We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“june 2014”
Review of Chich Khan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chich Khan
Ranked #36 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 17 June 2014

the hotel was lovely...food good and plentiful...all inclusive really was all inc.cocktails from four pm, mexican night was fab
downside was that high season doesn't start til 15th june and the air con not on til then so we were boiling in room..ended up with a portable fan...phew
hotel manager always around at rep mtg and on leaving..nice young man..
pool was spotless and animation team good...
cost was reasonable with thomas cook..nice rep and would stay again (after june 15th)

Room Tip: pool view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisadkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your post and see you soon at the Chichkhan hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sorry for the late review. I returned from a 7 night holiday at the Chich Khan on the 1st June. What a fantastic week we had! This was my second visit to the Chich Khan. I stayed there in 2012 when it was owned by the Iberostar chain with my partner but this time we took my partners children with us, aged 14 & 12. I was a little worried that the hotel wouldn't be as good now it wasn't an Iberostar but how wrong was I! I think the hotel is just as good, if not better. I think the real asset of the hotel is the staff. They work so hard and a very friendly and polite with all the guests and really did make us feel at home! Of course some of the staff remembered us, which was lovely as I'm sure they must meet hundreds of people during the season so it was nice to be remembered. We had 2 twin rooms with the interconnecting doors. We were on the 3rd floor, rooms 1472 & 1474. These rooms have balconies. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very spacious and were well cleaned every day. The food was as wonderful as ever. My partners son is quite a picky eater, but he amazed me, as he was trying all sorts and loving the food! He also loved all the activities. He joined in the water polo, water volley ball, archery and football. I also joined in the aqua gym every morning. The animation team work very hard and go around the hotel speaking with the guests every day, and I loved the way they encouraged people to join in the activities. We only went to watch a couple of the shows in the evening but really enjoyed the ones we did see. My partners son liked the air hockey machine, the table tennis and pool. You have to pay to use the machines but it only costs 1 dinar a go which is about 37p. We also paid a couple of visits to the shisha bar on the ground floor....this is well worth a visit! Even if you don't want to smoke the water pipe it's worth going to pay a visit to Ali Baba....what a character!!! He is so funny and his innuendos are just so funny! We spent time in the evening in the upstairs bar, and the staff there are just so lovely. Ali & the team looked after us so much, and they are all so pleasant. The pool bar staff are the same. Nothing is too much trouble and they are all so pleasant and make your holiday so enjoyable. We had some photos taken by the hotel photographer. He does such a professional job and we're really pleased with the photos he took of the family. I did use the on site spa, but I personally was a little disappointed. I booked a Turkish bath, a facial and gel nail polish. I was disappointed with the Turkish bath as it wasn't as good as others I have had. I then went for my facial but the lady tried to wax my eye brows!! This was down to the language barrier. She didn't speak much English & I don't speak Arabic, but once I explained what I had booked my facial was wonderful! It's easy to get to the beach from the hotel about a 5 minute walk. The disappointment was that the beach area for the hotel was not set up, which in the brochure says it's available from May onwards, so there was no facilities down there e.g. beach bar, toilets etc. The Chich Khan is in the middle of the resort, so it's easy enough to get around the resort, and the marina is well worth a look around. The only problem we had was the 9 hour delay on the return, but we were very lucky as we hadn't left the hotel and the rep told us to go back to reception and get our room keys back and we able to stay in the hotel until we had to depart for our delayed flight. So again we were well looked after and fed and watered for the duration of our delay.
Make sure if you visit you give the bar staff/reception staff/waiters/cleaners etc a small tip...it's well worth it, and they are always so grateful for anything you give them.
The hotel director is always around and speaks with all the guests. I would just like to say a massive thank you to Oussama Makdouli and all the staff for a wonderful holiday!
Ousamma, your staff are a credit to you and the hotel. Thank you for the most amazing time!

Room Tip: We had rooms 1472 & 1474 with interconnecting doors and balcony. Quiet and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gillywilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Cusomer,


Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Chich Khan at the beginning of June as a young couple staying for 11 nights overall via Thomas Cook. To begin with the positives of the hotel and it's surrounding area:
The staff are fantastic, they put every effort into making your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible, they make the effort to get to know you personally, especially if you show them the respect and friendliness they deserve. Of course tips, small but frequent, go a long way into making sure you're looked after. In particular we'd like to mention the poolside bar staff and the life guard were exceptional, making sure the area was run smoothly with a friendly but professional manner.

We found the hotel was maintained to a very high standard with no litter or damaged furniture. The room cleaning was outstanding.

The place we enjoyed the most in the hotel was the Shisha bar on the lower level, despite it being a little too warm on that floor, Ali was a good laugh and made sure you received shisha of a great quality. You do have to pay for shisha however it is a minimal cost and does mean it is generally a quieter, more relaxed area of the hotel.

We fond both organising things with Thomas Cook and reception incredibly easy, late check out was cheap and easily available and we were given a lot of information about the excursions before hand and they were easy to book. (Do not miss your welcome meeting it is a crucial part of your holiday!)

Now for the negatives: After 4 or so nights we found the food to become quite repetitive for all meals, in addition sometimes the food contained an unnecessary amount of oil sometimes rendering it inedible.

Smoking. We understand it is a different culture to the UK and some guests may find the lax rules on it to enhance their holiday however we felt that all the open areas of the hotel, especially around the main entrance and the poolside, were constantly full of smoke which made being in such areas particularly unpleasant which somewhat took away from or experience.

The beach, the downfall of the hotel. We ventured out there one afternoon hoping the find a well kept area in which to lie. However we found a beach with worn out sun loungers and parasols, the bar was limited in stock and unpleasant in general, the toilets were disgusting, they were the worst we'd seen in the entire trip. Moreover the beach itself was covered in camel dung which in turn made the sea unpleasant.

The surrounding area of the hotel contained little entertainment, and what there is in Carthage Land was ruined by being constantly hassled by shopkeepers and tradespeople, however this it the case all over Tunisia and is of no fault of the hotel.

Also the air conditioning in the room struggled to keep the temperature to a comfortable level and we found we were restless and hot some nights.

Tips:
~Request specifics for your room (couples request a double bed or at least the covers and blankets to cover 2 single matresses and which floor if you have preference)
~Tip little and often (don't forget the lifeguard)
~Try the steakhouse just past Carthage land!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 841Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Cusomer,


Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If your looking to read your book and take it easy then this is defiantly not the place for you, If it wasn't for the staff this holiday would have been a disaster!

We heard many complaints about the food, there is none for kids at all and a lot of the food is spicy.

the Animation team who put the shows on in the evening try there best its ok nothing special just a lot of dancing to different music every night!

But these people during the day by the pool are a right pain, music starts at 10.00 and for two hours its so loud you cant even hear yourself think with dancing and generally being loud, at 12.00 they stop, but this is when they start trying to sell you stuff, sitting on your bed and push for a sale, NO is something they don't understand! then back at 15.00 for more noise and loud music! best day is Sunday when the animation are not around, you can finally rest and take it easy.

As far as i'm concern this hotel was like an 18-30 place, typical rooms with no air-conditioning working, a fridge with nothing in it, a TV with one channel, no safe in your room, no coffee and tea facility, we had a constant smell of sewer in our bathroom, even the odd cockroach running around!

Also i would like to point out this hotel is not near the sea as this is misleading, its second in the row.

Also someone needs to show these people how to sweep there rubbish up in the streets its everywhere!

Would i return ( a BIG NO THANK YOU!!!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pichler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Chich Khan hotel for your holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We are sorry and quite surprised to hear your comment on our Animation team .

Further we also are quite surprised to hear about the absenceof air-conditioning working in your room and we lament not having been informed about this during your stay as would have been able to intervene if this was the case.

We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

Once again, we lament reading that we couldn’t meet your expectations on this occasion and will keep on improving our services to guarantee top quality services to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

just arrived back from 2 weeks at the chich khan what a fab time we had, the staff here work so so hard to make your holiday one to remember, from the reception to barstaff, animation .maids .cleaners. waiting staff and above all management. A special thank you to the hotel director Ossauma Makdouli who made us feel so so welcome and who has made so many changes to this hotel all for the better. I do believe this man never sleeps he is always working. and checking everything is ok. This is such a friendly hotel and nothing is to much trouble the staff are always polite. I would definately recommend this hotel and we will be returning later this year. we met some brill people to . wicked time ......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sheilaswheels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

just returned from another great holiday at chich khan we have been there 4 times,food is good plenty to choose from.bar staff helpful and friendly,animation team were fantastic and worked hard .rooms were cleaned everyday fresh towels.the hotel was very clean could not fault this holiday or hotel at,hotel manager was lovely even waved us of when we left. can;t wait for our 5th visit next year,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 782robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great hotel...food is good and bar staff are very helpful and polite , pool is great and weather is so good. Animation team (entertainment) very friendly Would definitely recommend this hotel! Would definitely return.... Great holiday :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeNbepoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tel_Chichkhan, Responsable relations publiques at Chich Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your very nice review. It is a satisfaction for us that you spent with us stay at Chich Khan.

The opinion of our clients is always very important. Comments like yours constantly motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personal service, so that our customer can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with us.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
Lella Baya & Thalasso Hotel
#33 of 119 in Hammamet
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#28 of 119 in Hammamet
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
Houda Yasmine Hammamet
#30 of 119 in Hammamet
1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saphir Palace & Spa
Saphir Palace & Spa
#44 of 119 in Hammamet
1,156 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chich Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chich Khan

Address: Rue la Medina | Street Medina, Yasmine, Hammamet 8056, Tunisie, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hammamet
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#29 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £26 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chich Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approx 200 m from the hotel's own beach sector. In the centre of Yasmine, Hammamet (Tunisia). Built in Moorish style. Family–friendly complex. Elegant atmosphere. Lively entertainment program. Facilities for incentive-groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chich Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Chich Khan Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing