or 4 star hotel that just works.

Our first evening, celebrating French National Day, was more like watching an army of hungry peasants feast on their first meal for 6 months. I felt somewhat ashamed to watch them devour food at an incredible rate, leaving mere scraps within 30 mins. And then I overhear some people complain that the food was no good - strange mix of feelings.

Accommodation on the whole was good, a bit tired in places (eg, toilet seat a bit wobbly, the air con not super cold), but it was clean and attended to daily. I guess we were lucky to get a sea view, but then we only tended to be in the room to sleep. (I'm still at a loss when some people complain about facing the wrong way, the TV doesn't work and so on - surely you're not staying in your room all day??)

Food in general was somewhat tainted (IMHO) by the general attitude that it must be international standard food. The Tunisians take that to mean meat, pasta, pizza, salads etc. That was certainly where most of the "mob" would congregate, but at the expense of some excellent local dishes - you must try these, the flavours are amazing. And for breakfasts you can request a fresh omelette, crepes etc. All good food and no tummy troubles that others will no-doubt have complained about. The bar staff were a little robot-like, but I was happy with their service when I considered the effects of Ramadan and a 17-hour shift! The choice of drinks may be limited, but it's all inclusive and more than sufficient.

The pool is a real plus for the hotel and allows those that are interested to do aqua-gym and water polo during the day. The entertainment staff were a little easy going (infers lazy, more interested in chatting up the ladies) and not as well organised as a Maxi-Club. It left the evening entertainment a bit dull and not as professional as others, but then it isn't obligatory to watch. Some may get a room close to the entertainment area, which will be noisy to 11pm, but otherwise no complaints about "late nights". Word of caution - you'll have to put up with music playing most of the day from the hotel DJ and he couldn't mix to save his life.

Finally, the beach. There is plenty of space and free seating/parasols. The only downside is some seaweed/algae that grows close to the edge because the water is so hot and shallow. They are working on the problem and do have a pontoon that will take you out to cleaner water and a guy that is scraping the beach to keep it clean. Just don't expect golden sands....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We travelled with Atlantis travel agency to djerba they rate the hotel as 3½ stars not five !!!!
It was our first visit to djerba.but are used to travelling all inclusive to the caribean,which we find exellent. This time we wanted something closer to home( Denmark) after reading the bad reviews about vincci alkantara we were very aprehensive but decided to give it a chance
Fortunately we were pleasantly surprised! the pool area is fantastik, the rooms were good and cleanded every day. All inclusive- the food was good!( remembering that its a 3½ star )with plenty to choose from.the drinks were good! the wine exellent! service was good we found everybody realy helpful and friendly, the languish barrier was easy to overcome with a bit of patienceThe beach was the only dissapointment, it was very shallow,there had been a lot of seeweed and seegrass but they were trying to improove this we found a great beach a short distance away, beautiful sands and crystall clean water and very few people We found the hotel peacful and relaxing .All in all
A GREAT HOLIDAY for the money!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Do not let yourself misleaded by the publicity at the travel agency. It is a 2.5 max 3 stars hotel and the amount the agencies request is absolutely outrageous!!!!! Everything that has been said previously by other "unfortunate" people is correct. It is a cheap, no quality, no customer oriented facility and, especially, not recommended for families with small kids!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank famC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Smelly, shabby, dirty, noisy, poor housekeeping, sleeping is impossible because of noise, poor restaurant. Rude staff.
Otherwise, ok.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WalterDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

This is not a five star hotel, not even a 2 one. The main problem of this hotel is ; NOISE. Sleeping is difficult because you can hear everything.
The restaurant is more a school canteen than a real restaurant. The food was always, always always the same. In front of the hotel, the beach is so dirty.
The greatest problem is the the general manger of this hotel who was very rude with my wife. Incredible, isn't it?
We will never come back. And shame on Vincci Group Hoteles for such an hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank berlinerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We visited this hotel on January.Two days after the beginning of our stay, my wife contracted disentery which can be caught through water or food, when you cook with dirty hands.When we visited a Tunisian physician, he said he has already seen many patients from Vincci alkantara with nasty tummy bugs. At the chemist's, we were a bit surprised to see how clients from this hotel are well known...
People working for this hotel are not very nice and helpful, especially when you do not speak French.
Of course, Tunisia is a Third World country, but at least they could wash their hands before cooking. So if you go there, be very careful or better, avoid this hotel.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank menssano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

This hotel might have been a good hotel when it was opened a few years ago but now i would not give it a two star... Since the opening, they haven't spent a dinar on it.
It was the most terrible hotel experienxe in my entire life. Don't be fooled by the "good" reviews... It was really horrible: very noisy, not very clean. The beach is so dirty that you can not reach the sea!
Clients are treate like idiots. The staff are unpolite and on some occasion down right rude. No internet and no room service (well in fact, there is but when you order something you never get it...).
I would not give the food from the so called restaurant to my pet.
DON'T GO THERE, this is the only piece of advice i can give you!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59,864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
5.2 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seabel Aladin Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba
#2 of 104 in Djerba Island
1,652 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Chahd
Residence Chahd
#1 of 1 in Mezraia
11 reviews
11.9 mi away
Djerba-Erriadh
Djerba-Erriadh
#1 of 4 in Houmt Souk
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkantara Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkantara Thalassa

Address: Zone touristique Aghir | B.p. 16, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Djerba Island
Price Range: £71 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alkantara Thalassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkantara Thalassa Hotel Djerba Island
Vincci Hotel Djerba
Vincci Hotel Alkantara Thalassa
Vincci Alkantara Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing