We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Resort but Food & Food Service Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Good Resort but Food & Food Service Disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite.

The Goods:

- first impressions "WOW" very impressive hotel lobby and equally impressive reception upon check in - cold towels & fruit juice. The luggage was taken care of.

- Very spacious, clean room with complimentary bottle of water and welcome fruit plate. Fruit plate was replenished daily but not the bottle water.

- Huge wall to wall marble bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and separate enclosed shower. Anne Semonin toiletries in full size bottles - very generous.

- Comfortable bed and lounge chaise in the bedroom.

- Complimentary wifi.
- Friendly staff in general including front desk and housekeeping.

The Not So Goods:

- Limited menu selections for in room dining. The ice cream desert that came with the main course often melted already.

- Not much selection for buffet breakfast and dinner at Ceramique. The restaurant door was kept opened so there were flies flying around.
- Restaurant staff was not too attentive; often time they did not want to keep eye contacts.

- In room safe was not working; called for service, still not working.

- There were pigeons living on the room balcony which made noises very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bigger room. Learn some French for easier communication.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Djerba, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.

Although we were sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with our restaurants, we were delighted to see that you had a nice stay with us. Please be assured that our F&D Director has been informed about your comments.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    313
    108
    30
    24
See reviews for
251
415
114
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for 2 weeks with my 4 year old daughter. Certainly if I would have stayed only 7 days perhaps the review would have been better - 13 days was just too long.
The best part was the sun and amazing lobby/reception area. The rest did not meet my expectations:

- pool was dirty and I never saw it cleaned during our 13 days there (and we were always the first in the pool at 630 am). Because of the many doves & other birds around, the bird droppings were everywhere. I was not thrilled about my 4 year old walking around barefoot.
- the area behind the family beach part was dirty, never cleaned. Some nails even in the sand. Anything but safe for children walking barefoot and certainly did not leave me any quiet moments when my daughter wanted to run around in the dunes. When you go to the beach bring lots of money - everyone wants your € whether for horse riding / fruits / etc. I avoided the beach after 3 days because you just could not go in peace to the water without being stopped by someone wanting to sell something. Although the beach should be private as it is marked, it is not. I guess if I would have only been there 5 days you laugh about it and think it's funny. But when you avoid going to the beach because you're not quiet during your holidays that's not funny either.
- Food was very poor - we had only booked Bed & Breakfast so we tried all restaurants. Whatever was left over from dinner buffet you saw the next morning for breakfast. And sometimes again at the next dinner buffet re-cooked/used in another way/some other dish.
The food was repetitive and most dishes overcooked.
-The Childrens Area - it was quite frustrating as a young man who worked there was very inexperienced and he gave wrong information about what was happening when. I had scheduled one evening for my daughter at the Tunesian night which began at 8 pm (dinner) under a tent. My daughter was excited all day!! As early risers we always have dinner at 7 pm - waiting an extra hour seemed worth it. The young man (don't remember his name) told us at 7 pm, no problem, just come back in one hour and we'll be ready. We went back at 8 pm. Nothing. Nobody. He just said "no, the dinner is cancelled." That's it. I was furious and my little one in tears...
-during the check out, the male receptionist was just checking my invoice and I was posing a question on one item when a man in local dress just interrupted my "check-out" for 10 minutes. No excuse at all from the male receptionist towards me. Don't expect any respectful treatment as a female client. The same treatment occurred during several other occassions in teh restaurant.
- The Photographer in the hotel makes great photos & was friendly but highly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtaVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Djerba, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mrs UtaVienna_Austria,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel.

You have mentioned the buffet, please be assured we do not re-cook remnants from the buffet, the food is fresh and cooked on a daily basis.

Concerning the swimming pool, hygiene being a top priority for us as well as being part of the quality standards we strive to deliver, I confirm that we do have maintenance teams in charge of manually cleaning the pool, starting at 6 am in the morning.
Additionally, we also have 8 filters about the pool, each cleaning 100 m3 per hour.
Of course, we carry tests (chlore, PH etc..) on a regular basis, thus ensuring an optimal quality of water in both outdoor and indoor pools.

We are sorry there seemed to have been a misunderstanding with our VIC Club staff, however, please be informed that the Tunisian evening for kids does not include dinner. It is an evening animation with a “fashion show” that takes place under a tent. Our kids club is usually a great asset to our hotel, and most of our guests are pleased with the service, therefore, although it came as a surprise, we are deeply sorry it did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I'm currently in this wonderful hotel, it's absolutely the best in Djerba
Unfortunately summer already packed up so it's starting to get cloudy.
However, if you're looking for a place where your kids may have fun then maybe you should follow up the road to somewhere else BUT If you have been under work stress and want a calm place to enjoy your escape then this is the one .
Great service, specially a woman called Dalel it was such a pleasure to see her every morning for breakfast and every night - dinner - at ceramique buffet .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed for one week for spa, relaxing and sunbading.
This is a fantastic hotel with an impressive spa departement located over 3 floors inside the hotel. It's modern and clean. The hamam is autentic (built inside the spa) and you can choose between many types of spa treatments/programs. Just fantastic and very relaxing.
Rooms are clean with good beds, bathroom not so big but clean, separate toilet (very small,- not suitable for very large persons) and a little nice veranda. The atmosphere is quiet and a little bit posh.
The hotel has several restaurants, we tried all of them and the food was tasty everywhere. The buffet (both breakfast and dinner) is just too good, so don't eaven think about dieting when you are here:)
Did see many single travellers in hotel, so this is a nice place to be,- both travelling alone and with friend(s).
Feels safe, much security around the hotel (also at the beach in daytime.) Did not travel much around on Djerba this time, so can't say much about that.
But the hotel: it is fantastic for spa and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murisify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlenbach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is truly grand, the property stunning, the beach beautiful. Unfortunately the food is disappointing , general service spotty, the tennis courts are not playable and the bedding not up to todays standards( no down), worn mattress.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

After a whole week travelling around Southern Tunisia in a 4x4 and staying at allegedly 4 star hotel, we arrived to the Radisson Djerba with not very high expectations.
This was soon to change. The hotel is just magnificent. The facilities, the personnel, the food was all really 5 stars.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Ours one of the last ones in the corridor, so we're really close to the beach. The view was really nice.
Breakfast had a great variety of choices and you could get omelettes and pancakes made on the spot.
The service at the beach was quite good, too.
Top marks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsthal, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was now the 7th time we visited the Radisson Blu Resort in Tunisia, on the island Djerba. We really can recommend this hotel. The personal staff are very friendly and take seriously the responsibility to grant a luxury stay without having problems. All our wishes have been satisfied with 1000% and we will travel in the future to this hotel, Only this hotel is for us the value to be relaxed and to be freshed up to come back with a lot of energy.

Thanks to all for their professional service. See you soon.
Elisabeth and Roger

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
3.0 mi away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa
6.5 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 45 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba

Property: Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
Address: | Zone touristique, Djerba Island 4128, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an outstanding setting of palm trees and greenery at the beginning of the resort area,bordering the best sandy beaches on the island of Djerba, the Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso, Djerba is only 20 minutes from Djerba-Zarzis International Airport and 10 minutes from Houmt-Souk, the island's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Thalasso, Djerba
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso, Djerba Hotel Djerba Island
Radisson Houmt Souk
Radisson Djerba
Houmt Souk Radisson
Djerba Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing