We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The staff couldn't do enough for you! Always friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the food and drink. (All inclusive). Fantastic, massive pool with swim up bar. A few steps from the pool and you're on the beach! (No road to cross and had free sunbeds for us guests there too!) Lovely Marina not far from the end of our beach with beautiful gardens. Had a really great week there at only £775 per couple at the end of June 2011. Really hot (30 - 38 degrees, even saw a cloud once!!). Entertainment ok but was great on our last night (Tuesday). The entertainment staff worked really hard all day and evening). Very clean hotel with indoor pool too and gym. Took one trip to the market and zoo £70 per couple booked through the rep) but wished we'd taken a Taxi to Nabul (the market) in the morning and gone on the Pirate ship trip across the bay in the afternoon as we were told by some fellow English guests that the Pirate trip was excellent. Excellent value for money for an all inclusive holiday, would definitaley go again. Had a great massage to ease away the strains at £25 for 50 mins in the Hotels Spa.
Any negatives? well none in the hotel but got fed up with being hassled in the shops in the town and every taxi stopping for you....they were really desperate to get your money. Just be firm and say NO, politely. Oh and it was so nice and quiet with not many tourists (I suppose that's a positive really!)
Would have given the pool 6 stars if I could!

Room Tip: We were in 3133 which overlooked the outdoor evening bar and the pool (and you could see the beach a...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikekolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,186)
There are newer reviews for Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Firstly the great points.. The hotel looks amazing. It’s clean and tidy and the staff here are simply fantastic. They are helpful, friendly and all speak excellent English. The room we stayed in was very nice. Some guests reported problems with the rooms although it got the impression that these were fixed relatively quickly. The pool is enormous and although I contracted an ear infection, it does look very clean. The garden areas are beautiful and the hotel is right on its own private beach. The beach itself is great - Spacious, clean and beautiful.
However..
The advertised 'free wifi' only actually works in the reception foyer and only in one corner nearest the reception desk. Not a massive problem if you don’t need internet access although I do take slight exception when a company mis-advertises a feature.
The food is plentiful, but not a great choice and to be honest it all appears a little ‘unfresh’. Profound diarrhoea ruined the last 3 days of the 7 day holiday and while it’s impossible to prove where this came from, food and water are always the most likely candidates. Unfortunately I was not the only guest to have been afflicted.
The TV in the room will only show television in German if you discount CNN News (you can find that on channel 27 on the TV if your interested). In fairness this wasn’t a major problem since we weren’t watching any TV really.
The biggest downside to this hotel is entertainment. No matter what your taste is you will undoubtedly find the entertainment loud, brash and utterly disruptive. The hotels ‘Animation’ team (the in-house entertainment group consisting of about 10 locals) start by shouting into a microphone whilst amplified music is playing around the pool area at around 10am. This continues throughout most of the day with only a couple of much needed breaks of peace. You’ll find this constant noise to be much more than an irritation and be prepared to be self exiled from the pool area if you dislike the constant drone of maniac screaming and loud bombastic dance music.
This, unfortunately also applies to the evening entertainment which continues most nights until after midnight. In truth, this becomes so loud that it can be heard in all of the sea view rooms in the hotel. The dance music and amplified microphone shouting will prevent even the heaviest of sleeper from dozing off before midnight which is awful when you have an excursion planned early for the next day. Two complaints to the staff at the hotel failed to resolve the situation and my comments hear are supported by a number of other hotel guests, all of different nationalities, that I got talking to over the week. Don’t expect any support/help/assistance/interest from your First Choice rep either. It is interesting that the hotel would choose to provide entertainment of this style when clearly only around a minority (I counted 22) of guests were in the ‘party’ area while the vast majority were trying to sleep.
The disruptive entertainment would, without question, prevent me from returning to this hotel which is a real shame because the staff all seem to really enjoy their jobs and overall it could be a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid anything sea facing
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jedi_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had an amazing time away and hope to return! We were really sad to leave and it has most definitely been the best hotel stay so far. Everything was wonderful and we felt very welcomed. The staff were brilliant and helped you to settle in, everybody was very friendly and all the staff were approachable and by the end of the week you would have made good friends with the staff who you see most often! The Animation Team for entertainment deserve a lot of credit as they made the trip fun as well as relaxing and it covered all aspects to make up an amazing holiday with sports and games set up by the entertainers and evening entertainment as well as relax time around the pool and a beautiful beach behind the hotel. We hope to return and cannot wait until then!

Room Tip: The pool view was lovely but a little noisy!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StokesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the RIU Marco Polo arriving on 26th June for 7 nights. On arrival we were greetyed with a welcoming drink and a speedy check in. Cases were brought promptly to our room and in no time at all we were enjoying the sun around the pool area.We had room No4157 with and excellent view of the pool area and across to the sea and marina. The room was spotless and well equiped with fridge , safe , lcd tv , good furnishings and a ver pleasant bathroom. Maid servive was daily and the room was always left lovely and fresh.
The pool was the biggest we have ever had whilst on holiday, the area was always clean and the water temp of the pool was good, also there was always plenty of room for a good swim. We used the buffet resturant,the pool resturant, the asian and tunisian resturants, the food in general was of a very good standard and we enjoyed it immensley. We mainly used the outside bar and Brahim,Ezzeddine and Anis were good company and gave us excellent service. Ben Salem in the main resturant is a genuinely nice guy . The pool area guys worked hard and ALL the staff are extremley pleasant and courtious and go out of thier way to make the holiday a good experience. The manager and deputy manager were always out and about in resort and were awlays approachable and pleasant.Finally Iwould say that this was probably one of the best holidays that we have ever taken, we would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel and will return in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on top floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank markymarkNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

First time in Tunisia.Had fantastic time ,
On arrivel had welcome drink staff very helpfull and always smiling they just cant do enough for you.Our room had swans made out off the towels sitting on the beds with fresh petals scattered every where.
Food delicious, very wide selection, hot and cold lots to drink alcohol and non.
Animation team great sports and really got you involved made you laugh and had lots fun.you really need to get involved with the activities.
Pool was outta this world very very clean with swim up bar,2 jacuzzies.beach towels provided.
This holiday is exactly what it say All inclusive. aircon,safe deposit box,bottled water,towels,snacks,tea/coffee the lot no hidden extras.
Its nice to tip the staff only if its a couple of dinar as they do work hard.ALLDAY.
First Choice reps were very helpfull had no hazzle travelling to and from airport very smooth transfers,Mark was always availible if help was needed or information.
Managers always around checking to see if you were happy with the service.we even had phone calls to make sure everything was ok.
Couldnt recommend this hotel more highly.
Thanks for a wonderfull holiday.x

Room Tip: Tip the waiters even if just a couple of dinars
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mazy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

we just got back the hotel it self is nice but if you like the beach it would have been better if it had a beach bar as it was a long walk to get a drink we have stayed at other riu complexs around the world and have found them to be better .food was not toobad a bit more variety would have been nice also not such a big selection of cakes as other all inclusive hotels we have stayed in.mini bar was very poor as it only had water in and you had to ask for that most other places you get a selection of soft drinks and some times beera/c was not good it started at 3.00pm and shut down at midnight and when it did work it was not that cool.all in all i have given it a 3 star rating .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view away from the pool
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Firstly would like to say, god knows how people can give this hotel bad reviews, any doubts get rid of them its brilliant.

I went on a 10-day holiday from the 19th to 29th June with my partner (both 24) to the Marco Polo and loved it!
Big Tip - I will tell you now, dont be shy about giving staff a tip, it will only make your stay more pleasant!

We found out that bar staff get paid about 300dinars a month!! thats about £150!!! If you tip they will do more for you! (iv described some of things they did in relevant sections)

Weather - HOT!!!!!! 29 degrees when we arrived and 34 the day we left.

Hotel - the hotel lives upto its 4 star rating, very clean and spacious, plenty of bars and staff to satisfy your needs.

Management - We had no problems what so ever so didnt really have long conversations with the management, but they are always around the hotel, if your in reception there is always a manager around, the restaurant and bar managers are always walking around at food times and around the bars and all were friendly and said hello and ask how your day/holiday is going.

Check-in - Check in was easy, there was a fair few people checking in when we arrived so the management asked for our passports then told us to go and get some food and a drink, went back to reception half an hour later and our room was ready.

Rooms - The rooms are of a good size and very clean, rooms are cleaned everyday unless you put your no thanks sign on the door, we had a marina view which was nice, we had no noise from the pool, there was some noice from a bar next to the hotel with music but nothing that bothered us. The cleaners are nice and will always give a smile and say hello.

Pool - The pool is georgous really big with a swim-up bar, its cold at first but fine after a minute. There is an indoor pool but i didnt venture to it.

Beach - The beach is right at the back of the hotel, it lovely, white sand (does get hot in the afternoon) there is a nice breeze down there if your too hot by the pool, the hotel has access to some free sea activites - pedalo's, kayak's & Wind Surfing, there are others like jetski's and banana boats but you have to pay for these.

Restaurants - There are 3 restaurants on site, the main restaurant that host breakfast (6:30am till 10am) and dinner (dinner has 2 sittings 6:30pm till 8:30 & 8:30 till 10) , a restaurant close to the pool that has lunch (12 till 3) and an al-a-carte which host a tunisian night Wednesday & Thursday and a Chinese/Oriental night Monday & Tuesday, the hotel has a wide variety of food for all meals throughout from your pastries such as croissants and tarts, egg and bacon in the morning, to a selection of pasta dishes and fresh fish throughout the day and night, the food is cooked to a high standard, I suffer from Irratable Bowel Syndrome and had no problems with my stomach at all on the holiday. On your first night you can choose to go to early or late sitting and you will be given a table that you have for the rest of your stay. You tend to have a waiter designated to an area in the restaurant and they are there to take empty plates and glasses and clear tables. We tipped ours 2Dinar (£1) half way through the stay, the next night he reconised us and greeted us at our table, pulling our chairs out for us, he always kept an eye on our drinks and once we finsihed he offered to re-fill them for us, he continued this for the rest of the holiday and we gave him an extra 5Dinar on our last night which he was very thankful for.

Bars - In restaurants its help yourself to drinks. although there are no spirits in the restaurants, during the day there is 2 bars open the Pool bar and reception bar, The bars serve soft drinks from Coffee to coke and sprite, then local spirits such as Vodka, Whisky, Brandy, Gin (they have no flavoured liquers such as peach schnappes) but have about 8 cocktails on the list, the beer is a local beers which is quite nice and got me quite merry on a couple of occasions. At night the Entertainment room bar opens as well as an outdoor bar outside the restaurant, and the reception bar stays open throughout the night as well, the last bar to shut is the one in the Entertainment room at 1am, this is where we tipped the most to a barman called Ramzi, who was always smiling and saying hello, if you tip the barman, you will get served quicker and recive extra spirits in your drinks, think we ended up tipping around 15-20dinar in the end, just 2-3 a night, but as i said it makes your stay so much better.

Entertainment - The entertainment team are ace if you get chatting to them you'll have a good laugh, they all love there job and try to talk to as many people as they can, they put on a load of activities throughout the day from Darts & Shuffleboard to Water Polo and Beach VolleyBall, these guys work 9am to midnight everyday getting 1 day off a week, the night time entertainment isnt great to be honest as the hotel has alot of guests from different countrys they tend to do alot of like dance and silent acting acts to counter the language barriers, they do what they can with the budget they have, the best nights are when the interact with the guests and do like a Mr & Mrs Riu night where they get people to do tasks and such. If you want a break from the night entertainment, First Choice/Thomson put on a Musical Mayhem show on a friday night in Sousse (about an hour away) you pay 50Dinar (£25) you get travel there, a meal, 2 free drinks and a great show, its all the reps from different hotels around the area, as well as a drag act and they have lady who used to perform on the west end. I would really recommend this night its a really good night away from the entertainment in the hotel, you leave the hotel around 6 and get back just in time for last orders.

Spa/Gym - I cant comment on this as we didnt use it but it looked nice
Wifi - the hotel has a free open Wifi connection, its not great but works in random areas of the hotel, can get it reception and at the back of the pool near the beach but not in the entertainment room (next to reception) or in our room.

Excursions - There are serveral excursions you can do, these can be booked through a company that works within the hotel reception area, these consist from a safari park to catamaran trips & Quad biking, We didnt do any of these but met another couple who did and they said they were good and worth the money, the only trip we did was a morning on a Pirate Ship, the Pirate ship can be booked through the hotel but they dock in the Marina 2 Minutes form the hotel, in the hotel its 45Dinar, we talk a walk down to the marina with the couple we met and managed to get it for 20Dinars Each, so for £10 its well worth the trip, you start at 9am and get back about 1pm, you get pirate acts and dancing all morning with music the ship sails to main Hammemet and anchors for about an hour where you food (basic but fills a hole) and you can jump off the ship and go for a swim in the sea. Well worth a look into.

The Marina itself - We Went for a walk one day, there are plenty of small cafe/bars and small shops, when we got to the main part where there are some shops we got caught out, People will approach you saying they work at the hotel in the restaurant and its there day off (they've spooted you a mile off wearing your all-inclusive band) they will say my brother owns a shop and will do you very good price..blah blah blah, we bought this story and got taken to these shops, once your in one you'll end up in 3, as they drag you around there "Brothers/Sisters/Cousins" shops when we tried to leave without buying anything they got quite rude. if your stubbon and just say No and walk on they may follow for a bit but will leave you. We did stop at one bar for a smoothie which was nice as we just sat out and looked across the marina.

Last thing, if you get bitten by mosquito's when abroad make sure you either put repelent on or cover up at Night! you will get bitten.

Sorry iv gone on a bit but hope all the info helps.

We had a great holiday and i would really consider going back to this hotel.
Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank drawson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,129 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#53 of 118 in Hammamet
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 118 in Hammamet
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £65 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing