We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of IBEROSTAR Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am going to be as fair as possible about this hotel. We arrived very late evening and straight away was met by a strange ( blocked drain ) smell. Check in was smooth our room was clean and spacious though a little dated. I believe they are renovating some of the rooms but ours was fine. Food had been especially laid on for us which was a nice touch. The food was varied sometimes warm rather than hot but there is a microwave in the dining room if needed. The staff work hard and our waiter Wajdi was brilliant as soon as he saw us our drinks were on the table waiting for us and refilled without asking. We didn't tip him until the last day and his service never changed he was fantastic. The pool was clean though very cold but you could use the indoor pool if preferred and the Barman and waiters also gave good service with or without tips. Take an insulated mug for drinks around the pool as you only get plastic beakers.

The not so good bits.
The spa man , photographer and the man selling trips for the quad bikes and camel rides. These people continually hassle you while you are trying to relax around the pool and it's annoying.
The staff in the restaurant work hard but it was a bit of a let down while you are having lunch to have a cockroach running around your feet.
It was the same in the toilets. There would be a lovely flower petal display and a bowlful of floating flowers then around the corner a dead cockroach. ( and that smell was still there on occasions )
If you stop and look in the shop expect to be hassled within an inch of your life.
The rep T/C Rachid. We had a problem with transfers ( T/Cs mistake not ours ) which we asked for him to sort and found him useless. The T/C info book went missing and no one knew what time there airport pick up was and I heard him tell a couple " to go and ask reception cos he didn't know ". The T/C airport rep was horrendous he was rude and intimidating and I hope none of you have the experience with him that we did.
The ashtray on our balcony was never emptied or cleaned the whole time we were there.
I always do a lot of research before booking and expected a better experience being an Iberostar hotel but please don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squiffy7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel for your holidays in Tunisia and for the time you spent to share your feelings on your stay; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologize for the exceptional presence of cockroaches during your stay; given the climatology of Tunisia the presence of insects is unavoidable however we have established treatment plans undertaken regularly so as to avoid their presence in our hotel grounds; we will forward your review to our management for further specific treatments.

Moreover we took good note of your comments related to the local representatives; although they are not IBEROSTAR staff; we commit to ensure that they do not bother our guests around the pool as per contract, they have their location from where they can offer their services.

For security reasons and per law, it is forbidden to serve drinks in crystal glasses or bottles around pool areas; this is why we only serve drinks in plastic beakers by our pool bar.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your highlight on the comfort and cleanliness of the room we accommodated you in as well as for your positive mention on our restaurant; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to make it one of the highlights of our guests’ stay among us.

Last but not least, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Once again, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    704
    246
    103
    54
See reviews for
901
942
95
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel the first two weeks of May and had a fantastic time! The hotel is lovely and all the staff were brilliant.

The rooms in the hotel are spacious and always clean, as was the rest of the hotel. There is free Wi-Fi available in the hotel lobby.

The Thomas Cook rep was at the hotel most days and was very helpful. There was a large choice of trips that you could go on. We didn’t book any and didn’t feel pressured into doing so either.

The food in this hotel was very good. Freshly cooked food at every meal time and always plenty of it. The waiters in the restaurant were also lovely, our waiter always had a table for us and remembered our drinks order each time. The bar staff were also brilliant. Always polite and friendly and bringing more drinks over to you.

The animation team have to be one of the best things about this hotel. They do an amazing job and were all always so friendly and enthusiastic about their job. They always stopped to talk to you and made you feel welcome. They always came around to ask if people wanted to join in with the activities but they never hassled you if you didn’t want to. They also put on a show each night which was brilliant. Thank you to Black, Mimo, Soubitex, Hana, Momo, Titi, Jo, Chou Chou and Mike. You are a credit to this hotel.

Overall, this is a brilliant hotel and we had a great holiday here. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hoping to book another holiday here soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123becky-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Averroes, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel for your visit to Tunisia; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay “fantastic” from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday at our hotel.

Thank you again for choosing IBEROSTAR and for the courtesy of your time; we would be enchanted to accommodate you once more in our hotel on your next visit to Yasmine Hammamet.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel & would definitely return. Mr Mehdi checked me in & was polite & courteous, however at check-out our airport transport didn't collect us & Mr Mehdi was very helpful & went out of his way to try & help - thank you.

The food was the highlight, I thought it was fantastic. There was always lots of choice, something for everyone, & it was of a high standard.

I have stayed in numerous 4 & 5* resorts yet I have never been anywhere were staff were so friendly. All the staff went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable & always had a kind word & a smile for you. I only encountered one unpleasant staff member (Themet, a waiter, who works in the main Buffett, who was very aggressive on my first encounter & rude throughout my stay).

I have already recommended this hotel to family & friends, & would definitely like to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dya9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my family started our holiday at the Medina solaria & thalasso hotel which was not fit for purpose (being a wheelchair user and the wet rooms flooding etc), so we moved to the Iberoster Averroes (which is not said the be wheelchair adapted as such but you could get in the rooms and around everywhere, just have to be capable of using a bath).

The move was the best thing we could of done!
As soon as we got to the hotel to look around the staff were there, friendly and helpful, showing us a room we could stay in and letting us look around the place before we made a decision, they even left us to it which is very rare in Tunisia!

All the staff were welcoming even when we were just looking around and there was no question in the matter we had to move to this hotel which was all done hassle free!!

The food was lovely!! A large variety and all to a high quality (which we lacked both at the other hotel)!! And the restaurant staff were all friendly, remembering your drinks orders and always having a smile on there faces to greet you with!

The entertainment team was fantastic!!!! They completely went above and beyond and made the holiday for me! I cannot praise them enough! Each and everyone of them was fantastic!!!!
Every single one of them would stop to talk to you, make you feel welcome and ask if you wanted to play the pool games etc but not to the extent that they hassled you, which was great.
They were just all genuine, lovely, funny, kind and friendly people!

Although the animation team really stood out, all of the staff were very helpful and friendly! Bar staff bringing drinks over, reception staff greeting you with a smile every day, even the photographer and henna tattooist were around the pool during the day mingling with guests which was really nice... All the staff complimented each other and seemed to get on really well which was lovely to see rather than the usual divide within departments!

It was also really nice to see the managers walking around the place and getting stuck in with helping clear up in the restaurant etc!

The area is good but not a lot to do, so the evenings could get a little tedious.. The animation team took guests to the club, where I went twice, which was nice and you felt safe within the animations company.
If you didn't fancy going out clubbing, nor wanted to go to bed after the show, there wasn't a lot to do... You'd find most people playing cards etc.
Personally I would of gone out every night if I knew about it, and if it was appropriate, because I did get a little bored in the evenings and found myself sitting in the lobby on there wifi (which was free and really handy).
For me this was the only slight downfall... However I heard the animation saying that next month there would be shows on the beach and I think I heard there would be a pool party, so if this is true I'm sure it would be a lot better at night and I personally would be eager to return when they have this in place (saying that I was tempted to book a few extra nights and would return today if I could - I only got back this morning)!!

All in all it was a fantastic hotel and a great holiday! I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Tunisia and I personally do not think I would go to any other hotel if I was to visit again!!

I would like to thank everyone at the hotel for such a great holiday and I hope to return very soon!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole_Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The location is perfect right in the middle of the Walk where all the shops and restaurants are. Although the view from our room overlooked a Nice garden you could still see the pool area and the beach, Hotel pool and beach was ideal for everything you would need for relaxing on holiday.
thoroughly pleasant and friendly team of staff made this stay perfect.
Great facilities available for everyone. really more than 4* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel all inclusive food and drinks very high standard, all kind off food for everyone. Animation every night , friendly ppl . Close to the beach and nearest attractions . Is worth to go there

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Returned almost a week ago from a two weeks' stay at the Averroes. The hotel's architecture and decor are excellent and there is free WiFi in reception. The hotel is 30 mins from the airport, it is well situated only a short walk from shops, bars restaurants and Marina, and has a private beach. Work was underway erecting extra parasols on the well kept grass adjacent to the private beach to afford extra facilities for those who prefer not to be in the sun all day. The gardens are immaculate and are a credit to the gardeners and staff. From the moment of our booking in at reception to the hour of our departure we had nothing but pleasant, helpful, efficient service from all concerned. The waiters in the dining room were excellent and efficient and nothing too much trouble. (Thank you Mohammed, the waiter closest to the entrance to the dining room, your service was superb). Tables were cleared quickly and efficiently and drinks served promptly in the dining room. The food was excellent with good selection. Ready made hot flat breads were always plentiful at breakfast as were freshly made pancakes and hot croissants straight from the oven, & queues for fresh eggs/omelettes were usually short. The deserts were second to none, I have never seen such a selection of fresh fruit including dishes of strawberries every mealtime. The fresh boar steaks cooked on the grill were delicious, as were the fresh tuna and swordfish steaks. The bar staff and bar waiters were attentive and served us with good humour. Our room was spacious and cleaned to a high degree every day, there was a separate toilet with bidet and a good well-lit bathroom with shower/bath (and bath plug)! We had a fridge and flat screen TV. The only fly in the ointment was that although probably more than 50% of holidaymakers were British apart from the first 24 hours there were no English TV channels whatsoever. We lost BBC World shortly after arrival. There were plenty of German, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian (& of course Tunisian) channels. It would have been nice to have kept touch with the world. Another point I would make is that the two lounges were rather quiet at night. There was an air-conditioned "night club" but if you chose to sit in the lounge it was rather sedate. There was often a live performer in the dining room at the evening meal and he couldn't be heard above the noise of the diners, how much better it would have been had he been engaged to entertain in the quiet lounge area. This does not, however, detract from the fact that this is a good, modern, well run hotel.I have read the critical reviews and frankly do not recognise the hotel or the staff from the criticism levelled at them. As for the Thos Cook rep he was very helpful & pleasant, we did not book any trips nor were we pressurized to do so. Would we return? Yep, we would. Book with confidence and you'll have a good time if you go with a positive mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janethendrixlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
666 reviews
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,088 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#18 of 118 in Hammamet
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Averroes

Property: IBEROSTAR Averroes
Address: Yasmine | Hammamet, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Averroes is located on a large and wide sand beach and just a short walk from the centre of Yasmine-Hammamet. The complex features elegant Mediterranean architecture with touches of the local region and offers its guests a total of 266 rooms. Of note among its facilities and services are its outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and its spa with a wet area, massages, and treatments. If you’re a sports lover, this is your best option as the hotel features an outdoor athletic area, tennis court, water sports in summer, fitness room, and a golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Iberostar, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing