We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Djerba Haroun
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Dar El Bhar(Playa Sidi Mehrez)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Djerba Holiday Beach(Playa Sidi Mehrez)
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Vincci Resort Djerba(Djerba Island)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vincci Helios Beach(Midoun)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Ulysse Resort & Thalasso Djerba(Djerba Island)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Mehari Djerba(Djerba Island)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$189
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
58
137
60
44
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
137
60
44
34
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As per title , we stayed at the haroun between 01.08 to 08.08 . This is not as thomas cook state an all inclusive package , but at best a two star full board . There is no snack bar , mini gym , mini golf , whirl pool , outside bar , the beach bar is a shack on the beach with a water cooler . During our time there we had to buy our own alcholl as only a choice of three type liqueur available , food wise a canteen is open for breakfast , lunch, dinner , but that is it , so we also had to buy our own snacks , no water made available , so that had to be bought to , we had to hire a fridge which can only be described as disgusting . Staff wise apart from two , are rude , I speak fluent french so they had no excuse to say they did not understand . 14 cpls made offifial complaints to thomas cook in the week we were there , the best they could do was offer 10% back . For kids no amenities for them , in my time there I did not see one child with an ice cream . Hotel building is nice and beach nice to but not 200m away but a 5 min walk . They are the only good pionts I can say . If going through thomas cook , stay away . They are not geared up for the english and certinatly not all inclusive

Room Tip: Check rooms as soon as you check in
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your review on the Trip Advisor website.

We have taken note with particular attention all the points you've written and we feel very

sorry for all the bad inconvenience that you experienced during your stay.

The Haroun Hotel became the Smartline Haroun Hotel (a brand of Thomas Cook International) in

March, 2014 and the Management Team and Staff changed at that date. This to say that we were

not fully able to provide service of the highest quality for this first season.

Please be sure that we bring together all our efforts to improve the quality of our service

and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in better conditions,

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Firstly, i would just like to respond to the review of 17th July, we were delayed for several hours too on our flight home from Djerba to Gatwick 4th July when you were delayed back home coming into Djerba on the same plane. The same thing, absolutely no information at Djerba airport which is a warning to travellers, don't expect ANY help whatsoever from Djerba airport staff! We were there 6 hours and nobody could tell us anything. But, I agree too this might be the product of Ramadan. Thomas Cook were nowhere to be seen either and this isn't the first time their absence has been noted in difficulties. I'd think twice about using them again.

The hotel - fabulous in many ways for a budget price. I reiterate all that has been said in previous June/July
reviews. When we stayed end of June until 4th July we were soo looked after by the staff - the animation team made our quiet beach holiday an absolute joy each day. we're not really a couple that gets involved but it was a pleasure as the team are so friendly and get to know their guests. They make it their business to ensure you have a good time one way or another be it pool games or evening entertainment. Top marks from us!!! Food was great for the price. Drinks need reviewing as poor for all inclusive but we managed as you can also buy a decent bottle of beer for around £1.25 and a very decent bottle of wine for about 9 pounds. Annoying for all inclusive but they do have beer and wine on tap, just depends on your taste. Rooms and hotel very clean. Great beach location ( though don't expect a 4 star beach as unlike Sousse last year they didn't clear the seaweed and rubbish quite so much in June). Be mindful that Djerba has 'no' quality restaurants, and very few serve alcohol, except for maybe on the harbour in Houmet souk and even that was all frills and no knickers. Lovely location, food disappointing. Back to the hotel, we had a really nice stay and would definitely recommend Haroun for a budget holiday that actually gives you far more than you might usually expect for the price in lots of ways.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our hotel.
Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and we that we keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Bst Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We returned from D'jerba in the early hours of Saturday 26th July. Our holiday did not start well as our Thomas Cook flight was delayed by 16 hours. This was very disappointing as we feel we missed a day of our holiday. However, it has to be said that Thomas Cook treated us well and put us up in the Soffital Hotel and we were given an evening meal and breakfast.
The hotel was very quiet during our week there, with only about 40 guests. This for us was fab as we had the pool to ourselves pretty much and there was no fighting over sun loungers. However, the evening entertainment was non-exsistant due to low occupancy! We made our own entertainment with the animation team and another english couple......so we were more than happy!
Diego and Momo were brilliant.....they were friendly and helpful at all times.....they will be missed by our children!
The hotels private beach was lovely however we were slightly disappointed that you could only get water from the beach hut. A small walk along the beach bought bars and activities galore....so no real problem.
The hotel was clean and we had no problems with our room.....the air con worked well. The food is basic and unfortunately we did not eat much at all. I think if the outdoor eating area had been available we would have enjoyed the food more.....however, again due to lack pf numbers the barbeque area was not opened once.
If anyone is planning on visiting this hotel next year, be mindful of Ramadam. I think this may have been why the hotel was so quiet......it also affected us checking in to the airport as all the staff disappeared to eat at 730pm which left us hanging around!
All in all though, as a family we had a lovely week. The weather is beautiful....the beaches gorgeous and Diego is a star! :)

Room Tip: We had a 2 room appartment on the first floor with a balcony.....good size and beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our hotel.
Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and we that we keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Bst Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Hotel Haroun we were made to feel very welcomed and got checked in quickly. The rooms were nice but basic but everywhere was clean and tidy.
But what made the hotel/holiday was the entertainment staff - Momo, Diego and Adel everyday was fun as we got to do different fun activities and of the night their were different events on as well as mini discos which were fun and also dancing.
A few people complained about the food but we really enjoyed it.
I was extremely upset when we had to leave as I would of loved to stay their longer. I'd go back their any day of the week and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank LibbyPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our hotel.
Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and we that we keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Bst Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I travelled on the 4th of July 14 to Djerba and having been to Tunisia Port El Kantoaui several times previosly, was rather looking forward to this holiday Immensely.

Unfortunately it didn't start very well as our plane was delayed by 3 hours (Thomas Cook did not explain or provide any information as to why the flight was delayed).

We eventually arrived at Djerba Airport and directed to our coach. We where then greeted by a man demanding £1 for each bag he loaded onto the coach and would not allow us to load them ourselves. So being somewhat tired we all paid the money. I have never experienced this in Tunisia before. Usually you would be asked but a simple No would suffice.

The transfer was approximately 35 minutes and on arrival we discovered that we were left to get our own luggage from the coach !! The Animation Team that was there on our arrival did at least try and Help. Surely Thomas Cook should have intervened.

We entered the hotel and was supplied with a drink and some nibbles and given that there were about 56 people checking in,the check in was organised and quick.

We were given room 512 and on entering it I wanted to cry. It was so basic. No fridge or safe and the beds were soo uncomfortable and hard. I was was so tired and could not be bothered to walk to reception and complain and thought id leave it until the morning. I didnt sleep at all well and the Aircon was next to useless.

Breakfast the following morning was dreadful and very limited unless you like eggs and bread. I don't eat eggs so decided to have a coffee which was Bloody awful. At this point I wanted to move hotels but the Thomas Cook Rep was not due until later so we found a sunbed (of which there were plenty) and tried to enjoy the sun.

This is when without my knowing it at the time, would be the start of a great Holiday.
The Animation team appeared and suddenly my mood lifted. They were lively and made the effort to talk to each and every guest.

Lunch was much better than breakfast and although limited we enjoyed the food, dinner was also limited but enjoyable.

During our stay the Animation Team worked Tirelessly and Adel the new Manager organised a Pool Party, beach games and a Cocktail Party with Alfresco Dining.

Iyman(Momo), Jawhar (Diego), Sam (Fedhi) & Adel (Adel) were ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC and they make the hotel.

The holiday was Great but sadly the Hotel is in need of a reality check if it wants it occupancy levels to increase. As I said earlier. There is no fridge, no beach Towels & no safe unless you pay a deposit and with the towels you may as well get a flannel as they are so small.

The food is so limited and especially Breakfast, the drinks menu is appalling. With small improvements this could be a great hotel but sadly you can get a much better all inclusive for roughly the same price elsewhere.That said, knowing what I know now. I would return if only for the Animation team and weather. I would be better prepared for the inadequacies and short comings of the hotel its self.

On our last day, it was rumoured that there was a delay in our flight of three hours, sadly it was much much longer. We had to be out of our rooms at midday and having arrived in the early hours of Saturday rather than the scheduled date which was the Friday, all the guest felt it unjust. Our rep was amazing and managed to persuade the hotel to allow us to keep our all inclusive bands till five.
After very little information and the fact we had no rooms unless you once again paid 40 dinar EACH to keep your room on, guests understandably started to get a little stressed. Once again our rep after Many conversations and calls finally annonced that we would be picked up at 12.55am. The hotel agreed to let us have our rooms until that time and allowed us to continue to us our bands untill 11pm. In fairness this was exceedingly good of them.

At the airport we found ourselves left with very little information and ended up not boarding the plane until 6.30am. During this long and unexplained delay we were offered 1 free drink and no food. Eventually it was the pilot who told us why there had been a delay. THOMAS COOK WAS ONCE THE ONLY TRAVEL COMPANY I WOULD USE AND NOW WOULD BE A LAST RESORT ONLY. YOU CUSTOMER SERVICE IS SHOCKING AND I WONDER HOW THEY EVEN CONTINUE TO TRADE AS IT CERTAINLY ISNT ON WORD OF MOUTH. YOUR ONLY SAVING GRACE IS THE REP AT OUR HOTEL AND YOUR PILOT!!!

Overall I had a good holiday and met some fabulous people. Its just a pity that smarline haroun isnt so smart on customer service delivery.

Just one more thing to add to the new guest relations person (Suzi). You are lovely and if Hotel Management would listen to you they might increase the ratings from what is essentially a 2+ HOTEL TO A POSSIBLE 4*.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank chrystaltips2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melleka0402, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Djerba Haroun, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for your nice review about your last staying in our hotel.
Please note that this review is a fantastic encouragement for our staff and we that we keep looking for improving our service and facilities' quality.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Bst Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews