We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Ranked #22 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm astonished to read some of the negative comments regarding food etc as during our recent stay we were impressed with the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food is excellent with a wide range to suit all tastes - except the pizza and chips brigade but who goes to Tunisia for junk food? - the pool is very big and clean with plenty of loungers, all-inclusive really is just that with no restrictions. The staff are friendly and polite and although there was a problem with some noisy drunk Russians who got into a fight, the staff did what they could and were in no way responsible.

My wife is researching Tunisian recipes as we were so pleased with the food and the [head] chef, who made frequent appearances in the self-service dining room, obviously has a good deal of pride in his work and keeps his staff on their toes at all times, as do the service supervisors. What more do people want? What we did see however was a lot of gluttony and wasted food by diners who piled their plates so high and so often they couldn't eat anywhere near all they took; this says a lot about some tourists. We saw no evidence of the flies on food that others complained about, in fact we were more bothered by flies in our own back garden this summer! What's wrong with these people?

We met several others staying in other hotels in the same resort and their descriptions of the food and other facilities at their hotels, costing around the same, convinced us that our choice of hotel had definitely been the right one.

The hotel also has the advantage of being right on the beach, a benefit not present with the majority of hotels in Jasmine Hammamet, even some of the top-notch expensive ones, where guests had to cross main roads or walk several hundred yards to get to the beach.

All in all a very positive experience for us; we seldom go back to the same resort as we like to see different places, but if we go back to Tunisia we'll go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony and sea view, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Lovely hotel, pool kept clean, beds very comfy, entertainment not so good and food awful but think it's just the Tunisia food that is bad, lots of arrogant Russians, food area poorly organised they need more staff to clear the tables, you had to wait around for table by the time you got ur table food has gone,

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank uk40viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Well what can I say here goes, we booked a week all inclusive for a bit of last minute sunshine and to have a week of relaxation which we got, they are the good points. The bad points of our weeks stay, the reception staff are very very rude and so disorganised they do not have a clue on customer relations at all, to try and change a beach towel for a clean one was a nightmare never any clean towels, we had to wait two days for a safe to be fitted in our room, rooms are big but very dirty and we had to move rooms as we had no lock or handle on the patio doors, evening entertainment was a joke rubbish can not describe it ( I know all inclusive hotels that the entertainment is not really good but for Christ sake this beats the lot) . Now for the best part the FOOD the Italian restaurant which you had to book for and was Never full was disgraceful I would not serve a dog it, and as for the main restaurant the food was appalling we lived on bread most of the week and that was stale, never any clean tables and you had to hunt for a cup and knife and forks and clean chairs which did not have bird muck on, the staff in the main restaurant we has helpful as piles. The beach restaurant was the best place to eat only just as the pizzas were edible but as for the salad and cakes there were more flies round them and birds pecking because it was all uncovered. As for the pool area that was very nice the pool is very big and clean and there are always plenty of beds, there are waiters serving drinks round the pool but be warned if you don't tip them they try and avoid you. I would not recommend this hotel to any one very bad management and I will be surprised if it stays open for the near future.

Room Tip: The best tip to help other travellers is not to book this hotel it is a shambles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adyandsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our party of four have just returned from this hotel and have to say were extremely disappointed. firstly i would like to review the good points. The hotel grounds and pool area were kept very clean and well maintained and the beds in our rooms were very comfortable. This is where it ends! we had to ask to have our rooms changed due to bad cleanliness and that our friends room had no handle or lock on the patio door, no safes were in the rooms these had to be asked for and took two days to be installed and activated.(this was after asking several times). Reception staff ignorant. towels were provided but there were not enough for everyone, once we did get two we had to hang on to them because if we asked for clean ones they were rarely available. food and canteen cleanliness appalling. not enough glasses in the bar, what they had were chipped and on may occasions we had to drink out of throw away plastic cups. in all very poor hotel will NOT return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel was a gem. My husband and I enjoyed the grounds, pool, food, room, view, general facilities and the trips to the Sahara and the welcome trip organised by Thomas Cook. There was very little we were not happy with such as the entertainment on offer in the evening which was a bit banal. We were able to escape it, however, and we are quite happy not being entertained anyway.
All Inclusive is not our usual type of holiday (we usually drive to France and do gites or B.B.) and the only other experience we have had of All Inclusive was in the Bahamas at the 'Sandals' resort. If this type of holiday was modelled on this high end genre they did a good job.
The only down side was the time of the year (late September/ early October) attracted the worst type of Russian guest with bad manners, gluttony, drunkenness and rowdy behaviour. One or more of their group were eventually arrested and sent back to Russia.
The photographs of the hotel that I found on the internet prior to booking did not do this hotel justice. I intend to find a way to remedy this. If you are reading this look up Google Earth and see if I have posted some pics.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mx52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just back from our family break in North Africa. Vincci Taj Sultan Hotel in Tunisia .... Fantastic place for a. All inclusive especially with a young child. Self contained so the private beach is a bonus and only 200 yards from the hotel ... Massive clean pool and all the food beer and pop you could ask for :) plenty to see and do with the "colourful" shops and replica rolex watches a plenty :) if you haven't been give it a go x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briansheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I will be very brief the hotel was lovely. Right that's the good stuff out of the way food was terrible, staff we're rude didn't want to know, entertainment was mediocre.Don't venture outside unless you have to its absolutely filthy and stinks of sewerage. Balcony doors didn't lock. There's loads more things that are wrong with this but to many really to mention.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
7.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,180 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#24 of 119 in Hammamet
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,353 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#34 of 119 in Hammamet
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 119 in Hammamet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort

Address: Zone touristique Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly Vincci Taj Sultan)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#17 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £31 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning points of interest, The Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort brings the essence of modern Five-Star luxury to the touristic area Yasmine Hammamet. With a private beach, gourmet fusion restaurants and an exotic day spa, we offer a taste of Tunisian serenity in Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Taj Sultan Hotel Hammamet
Vincci Hotel Hammamet
Vincci Hotel Taj Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing