We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Djerba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Spent the last week in May at this hotel with my mum and cannot speak highly enough about it! The atmosphere is laid back and you can do as much or as little as you want. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and the animation team were outstanding... Look out for Kimo and Leo they were a great laugh as were all of the team. The food is varied and there is something for everybody, the beach bar is a nice place for a coffee and to watch the world go by. As others have said there are plenty of sun beds: the week we went the hotel was fully booked and yet we still found space to chill. Our Thomas Cook Rep, Andrea was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for her. I enjoyed it so much that I am returning this September for another week....See you soon guys!!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisslou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    474
    109
    27
    13
See reviews for
534
574
67
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned after spending a week beginning 1 June at the Sentido. First time at this hotel but 2nd in Djerba (previous hotel just down the road). Love the place and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a restful time. Probably too quiet for those who enjoy a lively nightlife (although there is nightly entertainment) but no disco on site. Most of the guests were 30+ when I was there. The hotel staff and entertainment team go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. They are friendly without being pushy. The food was excellent, varied and plentiful. Hot meals were hot, not lukewarm and the restaurant is enormous, so never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. The Hotel "brags" there are enough sunbeds both on the beach and around the pool for every guest, and that was certainly true when I was there. Although I don't think the hotel was at full capacity. The grounds and gardens are very well maintained and a joy to walk around. I travelled with Thomas Cook and must say, Andrea our rep was brilliant. She is actually based at the Sendtido so passed on some really good tips, most of the staff members names and things to do outside the hotel. Her best advise was how to deal with the beach sellers - basically "make like a camel and look straight through them", do not engage in conversation at all. It works too. All in all, amazing value for the money and I can't wait to go back there.

Room Tip: No lifts on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Broadview205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Having booked a week at this hotel to stay 1st-8th June last September, I was always checking the reviews on here and was extremly worried with the negative comments regarding Nouvelair. HOWEVER, I have to say that although the in flight service is basic, it was a pleasant start to our holiday and exceeded our expectations. We landed at 23.40 and were swiftly through customs and at the hotel in no time. We were checked in very quickly and friendly, & greeted with cocktails. Only problem, it wasnt not easy to find our room and when we got there, reception did not explain that your room key operates the light switches (tip to all) so this took some time to figure out when your tired!
We slept well and did so for the rest of the week, the room air conditioning only operates from June and although it did not work at the start of our holiday, it did come on half way through the week.
The first day I was gently encouraged to take part in yoga. This is something I NEVER do on holiday however the animation team were very friendly and not pushy. If you dont want to join in something, a polite `no thanks` is all you have to say, although they will still ask you every day. Leo, Josef and Kemo were all great not forgetting the others. Yes there are sellers on the beach. My boyfriend wanted to buy something from the open seafront restaurant and we waved him over however they are not allowed, and will only sell if you go to them. If your not interested my advice would be to avoid eye contact, making eye contact only gives them the impression you want to buy. The horses and camels are paraded up and down the beach all day long and I have to say the beach was kept very clean and we never saw any poo! If you walk up the beach it is less cared for than the Sentido strip which is ample to be honest. We got up at 5am one day to see the sunrise only to find a German putting her towel on a bed round the pool which we couldnt believe at that time! The hotel say they have a policy of no sunloungers taken with towels before 8am, though they do not enforce this.There was only one day we couldnt get on the beach at 10.30am but after a stroll we found loungers.
The food for us was amazing `catch of the day` was always on the menu and always cooked fresh. I would avoid the eggs as on two occassions, boiled and fried were very raw, these were the only foods we could not eat, everything else was wonderful to try. Everyone does flock to the restaurant at opening times so we avoided this and went a little later but the food was still always good, fresh and more importantly hot. There are cocktails included in the All inclusive but you can buy others from a range for a few dinar. If you love seafod, the al a carte restaurant is a must, four course seafood on our last night just finished the holiday off nicely.
I would avoid a `seller` who came into the hotel on the Thursday evening to set up a small stall of `artisan` gifts. He offered us a trip to the old town and markets. He was very polite and we assumed he was endorsed by the hotel given he had a stall opp the bar. He took us around the old port, gave us info on the Island, took our photos, didnt ask for any money BUT he would only take us to the shops he said his `family` owned and we did feel pressured to buy items we would not of otherwise wanted. We did haggle and barter over a handmade rug and it was interesting to see it being made in the old cave style shop but we felt we wouldnt be able to leave the shop without buying one. We were later told that you should only buy from `fixed price` shops to prevent this. Having said this, it was all an experience!!
We did the Quad tour which was brilliant and the guides were very focused and safety cautious of the group. The shock we did get was how dirty the areas away from the hotel are, rubbish everywhere and we were told that there is no interest in cleaning the areas up. Just be prepared for this as we were not. All in all I loved this holiday, everything about the hotel was great, any issues we did have are too trivial to complain about, although bathrooms could do with an upgraded as could the tvs but you dont go on holiday to watch Tv!

Room Tip: Remeber to use the room key to activate lights Be prepared to haggle if leaving the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just got bk after 2wks billiant holi this is our second time at this hotel and it only gets better even nouvellair now serves drinks and food both ways where as last year nothing so that was a great improvment .Food still vry good,rooms goods ,staff billiant nothing to much trouble and plesent,animation people good and not pushy but stop to chat to see how you doing will miss Leo, Joseph ,Nadia all work so hard also thanks Andrea (Thomas Cooke Rep) she really does her job well and is there if you need helpand so cheery.Love it so much going bk in Oct cannot wait missing it alredy definatly a get away from it all holiday .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Sentido hotel, the hotel is in quite a bleak area, with just a couple of shops so very much a hotel based holiday. Hotel was mostly full of couples so would not recommend to children. The first day on the beach we were constantly pestered by beach sellers who didn't seem to understand what no meant. There is also lots of camels and horses on the beach all day so plenty of smelly poo to dodge around so gave up going to the beach.
The room was clean except for the bed which appeared to have something living in it which covered my wife with bites, I saw several cockroaches around the hotel and many stray cats that were roaming around the dining hall.
The rooms were very hot with no air conditioning.
The animation team were great and worked very hard and Andrea the Thomson Rep was fab.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bermuda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

stayed there with my husband the first week of june and met my brother who had been going to djerba for the last couple of years. We flew with nouvelair ,it wasnt that bad really only downfall no meals to buy and duty free was at a minimum but apart from that it was good no delays.
We arrived at midnight and everything was closed but got brother to order us a few cheeky drinks the hotel s absolutely spotless the cleaners were fab the hotel was large and the rooms were great no filth anywhere, plenty to drink and eat we always found something to eat whatever the time. The beach was beautiful with lots of beds and umbrellas only downfall was the germans and the dutch were down there at 6 am to put there towels down so we did tyhe same lol. they all seemed friendly and we had a laugh with the pool and beach games. we didnt go into the a la carte because there were 6 of us we didnt need to. take a kettle and iron with you as i did so i could get a cu of tea and the hubby his coffee i took my own tea and coffee and iron but all in all what a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: we had ground floor at the end large with an added room with double and 2 single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On a positive note. The rooms were clean.knew it wasn't our cup of tea at the airport and especially when the air craft landed and the tattooed ladies started to applaud.

Lots of camels on the beach along with horses along with their pooh for want of a polite word.

buffet O.K.strange things served at breakfast like ratatouille .

Staff are helpful.

Lots of French Germans and Libyans.Sun loungers old and plastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186346Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 44 in Midoun
1,704 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Palm Beach Palace
1.2 mi away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#10 of 44 in Midoun
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Penelope Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Djerba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Djerba Beach

Property: SENTIDO Djerba Beach
Address: Zone touristique | (previously Iberostar), Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Djerba Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Djerba Beach is the perfect hotel for the whole family. This hotel has a very tranquil location with quiet surroundings, and is located directly on the sandy beach. If you want an extra peaceful and recovering stay, you can enjoy a relaxing trip to the hotel's own Turkish bath or enjoy a soothing massage at the spa. For the more active family, the hotel organizes a wide range of activities, and there are two tennis courts at the hotel. Or why not discover the surroundings horseback, or rent a bike to discover the island of Djerba by yourself? In short, at SENTIDO Djerba Beach, there is something for the entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Djerba Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Djerba Beach Hotel Djerba Island
Iberostar Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing