We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having traveled to Tunisia many times and stayed in several differerent hotels over the years this is the ultimate in quiet relaxing chill out time in such beautiful surroundings. Lovely gardens wind down to the beach, which is never overcrowded. Last week was our second stay at this hotel in 6 months and wont be the last. Food, quality, quantity, service, cleanliness,yes this has all been written before and it is all true, if you like lots of loud late entertainment and drinking then lts maybe not for you, but if you prefer the quieter laid back holiday then you will love it. Staff excellent, friendly, helpful.and professional. ( shhhhh maybe we should keep this hotel a secret from the masses) only joking wonderful hotel to stay!!!

Room Tip: Have stayed in room with sea and pool view and also room with garden view, both rooms were of exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    193
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
137
507
41
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Arrived booked into Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui (see review) after 5 days of hassle we got moved to this hotel & well worth the extra we paid to move.
Welcome drink on arrival, reception very friendly, having being moved we were told our room wasn't ready which is expected as it was a sudden transfer so we went & had some lunch.

Rooms are amazing, spacious, comfortable, clean & very modern. The maids make a lot of effort every day we had some sort of towel design with flowers & petals, even plaited the curtain 1 day very pretty.

No race for sunbeds which was lovely (being couples only) but if you tipped the pool man he was happy to put mats on the sunbeds for you before you came down, I no some people complain about reserving but no one lost out as it was so quiet. there were a lot of older couples but we just wanted some peace & quiet so wasn't an issue for us.

Right on the beach which was very pretty only downfall is the camel poo that is literally everywhere but hard to maintain that when they do the rides up & down the beach.
the pool is cleaned every morning, trees are clipped back, lawns mowed & watered. everything is very well maintained & pretty.

VERY GOOD drinks selection for all inclusive...best ive seen in Tunisia, even branded Heineken was on all inclusive & you usually have to pay extra for branded beers & spirits.

Bar staff are very attentive & friendly & make conversation with you. served little aperitifs if you drank before dinner - eg. nuts/cheese straws. I was obsessed with these cheese straws & kept asking them for more but kitchen only gave them so many a night to serve out so on the night we left the bar manager had the kitchen do loads & he tinfoiled them up & gave them to me to take on the coach back to the airport. Lovely man & very thoughtful funny thing to do.

Piano player in the bar was excellent. Don't expect raucous entertainment, its very chilled & relaxed but we enjoyed that.

Finally the highlight for me after the nightmare of Marhaba palace was the restaurant. finally real food that was cooked & hot. breakfasts had freshly squeezed juices. Lots of salads, soups, meats, fish (I especially loved the swordfish steaks)nothing was to much trouble. it was so much better than having to live on pizza & chips as the only edible thing at the Marhaba.

The restaurant manager was always happy with a smile & kind words, he found it very amusing we had moved as he knew of Marhaba palace & didn't have a high opinion of it. we had the same table for the rest of our holiday & drinks were on the table before we had even gone to dinner, they just remembered you orders.

tipped generously at the end of the week & would definitely go back. made the rest of my holiday so stress free. Did see a point in these reviews about the lifts. I don't like lifts as a rule so avoided them but there are alternative staircases just not in the place you would expect. It is abit seek & find to use them :)

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter although next time I would have one on the ground floor with the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank icegem164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Much has been written in great detail about the hotel, the rooms , the grounds and the food at this wonderful hotel and it's all true but what is really outstanding and makes for such a very special holiday is the staff. They are without exception friendly and very attentive. We've just returned from our second stay at the hotel and had a brilliant holiday doing absolutely nothing!!
The weather was pleasant and mostly sunny but with a very cold strong wind at times however
our balcony was totally sheltered from the prevailing winds and we put the sun loungers provided on it to good use. Our chamber maid was lovely and full of life and we soon settled into a routine in which she serviced the room whilst we were at breakfast leaving us a lovely towel and flower "sculpture" every day. Being all inclusive we had lunch each day in Le Jardin restaurant where we were served by Mohammed ,who coincidentally, was also our waiter in the buffet restaurant each evening. He was a real credit to the hotel , nothing was too much trouble for him and he had a great dry sense of humour..The large team of skilled chefs were always smiling and joking creating a relaxed atmosphere The star of the restaurant (and the entire hotel) was Mongi the restaurant manager. We were greeted so enthusiastically each morning and night that it made each meal an individual experience and his mischievous sense of humour kept us constantly amused. What a character and an incredible asset to the hotel!! Whatever this guy is paid it's not enough !! The staff in the lobby bar were all friendly and attentive and it always felt special to be served drinks without having to ask for them .
Everyone spoke excellent English and seemed fluent in multiple languages putting me and my "shokran" to shame. All in all a great team that made a great holiday into what we both agreed on the way home was our best holiday ever. You can't say fairer than that.
Would we go back? I've already booked for January 2015...I wonder how quickly I can wish away the coming year

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We only booked four days prior to departures through Thompsons for this weeks holiday in The Oceana hotel, leaving on 15th. of January from Birmingham and arriving at the lovely new Enfidha airport.
Everything about the hotel was excellent including the wonderful room, which had an en-suit bathroom with separate stand- in shower as well as a dressing room.
The food in the dining room was plentiful, tasty and well presented
The hotel grounds were extensive with two beautiful cold -water pools with loungers ,tennis courts and boules, and children's play area, and there was one heated indoor pool, which during our visit was very little used
Nothing was too much trouble for the young lady and man on reception.
We arrived with three other couples from the Birmingham flight, and there were a few couples from Gatwick and a few from Glasgow and also a few couples who were on longer breaks and those leaving on the following Saturday There were also perhaps eight German couples and a few Tunisians, SO very few guests in this 208 room hotel
However, because every one was so friendly, and had time to talk and in our case to advise on travelling independently outside of the hotel this proved an advantage. We were greatly indebted to Jim and Morag for their help.
We had entertainment each night. Two evenings we had a wonderful pianist who gave my husband and I great pleasure. Two nights we had a saxophonist, one night an excellent Belly dancer and then a key -board player with bongo drums. All of these we enjoyed but they were playing to very few guests, such a shame
Travel cost were very cheap and we visited Tunis with Nagina and Akhtar We went by taxi to Barraket Essahel and then Louage (Shared taxi for eight people) and then taxi to the Centre
Tunis was interesting with many historic buildings and stalls in the Medina selling numerous merchandise .It was very crowded with many men touting for business which we found unpleasant
We also went with Nagina and Akhtar, whose company we really enjoyed, by taxi to Nabeul . Nabeul is well known for its pottery and there are many stalls selling this in the Medina. There is a lovely tree lined, wide pavement leading down to the deserted beach. Also many nice shops
. We travelled by ourselves to Hammamet by taxi costing us £2.80 each way for the two of us and we also went ourselves to Kairouan, again going by taxi to Barrak and changing to Louage to go to Kairouan. We found this an easy way to travel. This was an hour and a half journey costing 13 dinar for two each way (£2.60 each, one way)
Again Kairouan was very crowded and I think that we were the only Westerners there.On the pavement along the road to the Medina we saw cows heads hanging up outside of the butchers stall
We paid 10 dinars each for a Global ticket to visit six attractions but only managed to find two as the streets were named in Arabic and not French as on the map
MY MAIN ADVICE TO ANY ONE TRAVELLING IN TUNISIA AND WHO WANTS DIRECTIONS OR ADVICE IS TO ASK A YOUNG WELL -DRESSED LADY, MOST OF WHOME SPEAK ENGLISH, AND WON'T ASK FOR MONEY.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite room 418 which was beautiful and which had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I are just coming to the end of a 21 day stay at the hotel.
It is an adult only hotel. It has recently been refurbished. The rooms start at Junior Suite, are very comfortable with large balconies. All the furnishings in the room are new including a 42 inch flat screen TV.
The grounds are beautiful and well cared for.
There are two outside pools and a heated inside pool all very modern.
When you enter the hotel expect a sense of luxury.
As to the staff, they are trained to work in a 5 star hotel. The reception staff are pleasant and efficient. Cushions appear at the beach and garden pools and the in door pool.
A highlight of the hotel is the food and dinning room staff. From waiters to chiefs expect to be spoiled with a beautiful variety of food and service.
It is hard to find a fault with the hotel but there is one. The WiFi is very poor but I think that may be common to all hotels in Tunisia.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have partial sea views over the garden to Hammamet or partial sea views over the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

just got back from hammemet tunisia went on a quick cheap week 5star with flights £380 approx total for 2 people,amazing value.
The hotel was brilliant the staff from managers to cleaners did everything they could to make your holiday good and it was. the hotel was very clean all rooms were suits and were massive,indoor heated pool we had to ourselves some days,the beach was clean and the weather was ok.food was very varried every day,and if you wanted something different they did it for you.
we went into Yasmine Hammemet by taxi cost was 6 dina about £2.50 we had a look around then walked back along the beach to the hotel about 20 min walk. would recomend for all ages.
there are quite a few trips you can go on as well. entertainment was not very much a pianist and a live music evening, it is mainly set for adults only.we travelled on 15th jan to 22nd jan 2014

Room Tip: all rooms were suites so you will always have a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anita4spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our first visit to Tunisia and, purely on the welcome and service we got at this hotel, it won't be our last. Every single person we spoke to was warm, welcoming, multi-lingual and would go out of their way to help you. The attention to detail of the housekeeping team was outstanding, but you barely knew the were there, they were so quiet and unobtrusive and the rooms were always immaculate - Which is no small task as they are all massive and exceptionally well fitted out,
We stayed on a half board basis but there was such a selection of food for breakfast that we were never hungry until supper time. The choice of food and its preparation, in general, was excellent but in the evenings there was always a selection of fresh, local fish, meat and poultry, prepared to suit those who wanted to try the local cuisine, or those who are more conservative/traditional (chips with everything). As a confirmed carnivore, even I was tempted by some of the delicious vegetarian options. Every night there was, at least, one of the great team of chefs on hand to prepare a speciality in front of your eyes with some dazzling display cooking.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Its a five star hotel in any country, made better by some outstanding staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.3 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
664 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 118 in Hammamet
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
5,742 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#29 of 118 in Hammamet
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#52 of 118 in Hammamet
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Property: Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hammamet Sud, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only Hotel * Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * 40 km from Enfidha airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing