We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not commendable”
Review of Ramada Plaza Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Tunis
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gammarth
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not commendable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My experience in the hotel was horrible. The only good thing is the friendliness of the staff. Otherwise. rooms are not very clean, food was horrible, hotel management does not take care of the mosquito/bugs problems in the rooms. Internet is very bad. Nothing good except the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Customer,
First of all we would like to thank you for your review and we appreciate your remarks.
It is sad to know that some of our services didn't meet your expectations and we will try our best to improve them .
We won't miss to communicate to our staff your satisfaction by their friendliness and helpfulness,
it would be their biggest reward.
Rest assured that all details mentionned have been taking care of to enhance quality standards permenantly.

Many thanks once again and we will be pleased to have you in our property for your next stay in Tunisia.

Best Regards
OUMAIMA AOUINTI
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    124
    85
    36
    27
See reviews for
55
42
20
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel deserves it 5 stars. The service is excellent and the view is magnificent. i liked all the meals served down at the restaurant. i really don't find any inconvenience as i usually do in the hotels of the Maghreb region. however it is really far from downtown, which means you would need a cab everytime you want to go somewhere.
it is too bad that the hotel does not provide shuttle transportation to the center of Tunis. However they do provide it for the Airport.
if you wanna enjoy a nice pool, a professional and welcoming staff this is your place.
it has free fast WiFi too!
enjoy your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yaztradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

We were really graced by your review and we thank you for the time and care given to write it .

it is is definitely encouraging to read such a feedback ,
we will not miss to forward your appreciation to hotel staff , it can't be but a motivation to them to give their best and to enhance continuously the quality of our services .

Thank you once again for your comment , and we look forward to hosting you again may be in summer.

Sincere Regards.

OUMAIMA AOUINTI
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This Ramada Plaza meets the solid standards of most of the modern hotels in the Ramada chain around the region. It is reasonably new and overall remarkably well kept with a lovely seafront location. Many rooms have ocean views, but alternative is looking at a parking lot. Ask for an ocean and/or pool view room, and then ask to see the room you are being assigned.

While facilities for meetings are excellent and restaurant buffets quite good, there are two limitations to the hotel. First, while the hotel is quite close to the remains of the city of Carthage, it is a considerable distance from both the airport and the center of modern Tunis. Second, and most disturbingly, the hotel has a persistent problem with mosquitoes. This is, in part, because of the hotel's coastal location but many other hotels around the world have similar locales but seem to control their mosquito populations better. Plan on bringing substantial amounts of repellent and on keeping your room door and windows closed as much as possible. Sea breezes are wonderful but the open environment of the hotel means that many public rooms and often guest rooms are nagged by mosquitoes.

Hotel staff are generally pleasant and helpful. Tips are appreciated and staff seem especially responsive to small kindnesses in response to their help. Ask the concierge desk and the door staff to arrange cabs and negotiate prices. Taxi drivers who routinely serve the hotel are friendly, seemingly dependable, helpful, and reasonably priced for the services they provide.

Rooms are generally large and well appointed. Beds are comfortable, though surprisingly low to the ground. This can make the beds somewhat harder to get into and out of for older folks. Showers generally good with lots of hot water available on demand. Electricity is 220v, and you will need adapters foe the European styled round pin plugs. As with most facilities in this part of the world, use only bottled water. There are discount stores and a small shopping mall within walking distance that can provide larger sizes of bottled water and beverages at prices much below the hotel rates.

Front desk will arrange airport pick-up if requested in advance and will also arrange transportation back to the airport on request. Best advice is to always use hotel arranged transportation. Drivers know Tunis, will take you where you want to go, and will either wait for you or arrange a pick-up time and place. This is always helpful but it is especially so in a country like Tunisia that is trying to rebuild itself and its economy after its Jasmine Revolution.

Room Tip: Many rooms are described as having ocean views, but the views vary substantially from panoramic to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Client,

we do appreciate the time and care given to post such a constructive and comprehensive review about our property, its facilities, vantages, and weaknesses as well.

it is only through your feedback that we are able to maintain and improve whene necessary the service that we provide to our valued guests.
We are graced to be able to meet your needs and make your stay more and more confortable.

As far as maosquitoes are concerned, we are providing regular traetment assured by our Hygienist nevertheless, our climate and costal position make it not that easy.

Finally , we would like to thank you again for your review and we would like to invite you in our hotel for your next stay in Tunisia.

Best Regards.
OUMAIMA AOUINTI
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here in October on a business trip. The hotel is very nice, with an elegant hall, and comfortable conference rooms.
The fook was ok, nothing amazing.
The room was large and clean, but with too many mosquitos. Bring anti-bite spray or ask the reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_D_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Customer ,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our property .
your remarks have been noticed , we are working on it but the mosquitos problem is related to the region and climate and we are making efforts to treat it .
We are honored to be able to meet your needs and to afford a good quality services to satisfay you.

thank you once again for your positive feedback and we are lokking forward to hosting you again.

OUMAIMA AOUINTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

OK. Firstly, this hotel for me was ideal location. Next to the beach with a fantastic sized pool area, good food, friendly staff. It's not hammamhet (tourist-y) but quite relaxing.Tunis is easy to get to by taxi and you can jump on a minibus (cheap) and head to the resort areas. It's best to go during July-September as a lot of the activities are available around them time. Try and be friends with at least one porter and tip reasonably. They are more likely to be honest in their recommendations and help you with any issues you might have (language).

The only negative was the annoying camel and horse/mule owners who keep pestering you for business. Always agree the price before you decide to go on a ride or buy anything from them. We used a taxi driver for the entirety of our stay who was very helpful and took us to all the sites and was reasonable with price.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony view. The railings are a bit dodgy (old, worn and rickety). Wi-Fi works better cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foiz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay in Tunisia and in our Property.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive feedback , your satisfaction is the best reward for our teams.

We look Forward to another opportunity to host you may be this summer ,
Once again thank you for your positive comments.

Sincere Reagrds.
OUMAIMA Aouinti
Public Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Really good first impression as we arrived yesterday at Ramada Plaza.
Far out of the main touristic areas and close enough to the main attraction.
We came here to have a relaxing journey in Tunisia and this Hotel match our expectations!

Situation: About 25 min drive from the airport. Almost outside the city.
Be warn and alway's ask taxi drivers to use the counter to not be scammed!

Check in: Fast but kind, professional and efficient, the reception staff has beed helpful and smiling as soon as we enter the door. Huge Patio as many 5* hotels. They all speak english and french!

Room: Big, clean and comfortable. Huge balcony with a see view room.
Only one bad point is that this level of hotels should offer a flat screen Tv even if you don't watch it.
A basket a fruits and minerals water were provided. But the minibar was almost empty...

Breakfast: One of the best we had in Tunisia. Lot of choices, tasty and fits to all kind of habits as you can find continental, international and traditionals options: Fantastic bread!

Dinner: Fisherman theme yesterday, delicious soups and all kinds of see food produces that delighted our appetite. Tasty, fresh fish and colorful vegetables. Sweet waiter.

Details that i have to mention is that there where no bath plugs in the bathroom, so we had to take a shower instead of a warming bath as the weather forecast is a bit cold this week...

And power plugs do not match with all your electric devices... Going now to the reception to solve that issue but i'm sure they will provide an adapter or a solution.

Conclusion: Low prices, really good accommodations, professional attentive staff,

Room Tip: Do not take a see view room if you want to take a snooze during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanEDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADAPlazaTunis, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Tunis, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your time to write a good review in Tripadvisor. Comments like yours make us to try harder to maintain the high standards and to strive for higher to serve our guests better.

We are very honored to learn that our efforts were appreciated and we have fulfilled your expectations starting with Front office team performance , through accommodation facilities , up to meals .
Always concerned about the well-being of our customers we will be transmitting your notice to our teams.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property and once again thank you for your positive comments.

Sincerely,

OUMAIMA AOUINTI
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gammarth
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
0.2 mi away
Carthage Thalasso
Carthage Thalasso
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#4 of 12 in Gammarth
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
637 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
377 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Tunis

Property: Ramada Plaza Tunis
Address: Les Cotes De Carthage, Gammarth 2070, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Gammarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gammarth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gammarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza Tunis 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Tunis Hotel Gammarth
Ramada Hotel Plaza Tunis
Ramada Gammarth
Gammarth Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing