We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel shame about the rest of the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel shame about the rest of the area”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at les orangers beach resort in march and had researched the hotel and the resort a lot before booking as Tunisia had not been a location we had thought about before. On the coach travelling from the airport to the hotel we were apprehensive, to say the least, as the countryside in Tunisia is very littered and spoilt. As we came into the resort, where most shops and amenities are aimed at tourists we remained a little concerned about our decision to come to Tunisia;the whole resort is a mismatch between run down and dirty buildings amongst building sites..I'm sure in years to come the resort will be much more attractive when the new buildings are finished and the run down buildings have gone. There didn't seem to be much around for tourists to do or see just lots of convenience stores, pharmacies and run down cafes. As we drove into the hotel grounds we were suddenly much more excited about our holiday. A beautifully decorated and exceptionally welcoming hotel, the staff were faultless for the whole stay and could not do enough to help you. Food was brilliant as many other people had commented before us, lots of choice even for fussy eaters like myself. The hotel grounds were beautiful with orange and lemon trees and lots of flowers everywhere. The weather let the holiday down as it was cold and windy for most of the week but that was the risk we took going in march; The indoor pool was the saving grace when weather was awful. We went on a trip to see the medians; an experience but a stressful and exhausting one...not for us...I felt very pressured to buy things and if you change your mind about wanting to purchase something I found the shop workers could become quite agressive in manner and I found this rude and intimidating. We did ask the hotel manager where we could shop in 'fixed price' shops and he told us where to go and how to get a taxi, it wasn't far and was a much more plesant experience and we got some great bargains. We also booked a trip called African dream, to a safari park and evening with African dancers and dinner. Not overly expensive but we were disappointed by the animal park, a bit of a culture shock for us as we had visited longleat a few weeks before our holiday and let me assure you its nothing like that! The dinner was ok and African dancers was brilliant but trip ended a lot earlier than we had been lead to believe and not really value for money, we thought. Tipping caused a few issues for us as my partner and I were happy to tip if something met or exceeded our expectations but there were a few things which we had paid for that did not meet out expectations and we therefore did not wish to tip; this was not reieved very well. We also went on the two day saharah trip which was the highlight of our holiday...fabulous trip enjoyed every stop. Early morning starts both days but absolutelty incredible memories of watching sunset on the saharah on camels and watching the sun rise across the saltlakes was just unforgettable. Hotel for the night during the trip is very basic and food for whole trip is just chicken and couscous and soup but it was worth it for the memories and photographs we got on that trip.
Overall glad we went. Hotel was excellent, resort failed to meet expectations but the saharah trip made up for it. Won't go again but glad we did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rose160390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    485
    168
    55
    45
See reviews for
524
910
57
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed 7-14th April for a chill week, and that's exactly what we got, from arrival to departure. Our Standard room was both spacious and very clean,and the bath robes and slippers was a lovely gesture along with all the complimentary toiletries. The bed was very comfortable my husband had a great sleep, so did I until the dawn chorus started, those birds can twitter away big time.

The pool area was lovely and we had no problem getting a sun lounger, but i can imagine it would be hard to get one in the high season. Pool area was lovely and clean, and the animation team were fab, and always had time to stop for a chat with you. The waiters that came around the pool were lovely and gave great service, they all seemed to have a smile on their faces, it was a pleasure to tip them. The beach was also lovely plenty of loungers and not overly busy. the usual camel rides and looki looki men were about, but this did not bother us.

The food that was on offer, was amazing and even for the picky eater there was plenty of choice. I struggled only 1 night to find something to eat, but i was having an off day and i think everyone can have 1 of these day's. The beach restaurant was lovely and again so much choice.

Drinks were plentiful and my glass was never empty, The rose and white wine was very nice, and the champers was also nice. The only spirit i tried was the vodka and it was fine, and the beer was lovely and refreshing.

I cannot find fault with anything about this hotel, it is well run, the staff are always smiling and so helpful, the animation team were amazing, add all this up together and you have the perfect hotel, the management should be proud of their staff. It was a pleasure to tip these wonderful people.

Would we go back, yes definately you arrive as a client and leave as a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janicej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Travelled with a mate both in our mid 40’s, we holidayed in the last week of March 2013 and were searching for a well earned rest in a warmer climate. What a relaxing holiday! Ok so the hotel is a little tired and there honestly isn’t that much to do but if you want to unwind and recharge the batteries then this holiday fits the bill.
Positives’; the service is the stand out element that would challenge most 5*establishments. The staff work hard to meet your requests, I went for a week and spent £40 on tips; it isn’t necessary but the English pound goes a long way.
The food is average to good, plenty of it, an incredible choice catering to all, in places it's over westernised and has lost it's authenticity. Hint- look around the food hall before you start filling your plate and sit in the same area each time, this way you’ll build a relationship with your table waiter and in turn this leads to more attentive service. Snacks are available 24 hours! So in the summer you can bypass an evening meal to enjoy the final hours of the day on the beach. In March it was getting on for dark around about 7ish.

The beach is lovely, the view is fabulous and the free sun beds are very comfortable there is plenty of shade and parasols and beach towels will be provided in your room. The bar was closed but a hotel waiter was on hand when you needed that cool drink. It was hot enough to sunbathe each day but there was partial cloud. Stick to your usual sun cream factor, it's Africa and the sun is strong. We had a thunderstorm one afternoon but still managed to have 3 hours in the sun before it started and then it was G&T's o'clock so no time wasted. The beach has no rocks or pebbles, at this time of the year it was not warm enough to swim in the sea nor the pool (there's an indoor pool barely used in the early am, so I was told). On the beach there are small waves and a dip in the sand level on the way in to the water, small kids need watching. Hint- sunbathing on the front row of sunbeds makes you prone to attracting the attention of the sellers and the camel ride man that walks up and down the beach. There seems to be an unspoken rule that they stick to this area, so, moving two or three rows back helps to avoid any pestering. Closer to the hotel gets less breeze and is warmer.
Rooms are tasteful but need a refurb, they are clean. We had a twin superior on the top floor 40010 (something like that, it was on the third floor) with a beach/sea view. If you pay extra it doesn’t guarantee perfection, the rooms go up to a Deluxe standard so you may want to enquire about this on booking or at the hotel. Hint- there is a huge amount of building work going on next door to the sea view block; the hotel is adding a new accommodation facility. However, to be fair it was the quietest building site I’ve ever come across and what I thought would be a problem wasn’t. If you get the right room the holiday will be fantastic so ask if you aren’t happy. The ‘entertainment’ team are incredible they never stop! Whether you see this as good or bad just be warned they like their cabaret (day or night). It’s all good fun but if entertainment is top of your list of priorities be prepared to generate your own or you can go on the trips advertised by Thomas Cook when you get there! The 2 day, one night, desert ‘Sahara Explorer’ costs in Dinar Adult 190 and Child 95 and leaves the hotel on Tuesdays and Fridays. There are day/ half day trips and evening entertainment organised by TC on each day apart from Mondays and Sundays all bookable and payable when you get there and the prices are very reasonable.

We paid £450 for everything including insurance (without sea view it could have been £379), on top of this I spent £40 on tips and £30 in the airport. This is an amazing deal in regards to value for money for winter sun. The flight times unfortunately meant we were there 6 days rather than 7. Honestly, this the hotel aids recharging of batteries. Hint it gets cosy at the weekends with Tunisians who stay/eat at the hotel. I wouldn’t return in the Summer, the resort at Easter was only half full which suited us perfectly.

I met many lovely people who have been back year after year just for the craic.. I also witnessed those who got tanked up on the inclusive cocktails and beers, I’m no snob and it all equated to harmless fun. Hint; the measures are rough, large and not watered down but taste great after the first one. On the whole not luxury but comfortable and great value for money.. The biggest compliment I can give the hotel is I felt safe enough to return as a single female traveller, same time, next year.

Final tip you can't bring the Dinar out of the country but you can spend them in the airport or exchange 1/3 of what you originally changed on the holiday at a whopping rate of exchange. SO.. only change little and often and keep all receipts as proof. Any left over money is better spent at the hotel in final tips or at the airport. There is tatty food or gift shops down stairs before check in AND the usual duty free upstairs. (Your Thomas Cook Rep will tell you they won't take the Dinar upstairs but they do, just make sure notes and coins are mixed with your English while you go through passport and security.)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First time in tunisia and my daughters (3) first holiday and she didnt want to come home.. Read some reviews on here and it really is each to there own. Hotel staff and animation team are fab.always happy smiley and joking. Been a young single parent i was slightly nervous about going because of stories ive heard but if your stern and say no thank you they wont hassle you again.. Theres nothing outside the hotel but you have to remember its a 3rd world country n the staff get paid £4 aday! Dont think people in england would be as smiley as they are after 12hrs hard graft.. The hotel has a a la carte restraunt and a souveneir shop so no need to venture out.. rooms were always clean and tidy and good selection of food.. For what we paid we got a bargain holiday and are definately going back next year. Thanks les orangers xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We studied the reviews for this hotel over a number of months to see what other guests thought of it. To accommodate a family of 6 with an age range of 15 - 83 can be quite challenging but we continued to monitor the reviews up to the week before we left.

Everyone expects different things from their holiday and our review is based on what we found.

We first visited Tunisia in 2009 so had an idea of where we were going and what was available to us.

This is Africa so bear that in mind.

It doesn't reflect our home countries of the UK Germany France Spain etc.

The hotel has virtually all you need. Take a look at their facilities on their website and add on the fact that the staff are very friendly and work long and hard hours. Go to the welcome meeting to find out what is included in the 'all inclusive' package such as a massage,feet cleaning fish & champagne.

When we arrived the staff provided us with orange juice and cold towels as we filled in our hotel registration. The porters collected our cases and took them and us to our three rooms. All our rooms were on the ground floor as requested due to walking difficulties and overlooked the beach and ocean. There is plenty of room with a balcony, fridge tea & coffee making facilities and tv.

There is loads of room to store your clothing and plenty of hangers. You don't even need a beach towel as they supply them. Along with a bath robe,  slippers, toiletries, and sewing kit!

There is a variety of food and drink to suit everyone including the fussy eaters in our family. Ask if you can't find something.

When you go out and about the local tradesmen and women Will hassle you even if they say they won't.

If you have your photograph taken with anyone be prepared to pay for the privilege.

In the same road as the hotel there is a supermarket where you can buy milk, sweets, and souvenirs.

There's an ATM also next to the supermarket mentioned above.

There is also a souvenir shop in the resort.

Let the buyer beware! Some of the things you may buy such as a watch could fall apart before you get back to your hotel like ours did.

Security - if you don't need it put it in the safe deposit boxes which cost you less than £1 a day plus £20 deposit for your stay!

On the beach at this hotel you will find horses and camels you can ride along the beach. Even if you sit on them you will get charged around £16 or 40 dinars!

The man selling quadbiking trips charges £28 / 70 Dinars each - you will not be insured. If you use him make sure you are in a large group for safety reasons. The hotel doesn't promote his company or provide this activity which is the same for most tour operators because of insurance purposes.

The animation team work hard to entertain you. They have a daily programme of events to keep you entertained.

There is a self service laundry with two washing machines, one dryer and an ironing board plus iron. FREE!

There is wi fi in the main reception which is very useful and free. It would be a great improvement if this could be extended to other areas as at busy times it can be a bit hit and miss.

As the high season approaches it will no doubt get busier with some 850 people attending an open air stage show so be prepared.

There were 700 for dinner in our second week! Don't worry you Will get fed!

One of the trips you can go on with Thomas cook is a two day trip with an overnight stay in the Sahara. We did this the last time we were here. If you want to see the country then this is the trip for you. They are long days and a short night in order to pack it all in. It is challenging and I would not recommend this for those with walking difficulties. You spend a fair amount of time on the coach and travel some 500km. Costs around £85 for an adult.

Taxis are cheap and normally parked outside the main gates to the hotel.

A trip to the new or old town will cost around £2! 5 dinars. We always gave them 10 dinars including the tip which pleased them.

Tipping.

Your porters, waiters, bar staff and cleaners earn on average just £4 or 12 Dinars per day and normally work 6 days per week! So don't be stingy make their day by giving them a good tip for what they all do. Would you get out of bed for four quid?!

Hope this helps all those that read it! :-)

Happy holidays!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Had a week at Les Orangers & would recommend it. The place is in need of a little TLC but is very clean. The staff are all very friendly, polite & attentive & like B&Q seem to employ a wide range of ages!
We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the beach & it is a lot more peaceful there compared to the main area. However, the walls are thin so you do tend to get noise from people walking through the corridor (some people were a little inconsiderate & shouted up the corridor to their friends but that is not the hotel's fault). The room was clean & reasonably roomy but again in need of a little TLC. The bed was the best I had ever slept in while in any hotel at home or abroad. We had a complimentary dressing gown but no slippers but wasn't bothered. There were a few toiletries in the bathroom & a good hairdryer which was a nice touch. There were towels provided for room & beach.
The choice of food in the buffet restaurant was great & I cannot fault it. We tried all of the Al a Carte (Tunisian, Italian & Asian). They were set menus but the menus are on display so you know what to expect. They were all very good & a nice change from the buffet. I do not eat cakes & desserts much but I couldn't stop eating them at Les Orangers, they were superb. The choice at breakfast was overwhelming!! There were boiled eggs, omelettes, scrambled eggs & crepes. There was bread for toast, bread rolls, freshly squeezed orange juice along with the usual continental breakfast, cakes, croissants & biscuits. There was some other hot foods such as cabbage & beans (not to my taste) but they did cater for everyone. I put on 5 pound in a week!!!!
We didn't join in with the entertainment but what we saw in passing appeared to be varied & the people there seemed to enjoy it.
I can recommend the red & rose wine, I was pleasantly surprised by it. Champagne is also on offer which was palatable. The local vodka was OK but my husband didn't enjoy the bacardi so stayed with the vodka.
I wasn't overly impressed with the complimentary fish pedicure or so called 15 min back massage (more like 10 mins) but it is a nice gesture. There is even a room with a washing machine, dryer & soap powder if you need to use it, free of charge.
My husband & I went on this holiday to chill out so spent most of the time on the beach although we did go to Jasmine Hammamet & to the fort, however, I was not impressed with either.
I would recommend this hotel but wouldn't stay more than a week, possibly 10 days, as I personally find any All Inclusive a little bit boring after a while.
Check out was painless & very organised as was the check-in & passport control at the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkberrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The whole atmosphere of the hotel is amazing. There is so much to do and see. The fact that it's all inclusive makes everything so much better. You can just relax and enjoy anything you want from food and drink to hammam to massage to beach to pool to tennis etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julez_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
2.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,295 reviews
3.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
2.3 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#24 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows

Property: The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows
Address: BP 7 Rue Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows 4* ALL IN 24h/24 Certified ISO 9001/ ISO 22000/ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001 The hotel is located on a superb immaculate beach of golden sand, guarantees all Safety for children and swimmers, overlooking the picturesque Fort Hammamet. Its beautiful setting of 12 ha of orange trees and jasmin flowers offers big space of relaxation and entertainment for both adults and childrens enjoying together unforgettable holidays. The orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows is situated 4 km away from Hammamet centre and at a 5 mins drive from both championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orangers Beach Resort And Bungalows
The Orangers Beach Resort & Bungalows Hotel Hammamet
Orangers Beach Hotel
Orangers Beach Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing