We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Averroes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Majesty Golf Hotel(Yasmine Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Machmoum(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zodiac(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dar Zakarya(Hammamet)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,872)
Filter reviews
2,872 results
Traveller rating
1,713
747
253
103
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,713
747
253
103
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsea viewpool barbar staffgreat holidaylunch and dinnersaladplenty of choiceevening entertainmenttwo weeksbig thanksgreat funpizzatunisian foodmain restaurantomelettejust returned from a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 2,872 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

stayed here as two couples for ten nights from 20th july 14. was in rooms 3016+3018 very comfortable and clean as they were refurbished rooms which we had requested by email about a week before we left.spent mornings on the beach which sometimes had seaweed depending which way the wind was blowing but you can work this out by just looking which way the flags are blowing then by the pool for the afternoon which was great plenty of beds with nice comfortable thick covers.the covers on the beach are thinner but ok if you use two.hotel is very clean and spacious.pool bar is very good with excellent staff.main bar inside also good but usually quicker to go yourself than use the waiter service.beer was ok. food was good in restaurant. spanish hotel manager who we chatted to was very passionate about people enjoying the holiday.hotel in a great location.yes when you were out and about you get pestered a lot but dont let that put you off going.we have been to tunisia five times now and gets easier to say no thanks as well used to it.so all in all a good holiday but could have done with a beach bar to make it spot on.

Room Tip: high floor.try your luck and email your request to the hotel about a week before you travel it worked for us.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Well where do I start.

On arrival we had to wait for a room for over a hour in the coffee bar with no information given to us when a room would be allocated.

When we got the room it was fantastic. But we had paid extra £100 for a seaview and requested a refurbished room.

The pool is good and there are plenty of sunbeds but you have to ask for cushions for beds just for them to have a tip. As they won't provide them unless you ask!

Hotel is dated but clean. This is where the good points end.

Service in the hotel is non existing. You have to go to bar yourself. This I dont mind but when they waiter service on other guests from arab, french nationalties this made us feel like second class citizens. Or basically didn't want our custom. Even when going to the pool bar we were bypassed by other customers from other nationalties. I will put it bluntly THEY WILL SERVE ANYONE BUT US!

The one and only time they asked us while we were on our sunbeds. He took the order and never returned. 2 hours later I go to the bar and the waiter can't make any eye contact or acknowledged us.

Food where do I start I'm not a fussy eater. But I have struggled here. My main meal tonight was pizza 2 slices as there was nothing else here to eat. Obviously you get one bad day but everyday!!!!. The food doesn't cater for the British I therefore don't think it should be sold as a holiday to the british market.

Hygiene not good in the dinning area. They do have a couple of birds nesting in the dinning room. Seen waiters clearing used tables and if they think a knife, fork or spoon has not been used they will put it back into the cutlery draw.

Seen Potatoes that have been dropped to the side of the plate which they were displayed in. Were then scooped up by a chef and placed back into the serving dish!

Look at my photos for the range of food from the main areas. I would not bring young children or even teenagers as they would struggle with the food. I know there are salads but I'm fed up with tomatoes plus most of salad is in different sauces.

Sorry about the rant. But Saved up all year long and was really looking forward to this holiday. I payed £1800 and I don't want anyone to make the mistake I have. Last year we visited Egypt what a difference. In quality service, quality hotel and quality of food. The Iberostar Averroes should never be a 4 Star hotel. I would say a 3 at a push. Dont feel it should be advertised for the british market.

The beach is a stincking dirty hole. What looks like camel dung all over the beach but I don't know exactly what it is. There is stuff all over the beach with fag ends and black bags with rubbish in.

Still stuck here can't wait to get home! Have spoke to rep about the food and he tells me that the food is good and has a wide variety. He also tells me iberostar have a 14 day rota. Yes you got it....our rep was Tunisia.
Don't expect any british food. Except bread and under cooked fried eggs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Jason,

Although we regret reading your disappointment on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel, we would like to take the opportunity to clarify some aspects of your review.

As duly reported on your booking confirmation, the check in time starts at 14.00, and even though we do our utmost to deliver the rooms to our early arrivals, this may not be possible during the high season as our housekeeping staff needs the appropriate time to undertake a thorough cleaning of the room before assigning it to new guests.

Moreover we were very surprised to read your comments on our pool and bar staff as these are not reflective of the usual feedback we receive on opinion portals and social medias; at IBEROSTAR we have always welcomed an international clientele and have always treated our guests with the respect they deserve regardless of their nationality, religion or skin tone; we sincerely regret reading that you didn’t feel well cared after and have forwarded your review to our different heads of department as a reminder of our values; sunbeds’ cushions are delivered at no extra charge by our pool attendant.

Moreover, we read your comments on our buffets with our utmost attention and would like to point out that a part from pizza, we do ensure a wide selection of starters and crudités, soups, grilled meat and fish, seafood, vegetables, tagines, couscous, rice, pasta, cheeses, salads, desserts and a wide array of fresh fruits; the pictures published included the fish cooked in salt are a couple of trays of our extensive buffet; you can see a wide array of our buffets pictures published by other guests on Tripadvisor; At IBEROSTAR we cater for all ages, nationalities and diet requirements with no exception.

We were also very surprised to read your comments on our waiters as our Maître, inhouse hygienist and Management team are present throughout every service to guarantee the correct operation of the restaurant and respect of our standards at all times; all cutlery and the table cloth is in fact changed for every guest; the presence of birds is checked daily by our housekeeping staff in charge of the cleaning of the restaurant after every single meal.

The beach fronting the hotel is public, however we have a private area with sunbeds and parasols for our guests, this area is cleaned daily by our gardeners; the dirt you refer to is algae, more specifically the Posidonia Oceanica, the Posidonia transported by the force of the waves, gather in globular structures that are called "egagropile" or "pilae marine", which are nothing more than those fibrous "balls" found along the beaches in the Mediterranean area.

We encourage you for future occasions to point out any service imperfection to our management team that is available at any time throughout the day and will do whatever is possible for you to fully enjoy your holidays with IBEROSTAR.

We hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and thank you again for your visit.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Travelled with Thomas Cook from Newcastle to enfidha on 15/06/14 for 2week break, flight there + back ok! transfer to hotel also ok. Arrived at averroes 12 noon approx, dropped off at reception & told to take a seat & someone would come & see to us, this never happened & as I had been to this hotel before I knew there was a form to complete for check in so after some time is approached reception & got the form, completed it & took it back to the desk , was then given our key for the room, we were on the 4th floor the room was adequate for our stay nothing special, moments later our cases arrived, tip reqd, no welcome drink was offered on our arrival at reception. Food in the hotel was ok at best, they do have a microwave for you to warm it up though, the dining room for the want of another title was bedlam, bit like a school canteen, then there was the poor excuse for an Italian resteraunt, no choice of food & no choice of wine, save yourself the embarresment & close it ASAP. Drinks on offer at the bar were poor, all of the mixers ie coke tonic etc were always flatt, & if that's vodka I don't know , the wine being served would,v gone well on the chips at lunch, enough said. The sun beds, mattresses & brollies were for sale if you were down early enough to get what was left as the attendant put out the afforsaid beds etc for those who had paid the day before, on occasions I saw money exchanged 10 td for 3beds, mattresses ,the good ones of course & brollies. The main man collecting the money seemed to be in charge ( pool attendant ) he always wore a money bag over his shoulder. If management say they didn't know of this practice then they need replacing as they aren't doing their job. Animation team were marvellous, they worked their socks off, well done to them. Lastly & most disappointing was the fact that I brought to the attention of the manager ( Carlos ) a health & safety issue which he seemed to think was amusing, after I remonstrated with him the problem was put right. As I stated this was my 4 the visit to the averroes, the staff I knew all said that things weren't as good now because of the hotels budget, this is now a 3 star hotel at best. Bring back madam Kate!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Jim,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your loyalty and trust in our IBEROSTAR Averroes hotel for your holidays to Tunisia and for the time you spent to review your latest holiday experience among us; we sincerely regret we fell short of your expectations from past visits.

We however would like to take this opportunity to clarify some aspects of your review; First of all, our staff is fully committed and does its best to ensure that all our guests are fully enjoying their stay among us; of course, it has to be said that tipping is part of the Tunisian culture. At no time however, sunbeds and umbrellas are given in exchange for money, this goes against our house rules and all members of staff are fully aware of this.

As clearly explained to you by our management team, our hotel is HACCP certified on food safety and undergoes regular audits by external companies sent by the tour operators we collaborate with and we can easily state that we respect our high standards of hygiene, food manipulation, conservation and presentation at all times. Each tray is being exposed for a maximum of an half an hour although some may last a little longer depending on the product. During the service our Chefs check the temperature again to make sure it is appropriate and we want to reassure you on this point.

The Italian restaurant is a thematic restaurant, at no time it is being advertised as “à la carte”; we lament your disappointment on this aspect of your stay.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the comfort of our rooms as well as the efforts of our animation staff who strives to entertain our guests throughout the day with a wide array of leisure and sport activities throughout the day and entertaining evening shows at night.

Thank you again for your many visits and the courtesy of your time; we would be delighted to accommodate you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Averroes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Staying at the Saphir Palace, we were able to use the Italian a la carte here. Lovely looking hotel, with a 'classy' feel to it. While we were there we had a look around and there was a chocolate fountain in the dining room! that sold it for our son!.
The Meal itself was lovely, and the lasagne was absolutely delicious, best one I have had anywhere, served by professional yet friendly staff, drinks were kept constantly topped up.
Liked the look of it very much and would consider holidaying here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Weloveholidays1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just had to write credit for the AMAZING animation team! Black, Hannah, Titi, Tito, sho- sho, Mike...Everyone single one of them are incredible, so friendly, polite, funny and sweet. They come round and say hi every morning and have a convosation with you during the day. They truly are a blessing! The holiday was the best because of them. Getting you involved with activities if you wanted to, archery with Black everyday was always funny, dancing with Hannah and the others at the beach party was so fun...probably the best night. Cannot thank them enough for making our holiday the best. They make you feel like your their friends rather than hotel guests. The hotel is superb! The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Every single worker was so pleasant and always said hi. Cannot wait to return next year and hope the animation team are there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews