We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame:(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a shame:(”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first week was a total disaster! Weather- cloudy. Breakfast was and still is
the poorest choice. You will be ok if u like eggs, croissants or pancakes! Lunch
was limited, there was 12 dishes and 2 of them was meat ( not once we saw beef,
in 10 days, even the burger is made from polonie sausage meet, it's mostly
chicken and sometimes lamb) and to get meat u would have to queue! there was
sign for beef one day but it was actually liver! Second week food got bit
better, more choice of chicken but overall the food was really poor. One day was
onion soup, the next day the same soup was called pasta soup!! We have been in
Tunisia twice before, last time 4 years ago and comparing for how lovely was the
food then and what u are given now, is quite shocking:( I don't like to moan and
never have in my 35 hotel reviews, so I am actually quite sad for Tunisia:( the
situation with Libya and what happened here couple of years ago have obviously
damaged the tourist situation but instead of giving us a bit extra so we would
tell others and come back, it's gone opposite, trying to save money where ever:(
which brings us to drink situation, cocktails taste like fairy liquid or soap;)
gin & rum is ok. And again u had to que, they did open another bar second week
to ease that situation. Also be careful, some drink glasses are chipped. We went
to Chinese restaurant, which was ok, at least it was bit different. Went out for
food in Medina as we craved for steak, lol, which was reasonable, about £8
each.that evening we felt like we was the only tourists there as it was so quiet
for a Friday! Also visit Marina, It's 1 min from beach and u can sit and have a
drink,again cheap. Coffee, banana split & cola=£5 ! The pirate ship goes from
there as well ( 9.15 am )and its half price from Thomson, £25 for 2
adults/child. We also did the zoo (as we was so bored in the hotel!!) I did try
to price it up ourselves but it came almost as much as Thompson ( £90 for
2 adults/child) it was fab tho. 2 pm-7pm. We got to hold a lion cub ( u can feed
elephant, giraffe for 5-10 dinars,2-4£ ) and kiss a sea lion (another 10 dinars:)
at the end u have 3 course dinner, wine which doesn't stop coming ( always helps
lol )Tunisian food, which was tasty and an entertainment show. Wifi- wasent working most of the days:( Beach- waste of time!! Looked like a building site, no beach bar:( To keep the room for bit longer u would have to pay £16 which is reasonable. To be fair hotel and rooms looked nice and big enough, so would have a good potential if they would sort out food/drink! Airport- again gueuing for 45 min to get in. Inside not much to do and most of prices are in euros!! So we was left with loads of dinars, as u can ONLY change them outside security, which we didint know:(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KairitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    733
    267
    87
    68
See reviews for
656
903
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Marco Polo (1.6.14) Fantastic hotel and grounds, staff work hard all day and evening to ensure your needs are met. Food excellent and plentiful, however, a little too much on occasions. Choice for children is limited but my two filled their plates every meal time, especially chocolate pancakes. Entertainment staff are versatile and superb dancers, Pepito, Rabaa, Mario, Boobaa, Abdul and Mamal were friendly and made my children feel special. Vin Diesel' twin on reception excellent service couldn't do enough for you. Lovely lifeguard and pool bar attendants were happy. Our three rooms were cleaned daily with beautiful flowers and petals placed around the bed or bathroom, nightwear and covers folded into patterns. Weather was very mixed and very overcast most days but still warm, the pool however was freezing. If you have time take a massage with Amel she is wonderful, never felt so relaxed ;). Beach lovely once you walked past all the camel, horse poo, rubbish, occasion glass and seaweed balls - this is the only downside to the complex ;( Locals in Hammamet were very rude if you did not buy from them and tried to block you in their shops and intimidate you, as long as your strong and confident don't budge on price, be polite hold your head high and walk on by. Will definitely be booking again. loved it !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FriendlyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risca, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I did a positive review about this hotel last August 2013 upon our return from Tunisia but I would like to draw people's attention to the very very poor items for sales in the Hotel Jewellery shop itself.
My husband bought me a gorgeous gold ring, we were shown their 'hallmark' & haggled the price down from £250 to £180 then finally to £100 - we were told it was our equivalent to 18ct gold - within the first six month the gold paint had begun to 'come off" - underneath was just metal with a gold paint & a pretty sparkly stone.
Our friends who we went with bought their daughter a silver ring & haggled from £190 down to £78 - her finger went green within three months & her ring was metal with silver paint.
Do not buy the jewellery from the hotel shop - even with your little discount card you get given by your Rep - that's the only thing I needed to add.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RMeredith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for a week all inclusive in 28.04 - 04.05. Lovely clean hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Absolutely no issues during our stay. Excellent place to go and chill out. We went to the Chinese restaurant twice during our stay and had lovely meals both times. The food in the main restaurant was fine. The shows we attended were not the best, but you could not fault the enthuiasm and effort put in by the animation team if you wanted to get involved. All in all a lovely restful week away in a lovely hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joblues1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from 11th - 25th May and had no fault with the hotel at all.

The hotel and staff were clean and well presented. In fact, the cleaners were on the go all the time; cleaning the floors, tables, windows etc, even the pavements.

The room was great and spotless. I personally do not like hard beds but it didn't stop me from sleeping. Unlike a previous reviewer stated, the air conditioning was working and I made good use of it.

The food was widely varied and tasty. Being in a different country for 2 weeks, I had a good opportunity to sample quite a bit of the menu. Some food I liked, some I didn't like so much but there was always a good choice.

I didn't really see the shows but the Animation team were always buzzing around and were, like the rest of the staff, extremely friendly.

All I would say is that if you are going abroad to compare the hotel, staff and food to what you have at home then just stay at home. If you have an open mind and are willing to try new experiences then this hotel may be suitable for you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went for a week earlier this month for a chill-out holiday with my sister. Overall we had a good week and got exactly what we expected. The Marco Polo is a lovely hotel which is now a Riu but clearly used to be a Princess (there are crown logos everywhere still).

We like Riu hotels, you know what you are getting and they are great value for money. This hotel was mainly up to Riu standard but just a few niggles with our room let it down - but only very slightly....I put these down to the Princess history but that might be a little unfair as I just don't like Princess hotels.

Our only disappointments with the hotel in general were that the pool bar closed an hour earlier than is published on the hotel info and the plaza bar and italian restuarants were not open when we were there as the hotel was not considered busy enough even though they are again, advertised as being open May - Oct.

Our room (4030) was a little testing at times. It was huge and beautifully clean but wouldn't always let us in - without a struggle - the lock was very tempremental. The safe in the room, was even more tempremental....our stuff was very safe in it though, so much so that a lot of the time, we couldn't access it ourselves!! It was a digital safe which was free of charge but the keypad was very old and worn and did it's own thing regardless of what numbers/buttons you pressed. The hotel apparently has a mixture of digital and key operated safe and I guess we were just unlucky. We didn't dare lock our passports and things in there the night before we left on a very early flight in case we couldn't get them out. A couple of other little room niggles were that the shower curtain rail in the bathroom was very warped and looked like it might collapse any moment (I don't like having a curtaina curtain anyway as I think it's old fashioned, less clean looking and just plain annoying as it tends to stick to you while you are showering. Also, the internal handle on the balcony door came off in our hand the night before we were leaving.

We paid a small extra charge for a sea view room, we had a sea view room but in all honesty, it was a long way back and looked out over the restuarant roof and I am not convinced you wouldn't get almost as much of a sea view from any of the rooms down either side of the hotel without paying extra.

The food and drinks were the usual 'european suits everyone' style which you get more or less anywhere.....you'll always find something you can eat and it's fine but it'll never (in my opinion) be particularly disappointing or mind-blowing.

We didn't see much of Tunisia as we go to read, enjoy the sun and people watch. We did walk onto the beach on the first day to feel the soft warm sand and stroke a camel and we were going to dip our feet in the sea but couldn't face getting past the camel/horse poo in the water....eww. The man on the beach with the camel tred to get us to sit on it and take a photo but he was clearly aiming for cash so we politely declined (many times) and he gave up.

Overall, it was a nice break, good value for money and very relaxing (other than lock battles :-s).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a key operated safe...for your own sanity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yellowllama099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed may 21st to 28th ( still here as writing this )

The hotel is lovely and like the pictures in the brochure and is clean. The rooms are great and cleaned daily. The bed is hard and the pillars rubbish and you would expect better in 4 star premium hotel. The staff are very friendly and pleasant and happy to help if you need it. The animation team work hard and are friendly and yes the shows ain't the best I've seen but they try hard and are a credit to the hotel. The bar staff are good but drinks are limited and not got everything on the menu.
The bad part is the food. It's terrible and we have travelled extensively and this hotel is by far the worse. The choice is limited and everything that is cheap to cook is used. The food that is on for lunch is repeated at night and the next day ect. Everyday it was salad, rice, chips, mash, jacket, limited pizza and pasta, odd random veggies, bones with odd bits of meat or fat in it, fish ect. About 5 or 6 deserts that constantly ran out and although looked different all tasted the same. They really did not cater for the guests and even at the start of meals they would have hardly anything cooked so you would have to Que up for ages. The alleged show cooking stations were actually what the hotel wanted you eat and not what you choose. Pasta cooking for example was pre done by staff so you were not allowed to choose the sauce ect.
First Choice really need to sort this out and along with the alleged water sports and snack bar that was meant to be open and were not and the hotel choose to not allow you to have air con in your room yet. This is advertised as 4 star plus premier hotel by first choice and really there is nothing 4 star plus or premier about the food and 1 star would best describe it. Even the holiday advisor said it's not good at this hotel. First time at a riu hotel and it will be the last time too. Far better hotels to stay at that this one hotel or riu chain If this is how bad the food is.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dandan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.9 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
1.7 mi away
Vincci Marillia
Vincci Marillia
#21 of 117 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Concorde Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Hammamet Yasmine - BP 35, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly HÔTEL MARCO POLO)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#18 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Marco Polo 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star hotel, directly on the beach, ideally situated in the well-known touristic zone of Yasmine Hammamet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Concorde Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Marco Polo Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing