We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positive and Negative !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinza Hotel
Ranked #84 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Positive and Negative !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review whilst in resort and I hope it helps any future visitor. Firstly there will be negative comments but likewise there are positives.

Left Gatwick for a pleasant 2 hour 25 minute flight. Arrived in very humid conditions. Be aware the moment you get of the plane you are harassed at every opportunity by the Airport Porters who do not Understand NO. They will insist to the point of annoyance to carry your bags. We gave in at the end as its easier than having a bun fight with them. Give them £1 English money - no more !

Arrived at the hotel after a very long transfer as we were last stop. At first glance everything looked fine and then we went to our room which was ok with a really good view of the pool and sea. In the room there was a TV which is a complete waste of time as only one English Channel (Bbc World News) which incidentally gives no news whatsoever. Don't even bother with the Air Con as all it does is make a lot of noise with no effect at all. I would advise anyone who is greater than average weight to stay well clear of the balcony as you will struggle to fit on it and I would recommend no more than two dwarfs at a time on the balcony as its so small. There are two chairs and a very small table on the balcony but its impossible to close the patio door with one person and the chairs. It is also worth bearing in mind NEVER open the patio door during sleeping hours as it screeches in a very loud audible manner. Bedroom athletics are not recommended as you will wake everyone up !

Now, for information, you get 2.4 Dinar to the pound everywhere...it's pointless looking around as everywhere offers the same rate. First Tip : keep plenty of 1 Dinar handy as believe me you will not drink the all inclusive crap that is on offer. ! Second Tip : do not book the all inclusive option if you can get Half Board as you will regret it as its simply not worth the extra money. Tip three : leave your kids at home as they will go home malnourished and the moment they set foot in England they will demand McDonalds ( come to think of it so will the adults). Tip 4 : there is no such thing as a Steak anywhere in Tunisia - even the outside restaurants struggle to offer any and believe me there are not many open. Tip 5 : if you don't like black nasty flies crawling in a relentless rage on your body all day long near the pool, then stay away from the pool as there is epidemic proportions EVERYWHERE ! Tip 6 : Chips are a rarity and only appear if you are lucky in the afternoon buffet, the pizza on offer is meat free ( no negotiation ) and bacon or beans are as rare as German politeness.
Tip Seven : take a large baseball bat of pepper spray with you if you venture out near a shop as the owners will follow you all over the resort until you buy something.

This hotel does not cater at all for the English, in fact they get excited when they see anyone from England ! They Speak mainly French, German or Russian with the odd bit of English thrown in for good measure.
The hotel itself is very clean and the staff very friendly.
The animation team are also very friendly albeit sometimes annoying but I give them ten out of ten for effort.
I recommend using the hotel safety deposit boxes, not because anything is unsafe, it's just cheap @ 2 dinar per day.
There is a good indoor pool but the massage a bit pricey at 60 dinar.
Keep away from the speciality Tunisian restaurant (unless you like that sort of thing) as its worse than the buffet.
One really good feature of the hotel is the WI FI area, however it is not reliable and seems to go off on a frequent basis.
If you want to buy a genuine fake bag or sunglasses, we recommend the guy at the entrance to the hotel as he is cheaper and his genuinely fake stock seem better then elsewhere.

I feel it's very important in this review to let everyone know just how bad the drinks are as I wish someone had informed me.

Remember that dodgy pop your mum used to buy or every time you went to a vending machine and choose the cheap pop option ?
Well, the drinks here are 10 times worse !
It really is the cheapest of the cheap and leaves a nasty after taste !

Alcohol is limited to 3 drinks ! (Free that is).

The Voka @ 36% proof is NOT vodka, it's a hideous foul tasting cheap something or another.
The Brandy is nearly ok but as soon as you put the cheap pop in it it's ruined.
The lager is terrible. I could easily drink 4 pints an hour and still pass any European Breath Test.
The only way I can describe the taste is by putting a rusty 2 pence piece in the bottom, letting it settle then drinking it.

Then there is the creme de la creme, the saviour.....Absolute Vodka !
Now for those in the know will appreciate that in England, Absolute Vodka is the poor mans Vodka that you see most tramps swigging as its so cheap, yet out here its 5 dinar a shot !

My biggest advice to anyone coming here is that the hotel itself is fine and enjoyable.
The food is never hot and very poor quality.
The drinks in whatever form are just simply a no go area.

Happy holidays !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Toonarmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    22
    17
    18
See reviews for
34
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

went for a week last minute on 25th sept,after a horrible 2 hour journey from airport,,WE WERE LAST DROP OFF,PULLED UP AT FRONT NOT BAD,,,,,,,,,,,,UNTIL WE GOT INSIDE,,just vile,dirty dingy,changed rooms as the one they gave us first looked like a prisoner of war camp,,second wasnt much better,,,but to be fair tidied and cleaned every day {thank god} sat at pool after unpacking,, god just dirty unkept,,filthy sunbeds some of which were ripped,,and the final nail in the pool area coffin,,,,,, FLIES EVERYWHERE,that was the first and last time we sat round the pool,,,beer was horrible and either watered down or alcohol free,,if you wanted a decent beer you had to pay for it,,soooo we tried a gin and tonic,,,, vile tasted like whiskey soooo we tried a vodka tonic guess what,,it tasted of whiskey,,we then found out what they give you is a spirit called bukka,,,if you want a gin and tonic or vodka tonic YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR IT,,you also have to pay for beer on the beach and matressess for your very hard plastic sunbeds,,you also have to pay for bottles of water,,which we found a lot cheaper from shop over the road,,,food was horrendous i could barely eat it,,there were health inspectors called in while we were there taking away samples while wearing masks,,a family were hospitalised and put on drips for 2 days,,although i dont know if it was food from hotel,,,,,,,,,,, i will leave that up to you to decide,,,however i have to say the staff were lovely and i feel its the hotel that lets them down,,,,please be aware if you go here,,PACK FLY SPRAY,,BLEACH,,AND SOME FOOD OHHHH YES AND TAKE PLENTY SPENDING MONET BECAUSE YOU WILL HAVE TO BUY DRINKS AND EAT OUT,,,PLEASE TRUST ME,,i wish i had listened to the reviews,,i wouldnt go back if it was free..........DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE PROFFESIONAL PHOTOS....
JOANNE GRIFFITHS STOURBRIDGE,WEST MIDLANDS

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

Notts, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Will do the full dissection on return ur I wish I had read a review from myself for booking. Basically if can get it cheap enough it's ok for a relax in the sun ( although this is our 3rd cloudy day!) food is bearable but eat to fill up. Breakfast pass, the drinks...they really are that bad. Is a few restaurants in walking distance but it is really out the way. If coming soon, seriously pick some spirits up at the airport , it's a mission to find any! Happy to answer any questions, apegg0@googlemail.com

Stayed September 2012

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Staff very friendly and most spoke English. But that is were it stops we had to changed rooms three times the first was like prison cell with no air-con the second also had no air-con and a broken patio door the third was OK the room was clean. We where told by the rep that came to the hotel that their was three restaurants and we could eat in any one as there was three hotels, a fitness room and indoor pool there was only one restaurant and no fitness room and the indoor pool water was black with a broom and a bucket in it, after this the room was locked and boarded up. The loungers although plenty of them were broken and had sharp edges the pool in the lower section was quite nice but had a big patch of broken tiles. And now we come to the food:- which was cold and flavorless, we found boiled eggs to be green inside and out of six found two that we could eat. by the third day even though we were careful of what we eat we all ended up with food poising. Luckily the weather was very good and hot and we all came back with a good tan.WE found Tunisia very dirty and run down dead animals on the road side and rubbish every where we will not be going back.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wclarke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

As much as I wanted to like this hotel for being a base to enjoy a beautiful country, it failed for being an all inclusive. I was told, and promised beforehand that it would be airconditioned in the rooms, yet when we got there, they said the air conditioning was off due to it being off peak season. (35 degrees+ in the day in a sun facing room DEFINATELY needs air conditioning). The air conditioning in our room finally came on 2 days before we left, presumably because enough people complained (the manager in his ridiculously oversized suit was wandering around most nights doing what best he could do). I respect that they are not an alcohol drinking country but if you are serving alcohol on all inclisive you should at least make an effort. The alcohol is nothing short of awful. The beer tastes like the pipes havent been cleaned in 10 years, (although strangely the restaurant tastes more passable than the bar one) and the spirits are just a no go, Foul. Luckily i picked up some spirits from the airport, and the heineken are only £1.25 to buy. The food was manageable. an ok selection but repetitive. Some people complained of all the flies but its bloody hot, and they were to be found everywhere including the beach, u just get used to it. The pools were lovely, sunbeds fine, absolutely no issue finding one. The staff were very OTT in getting people on board. whistling every 15 minutes. but if your not interested they will not bother you again. The private beach area lovely, you wont get bothered by sellers. Just beware, u wont get free alcohol there only soft drinks, and you have to pay for a matress on the sunbeds, but not the sunbed, which obviously isnt a major issue. The water sports are very cheap compared to most places I've been. My main dissapointment is that even though i requested a pool side room room before we left, we got placed in a room directly opposite the train line. and dont take other reviews for granted, the front of the hotel is literally ON the train line, so it is very noisey (i think it starts at 6am and stops at 11pm). luckily the hotel were very accomodating in moving rooms ( ALL the english people we spoke to were given these awful rooms, coincindence?) but they did offer us many keys to choose the best so i respect them for that. All in all, its a manageable place to lay your head, but its TOO far out from Hammamet to do anything in the evening (especially when the free drinks end at 11, and they are not drinkable in the first place) so if you are travelling in this region i would suggest staying in Hammamet South, Yasmine Hammamet, or Northwards at Sousse (which our useless tansfer took us too first)
If youw ant an email address, (which took me an age to find and they didnt reply) its info@zenithhotel.net

Room Tip: if you do stay here, you MUST request pool side, its the only way passable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

we booked this hotels last few days 1 week fully inclusive did not read any comments about it ,we had great time great value for money ,very clean ,very pleasent very polite ,great atmosphere ,great choice of food ,but the the most importante time in this hotel was the entertainments was awesome really brilliant every 1hour there's activity specialy for kids / couples / excellent for families . i would like to thank for the entertainments team mahdi / ahmed / baggio / willie and all the staff in the restaurant + the bar + all the waiters mahmoud + moez big up respect bouha / balha

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahmoud g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

we went to kinza zenith for 2wks . and after reading some of the reviews we wernt sure we had done the right thing . but on arriving there we was greated with a very warm welcome n was given a nice refreshing cocktail drink. some of the food was bland but its a 3* hotel n not a 5*. in some reviews ppl was moaning about the train going past the hotel early in the morning . we was in a room near the train track n it never bothered us . the way we look at it the tunisians are allowed to go work n support n feed their familys. the pools was very clean and the water in them was tested every morning like the food in the restaurant was tested. the animation team was great and we will defo be going back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.0 mi away
Anais Hotel
Anais Hotel
#93 of 118 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#81 of 118 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Zenith Hotel
Le Zenith Hotel
#99 of 118 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#105 of 118 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#70 of 118 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#75 of 118 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinza Hotel

Property: Kinza Hotel
Address: BP 224, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinza Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing