We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was steeling from our rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Mehari Djerba
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We took bottle of vodka for desinfection. Two days after they stole from the bottle half. Why? Because they are muslims and they dont drink alcohol but sell it for good money all around (but to whom hah?)

Another day they stole the money from our wallet in the room when we went for lunch. We put the wallet inside of our luggage and locked. They were looking inside our baggage, touching our clothes and private things. I would never believe it but we did catch the boy who was steeling (he was cleaning in our room) and we said to the receptionist that he should call police.He said that he will take care of it. What a surprise next day that the boy was cleaning there again.

A friend of mine was sick from the food they served so she was sleeping in her room and the boy came inside to clean even when the note was on the door that they supposed to not to disturb. She was scared poor thing. Thats was the peak.

Yes, maybe we should put everytime everything to the safe. But our clothes would probably not fit inside,mm?

The tour guide was a big joke. They made animation programme and she was always missing coming in the afternoon still sleeping and still drunk. What the hell?

The beach was cross the street, nice sand and if they cleaned it it was withou the seagrass as well, dont expect to see the fish :D they ate them all :D

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paokaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We read your review on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel with our utmost attention and were very disheartened to read your very serious accusations.

First of all, in the very unlikely event that a guest reports a theft in the room, our reception staff immediately contacts our management team onsite to assist the guest by calling the police department and help filling a declaration in order to start an official investigation; we have reviewed our internal complaint register and at no time we received any report of theft from any guest.

As you well say, all rooms are equipped with a security safe to keep valuables; our hotel is able to refund the valuables that may be stolen from the safe but as you may understand, we cannot verify if a guest claims that money has been stolen from their luggage.

Our housekeeping staff is also fully aware that when a guest puts a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, the room has to be left uncleaned until a late cleaning is requested by contacting the reception desk.

Moreover, IBEROSTAR is a worldwide known company and our staff is highly qualified and chosen according to a specific profile, this is why your further accusation against a member of our animation staff being late and inebriated is fortunately not the usual kind of feedback we receive on opinion portals and internal surveys and we lament not being informed immediately by you or any other guest.

Our hotel being HACCP certified on food safety, manipulation, presentation and conservation, we were also surprised to read that your friend was sick for the food served at our buffets, we can only assume that she ate or drunk something outside the hotel as no cases of stomach issues have been reported.

We sincerely regret not being informed about all this onsite as we would have been able to verify these facts and are sorry that you opted for publishing a review on TripAdvisor as there is nothing much we can do for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us; we remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Thank you again for your review,

Kind Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

went back to the Mehari for another week at the end of May. we were so pleased to see most of the same staff this year and all working just as hard to make sure we had a good time. Special thanks to the star friends especially Mirko, Saida, Will, Coco, Max, Jambo and Fafa. It was great to see that some of the guests from last May had also returned to the hotel. we found the service throughout the hotel to be excellent and enjoyed the variety of food in the buffet restaurant. The reception staff were very helpful and made sure that we had rooms together, the maid service kept the room very clean and made pretty towel displays which was a nice touch. The bar staff and waiters all worked very hard and always with a smile. This is a great hotel with a very dedicated staff. One small negative is that we made a purchase from the shop (Bats and ball for the pool) a bat broke immediately we tried to use it and the shopkeeper would not replace it. When raised with the rep I was told that there is no 30 day guarantee in Tunisia, after you pay, the item belongs to you and is yours if it breaks. That being the case I will take my own from home if we go again. eg let the buyer beware! Overall I would say a big thank you for another wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrjijgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

went back again this may. as we loved it in djerba last.
fantastic again this year. totally relaxed.
had a wicked time. nice clean room . amazing view of the grounds
fab food
fab company
loved every min of it

Room Tip: where ever its lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Samantha,

We first would like to thank you for your loyalty and trust in our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel for your holidays in Tunisia as well as for the time you spent to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that once again you thoroughly enjoyed your stay thanks to the comfort and cleanliness of the room we accommodate you in, the quality and variety of our buffets and the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tunisia and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Returned this year again may half term for second year running great hotel , clean, good food, fab entertainment staff , lovely weather , great beach , have met other people there on their third and fourth stay would def go back again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Annette,

We first would like to thank you for your loyalty and trust in our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel, as well as for the time you spent to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor; we are thrilled to read that, once more, you thoroughly enjoyed your holidays with us.

Thank you again for your return visit and valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tunisia and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

came back sunday after two wonderfull weeks in the sun this is second time we have stayed in this hotel and it is well worth it.The staff are very friendly and polite the rooms are very clean the food is excelent and the animation team work very very hard special mention to jambo who was very entertaining and always found time to speak to everyone and saida who was always happy and smiling only problem is i dont think it is open in winter which is a shame because we always holiday in tunisia in winter i would recommend this hotel as one of the best and it would be better if they opened in winter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weknowtunisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Returned Sunday after a 1 week stay. Absolutely fantastic holiday. Middle aged couple who thoroughly enjoyed our week. Every aspect was above our expectations. We returned from an Eygpt holiday 5 Weeks ago which was 5 Star and far more expensive than this holiday. The Mehari left it standing in every department. Our room 9012 ground floor, next to room that the towels could be obtained from. Handy for everything. Every person we met regardless of nationality were friendly and sociable. Pool area quite confined but always able to find a space, if parasol require i suggest getting there sooner rather than later. Lively and entertaining around this area, the usual stuff, Yoga on grass, Aqua Arobics, Water polo, lunchtime everyone around pool for a dance, all good fun. Drinks and food by pool plentiful and easy to obtain, Pancakes late afternoon lovely. The Beach great, I went down early for a walk pre breakfast and placed my towel as generally nobody had been down. I obtained our sponge covers for the bed, but the guy on the beach will always get for you. Again always get place any time in day but early arrivals have more of a choice.  Food.......the best I have ever had on an all Inc anywhere I've been. Hot, plentiful, varied, and Tasty. I don't drink but wife enjoyed both the Lager and White Wine. Entertainment team fantastic, hard working in all departments. 1 day they were all on beach tidying any bits of litter etc. always pleasant and never forced the involvement issue. Sellers on beach, horse riding, camel riding etc again not pushy. We generally came out of restaurant late and entertainment generally started. We always got a seat in the lounge area but sometimes could hear the entertainment but not see ( this not an issue). My wife had a really good idea, which was to install a few flat screen Tv's around the lounge area to it would be possible to view the entertainment. Perhaps Iberostar may read this and make it possible, however I stress it never took anything away from our holiday. We did 2 trips, The Crocodile park. 3 dinar in taxi (I gave 4)  few shops outside an museum and a Area incorporating ancient Djerba life. We went on a feeding day which takes place at 4pm. You can get an Ice Cream or Coffee there and if broke the day up. 2nd trip was the full day to Flammingo Island coach then boat, old style Galleon. Interesting and we thought  enjoyable. To summarise, a fantastic holiday, value for money, friendly and fun. We met a lovely couple from Dusseldorf on the beach, and a Honeymoon couple from Denmark who took time out to speak to us in English ( definitely going to learn a language)  Too many individuals to thank but a special thank-you  to kamel in the restaurant who provided anything we required always with a smile. The lady on reception who was always most helpful. Also a big thank-you to the Iberostar Mehari......we shall return. One small tip is that the room only has one socket outlet outside bathroom. The Tv is plugged into this.  I was ok being an Electrician I had my usually travel plugs etc. You will need a round 2pin plug to extension that you can then plug the tv back into 2 pin round and then couple normal 3 pin British for you phone charger etc. Need any info contact me through  and have a nice Hoilday. Mike an Debbie.

Room Tip: Our room idea....ground floor straight out to poolside 9012
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickfishsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Mehari Djerba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mike and Debbie,

There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well cared after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community of Tripadvisor.

We also greatly appreciate your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

Last but not least, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay at our hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you took full advantage of your visit to Djerba and we would like to thank you again for the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly can I politely remind anyone who has written an unkind review about hotel of how much they paid!

This 3 star hotel is great value for money- with good mannered staff- a -friendly and enthusiastic entertainment team-well kept hotel and grounds-clean rooms-good food that can be repetitive, like any all- inclusive deal-local drinks and sunshine!

Pay at reception for safe, pay for Wi Fi if you want it (better deal if you just pay for the week) and leave deposit for beach/pool towels which is refunded when you check out. Although this is paid back in Dinars!

All in all a reasonably priced hotel with great weather, good size pool, indoor pool and a sandy beach.

Would I go back, Yes!

Room Tip: If you want a view, you'll need to pay for seaview- not room 1202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larchie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
2 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 47 in Midoun
2,335 reviews
1.6 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 47 in Midoun
1,767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#10 of 47 in Midoun
914 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
3.6 mi away
Djerba Holiday Beach
Djerba Holiday Beach
#1 of 3 in Playa Sidi Mehrez
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mehari Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mehari Djerba

Address: Route Touristique | Bp 242, Djerba Island 04116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range: £33 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mehari Djerba 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Mehari Djerba hotel is undoubtedly the perfect landing point for guests who seek a special trip in one of the most magical places in Tunisia. Located on the seductive beach of Sidi Akkour, Djerba, is a hotel built in traditional Tunisian style where you can stay in double rooms or family rooms that have been refurbished to provide a cosier ambiance and some of the best services for rest and relaxation. In the Miniclub, children have a space to do all kinds of activities, games and sports that they will love and enjoy in the company of instructors and other playmates. Meanwhile, adults have a range of services including the body treatments and facilities of the SPA Sensations, the fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, outdoor pools with a solarium, amazing shows, live music...And of course the flavours of the delicious Tunisian and international cuisine served at its two restaurants and four bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Mehari Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mehari Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing