We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Beachfront Luxury with Beautiful Pools and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“5 Star Beachfront Luxury with Beautiful Pools and Spa”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As a luxury travel writer for world-adventurer.com, I have experienced many high end properties around the world. I can easily say that the Hasdrubal Thalassa Hammamet met and exceeded my expectations of a 5 star property.

The first thing you'll notice is that the property is immense, though due to its design still has a private exclusive feel. Rooms are extravagant in space, amenities, design and service.

Next you'll see that everyone you meet at the resort, whether the manager or a cleaning staff member will greet you with the same enthusiasm as if you were a personal guest.

Restaurant staff are professional and the servers know your room number. The dining atmosphere is very classy and traditional.

Finally the location of the hotel is great, because you have access to a resort setting of beaches and pools, plus you are a short drive to the major tourist sights in Tunis and south to Kairouan or El Djem.

The hookah/chicha lounge "Moorish Cafe" is a great place to unwind at the end of the day with a traditional touch!

Though a bit pricey, the property offers excellent value compared to the other 5 star resorts in the area.

Interesting to note: Miss Belgium was at the hotel during my stay... seems that plenty of celebrities come through here.

If you want to stay at the best, Hasdrubal Thalassa is it. For a more in-depth review with pictures, check my site at world-adventurer.com

Room Tip: Suites all have great views, but some are closer to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    58
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
87
140
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a modern, very comfortable hotel with a fancy spa attached (we didn't sample this, but lots of guests were clearly there for it), a large pool and a strip of beach. It feels like a family business - very friendly and basically informal. Attractive gardens, full of birds. Very good, though slightly variable food: excellent buffet breakfast, with a choice that covers off most european options thoroughly. We did not eat in the hotel at lunchtime, but there appear to be good options both indoors and by the barbecue in the garden. Dinner offered a choice of soup or a very good salad buffet, and six or seven main courses including at least one local fish and a vegetarian dish. A display on the way in showed off these options, so if you wanted something unfamiliar you would at least know what it looked like. A mix of international and local cuisine, mostly pretty good. Interesting, entirely local, wine list. Rooms very comfortable.
Best things were breakfasts and the atmosphere of the service. One small criticism was the attitude of the pool attendant, who clearly wanted more tips than we were willing to give him.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the garden are clearly preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We went with the family to this hotel from 12 to 13 April 2014 and we were looking forward to our little weekend. Hotel is nice, rooms are clean and well equipped and the staff is there to respond to your queries. Diner was excellent and the breakfast as well. However, we were disappointed by the policy regarding children in the in door swimming pool. Their access is restricted to 13hrs to 14hrs30 and from 18hrs to 19hrs. This was not clear from the website consulted to do the reservation. Also, the hotel did not warn us when it was clear to them that we were coming with under age children. So, thanks to our negociting skills and some flexibility by the hotel staff, we were able to get our kids to the in door pool. So, except if it is the summer, forget about this place in the winter or spring if you want to enjoy the in door pool with your kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nabil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

10th anniversary ruined from the start! I reserved double bed then had to insiste on Change?
Next day the poorly trained staff poured oil on the sauna while we were in it!big fire infront of our eyes! 30 cm from my wife et I!
Manager tried to say it was small event!we were in shock! From fire et his reponse!
He pushed us off! Only when I said I would go to boss ir change hotels did he say he would try to do small thing!
I paid 2 x what other 5× had not worth it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kohokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We have just had a very relaxing week half board at the Hasdrubal hotel. As previous comments suggest, the hotel could probably do with a more up to date refurb but saying that, nothing was dirty at all.The staff throughout the hotel are a credit. Every single person made us feel very welcome. We are not usually people that spend all their time at the hotel and like to eat outside of the hotel each evening however the food and choiceof 4 restaurants meant we really didnt feel the need to venture outside even with one restaurant in the medina being recommended on several occasions! There are both salt and chlorine pools both also very clean and pleasant to be around. The only reason i gave the hotel 4 stars is because of the decor which as I said above, looks a bit tired in places and could do with updating! Outside the hotel there really isnt much to do (another reason we stayed inside the resort most nights!) Admittedly we are here out of season but its very quiet! Shopping in the medina isnt great but if you actually visit the kasbah (old fort) there is a lovely little shop inside - the best place to by any souvenirs!!! Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ClaireFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

overall a pleasant stay
the hotel has got certainly the best infrastructure of all hôtels in Hammamet but there are signs indicating that without proper maintenance it might rapidly deteriorate to a point where the rates quoted might not be justified anymore.

Room Tip: higher rooms on the Thalassa center side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amongou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Expensive but worth it, it was a lovely stay. The staff is very freindly, courteous ans attentive. The salt water pools are great. The only problem that you don't find a lot of activities to do in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amilcar_CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.9 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#27 of 118 in Hammamet
406 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
6.4 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.8 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#43 of 118 in Hammamet
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa

Property: Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Address: Avenue Medina - BP4 | Station Touristique Yasmine, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#19 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hasdrubal Thalassa And Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel Hammamet
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing