We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Averroes
Nearby Hotels
Medina Belisaire & Thalasso(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vincci Marillia(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vincci Flora Park(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diar Lemdina(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Badira(Hammamet)
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort(Hammamet)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,876)
Filter reviews
2,876 results
Traveller rating
1,714
749
253
104
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,714
749
253
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsea viewpool barbar staffgreat holidaylunch and dinnersaladplenty of choiceevening entertainmenttwo weeksbig thanksgreat funpizzatunisian foodmain restaurantomelettejust returned from a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 2,876 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Holiday 9-16 July 2014, This is an excellent hotel, very clean, spacious rooms, food and drink are good, staff are very helpful and friendly, the beach is lovely, you do not have to tip if you do not wish too, and the hotel was full when we stayed there and we did not once have any problems finding a table in the restaurant or sun loungers. The only critisim I have is we stayed in room 3003 and there is no sea view only palm trees, which was slightly disappointing. However, we will definately return to this hotel next year and I highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sylviaGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 9-16th July with my mum-in-law and we thoroughly loved it. It was our first trip to tunisia and was certainly not disappointed. Check in was efficient, our room 4012 was spacious, immaculate and beautifully furnished. It was cleaned daily and always a flower display added too. This was a lovely touch. The food was absolutely delicious and there was something for everyone. Everything was presented in a very professional way and tasted so delicious. I'm sure even the fussy eaters would be impressed!!! The staff in all areas were so polite and helpful, they always had a smile and nothing was too much bother for them. We were treated like royalty at all times. Laura, the lovely lady from guest services spoke to us a few times throughout our holiday to ask how we were getting on. The pool area was so clean and the pool bar very inviting during hot weather! The gardens and outdoor areas were immaculate and well kept. The bars were always clean and staff quick to serve us. The cocktails had lots of finishing touches with fruits too. The coffees were lovely too and served with a selection of cakes between mealtimes. Sun loungers were plentiful and we always got one no matter what time we went to the pool area. The entertainment team greeted us all here every morning and made us feel so welcome. They work extremely hard to please everyone and always had a smile. We both enjoyed a lovely spa treatment which consisted of the steam room, scrub, mud treatment and then a massage. This cost us £35 each and was worth every penny, it was so relaxing. The staff are a credit to this hotel and made it such an enjoyable experience. I will most definitely visit this hotel again next year. Thank you all so much at the Iberostar Avorroes xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shonasark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

our holiday is scheduled for Nozha hotel beach, the agency proposedus to go to ibesrosatr Averroes with other Polish client, really is my heart it was surprised by the welcomes, the receptioonniste was very sampatique with all the group we haveserved the Coktel .he give us a lovely room overlooking the pool, I want to thank all hotel staff, restaurant staff, and bars the women of the household cook, is principally made annimateur, a special thank you to the director and jo and mehdi.
is a really fammily that we found it we feel hez us with a big love
all the Polish group we feel the same thing, we did talk a lot about this hotel was the time of departure.
we will return next September, we want to see the same staff.
thank you for all of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank elene i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Let me start with the positives about this hotel.

Researched this hotel extensively, including the rave reviews on TA before booking the Iberostar Averroes for a much needed vacation with my teenage son and elderly parents. The building itself is wonderful with well cared for lush gardens and plenty of space to find quiet nooks to relax, if you so wish. Beautifully spacious, newly decorated rooms - with a calm soothing decor and a moorish ambience incorporated into the design of the building.

We had a pool / sea view with balcony on the 3rd floor - would highly recommend this - just to enjoy the sunrises and sunsets every day. Quite apart from which the rooms were impeccably clean - with large comfortable beds and a very relaxing seating area. Bathrooms were large, and kept spotless. Fantastic idea to have the toilet separate from the bathroom - saved a lot of arguments in the morning. :)

Now to move onto the highlight of the trip - the food. What can I say - absolutely fabulous. Wide variety every day - starting from breakfast all the way through to dinner. Would be difficult for anyone to be picky - everything from freshly made pizza's, running the gamut from international cuisine to local delicacies. The only disappointment was the a la carte restaurant. We were really looking forward to it - but lacked in variety and flavour. Would not waste your time - and just stick to the main restaurant.

Although food is supposed to be available all day - that wasn't quite the case. Leftovers of the cold meats, salads and desserts from lunch are set out - but can get quite unappetising after a while. There was a pancake station at about 4, which was a good idea - however queues for one chap making pancakes - sometimes didn't make it worth standing around for. Would have been better to have snacks available through the day.

Can't comment on the alcohol, as I don't drink - but from what I saw, the choice seemed limited.

Pool was lovely, with plenty of space, and varied areas, including a swim up pool bar. However, even for the end of May - the water was cold, and there were minimal people actually in the water. This also meant that the water sports that were scheduled invariably did not happen. Was expecting the indoor pool to be heated - but unfortunately this was at the same temperature as the outdoor.

Spent a lot of our time on the beach - were easily able to get sun beds at any time, and found the sand to be kept clean, despite the camels wandering up and down the sea line.

Now onto the key let down for the Iberostart Averroes - the animation team. One of the main reasons for booking this hotel, based on the TA reviews, were the rave reviews given to the animation team. I found the team lacklustre at best. There seemed to be a few guests that the animation team got on with - so it seemed to be more a private party than hotel entertainment. Very little happened during the day - unsure whether this was because when we were there it was still low season, at the end of May 14. The evening entertainment was painful and amaturish at best. Takes place after 22:00 hrs, in a hall separate from the main lobby. Every time we went in, found a packed hall, at the beginning of the programme, with guests gradually wandering off within the first half hour - to leave a handful of die hards by the end of the programme. After a few evenings of lacklustre performances - we decided to play cards in the bar area as a more enjoyable evening.

This was a shame as we were looking forward to the evening entertainment - but other than this, I would highly recommend the Iberostar Averroes.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms - recommend asking for a sea / pool view. Definitely worth it - costs about £50 extra for a week.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaprobaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at the iberostar averroes. Our reception was quick and attentive, our room being ready for us at 11am, which after an early start the UK, was welcome.

The room was on the 4th floor facing the pool, sea and beach. The rooms are big and looked like they had been modernised recently. The balcony was a good size with plenty of room, being up high, the view was fantastic!

The hotel is kept very clean and tidy, its true some of he furnishings have seen better days, however its still very comfortable. The pool is a good size, never feeling crowded. I found the temperature perfect, cold enough to refresh but warm enough to be able to spend a decent amount of time in. The only down side is that the pool spa area, which included a jacuzzi, spa beds and chairs, this seemed to only be activated 1 hour in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. As you can imagine as people learnt this, it was always packed. These would have been better having activation buttons so people could use them as and when they wished.

The all inclusive was good with 3 meals and snacks in between, which is just the left overs from the previous meal. You could also get tea, coffee, cakes and slush drinks pretty much all the time in the bar. I stuck to the beer and wine, which was ok, not the best, but drinkable. The pool bar is nice with very good barmen. The food choices was varied with loads of good salads and fish. I loved the harrisa and the anchovies.

I did get ill on my forth day, this was the worst case of stomach upset I have ever had and lasted about 35 hours. I know its difficult to pin point the exact cause for this, so wont try. Just thought I would mention it.

The beach is right in front of the hotel, with direct access. Unfortunately this is one of the worst I have seen of late. The amount of cigarette ends, litter, camel faeces and seaweed makes it feel dirty. I know the hotel can do noting about seaweed however they can manage litter, faeces and cigarette ends. The sea quality is not good here either, again I know this is not under the hotels control. If you want a perfect beach with crystal clear sea, this is not the hotel for you.

While we did not take part in any activities, the animation team seemed to do a fantastic job.

Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dicky235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews