We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel.. Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A lovely hotel.. Worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My only real complaint about our staff is check in, I found the staff weren't particularly friendly and when we arrived they checked us into the wrong room. It wasn't untill I complained that we got moved however there was no apology. When we got to our bungalow it was a great size and very clean. Our waiter in the restaurant was amazing remembering both lunch and dinner our drinks. The decorations in the restaurant were also amazing. The entertainment in the evening was also good most nights although not all nights. I would advise anyone to stay here but to also take the time to leave the hotel and experience different aspects of Tunisia.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBeadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    399
    154
    43
    23
See reviews for
356
706
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

to start I have to agree that this hotel is not what you would expect from a stated 5*, but it is a very good 4* establishment. If all you want from a holiday is rest and relaxation it will full fill all you needs. We stayed in a bugalow at the front of the hotel, very quiet, a little tired but spotlessly clean.
the maids do do a great job and are also very friendly. yes we did leave a small tip at the statrt of our holiday and flowers in the room was a nice thankyou from them. Food was what you would expect from a buffet style service,varied with theme nights including a chinese night ! The waiters where friendly but not too intrusive, and yet again a small tip was always accepted gracefully and with thanks. We can fully recomend the Tunisian restaurant, great food, especially the beef, fillet steak cooked just how you want it !
The bar staff also fell into the same catagorie, and if truth be told the staff overall made our stay very pleasent indeed.
The pools where clean never too full and the pool staff where great. Always find that not having to get up and get a drink yourself when you are relaxing on a cushioned sun bed, to be a great assset to enjoyment !
The animation team do offer various things to do during the day, aqua arobics, yoga, boules etc
but are never pushy, you do what you want to do. However the evening entertainment is not very good, but talking to other people from other hotels that seems to be the running theme with all of them. Most only offer entertainment from the animation team, not proffesional acts that tour round, as we have found in other hotels in the med. Never mind meeting other quests and talking and laughing is enough to keep me entertained along with a free flow of free drinks.
Weather was great, even the thunderstorm the whole costal area suffered was fun, sitting by the pool under a parasol with a coffee, watching people run for cover. The beach area was clean and tidy, the sea clean and warm, and some of the softest sand we have wandered along. If you want to go out to the nearest shops, a taxi is only 6 dinar each way, and is full entertainment in itself ( you may want a drink on your return !! ).We can not comment of the wifi situation as we cant see the point when you are on holiday, but looking at the amount of people using ipads, smart phone etc there doesnt appear to be a problem.
All in all chiil out let the staff look after you and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen_clayton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent a week here at this lovely hotel. I would rate this 4.5 star, reasons for not giving 5 I will go into later. Had good flight with Thomson. Got through airport quite quickly and was shown where coach was, transfer was approx. 45 mins, we were last drop off. Hotel looked lovely as we were approaching. We were met by staff, given drink and told to go into buffet as was nearly closing. Got key from reception and staff took our suitcases. Our room 323 was overlooking pool, I emailed hotel requesting this beforehand, did not receive a reply, but they gave us our preferred room. Thank you! Bungalow room was lovely, very large with huge bed, lovely balcony with comfortable furniture, wardrobe with safe, plenty drawer space etc. mini bar, tv, you could get sky news and a couple channels showing English speaking films with sub titles. Bathroom was bit dated but no problem as everything else was great. We were well impressed with the food, there was so much choice, at lunch and dinner, we have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the best food we have had. We lunched at the barbecue by the beach, lovely location looking at sea. Could not fault the food at all. Cocktails were disappointing, other drinks, g&t, vodka etc were fine. Beer was also OK. There are two pools, we used the main one by pool bar. There is pool service also. Beach is fine with plenty of sun beds. Sea was good for swimming and gentle slope to get deeper. Locals selling goods on the beach are a bit of a pain, just an assertive "No thank you" usually works. The staff are wonderful (apart from one, see later) they are so friendly and cant do enough for you, they are certainly an asset to this hotel. Our chamber maid did a great job. Tips: We tipped every day, tipped maid 10d on arrival. The service was so good, they certainly deserved the tips. There was no pressure to tip however. This hotel is spotless, it is kept so clean. We took taxi into new Hammamet, taxi 6d, just ask at reception, there are loads yellow taxis for return journey. We were not impressed with new Hammamet, scruffy and smelly. There is a huge dept store there called Joys, good for gifts etc and all fixed price, no haggling.
Following is why we cant give full 5 stars:
We booked for the Italian restaurant, it was a bit disorganized at booking. We thought booking was 7.30, however when we arrived at Italian we were met by a very unfriendly, bad tempered, rude waiter. At table, he almost growled at us what would we like to drink. We asked about the food, i.e. is it buffet for starter, his response was so unfriendly. We thought we would leave then but decided to give him another chance. Hubby asked a question and he was still basically horrid. We then had had enough and walked out. Went to reception and was directed to restaurant manager, who dealt with our complaint well. Apparently we were bit late, if that was the case, the waiter should have advised of this, we would have apologized and gone to the buffet. This was such a shock as every other member of staff were amazing. We do not complain unless absolutely necessary. Also there is no music - if music was piped through to bars, restaurants etc it would really add to the ambience. Entertainment was poor also. The mini bar in room was only replenished twice throughout our stay with water. We did not complain about this as just went to pool bar for bottled water, did not think it was such a big issue. Sunbeds - the usual people getting up before dawn claiming them and not appearing until after lunch. Air con: Not cool enough, was too warm in the room most of the time, again did not complain as we could live with it. Shop at hotel: Barter with this chap, we bought bags as gifts and paid well over the odds, our own fault. Joys in New Hammamet have great bags at good prices. We are non smokers and people do smoke in the lobby etc, but it is not too bad. There are non smoking areas.
Hotel was full. Bit too busy for me, we usually go away in October. That, though is personal choice.
The weather was beautiful. The staff were amazing. Food, gorgeous. Hotel spotlessly clean, great for relaxing holiday We would consider returning but when its not so busy.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would consider going again when it's not too busy.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the 5th June. The holiday began well with the reception manager offering food and drinks while we were being checked in despite it being past 11pm. However, once we reached our room we could immediately hear disco music from the hotel directly opposite our room. We immediately called reception to ask to change rooms to be told there were no rooms free and we would have to check with them the following day. Hardly a promising start!

The food was average barring the Tunisian restaurant which was lovely. We made a complaint to the thomson rep about the fact only some of the food is actually labelled. My partner is vegetarian and on numerous occasions he put food on his plate such as potato salad which normally does not contain meat only to find the hotel puts meat in most dishes. This meant the majority of his meals were pizza or pasta. Not what you expect from a 5 star and even for meat eaters like myself I was very disappointed to be served undercooked chicken in the Italian restaurant and at the choice offered. The day after we complained to our rep Antonio the director was present in the restaurant and suddenly all the food was labelled. This only, however, lasted one night before the hotel resorted back to not labelling what food was vegetarian.

The hotel has policies in place such as the no reserving of sunbeds. This policy was never enforced and as there was a lack of sunbeds for the amount of guests as the hotel was at capacity this was more than annoying considering we were at the pool for around 9.30am and some of the beds reserved did not have anyone on them until past 1pm!!! When we challenged the pool manager about this he simple shrugged and said if he removed their towels he would have many unhappy guests. To his credit he did find us beds an hour later and came to make us aware of this.

The drinks waiters are fantastic but you do definitely need to tip to receive the most attentive service. There is no imported alcohol and the local alcohol is very strong!

My biggest bug bear was the fact non smokers are not taken in to consideration. You have to walk through the smokers section to get to the lifts which smells of hanging smoke as the air conditioning is not normally put on until 8-9pm. Also there are no sunbeds for non smokers meaning the probability of you having a smoker in front/behind or to the side of you is ridiculously high. While people choose to smoke I certainly want the choice of whether I wish to inhale these fumes.

Finally towards the end of the holiday the hose in the toilet began to leak. We reported this at 7pm to reception who advised this would be sorted. We went back to our room at 11pm to find it was still leaking and water was all over the floor. We again rung reception and a maintenance man did attend and fix the problem within 20minutes. After he finished he advised us to contact reception to get a cleaner to remove the hair and gunk from the floor he had removed from the pipe. We called reception at 11.25. At 11.50pm no one had attended at which point we had to call again. Finally a cleaner did come but it was ridiculous they could not have resolved this issue between 7 and 11pm while the room was unoccupied.

As a woman I would not have felt safe leaving the hotel as the surrounding area is very dilapidated and the cafés that did exist were full of men which is of course their culture.

Would not revisit and I was very disappointed with Thomson who promised to email the hotel so that I would receive special treatment as it was a birthday holiday. I doubt any email was sent and there certainly was no special treatment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yioda-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not 5 + as so many extras missing also Thomsons in their brochure say mini bar ? Water is left for the bar only . We had a great flight with Gemania both ways who are the best we have been with .When arriving at hotel all went good taken to room as paid extra for the hotel instead of bungalows ,room 1137 was yours just near the lifts and on I st floor .room was ok a bit dated but with 2 floors above what a noise till 1am every night there ,chairs being pushed about and noises till 1in morning .because the bar is just under that room people shouting ,singing and children running around the landing so not much sleep . I have never had such a noisy hotel ever and won't be returning for the cost .I would go back to commodore elite and spa in Turkey that is 5+

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel only on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leggett2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here at the moment, beautiful weather, lovely beach.. only thing on the downside is the location, nothing within walking distance, doesn't even seem to be a supermarket. All the hotels have huge manned security gates which is a little off-putting, but I suppose it is good that they take our safety seriously. Lovely pools, and plenty of sunbeds in the shade if required. The tipping isn't an issue... we are going to leave it till the end of the week and tip then. Loads of staff, all eager to please. Meals are fine, especially the lunches at the cafe near the beach, and of course it's all included! I paid a lot more for a Sheraton hotel last year, and this isn't far behind. No English TV except Sky news, and the fact that the lobby allows smoking are the only negs I can think of! Spotlessly clean, we are staying in a lovely bungalow with a sea view. I would advise not bothering paying extra for the larger bungalow, the sofas are very hard and it is a small area, if there are only 2 of you it isn't necessary, although for some reason our room (without sofas) only has one chair. Oh well...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at this resort during May half term with my partner and two sons aged 6 and 1.After arriving at 2300hrs had to wait 1 1/2 hrs for a cot after being advised by a staff member my son could sleep in his pushchair!kept awake by the music from nightclubs next door.Moved bungalow rooms the next day again had to wait for cot.kept awake for rest of week by adjoining hotels entertainment.
The only specific designated kids pool and playground forms part of the childrens club.You must leave your child at the club in order to use.
In a week we were only given a towel each for 2days dispite asking various staff normally only left 2.
The hotel was cleann,the staff were lovely and the Thomson rep could understand our concerns but for a 5* palace resort suitable for families Thomson and riu have lots of niggly issues to address.
Very disappointed haven't had these issues in 3* resorts.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjtj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.2 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
5,406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,985 reviews
3.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba

Property: Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey | Hammamet, Hammamet, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Hammamet Marhaba)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palace Hammamet Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing