We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place but food is awful needs sorting asap”
Review of Omar Khayam Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omar Khayam Club
Ranked #48 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 12 May 2014

me and my boyfriend marcus have just came bak from a week away here, dont make the reviews on here put you off, its a lovely place and the workers in the hotel are great the rooms are basic but clean, my boyfriend joined in most shows, he was patrick swayze one night dancing with simber the animation team do there best for you to have a great time, they made are holiday. everyday we seen are rep (lauren) she was great! always there if you needed her, im a fussy eater and she got the cook to cookl me plain chicken wich was good. are only problem about the hotel was the food, i went down a hole dress size because it was that bad i couldnt eat the stuff they were serving. plus you didnt no what was init at all. pasta had octopus ect.. we stayed off the beech as most the time you were on it you got harrassed non stop to buy fings, they will try an get as much money as they can out of you just stick with a small price and in the end you will get what you want for the price you want, over all the holiday was great we did enjoy are selves its what you make of it, every one we met over there were fab to!! we would defo go back but only if the food was sorted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

me and my partner have just got back from a great week in the omar khayam hotel the rooms were lovely and cleaned daily the staff were very pleasant the animation team were great I was shocked to hereabout dahli one of the entertainment team some idiots from stoke set about him and he got sacked through it he was the life and soul of the team I will be going same time next year because it was quiet food wasn't bad ile eat any thing but our lass is very fussy but she didn't complain once I think some people just like to twist thanks to every one who made our holiday totty and carol from crook

Room Tip: I was on 2nd floor room 2082 sea view great any body with toddlers theres nolifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TREVOR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great value for money for a 3 star holiday. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and chatty without being too over-bearing, they all speak very good english (as well as about 4 other languages!). The Animation Team were fantastic, they went out of their way to look after you.

The excursions arranged by the Amination Team were great fun - the Pirate Ship trip was a highlight of the week as we got to see dolphins in the wild! We didn't do any excursions arranged by the travel agent as they didn't appeal to us as much as the ones from the Hotel staff (and cost a fair bit more).

The rooms were what you expect for the prices you're paying, nothing too flashy but comfortable enough. The only issue we had was that we booked a double room and they just pushed 2 single beds together and occassional I'd slip down between the beds!! Housecleaning was a bit hit and miss but the hotel in general was very clean.

The night time events are a bit limited, and there's nothing in the area so unless you want to get a cab into town you're stuck with the Amination Team, and their Cabaret act is tailored more to the French guests.

The food is a combination of Tunisian meals and "western" foods liks pizza, chips, pasta, roast meats etc. There wasn't a huge variety from day to day, but the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly.

Tunisian Dinar is a closed currency so you have to exchange your money in the airport or the resorts, Omar Khayam has its own bank on site, but they only exchange cash (no card transactions) so you either need to have the cash on you when you arrive or take a trip to the nearest ATM. You also need to keep your receipt so you can change it back when leaving the country.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, our "limited sea view" actually had a pretty decent sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KMcCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A perfect 3 star resort. Clean, good food and staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go there again . The entertainment was corny but funny. Thank you for a lovely stay and fabulous holiday. Our first holiday in Tunisia and it won't be the last ! One question though, why do people travel abroad and still want to eat junk food like burgers ? I thought the idea was to experience new things, but seriously if you pay for a 3 star don't expect a 5 star !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoothyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Arrived here for a weeks holiday with my son from the 9th to the 16th April. Hotel was surprisingly quiet, but they explained their season did not start until May. All the hotel staff were friendly and polite, and they would bend over backwards to help me and especially my son which was most appreciated. However, what made the holiday was the location and the brilliant Animation team. The beach was amazing, and you could quite easily think your in Jamaica etc. Just beware of the annoying illegal seller's though !! With regard to the animation team, they were simply fantastic keeping the guests entertained from 10am through to 11.30pm. Therefore a big, big thank you to Toto, Daly, Mamadou, Hassan etc for keeping me and my son entertained. Without you guys, it would not have been the same. With regards to the food, I have seen lots of negative comments etc. However, for me and my son the food was always hot and their was plenty of variety. My only complaint would be the appalling treatment of paying guests come 12pm, when we were plunged into darkness in the bar area once the bar had closed. Even though we had drinks, they insisted that the lights went off as the bar had closed. Unfortunately, find that a lame excuse and down right rude !! All in all was an ok holiday but nothing more, but I suppose you get what you paid for !! Praise again to all the staff and the animation team.

Room Tip: Get a lovely sea view, if you can ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigJohn104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went here for a two week break on 6th April,We were checked in but had to wait to get in our room which was only average as its a 3 star hotel,we had a few issues that were quickly sorted out,but then it seemed almost every other day a problem arouse all be them small they still needed to be sorted out,like running out of drinks at only 9pm,which again after complaints were sorted,lights going out at 12am leaving guests sitting in the dark,also drinks were warm as no fridges on yet so warm wine even the water was warm and you could not have a bottle only a glass,running out of glasses and given plastic ones which they washed out so they retained the flavour of strong drinks,running out of cutlery having to eat your sweet with a knife and fork,the rep didn't give you any feed back about complaints,i went to the hairdresser and that too looked like she had used a knife and fork on it aviod at all costs,you can not repair this sort of damage,however having said all this the animation team were fantastic and without them i am sure this hotel will fall apart,most of the people we meet had problems and issues with this hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms seem of the same standard,but i feel it is worth pointing out that your towels are tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRAHAM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived for a week at the Hotel Omar Khayam on 13th April. We checked in with no problems although our first impressions of the lobby area left us feeling a bit skeptical of what we had booked.We were shown to our room and although we had booked a limited sea view room were surprised to have a nice seaview. The room itself was basic but had everything we needed. We then went down to have a look around the hotel. This is where the stark realisation of what we had booked started to hit us. There was noone around and everything looked shut. We were approached by a man who turned out to be selling a pirate boat trip. He went on to explain the majority of the hotel was shut this included: inclusive non motorised sports, beach bar, slides and pools (except one) and there would only be 50 guests in the hotel in the week.
This led to lots of negatives at the hotel.
1) There was little to do
2) Limited food choice
3) Cold food
4) Staff that were not interested in good customer service
5) Running out of drinks and not being prepared to replace them
6) Running out of glasses
7) Dirty plates and cutlery
This hotel is not as inclusive as it sounds, you pay for sun bed matresses. You can't get a drink between 9.30 and 10 in the morning or after midnight. They turn off the lights in the lobby at midnight so everyone goes to bed. It was four days before we saw any snacks at all. There is no bottled water you can only have glasses.
There are some positives in this hotel and this is the animation team. A big thanks to Mido, Daly, Mamadou, Magui, Hassan and Toto without you guys we would have not had anything to do. We enjoyed Toto's 2pm quiz and playing darts during our holidays. Also the biggest positive was the amazing people that we met while we were there who made our holiday enjoyable.
This is not our first time in Tunisia as we have been for the past two years but was our first time at the Hotel Omar Khayam and will most definitiely be our last.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuteyme22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Khayam Hotel
Dar Khayam Hotel
#32 of 119 in Hammamet
2,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 119 in Hammamet
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Nozha
Hotel Royal Nozha
#36 of 119 in Hammamet
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#45 of 119 in Hammamet
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Les Colombes
Hotel Club Les Colombes
#73 of 119 in Hammamet
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Khayam Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayam Club

Address: Bp N 17, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Price Range: £36 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omar Khayam Club 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omar Khayam Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omar Khayam Hammamet
Hotel Omar Khayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing