We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay at the Oceana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Another stay at the Oceana”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have just returned from an extended 6 week holiday at the Oceana, and again felt it only right to send a review (did one last year). We cannot fault the quality of: cleanliness, service, the friendly and helpful approach of every employee of the Hotel from the gardeners right up to the Manager (more on him later). The food is of a very high standard, and over the 6 weeks I think we had 2 nights were we not overly impressed. The staff waiters/chefs all noticed that we didn't seem happy and did all they could to provide us with something we liked, which they did. Our rating for food therefore is excellent, as experience tells us that to have a problem with food only twice in 6 weeks is exceptional.
Facilities and services at the Hotel - pools, gym, housekeeping, reception, waiters, gardeners, chefs etc are of the highest standards and I would recommend them without hesitation.
Sadly the Hotel is currently under utilised, especially it seems by Brits. I can understand peoples reticence in holidaying in Tunisia at the moment but I can only go by our experience which was a trouble free holiday, apart from my amazing shrinking trousers!

Over the years my wife and I have been to many Hotels and come across many Managers of varying standards. At the Oceana though, I think Riu have if not the best, then certainly one out of the top drawer. His attention to detail and inter personal skills: not just with guests but also his staff is first rate. Whilst this is not a love in for Mr Neves, we can be quick to moan about people but often forget to praise when justified. Like any organisation, if the top is flaky the rest crumbles. I don't think this will happen with him in control.

Bottom line, does the Oceana have faults, yes of course. Would it suit night owls looking for disco and casino fun - nope. Would it suit families looking for Animation teams to keep them occupied - nope. Would it suit people wanting shopping facilities outside the Hotel - nope (20 min walk or 10 min taxi).

However: would it suit people looking to get pampered and relax, get 5 star treatment, lie on a sunbed in a veritable oasis of palm trees surrounding a swimming pool. The only disturbance is the noise of the waiter popping the cork of your wine, or the annoying crackle of ice as you suck your Cocktail through the straw. Awful I know, but suffice to say that we have already also booked for September (looks like it might be a busy month). I wonder, should I book my sunbed now? If so, round the pool or down the beach, not sure as the sandy beach is a good 30 second walk away and I usually feel so tired after breakfast. I know, I think we might alternate between the two as there is no charge. Decisions decisions, why is life so complicated? The only simple thing is: Would I recommend this Hotel to friends, family or readers of Trip Advisor? Yes without a shadow of a doubt, superb.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank Blue072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    193
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
136
506
40
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely hotel with excellent staff and service. Very large room with balcony, refurbished since photos on website with 42" Sony flatscreen and modern fabrics. Beach location with lovely gardens, tennis courts and excellent pools. Food: breakfast very comprehensive and lots of fresh fruit: dinner - typical of hotel buffet - slightly dull, but freshly cooked fish, meat, chicken and pasta dishes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMoore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel and from the moment we arrived to when we left, the service was second to none.

We emailed the hotel 3 weeks prior requesting a certain room and this was fulfilled.

Our room and all public areas are kept spotlessly clean by the hardworking cleaners.

The pool area is situated within beautiful gardens and maintained to a very high standard.

The food was excellent both at lunch and at dinner with plenty of variety.

All the staff went out of their way to ensure that your stay was enjoyable and nothing was too much effort.

A special thank you to Mr Neves (hotel manager) who runs this hotel in a highly professional manner and always takes the time to speak to guests.

We are looking forward to returning for our 4th visit in September this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BLTN477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

What a fabulous holiday this was our third time the more we visit the more we want to go back ,from the minute we enter the Hotel we feel to be at a top class spa you just relax ,,everything is taken care of ,,the staff are simply the best ,it is also a great Hotel for golf courses.

Room Tip: The sea views are a must ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrisonyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband, 3yr old daughter and I stayed at the oceana at the beginning of April and had a wonderful, relaxing break. Because I know that it is hard to read paragraphs sometimes... I will write in bullet points.
Things that were wonderful:
Service- no-one could do enough for us... it took quite some getting used to! All staff spoiled our daughter rotten, remembered our names and details about what we liked to drink/eat etc
Quietness - if you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you
Pools - all were clean and well maintained ... indoor heated pool to 32 degrees was especially great
Rooms - comfortable and furnished with flowers every day by the chamber maid!

Not great - the Thompson tour - better to book a car with a driver - the hotel will sort this for you
If you want children's activities, there are none in April

All in all a fantastic holiday - thank you Riu! We are now committed Riu patrons. Everyone else at our hotel had been to loads of Rius and I can see why!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkempton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Situated 20 mins from Jasmine Hammamet. Have stayed there twice in six months and are going back next May!!! Fabulous staff and so clean. Food excels itself and you really are made to feel special . The hotel is being refurbished to a high standard with a new state of the art gym going in. Not suitable for teenagers. Hammamet air port opening shortly so transfer will only be 20 mins. Would recommend spending the extra on the Oceana plus. Rooms are very large but tv channels poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wykeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

On arrival at 1am due to delays we were welcomed very professionally, and amazed to be taken to the restaurant to be offered food !! We declined, but went to the bar to chill down with a bottle of wine. We then ordered room service and finished the wine on the balcony.
We paid extra for a sea view, and in the dark all looked well. The next morning we were shocked to be lloking at the sea through a building site next door. Thomson had assured me before travel that this would not happen. After a short conversation with reception, I had us moved to an amazing room overlooking the pool, and the sea.
All the rooms are the same.... large with great facilities.
The whole week we were there, we were treated like royalty... we are used to a high standard, but were overwhelmed by the extra mile the staff went to. They have a memory for the slightest detail.
With the staff looking after you, it left us to do nothing but relax, and relax we did. I have never sat still for so long !!
The food at the poolside at lunchtime was fantastic, and the choice in the evening was great. A little repetative at times, but no complaints about the quality.
If you go, I hope you enjoy as much as we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajcmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.3 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
631 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
5,548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
0.8 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#27 of 118 in Hammamet
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Property: Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hammamet Sud, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * 40 km from Enfidha airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing