We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Badira(Hammamet)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$1,128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,542)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveller rating
820
444
177
56
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
444
177
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsea viewwalk in showertunisian restaurantplenty of choiceseparate toiletpool staffsun loungersbeach restaurantgreat holidaylobby barevery eveningshop ownersmeal timessmall tippizzabungalow
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Enjoyed a weeks holiday here. Staff welcomed us with fresh juice and allocated rooms. Bedrooms in the hotel were clean and tidy. Bathroom and toilet separate. Free safes, and fridges stocked with still or fizzy water. Dressing gowns and slippers supplied. Hotel very clean and tidy and staff very polite and very helpful. The grounds of the hotel were well maintained. I can’t speak about the bungalows in the grounds as we were in the hotel. Food good and wine good. We were in room 1214 with a garden view would have liked a sea view I think these would have to be rooms with odd numbers. Animation team good. The hotel is situated between old Hammamet and new Yasmin Hammamet. It was a fifty minute walk along the beach to Yasmin Hammamet and was very pleasant. We did taxi to old Hammamet and that cost approximately seven dinar around two English pounds. This hotel in my opinion was very good and I will definitely be coming back again.

Room Tip: I like to have a view, so second floor or above is good.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank suzijwright58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed O, Director of Sales at Steigenberger Marhaba Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel! We are waiting for you here on your next vacation. We are glad to hear good words about our hotel and stuff and always opened for your suggestions of possibilities to improve our services. Regards, Direction of the Steigenberger hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This is a good hotel, its being marketed as a 5 star, but it doesn't quite make that grade. The rooms are very good in the hotel with includes white bath robes and slippers. There is tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge with cold water which the maids kept unto date with fresh water. There was a hair dyer but no iron, couldn't fault the bath room which had a separate shower along side the bath with also had a separate shower, the toilet was in a separate room to the bath and shower, overall this was a very nice room with settee and a veranda overlooking the gardens. The dinning room was in good order and the food was very good, the hotel catered towards the lunch time menu, probably for the French, but there was still plenty of variety in at dinner and lunchtime.
The grounds with very pleasant with hotel complex bungalows, trees and well kept shrubs. There was one salt water pool and one fresh water in the grounds. Although two pools I don't think there was sufficient areas for children, which might cause a problem entertaining younger children.
There was plenty of seating in and around the hotel.
Downsides, picky really, the room could have had an iron and along with more tea and coffee available in the room The air conditioning didn't work in our room and some lights weren't working. All inclusive I didn't think was quite there, we didn't see any sort of ice cream or smaller items available on a daily basis, most hotels of this nature have these facilities, although you could go to the restaurant at meal times to get ice cream
In general the staff were very good although tipping was the norm in this hotel (no more that 3 dina and not all the time. PS you can get local money at the reception, wi fi good in the hotel but not at pool side and we found the table wine good
All in all 4 star plus a little, for 5 star it has to address the little niceties that people expect

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel if possible it has better security than the garden chalets
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank iandwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed O, Director of Sales at Steigenberger Marhaba Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel!
Would like to inform you, that normally the air-conditioning starts working in our hotel since 15 June, actually this year we started since the 1st June.
Also would like to tell you about availability to bring your children to the mini-club of the hotel which is working from 10 am to 12 and from 15 pm to 17 pm, we have there a baby pool which depth is 40 cm.
Regarding to the question about ice-cream, pretty sure you didn't notice it in the restaurant. We have 4 different types of ice-cream in the lunch and dinner time:
We are waiting for you here on your next vacation. We are glad to hear good words about our hotel and stuff and always opened for your suggestions of possibilities to improve our services.
Regards, Direction of the Steigenberger hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Just returned from a very good week at the hotel.
Good food, good selection, hot and would cover most tastes.Tunisian restaurant very good - book every wednesday.
Entertainment although Simba was brilliant is average at best.
Big issue with room key, returned to the desk 14 times in 6 days, resolution 30 minutes before leaving. Lacked a will to sort out the problem.
Men must wear long trousers every evening to eat in restaurant- ridiculous considering women can wear skimpy shorts - however that is the rule.
Beach lovely- able to walk to old and new Hammemet along the beach. Beware traders- just tell them no thank you they do go away. Horses, Camels and fruit all being sold along beach.
Water at beach has strong under currents which can trip you up if not careful.
Most of the staff friendly, grounds beautiful, well looked after.
Bit of work to do on the finer points but all in all a good first visit to the area.

Stayed: June 2018
7  Thank Titanic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed O, Director of Sales at Steigenberger Marhaba Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel!
So sorry for your problem with the door lock. We are trying to solve every problem of every guest as soon as it possible. Actually you shouldn't leave your key near from the phone. fridge, TV. It cause erasing of the program on your magnetic key. That's why we must make program for it again.
We are waiting for you here on your next vacation. We are glad to hear good words about our hotel and stuff and always opened for your suggestions of possibilities to improve our services.
Regards, Direction of the Steigenberger hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

My wife & I have been coming to Tunisia for years (10+ times probably) usually to Sousse. Seems to be back to normal, no restrictions & normal TUI tours taking place. No heavy security the hotel is gated but free access to the beach. Steigenberger recently took over this hotel from RUI chain. This may explain the lack of fluent English with the staff. French of course German & Russian. Oh the RUDE Russians. RIU standard of rooms with separate toilet from bathroom with bath & walk in shower. Small fridge & safe provided. Confused check in as not done on an individual basis. Everybody seated until all rooms were allocated then room numbers on case for delivery. Room 1 was not a sea view as we paid extra for. Back to reception given another room key after much discussion. Room 2 Along the rooms facing the pool & sea on the 3rd floor pigeons are building nests. The balcony was covered in Pigeon droppings and debris from the nest making, twigs & stuff. Being on the 2nd floor there were 2 nests above with a steady stream of visitors back & forth. Back to recption. Room 3 Room 1245 was acceptable not perfect but we were now weary. In the middle of the top swimming pool there is a statue of a horseman with a bird of prey maybe a kestrel. These trained birds are famous throughout the Middle East. One of these on site for a week would drive the problem away. Enjoyed the food & the show cooking could see fresh pizzas coming out of the oven. Had a friendly waiter looking after us, only a small tip early does the trick. Two pools. Top one completely spoiled by LOUD music played all day. You cannot relax with a book. The pool facing rooms have this racket forced on them too. In this digital age nearly everyone carries there own music source. The slightly ageing trying to be young animation group seem to have too much influence. It would not happen in a RUI. To escape the intrusion you can go over the little bridge to the pool by the beach, The bar was open but the were painting & cleaning the food outlets. Hope they keep the animations away. Must stop the bird invasion, people already calling it the Stinkyberger Hotel. For the price we paid it was a bargain & I look forward to going back to Tunisia when the travel companies go back to Sousse.

Room Tip: Beware the pigeons.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed O, Director of Sales at Steigenberger Marhaba Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel!
Would like to notice that our stuff on the reception is talking in many languges: french, german, english, russian, italian. If you have any problem; you could contact with the reception staff to solve it.
Regarding to the point about animation in the pool area: we have a main pool - its for relax, and the other one near from the beach bar is for animation. You could choose the one that is answering to your expectations.
We are waiting for you here on your next vacation. We are glad to hear good words about our hotel and always opened for your suggestions of possibilities to improve our services.
Regards, Direction of the Steigenberger hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a week this month. Staff were lovely, food great, entertainment good, pool is fab, well worth the visit!

Only fault I have is that there's no air con until June (?), so be prepared to boil at night.

Tunisia is not a great country to visit, nothing to do or visit and every local will hassle you to tip/buy their goods/haggle. Incredibly frustrating. Just have to stay stern and say no.

However if you're looking for an all inclusive lay by the pool relaxing holiday then this hotel is brilliant. We had a great time.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank smarriott32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed O, Director of Sales at Steigenberger Marhaba Thalasso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel!
Would like to inform you, that normally the air-conditioning starts working in our hotel since 15 June, actually this year we started since the 1st June.
We are waiting for you here on your next vacation. We are glad to hear good words about our hotel and stuff and always opened for your suggestions of possibilities to improve our services.
Regards, Direction of the Steigenberger hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews