We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
gateshead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Holiday 9-16 July 2014, This is an excellent hotel, very clean, spacious rooms, food and drink are good, staff are very helpful and friendly, the beach is lovely, you do not have to tip if you do not wish too, and the hotel was full when we stayed there and we did not once have any problems finding a table in the restaurant or sun loungers. The only critisim I have is we stayed in room 3003 and there is no sea view only palm trees, which was slightly disappointing. However, we will definately return to this hotel next year and I highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylviaGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    666
    240
    102
    54
See reviews for
784
884
80
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 9-16th July with my mum-in-law and we thoroughly loved it. It was our first trip to tunisia and was certainly not disappointed. Check in was efficient, our room 4012 was spacious, immaculate and beautifully furnished. It was cleaned daily and always a flower display added too. This was a lovely touch. The food was absolutely delicious and there was something for everyone. Everything was presented in a very professional way and tasted so delicious. I'm sure even the fussy eaters would be impressed!!! The staff in all areas were so polite and helpful, they always had a smile and nothing was too much bother for them. We were treated like royalty at all times. Laura, the lovely lady from guest services spoke to us a few times throughout our holiday to ask how we were getting on. The pool area was so clean and the pool bar very inviting during hot weather! The gardens and outdoor areas were immaculate and well kept. The bars were always clean and staff quick to serve us. The cocktails had lots of finishing touches with fruits too. The coffees were lovely too and served with a selection of cakes between mealtimes. Sun loungers were plentiful and we always got one no matter what time we went to the pool area. The entertainment team greeted us all here every morning and made us feel so welcome. They work extremely hard to please everyone and always had a smile. We both enjoyed a lovely spa treatment which consisted of the steam room, scrub, mud treatment and then a massage. This cost us £35 each and was worth every penny, it was so relaxing. The staff are a credit to this hotel and made it such an enjoyable experience. I will most definitely visit this hotel again next year. Thank you all so much at the Iberostar Avorroes xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shonasark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Poland, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

our holiday is scheduled for Nozha hotel beach, the agency proposedus to go to ibesrosatr Averroes with other Polish client, really is my heart it was surprised by the welcomes, the receptioonniste was very sampatique with all the group we haveserved the Coktel .he give us a lovely room overlooking the pool, I want to thank all hotel staff, restaurant staff, and bars the women of the household cook, is principally made annimateur, a special thank you to the director and jo and mehdi.
is a really fammily that we found it we feel hez us with a big love
all the Polish group we feel the same thing, we did talk a lot about this hotel was the time of departure.
we will return next September, we want to see the same staff.
thank you for all of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elene i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Let me start with the positives about this hotel.

Researched this hotel extensively, including the rave reviews on TA before booking the Iberostar Averroes for a much needed vacation with my teenage son and elderly parents. The building itself is wonderful with well cared for lush gardens and plenty of space to find quiet nooks to relax, if you so wish. Beautifully spacious, newly decorated rooms - with a calm soothing decor and a moorish ambience incorporated into the design of the building.

We had a pool / sea view with balcony on the 3rd floor - would highly recommend this - just to enjoy the sunrises and sunsets every day. Quite apart from which the rooms were impeccably clean - with large comfortable beds and a very relaxing seating area. Bathrooms were large, and kept spotless. Fantastic idea to have the toilet separate from the bathroom - saved a lot of arguments in the morning. :)

Now to move onto the highlight of the trip - the food. What can I say - absolutely fabulous. Wide variety every day - starting from breakfast all the way through to dinner. Would be difficult for anyone to be picky - everything from freshly made pizza's, running the gamut from international cuisine to local delicacies. The only disappointment was the a la carte restaurant. We were really looking forward to it - but lacked in variety and flavour. Would not waste your time - and just stick to the main restaurant.

Although food is supposed to be available all day - that wasn't quite the case. Leftovers of the cold meats, salads and desserts from lunch are set out - but can get quite unappetising after a while. There was a pancake station at about 4, which was a good idea - however queues for one chap making pancakes - sometimes didn't make it worth standing around for. Would have been better to have snacks available through the day.

Can't comment on the alcohol, as I don't drink - but from what I saw, the choice seemed limited.

Pool was lovely, with plenty of space, and varied areas, including a swim up pool bar. However, even for the end of May - the water was cold, and there were minimal people actually in the water. This also meant that the water sports that were scheduled invariably did not happen. Was expecting the indoor pool to be heated - but unfortunately this was at the same temperature as the outdoor.

Spent a lot of our time on the beach - were easily able to get sun beds at any time, and found the sand to be kept clean, despite the camels wandering up and down the sea line.

Now onto the key let down for the Iberostart Averroes - the animation team. One of the main reasons for booking this hotel, based on the TA reviews, were the rave reviews given to the animation team. I found the team lacklustre at best. There seemed to be a few guests that the animation team got on with - so it seemed to be more a private party than hotel entertainment. Very little happened during the day - unsure whether this was because when we were there it was still low season, at the end of May 14. The evening entertainment was painful and amaturish at best. Takes place after 22:00 hrs, in a hall separate from the main lobby. Every time we went in, found a packed hall, at the beginning of the programme, with guests gradually wandering off within the first half hour - to leave a handful of die hards by the end of the programme. After a few evenings of lacklustre performances - we decided to play cards in the bar area as a more enjoyable evening.

This was a shame as we were looking forward to the evening entertainment - but other than this, I would highly recommend the Iberostar Averroes.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms - recommend asking for a sea / pool view. Definitely worth it - costs about £50 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaprobaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at the iberostar averroes. Our reception was quick and attentive, our room being ready for us at 11am, which after an early start the UK, was welcome.

The room was on the 4th floor facing the pool, sea and beach. The rooms are big and looked like they had been modernised recently. The balcony was a good size with plenty of room, being up high, the view was fantastic!

The hotel is kept very clean and tidy, its true some of he furnishings have seen better days, however its still very comfortable. The pool is a good size, never feeling crowded. I found the temperature perfect, cold enough to refresh but warm enough to be able to spend a decent amount of time in. The only down side is that the pool spa area, which included a jacuzzi, spa beds and chairs, this seemed to only be activated 1 hour in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. As you can imagine as people learnt this, it was always packed. These would have been better having activation buttons so people could use them as and when they wished.

The all inclusive was good with 3 meals and snacks in between, which is just the left overs from the previous meal. You could also get tea, coffee, cakes and slush drinks pretty much all the time in the bar. I stuck to the beer and wine, which was ok, not the best, but drinkable. The pool bar is nice with very good barmen. The food choices was varied with loads of good salads and fish. I loved the harrisa and the anchovies.

I did get ill on my forth day, this was the worst case of stomach upset I have ever had and lasted about 35 hours. I know its difficult to pin point the exact cause for this, so wont try. Just thought I would mention it.

The beach is right in front of the hotel, with direct access. Unfortunately this is one of the worst I have seen of late. The amount of cigarette ends, litter, camel faeces and seaweed makes it feel dirty. I know the hotel can do noting about seaweed however they can manage litter, faeces and cigarette ends. The sea quality is not good here either, again I know this is not under the hotels control. If you want a perfect beach with crystal clear sea, this is not the hotel for you.

While we did not take part in any activities, the animation team seemed to do a fantastic job.

Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dicky235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This looks a good hotel from the outside on arrival our room was not ready and we had to wait 1 and a half hours before we got into our room with no explanation other than room not ready when we got finnaily to our room the cleaner still there and we had to sit out on the balcony we had no blue tags or anything so we went to look for some lunch as it was getting to near to2 o'clock. The food is not great at this hotel you have to fight with the sparrows to try and get your meal a flock of sparrows live in the restaurant with nests in the light most night it was either fish, rabbits stew 1 night none of the drinks at the bar are cold and none of the mixers cola or tonic has got any fizz in because the tops of the left of the bottles so most. night we had flat gin and tonics as for this free cocktails you have to search for them please remember this hotel runs on tips if you want a good sunbed a good drink or a good table get your hands in your pockets there are no decent shops in and around this hotel to do any shopping other than gift shops which sell the same items at various prices rising from 10 dina up to 200 dana depending on what you were buying mostly for the same item. We mentioned a few things to the girl at customer services although she is very nice she is quite useless as she didn't do anything about anything that we talked about the one good thing what's the weather which was absolutely amazing

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sheila,

We are very sorry to hear your disappointment on your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel and are grateful for the time you have taken out of your day to bring your concerns to our attention; at IBEROSTAR we realize that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist us in the improvement of our services.

We sincerely regret not being informed of your disappointment onsite as we would have looked for a solution for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us; for future occasions, we strongly encourage you to contact our management team onsite to point out any service imperfection, and they will be enchanted to assist you in any possible way.

The gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we deeply regret reading your disappointment on our buffets; however we would like to take the opportunity to clarify that our talented Chefs follow a wide two weeks menu rotation imposed by the company on a global level, adding of course a local touch.

Tipping, although being part of the Tunisian culture, is not supported by our management, we have regular briefings with our staff to ensure the levels of service imposed by the company on a global level; At no time our staff ever pretends tips for the service they provide, some guests gives them a tip in recognition for their attentiveness, but in no way this is an obligation and we lament you felt you had to.

Moreover, we regret that you didn’t find nice shops around the hotel, which is located very close to the Medina, where you can find all kinds of products.

Finally, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the nice weather and we thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths.

Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products, so we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just come back from our first holiday in Tunisia, and im so glad we chose the Averroes hotel.We had such a lovely time. i can not believe someone wrote that the annimation team were no good, i think they must have gone to a different hotel. They ALL worked their socks off, bless them.Titto was crazy, anais was an absolute doll.All were so good it would take me forever to mention them all.The wine waiter Hassan was brilliant, as was the waiter Wanjar sorry if i,ve spelled your name wrong, but you all deserve a mention.We had no problem getting a sunbed @ stayed near the pool, cos the beach had a bit to much seaweed on it but that is no fault of the hotel.The manager was such a lovely man, so hand,s on, i have never seen a manager care for his hotel like him. Sadly there was just one little niggle, we had our anniversary while we were there, so went to the a la carte restaurant, and it was a bit of a let down compared to the rest of the hotel, it just did,nt come up to scratch, little choice, & we think nicer food in the main restaurant.We would certainly go again and have already reccomended the hotel, and i,ve only been back one day.THANKYOU ALL FOR A LOVELY TIME

Room Tip: If you want sea view pick odd number,fourth floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.0 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
7.0 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Property: Iberostar Averroes
Address: | Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel offers stupendous Hammamet vacations throughout the year. This 4-star all-inclusive Tunisian resort is the perfect spot for holidaying with children or for a couple's escape to the Mediterranean. With 255 double rooms, 7 junior suites, 2 suites, 2 suites with a pool and 2 huge meeting rooms, perfect for your big event, this top hotel and spa is ideal for celebrations or trips to the alluring country of Tunisia. Mediterranean Delicacies. Tunisian cuisine is some of the healthiest and most flavoursome food in the entire Mediterranean region. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel's culinary experts prepare national and international food creations that are not only delicious but beautiful as well. The hotel's five bars and restaurants are guaranteed to entice guests. Entertainment for Young and Old in Hammamet- . IBEROSTAR Averroes adult guests can confidently entrust their little ones to qualified and skilled professionals who have organized hours of fun and games at the Mini-Club while parents enjoy entertainment shows and cabarets. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel also offers other forms of entertainment for all ages and tastes including live music, dancing, and performances. Sports and Spa: Care and Be Cared For. Tennis courts, water-sports, aerobics, gymnastics, beach volleyball, dance lessons...all of this plus an outstanding spa, fitness room, Turkish baths, sauna, beauty salon, and massage services provided by the best professional staff are featured at our top hotel. Free Wi-Fi. Connect to the Internet with IBEROSTAR for as long as you want. The hotel offers exclusive free Wi-Fi in all its facilities. Conventions, Events, and Business Functions in Hammamet. Hammamet, Tunisia's attractiveness to tourists and warm climate make it the best hotel for hosting your conference or work function anytime of the year. The IBEROSTAR Averroes, with its internet-connected conference rooms, is well-equipped for successful meetings and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Iberostar, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing