We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at The Orangers the last two weeks of July 2012, we were a party of 8, family of four with two children aged 8 and 3 and two sets of grandparents. The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. The hotel is cleaned all the time, the rooms daily. The food was very good and there was always plenty of choice. There are snack bars by the pool and beach serving pizza, burgers, kebabs, chips and paninis. The restaurant by the beach serves food from 12pm to 6pm, so you really can eat all day long! The beach is beautiful, sometimes a little annoying when the camels are allowed to leave droppings on the sand. The sea water is clear and very warm. There were always sun loungers available by the beach or pool. The pool is almost one depth so not great for the little ones. There is waiter service for drinks by the pool which was great! Champagne was part of the all inclusive as were cocktails. The animation team were fantastic! They involved everybody and worked very hard all day and into the evening. It's obvious they are passionate about what they do. A really great hotel, very clean and very good food in the restaurants. We also had a birthday whilst we were there and they gave us a bouquet of flowers, candles on the table and a special a la carte meal and a birthday cake. It's the first all inclusive we've been on for a few years where you don't have to queue for drinks and food and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere at the hotel. (We usually go to Egypt) Really lovely, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Les Orangers for 2 weeks (family of 4, kids aged 16 and 14) and had a brilliant time! There are so many great things to say so here goes.

Arrival: we arrived at 2am in the morning, greeted by a friendly man in reception who brought us water and, after 5 mins of paperwork to check in and wristbands done, we were taken to our rooms by a porter.

Rooms: The rooms were clean, cool and spacious. 2 double beds pushed together which were unbelieveably comfortable. We had a TV, desk and chair facing a large mirror. Bathroom was lovely, nice vanity unit and over bath shower. Was pleasantly surprised by the hairdryer, powerful and I was glad I didn't bother packing my own. Our rooms were in the centre of the grounds, close to both the pool and the beach. We overlooked a lovely garden with hammocks from our balcony.

Hotel grounds: Hotel grounds are simply gorgeous. Very well maintained, lots of trees, plants, palm trees etc. Gorgeous flowers of yellows, pinks, reds and blues made for a stunning backdrop. The reception area is well air conditioned and a lovely place to relax.

Food: The food during the first week was better than the second week, it catered better for younger people on the first week. It wasn't a struggle by any means to find something nice to eat but the quality and selection of food was definitely better during our first week. To be honest, this is the only thing we found slightly disappointing during our entire stay.

When they say 24hrs all inclusive, they mean it. There's a main restaurant which opens for breakfast and for dinner. There's 2 snack bars, open from 12pm, one by the pool and one on the beach. There's a self service buffet for late night eating/throughout the night. Then there's the amazing beach bar where you can have lunch. The beach bar is fairly new and it's fab - tons of choice, including a Wok bar and a pizza bar where it's all made fresh in front of you.

Bars: There's a bar just off reception, lovely and cool. There's a bar near the pool, a bar in the beach bar, a self service bit on the beach - you are never far from anywhere to get a refreshing drink, soft or alcoholic. Plus, the waiters are always wandering around and are always happy to bring you a drink if you can't be bothered to get off your sun lounger...!

Spa: We enjoyed our massages during our stay, the spa has lovely matresses to relax on before and after your treatment. (We had our massages inside the hotel but there's the option to have these on the beach too.) There's also a steam room to enjoy.

Moorish Cafe: One of the things we discovered on our second week and enjoyed, wishing we'd went on our first week! Tried shisha pipes and the social aspect of the cafe, including Tunisian coffee and lovely tea with mint. We spent some nights in here playing cards and chilling out.

Beach: The beach is incredible and rivals that of those in the Carribean! It's kept so clean, the sand is white and soft. The water is so clear and warm. We walked along a fair bit in both directions and although there are sellers, you just ignore or say no and they leave you alone.

Security: The security were seen regularly around the hotel which made us all feel really safe. They are polite and friendly and they also ride along the beach on horses keeping unwanted people away.

Stables: The hotel has stables on site along with a paddock. The horses are healthy and happy with shiny coats and are well looked after. The bridles and saddles are also in pretty good condition. A as a former horse rider, I was impressed.

Activities: There's always something to do - if you say you're bored, you're not looking hard enough! Table tennis, archery, volleyball, water polo and tennis (the hotel has 2 tennis courts) are just a few of the things to do. The animation team (who I'll talk about later) work so hard to entertain and they make such an effort to get to know the guests. They often thought of random activities to do, for example, one morning after water polo, they brought out surf boards and got teams to race up and down the pool! For nighttime, there's a disco on site which we really enjoyed, lots of up to date tunes as well as 80's and 90's, something for everyone.

The people: This is what made our holiday and we'd like to extend special thanks to the following people.

The reception staff - always happy to change money or help us with phone calls home. They told us they'd miss us when we left which was really nice.

The lifeguards - always happy to help us with sunbeds, bringing mats and putting our parasol up each morning, always with a smile!

The maid - a lovely polite girl who left little flowers fresh from the trees on our beds, always greeted us with a smile and a good morning.

The waiters - in particular our waiter who kept a dinner table for us each night, along with wine, bread and cheeses, our little cocktail man who brought us lovely cocktails at lunchtime to enjoy and the waiters in the Italian a la carte restaurant and our little funny guy who played jokes on us in the beach bar!

But we'd like to give special mentions to Ben Chicken, Riad and Monty, all of whom kept us laughing and remembered what we liked to drink - thank you to you all.

Also to Romdhane in the Moorish Cafe - who stayed later than he was meant to for us but always enjoyed making sure we were having a good time.

The Animation Team:

Without a doubt, the group of people who helped to make our holiday. They work tirelessly all day, around the pool then the shows at night. A huge THANK YOU to our special friends Steve, Pinoccio, Dina, Arwa, Freddy and DJ Yow - for working so hard and for entertaining us each night. We'd like to say a special thanks to Mido - Och aye the noo, I see you jimmy hat! Mido, you had us in stitches with your craziness!

Finally, we'd also like to extend a special thanks to Yasmine, the Thomas Cook holiday rep. Yasmine is the most visible rep we've ever experienced, she spent so much time in the hotel, round the pool chatting to guests and was always happy and cheerful. When you arrive at the hotel, make sure you go to the welcome meeting with Yasmine - she'll tell you all you need to know. We asked about tipping in particular - her advice was little and often and this worked well for us and was always much appreciated by the people. thomas Cook as a holiday operator - we have no complaints, we were impressed by their service. We went on a day trip through Thomas Cook and had a great day out - visited 2 Berber villages, then to the new Zoo then 2.5hrs cruise on a pirate ship! Very lucky overall with no delays and even our flight arrived home half an hour early. Brilliant.

We would recommend this hotel for anyone thinking of going on holiday to Tunisia - a wonderful 2 weeks of fun and relaxation. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NicThomsonEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Bit late with this, as TripAdvisor makes you wait three months between repeat reviews, and my first review was late too.

Anyway, here goes:

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed.
Again the very fast and easy check-in, not queuing as in most hotels.
Learning from our previous visit we requested a room without a connecting door, as we had a lot of noise transmission last time. This was provided and we had a nice standard room towards the rear of the hotel. We had a small balcony overlooking the orange trees, but we didn't use it, so didn't miss a sea view.
The room had a shower, but no bath, but there was plenty of hot water. The rest of the room was a nice room, we only needed it for sleeping, and it served its purpose.

We hired a safety deposit box at a reasonable 2TD per day, with a £20 deposit. Best for passports and spare money. The charge for a lost safe key is 300TD, or was he pulling my plonker? If the charge is correct, then you need another safety deposit box to keep the safety deposit box key in, as the key was worth more than what we had in the box!

Unfortunately we seemed to have dragged the British weather to Tunisia with us, and we had rain in the afternoons most days.
Not to worry, Dido raised the umbrellas for us at the archery and we sheltered under them.

We preferred the pool area rather than the beach, less things to stick in your feet. My partner got a sharp needle/thorn in her toe in Nov 2011, and only got it all out in March 2012. She again managed to collect a sharp needle this year, but it came out quite easily.

The hotel cats seem to be much fewer in number, and Billy Big Bo**ocks wasn't around (see first review). Seems they must have had a cull, but we daren't ask.

The staff, as always, were extremely attentive, always smiling, always friendly. Most times when I went to the bar I was sent to sit down, and shortly after the drinks were brought. The waiters are extremely efficient, great guys. Anis deserves a special mention, but he was not the only one. Lotvi put up with late night shenanigans, and there were many other waiters who were extremely efficient and helpful.
We preferred the Bar Jasmins, as we felt the main bar lacks a little atmosphere.

The food was excellent, and we enjoyed eating in the beach bar. The evening menu is a little limited, and it doesn't change, but for us that is outweighed by the excellent waiter service and the quality of the food.

Also at the beach bar is a pizza and stir-fry hut where they make food up to order. I tried the stir-fry, but it was very oily, so I didn't go back.

Due to the weather the evening entertainment took place in the disco a few nights, and outside on the other nights. In the disco you need to get a good seat, as many seats have a very restricted view. As regards the quality, this is holiday hotel entertainment, provided primarily by the animation team. It is not London show material, but it is entertaining, very good quality, and often hilarious. The animation team work very hard, and they also enjoy themselves while they are doing their job.
There was also live music on some evenings, including a sax player who reminded me of the Muppet, 'Animal'.

I can't give a special mention to any of the animation team, as they are _all_ special, so a big thank you to Freddie, Dido, Dina, Billy, Steve, Pinnochio and Arwa, you turned our holiday from great into fantastic fun.

Outside the hotel, we took a taxi to Nabeul for the Friday market. Taxi cost 12TD each way, plus tips, compared to the organised trip of £25.00 per person. An experience not to be missed. There are quite a lot of eager vendors, and there is a fair bit of hassle, but nothing extreme. It's also worth a walk round the fish market. It's much more of a real market rather than the usual shops/stalls selling tourist tat.

We found the taxi drivers to be pretty consistent with prices, though on this holiday only used them to go to Nabeul, as we did Hammamet last year, and this time we only had a week.

We also had a walk round to the Shakespeare Bar, about 1km towards Yasmin Hammamet. We went in the afternoon, so it was very quiet. We met people at Les Orangers who had been there for the Friday night drag act, 10TD per ticket including food. They said it was excellent, extremely funny. I was put off by paying 6TD per 400ml (about 3/4 of a pint), but after 21:00 it was 2 for 1. Still, the hotel didn't charge at all for the same beer. Simple choice for a Yorkshireman.

Following our previous experience in Nov 2011 when our cases were opened and goods stolen, we used Pacsafe Exomesh security and had no problems. It was probably just a one-off experience but Thomas Cook were unhelpful, one response accusing me of lying about the incident.

Holiday overall: Excellent. Have booked to go in October.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangaryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from two blissful weeks in a wonderful hotel. The hotel as we approached did not look much but once inside the grounds it was lovely. the mature gardens gave a restful ambiance to the hotel. Our sea view was amazing, every morning opening the curtains to the view was just great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the entertainments team were full of enthusiasm, but never forced you to join in if you just wanted to relax. The food was excellent. I would recommend to couples, individuals and families there was something for everyone. The hotel had it's own beach which was really well kept and always plenty of sun beds . we would certainly go again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we just came back 3 weeks ago from this hotel. The impression is good, actually all services and conforts of this place are high level quality.
starting from the rooms and common spaces, very clean and nice. Then the kitchen and restaurants, 3 different and all excellent with a wide range of proposals in the buffet and menu, with a perfect service. the beach is large and with all conforts, the sea is clean and blue colour, so beautiful and relaxing.

we will surely come back here soon, maybe next summer and we suggest to pass your stay here for extraordinary kitchen, structure, services and people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yagosilvyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Food hygiene standards are completely ignored at Les Orangers and the staff are so rude and unhelpful. Food in the buffet restaurants, the quality of which is very poor, is left on display uncovered for hours at a time. Flies land on everything. As result, both my daughter and I suffered horribly from food poisoning and we are taking the matter up with the tour operator, Thomas Cook, as our holiday was ruined. Please note also that when the air conditioning in the bedrooms is turned on, it blows out a sickening smell of sewerage - we thought it came from the toilet in our bathroom on arrived and asked to change our room but when we checked out other bedrooms, the smell as just as strong. Please be warned and do not go on holiday to Les Orangers.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgrade to a sea facing bedroom but the smell when the air conditioning was switched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank monica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and my partner stayed here during July 2012 and had a great holiday.

Room:
We stayed for 1 week in a standard room.The room itself was good - we had 2 large beds pushed together, a lovely bathroom with a very good shower and a balcony which overlooked the well-manicured gardens of the resort. The maids did a great job and left our room spotless every day - they even left flowers on the bed for us. The best thing about the rooms was how concealed they seem from the outside. When we were in the resort we spent ages trying to work out where all of the other rooms were!

Beach and Pool:
The beach is beautiful and the security guys along the beachfront are great. There are a few beach sellers but the security make sure that there is no hassling. Also, there are plenty of sun loungers available on the beach. Even when we arrived past midday we still had space under some shade. The pool area is lovely with plenty of space and waiters bringing you drinks. Rather deep pool so take a rubber ring!

Food:
Great choice of food to suit anyone. Breakfast - served in main restaurant, including continental (pastries, bread, cheese, meats), cooked (bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, toast), crepes, omelettes, fruit. Lunch - served at beachfront restaurant, included grilled fish, pastas, beef stews, mixed grills, stuffed peppers, potatoes, lots of veg, lots of desserts. dinner - back in main restaurant, similar to lunch but even more choice and LOADS of puddings. Also, the a la carte restaurants were great. Good choice of alcohol too - good spirits, bottles of wine, nice beer too!

Animation Team:
The best part of the holiday! The team put on activities ALL DAY. during the day there was water gym in the pool and the sea, water polo, archery, bools, table tennis, yoga, horse-riding and quad bikes. In the evening there was entertainment from the team including dance shows, comedy shows, and shows including members of the audience! The team would be around all day making sure everyone was happy and having a good time. Mido, Steve, Pinnochio, Billy, Arwa and Dina are great and made the holiday.

Service:
The waiters are great. You have to find Montassa - he works in the bar by reception and is hilarious. Kept us entertained with his dodgy impressions all week. Waiters are only paid 10 dinar a day (£4!) so make sure you tip anyone who has looked after you well as it is a major part of their income.

I thought that the Thomas Cook package was fantastic and Yasmin the rep was great. I work for another holiday company and I can assure you that this hotel and the prices from Thomas Cook are VERY good.

We had a great time!

Jennifer A.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferA1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
2.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#8 of 119 in Hammamet
6,222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,165 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
Hasdrubal Thalassa & Spa
#22 of 119 in Hammamet
373 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#33 of 119 in Hammamet
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows

Address: BP 7 Rue Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4* ALL IN 24h/24 Certified ISO 9001/ ISO 22000/ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001 The hotel is located on a superb immaculate beach of golden sand, guarantees all Safety for children and swimmers, overlooking the picturesque Fort Hammamet. Its beautiful setting of 12 ha of orange trees and jasmin flowers offers big space of relaxation and entertainment for both adults and childrens enjoying together unforgettable holidays. The orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows is situated 4 km away from Hammamet centre and at a 5 mins drive from both championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orangers Beach Resort And Bungalows
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows Hotel Hammamet
Orangers Beach Hotel
Orangers Beach Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing