We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“something new”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Djerba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Djerba Island
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“something new”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I decided to try something new and Tunisia came to mind, Djerba in particular.Wanting to avoid all the package deal people i did some research and chose this small hotel. There were no other guests there apart from the cats when i arrived but the hotel slowly filled up during the week. This indeed was not a bad thing as there was no rush to do anything or be anywhere as the splendid Rachid was always on hand. The bar downstairs is frequented by the locals, who are not allowed on the resorts which added some interest as they are happy to chat. There is a supermarket nearby which has everything you need. All in all a little gem.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank els312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    36
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
45
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hampton-on-Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We do anything to avoid the new “stack ‘em-high approach to modern sardine holidays, (your holiday pics may have been taken anywhere in the world!) This little gem emerged when seeking to avoid the above. We were met and welcomed by Nabil and Hela Bouabid who with their fantastic staff hosted us for two memorable weeks treating us like royalty.

A fine breakfast, followed by a quiet spot of sunbathing, book reading, siestas, and an occasional dip in the pool (still a little nippy in May, with Arched in constant attendance to satisfy our every wish, (and don’t miss out on the “snack lunches). And finally. Dinner. With Mahomet, the best chef in Djerba (the prawns are to die for!) and a choice of excellent wines recommended by Racheed, I cannot imagine that even Mr Winner (of UK Sunday Times fame) would do anything other than enthouse!
Alas, the situation in Libya has had a dramatic effect on bookings, so we were the only residents. It really was as if we were staying with friends in their luxury villa! We paid no attention to warnings from friends, and indeed found the lack of tourism an added bonus. WE encountered no evidence of any unrest anywhere on the island; only enquiries from locals as to why there were so few benefitting from their beautiful climate and friendly hospitality.
Undoubtedly we will be going back!

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea / pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank AudnAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Spent a few days at the Flamingo Beach hotel. We arrived at around 1am and the staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful. When I mentioned I was feeling hungry they went off to the kitchen to see what they could find and brought back a snack. The staff are lovely and they will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is small and friendly and the decor is simple but charming and tasteful. If you are looking for poolside cocktails, luxurious sunloungers and big fluffy towels and bathrobes , then this isn't the place you; there are plenty of hotels in the area which can off you that but they can't offer the personal, friendly service which Nabil and Hela and their staff can offer. They made our stay comfortable and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shazzasdelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My partner and stayed at the Flamingo beach and absolutely loved our stay. It is quiet classy, simple, with attention on the little things that make a holiday memorable. The service is comparable with staying with family. So nice, so kind, so helpful. I will definately recommend this above all other hotels in the area. You pay little you get soooo much more.

All the best regards to Nabil and his exceptional team. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaserali1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We wanted a human size hotel in Djerba. The service was personal and first quality. We made good use of the pools on the back as well of the beach in front mostly used by local family. The kindness of the owners and the staff made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobroleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My thoughts are this:
If you're looking for a good, sea view kind of place, You have found a perfect spot.
The service is very flexible, a very top notch 3 star hotel that I would move up to 4!
Great for families, couples, anyone.
Their lunch and diner restaurant is rather expensive, $15-20 in price for a main course.
It comes with breakfast, a very nice, light meal with yogurt, bread, croissants, and cheeses and butter. For kids they also have hot chocolate.
Their small pool is fun but a little cold during spring.
For especially little ones, they even have a baby pool!
Across the street there is a beach with banana boating, kitesurfing, jet ski, parachute, and many others.
Truly one of my favorite hotels.
In short: Great small intimate family-run hotel. Wonderful service, closest you can get to the water. Hear the waves in your room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooldude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

If you like the big hotels with all the trimmings and packed with groups the Flamingo Hotel is not for you. After driving around Southern Tunisia for over a week we ended up in Djerba and decided to have a look at the Zona Touristic. Not overly impressed so started to head back to Houmt Souk when we noticed the Flamingo. The staff were more than helpful and offered a good rate for a double room with sea view and overlooking the pool... beach 30 steps away. Having its own alacarte restaurant sold us and the food was excellent at reasonable cost. All staff were friendly and helpful and the owner Nabil Bouabid always seemed to be around and asking if every thing was ok. A comfortable quiet gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenslandDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Djerba Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar Dhiafa
Dar Dhiafa
#28 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Ali Residence
Dar Ali Residence
#62 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dar El Bhar
Hotel Dar El Bhar
#3 of 3 in Playa Sidi Mehrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Azur
Villa Azur
#51 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
0.0 mi away
Hasdrubal Prestige Thalassa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo Beach

Property: Hotel Flamingo Beach
Address: Plage Sidi Mahrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Djerba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing