We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Falling Standards”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Do not disagree with comments about cleanliness, pool bar service or pool attendants but quality of food in restaurant has gone down, there is a daily menu posted at the entrance to the dining room what's there and on offer are never the same, shame as a repeat visitor over the last three years to find this, found fellow guests who had been before noticed the drop in quality some food tepid why have food thermometers in chefs pockets and not once did I see them used.

The manager a very pleasant Spaniard mingled with his guests but I am not sure if he was happy with his posting so far away from home as hotel is locally owned but franchised by RIU presume this because of association of Thomson holding company TUI and RIU hotels.

Unsure why no comments made by management on this site seems they don't care.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    404
    158
    44
    24
See reviews for
362
717
40
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

had an amazing time, hotel was fab, the staff pretty much made the holiday brilliant, all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, only thing i would say is if you want to just relax than this is the place to be, we would of liked to be able to have more to do outside the hotel, all i would say is if you book this hotel and like to venture out make sure you have a few excursions to go on but apart from that can not fault a single thing, 3aslema riu palace marhaba we miss you :)

Room Tip: choose bungalow rooms, we definitely had the best(bungalow314)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri-lou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived at hotel at 2.30 am checked in very quick and staff very nice,the restaurant had food prepared if we wanted it our lugguage taken to our room we had a bungalow it was beautiful and huge only thing I would say is bathroom a bit tired but everything kept immaculately cleaned my nervene .breakfast very good selection and staff very attentive .pool amazing lovely comfortable sun beds with thick cushions which the pool guys put on for you everyday waiters at pool especially faithi who always made sure we had plenty to drink to keep us cool. Lovely bar off the lobby which is none smoking bar staff their especially tarek and the very funny ben sassi ( ramzi) couldn't do enough for you and the animation team were very friendly but not pushy if you just wanted to relax they put on a couple of realy good shows there are only 6 of them and they do very well special mention to Dali and Sam and also the two waiters in the entertainment bar .overall we found this hotel to be the best we have stayed in all the staff were amazing we were looked after food excellent plenty of choice at dinner and you were allocated a table and you had the same waiter all week we had lofti he always has our wine and drinks ready for us the only negative thing I would say is there is smoking allowed in the lobby which we didn't like and the two guys taking pictures without asking even by the pool and around the hotel,will,definitely be visiting this hotel a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindiloue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our all inclusive Thomson holiday on the 12th May. We had a bungalow in the grounds which was perfect , lovely setting , would recommend . The service and the staff were first class. The food was perfect . We couldn't fault the holiday. My wife has mobility problems so we stayed in the hotel most of the time. Because she found the walk to the main hotel a little difficult and slow ,she spoke with Antonio a director of the Riu hotels who was there at the same time as us. By the next day he had arranged a room in the main hotel with all disabled facilities . Antonio and all his staff were always cheerful , helpful and went the extra mile to make our holiday perfect . We usually aim for five star or four star plus hotels and this hotel certainly lived up to it's star rating of 5 star platinum . We are extremely grateful to all the staff who made our holiday brilliant.

Room Tip: Bungalows were excellent would recommend .They are fussy on noise which is good . There was definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from spending a week there wish it had been longer, brilliant hotel, immaculate rooms, amazing food and great service, waiters can't do enough for you, definitely booking up again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow ours was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fabulous hotel and the only one I have ever been to where the Manager is so visible.Also the hotel director talked with customers thereby ensuring the standards were maintained at the highest level. Pool area lovely, sun beds super and overall a truly satisfying holiday experience.Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from a 7 day break to Hamamet booked as a last minute holiday. Great place if all you want to do is lay by the pool (weather permitting), not a great place if you want to venture beyond the hotel. There is constant 'hassle' from the locals trying to sell you something and they don't take no for an answer the first time or even the second you tell them - and this is even on the private beach! beware also of the people who stay within the grounds trying to sell excursions, they become tiresome too! Couldn't complain about the food as it was all good albeit slightly repetitive and there was certainly something for everyone. Evening entertainment left a lot to be desired so once you've eaten it can feel like a long evening unless you are chatting amicably in the bar.
It seemed to us that the resort had been thrown together very quickly and no thought was given to the locals as they clearly haven't adapted to it being a tourist destination. The taxis leave a lot to be desired ( cost of a yellow cab to the Medina is around 7 Dinars) but they don't believe in seat belts and all seem to drive without regard, it doesn't make for a pleasant trip.
The best shop we went to was in old Hamamet and was within the old Spanish fort, the owner didn't hassle, only helped and he also had some lovely items, needless to say we didn't feel pressured and actually bought some goods.
Duty free not good at Enfihida airport and everything is bought in Euros ( as it is a closed currency and you cannot purchase in Dinars), cheaper in England!!
Staff at hotel were fabulous! couldn't fault them, all friendly and helpful.

So all in all, a friendly hotel and great if you want a quick sunny break without a long flight.

Room Tip: Tip waiters small amounts, amazing what a difference it makes! If you request a sea view make sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerbabe1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
636 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
4.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
5,552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba

Property: Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey | Hammamet, Hammamet, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Hammamet Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing