We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel for the country it is in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #13 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from 11th - 25th May and had no fault with the hotel at all.

The hotel and staff were clean and well presented. In fact, the cleaners were on the go all the time; cleaning the floors, tables, windows etc, even the pavements.

The room was great and spotless. I personally do not like hard beds but it didn't stop me from sleeping. Unlike a previous reviewer stated, the air conditioning was working and I made good use of it.

The food was widely varied and tasty. Being in a different country for 2 weeks, I had a good opportunity to sample quite a bit of the menu. Some food I liked, some I didn't like so much but there was always a good choice.

I didn't really see the shows but the Animation team were always buzzing around and were, like the rest of the staff, extremely friendly.

All I would say is that if you are going abroad to compare the hotel, staff and food to what you have at home then just stay at home. If you have an open mind and are willing to try new experiences then this hotel may be suitable for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went for a week earlier this month for a chill-out holiday with my sister. Overall we had a good week and got exactly what we expected. The Marco Polo is a lovely hotel which is now a Riu but clearly used to be a Princess (there are crown logos everywhere still).

We like Riu hotels, you know what you are getting and they are great value for money. This hotel was mainly up to Riu standard but just a few niggles with our room let it down - but only very slightly....I put these down to the Princess history but that might be a little unfair as I just don't like Princess hotels.

Our only disappointments with the hotel in general were that the pool bar closed an hour earlier than is published on the hotel info and the plaza bar and italian restuarants were not open when we were there as the hotel was not considered busy enough even though they are again, advertised as being open May - Oct.

Our room (4030) was a little testing at times. It was huge and beautifully clean but wouldn't always let us in - without a struggle - the lock was very tempremental. The safe in the room, was even more tempremental....our stuff was very safe in it though, so much so that a lot of the time, we couldn't access it ourselves!! It was a digital safe which was free of charge but the keypad was very old and worn and did it's own thing regardless of what numbers/buttons you pressed. The hotel apparently has a mixture of digital and key operated safe and I guess we were just unlucky. We didn't dare lock our passports and things in there the night before we left on a very early flight in case we couldn't get them out. A couple of other little room niggles were that the shower curtain rail in the bathroom was very warped and looked like it might collapse any moment (I don't like having a curtaina curtain anyway as I think it's old fashioned, less clean looking and just plain annoying as it tends to stick to you while you are showering. Also, the internal handle on the balcony door came off in our hand the night before we were leaving.

We paid a small extra charge for a sea view room, we had a sea view room but in all honesty, it was a long way back and looked out over the restuarant roof and I am not convinced you wouldn't get almost as much of a sea view from any of the rooms down either side of the hotel without paying extra.

The food and drinks were the usual 'european suits everyone' style which you get more or less anywhere.....you'll always find something you can eat and it's fine but it'll never (in my opinion) be particularly disappointing or mind-blowing.

We didn't see much of Tunisia as we go to read, enjoy the sun and people watch. We did walk onto the beach on the first day to feel the soft warm sand and stroke a camel and we were going to dip our feet in the sea but couldn't face getting past the camel/horse poo in the water....eww. The man on the beach with the camel tred to get us to sit on it and take a photo but he was clearly aiming for cash so we politely declined (many times) and he gave up.

Overall, it was a nice break, good value for money and very relaxing (other than lock battles :-s).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a key operated safe...for your own sanity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yellowllama099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed may 21st to 28th ( still here as writing this )

The hotel is lovely and like the pictures in the brochure and is clean. The rooms are great and cleaned daily. The bed is hard and the pillars rubbish and you would expect better in 4 star premium hotel. The staff are very friendly and pleasant and happy to help if you need it. The animation team work hard and are friendly and yes the shows ain't the best I've seen but they try hard and are a credit to the hotel. The bar staff are good but drinks are limited and not got everything on the menu.
The bad part is the food. It's terrible and we have travelled extensively and this hotel is by far the worse. The choice is limited and everything that is cheap to cook is used. The food that is on for lunch is repeated at night and the next day ect. Everyday it was salad, rice, chips, mash, jacket, limited pizza and pasta, odd random veggies, bones with odd bits of meat or fat in it, fish ect. About 5 or 6 deserts that constantly ran out and although looked different all tasted the same. They really did not cater for the guests and even at the start of meals they would have hardly anything cooked so you would have to Que up for ages. The alleged show cooking stations were actually what the hotel wanted you eat and not what you choose. Pasta cooking for example was pre done by staff so you were not allowed to choose the sauce ect.
First Choice really need to sort this out and along with the alleged water sports and snack bar that was meant to be open and were not and the hotel choose to not allow you to have air con in your room yet. This is advertised as 4 star plus premier hotel by first choice and really there is nothing 4 star plus or premier about the food and 1 star would best describe it. Even the holiday advisor said it's not good at this hotel. First time at a riu hotel and it will be the last time too. Far better hotels to stay at that this one hotel or riu chain If this is how bad the food is.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank dandan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We travelled to this hotel on Christmas Day 2013, the hotel has a very impressive reception and lovely views from the sea view rooms. The staff are very friendly all over the hotel and can't do enough for you. The rooms are spacious and very clean, was very surprised to find no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This was a huge let down as from the front of the hotel where we were to the coffee making facilities was a 5+ minute walk! coffee would be cold when you took it back up to your room. Food was hit and miss beautiful banquet on New Years Eve rest of the week was not good it was like they were saving the budget for the banquet. Spa was wonderful had a Turkish bath and massage which were both amazing. We went out on several trips, Zulu this was really good got to feed Elephants, food was great with the entertainment. The history in this country is amazing and well worth the effort to visit and get out and about.

Room Tip: Sea view can see harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Don't know where to start.. This hotel is just perfect, can't say a single bad thing about it. When we got there we were greeted with a drink which was a nice touch, then given a little info on the hotel and went up to our room. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Shower was lovely and our view from our balcony was fab! We loved our room! Staff at reception asked if we were happy with our room and I know if we weren't they would of moved us, they were very caring and wanted us to be comfortable.
The next day we went to our welcome meeting which was good. Tracey our holiday advisor was lovely and we felt like we could ask her anything. There was lots of tourist attractions we could go to through Thompson.
The pool was amazing! Went in it pretty much everyday! The beach was a little unclean but we still went on it! All the staff were fab and couldn't do enough for you. The animation team were great, they even took us to a night club in Hammamet and took great care of us. All staff were very personal and a few of them knew us by our names by the end of the week. Bars were good and had a great selection of drinks. Food was amazing! So much to choose from and different variety every day! The Chinese restaurant was good too. The spa was lovely, I did a promotion they had at the time which was body scrub & mud bath, then shower massage and full body. I did it over 2 days and it cost 125dina which was £50 so I thought it was great value for money.
Me and my boyfriend were very happy with this hotel and would happily go back again. Recommend it to everyone! :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from an 11 night holiday . The hotel is really clean and the rooms were very comfortable. The staff are all very helpful and chearful. The pool was freezing but huge and so clean. The animation team were very good. Our Rep Tracey was wonderful. our bar waiter Ossama waited on us hand foot and finger. He is an asset. We will be returning to this hotel. Only 1 let down. We had an early flight home and the early breakfast was awful. Need to improve this. Overall the Hotel , food , drinks and staff were excellant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JUEHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a good weeks holiday nice and clean hotel staff were great only thing food area in restaurant was a bit small to cater for all tables, How ever I did not go hungry, I had a spa day well worth the money ,Going shopping just be firm and say no

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDRA531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 119 in Hammamet
2,145 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 119 in Hammamet
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#14 of 119 in Hammamet
1,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £62 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing