We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Citronniers
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here for a week in October the weather was lovely really warm. The beach close to the hotel was beautiful there was a private section for the hotel with a snack bar. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious very good for the price you pay. The location of the hotel in Hammamet is on a nice road with a quiet feel with nice restaurants close by especially Zozos we ate there several times on our stay it was lovely and excellent value for money. We went on two organised trips a jeep safari that let you see more rural parts of tunisia, and we visited the zoo and watched zulu dancers while having a tradition meal both were equally as good. To sum up the holiday it was a quite relaxing week away good food and warm weather.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieb8504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    72
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
94
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This hotel is a 2 star and that is exactly what you get, the rooms are a good size, basic but clean, however the bathroom towels are very well used and have gone a grey colour and are a bit tatty around the edges, and also there are no drawers in the rooms or coffee/tea making facilities.
The included breakfast could do with some improvement, it consisted of croissants and sliced french bread, with butter, cheese triangles and jams, with tea and coffee, which wasn't much of a choice and not good if like me you need to avoid wheat. If you want something cooked, this will cost you extra (although cheap £2.00 for scrambled egg, and you get about 5 eggs, so it's enough to share) but the chef does not come in until 0800 am! The hotel could do with offeriing some cooked food in their B&B price, as basic as scrambled egg to help yourself to. I had to go to the local shop and buy fruit in for breakfast, other than that it was cheese triangles for me.... !
Another complaint about the breakfast was the room, the table cloths were not changed on a daily basis and usually had yesterdays dried jam and butter on them as well as spilt drink and crumbs.
The staff are excellent, always friendly and attentive, the bar and restaurant is used by the locals (mainly men), we did'nt find this a problem. However, our room was at the front of the hotel over the terrace, so we had all the noise of traffic, early morning deliveries, and the loud chatter of locals and tourists, we did not get one decent nights sleep, so ask for a room over the pool.
The beach is not far from the hotel, you turn right and the take the first alley on the left. It is high walled, paved and has trees down the middle, it is in no way dingy nor does it have stray dogs wandering about as mentioned in a previous review. It is literally a few minutes walk and the hotel runs a beach hut/cafe, the guy who serves there is very friendly and chatty.
One tip when you are out and about in Hammamet near the old Media, or you travel up to Yasmine Hammamet Medina which is a purpose built tourist area of all inclusive hotels and shops (devoid of any atmosphere), do not believe anyone that approaches you and tell's you that they work in your hotel, either as chef or otherwise. They will try and fool you into thinking that you don't recognise them out of uniform, and are very good at it. Their ploy is to get you into the Medina, tell you that their brother owns a shop, their father lives there, etc... and that there is a festival on and it will be shut for 2 weeks.... this is to get you into a shop, be conned into paying upto 5 times the value of some trinket or other and they earn comission.
The whole point of visiting the Medina is to barter over prices,which we did in Tunis and enjoyed the experience, but the people in the Hammamet shops are extremely pushy and will pressurise or intimidate you into buying. DO NOT FALL FOR IT!
Overall this is a nice hotel, with a good restaurant and other good local eateries (Zozo's is one) , some minor improvements would make it more appealing though.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoffyMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Extremely good value. Clean, comfortable rooms. BBC World and CNN on TV. Very pleasant staff. Comfortable reception and bar area. Separate bar room for smokers, though despite the 'No Smoking' signs there were people seen smoking in the main bar area. Breakfast room overlooks the pool. Indoor (smoking) dining room. Outdoor dining area at the front of the hotel. Poolside is very sunny, with tables and loungers. Breakfast basic, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread, butter, cheese and jam. Coffee, tea and fruit juice. You could buy meals throughout the day and evening. The 3-course set menu is excellent value, and quality. The bar serves up just about everything, and is good value. The bar is busy in the evening with well behaved locals. Folk from the more expensive hotels down the road use Les Citronniers bar, as it's much better value. Nice selection of used books to borrow.
To get to Hammamet Centre it's easiest to flag down a taxi. It's a 40 minute walk. The hotel has a beach snack bar (closed in winter). To get to the beach, turn right out of the hotel, cross the road, walk for about 100 yards, and turn left down a lane to the beach. The beach and vista are beautiful. BUT the beach is spoiled by the amount of litter, which sadly blights Tunisia!
The area round the hotel is semi-residential, and the odd yakky dog is a minor nuisance. But apart from that Les Citronniers is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week last July and have just booked to go again this summer. The hotel has a personalised informal feel that you don't always get with bigger chain resorts. It is quiet and spotlessly clean, the pool area is ideal to take a dip at the end of a hot day sightseeing. We found we rarely ate away from the hotel on our stay and will do the same this time the food at this hotel is first class and very reasonable we liked the fact that there was never any pressure for you to eat and run we spent most of the evenings just chatting and enjoying the out side terracce restuarant / bar area with a few drinks watching the world go by - it is a busy little hotel with holiday makers and locals alike making use of it. I can't wait to return ...

Room Tip: Seafood pizza - is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillybean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We'd read reviews about Les Citronniers on this site before going so knew what to expect. The hotel is only two star which i'd say is about right due to limited facilities but is clean and comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but again were fairly clean and comfortable. There was plenty of storage space, free tv, balcony and the shower always had hot water even when we had to get up at 5am to go on a trip.

The safe in the room cost about 7.5 dinar for the week which isn't too bad but it is quite small so be careful what valuables you take. However we managed to fit in our passports, 2 mobile phones, money and camera.

Air conditioning costs about 5 dinar per day. We didn't need this as it was cool enough to sleep in October, although i've been to Tunisia before in the summer and it can get very very hot. We slept with the balcony shutters open as we were on the third floor which kept the room nice and cool. Our room was facing the pool so quite quiet although there do seem to be a lot of dogs barking at night.

You can change travellers cheques at the hotel and I saw about 3 cashpoints in the local area but I heard these sometimes run out of money.

Pool is nice and clean and there are sun loungers with matresses which are free. There's also a little family of tourtoises in one of the flower beds by the pool.

The food at the hotel is very nice. We didn't try the set menu but had lunch there several times and ate off the a la carte menu a couple of times. They do nice crusty baguettes for lunch and great crepes. Breakfast is quite basic; bread, croissants, pain au chocolat and fruit juice but we're not really breakfast people so were happy just having pain au chocolat.

You get a free sun lounger at the beach but have to pay 2 dinar per day for a matress if you want one. This is only about £1 each so isn't too bad. The beach is about a 5 min walk at most and you have to walk down an alley to get there. We were worried about this due to a review on this site saying there were wild dogs running around however this wasn't the case. The only dog we saw in the area that wasn't on a lead was fast asleep on the beach. Never had any issues with the alley, it's a very wide path although probably wouldn't want to go down there at night as it would be a bit dark.

The hotel's part of the beach is at the quieter end. We were a little bit dissapointed with the beach as the sea was a bit rough and there was a lot of seaweed being washed up. I'm not too keen on seaweed so we didn't go in the sea much but if seaweed doesn't bother you it's fine and there were other areas along the beach that were far worse.

If you want a bit more action there are a lot more hotels along the beach and a couple of cafes/bars if you walk right, towards yasmine hammemet. To walk right in to yasmine hammemet it takes about an hour or so although you get can a taxi for about 5 dinar. This area is full of bars and shops but is really really quite as everyone is in all inclusive hotels. It's a purpose built resport so has veryt little history and we weren't keen on it as it was so dead. It's such a shame to see so many restaurants and cafe's completely deserted.

Alternatively, you can walk left along the beach to hammemet and this takes about 45 mins to an hour. If the tide's in there maybe a coupleo f places where you have to walk through the sea up to just about your ankles. Hammemet's a lot more bustling and intersting than yasmine hamammet. The medina's nice and you can pay to go in to the fort which has lovely views. There's also lots of cafe's and restaurants.

The area around the hotel itslef is very quite and the first few days we were there,we saw hardly any other tourists. There's about 3 or 4 hotels in the area and several restaurants and a few shops. You can go left or righ out of the hotel to find these. Two of the nicest restaurants apart from the hotel are Bella Marina and Dar Kais although these are a little more expensive than others in the area (when i say expensive i mean by Tunisian standards. We had meals at these two restuarants for about £35 for 2 of us including a bottle of wine).

There's also an international cultural centre if you walk left out of the hotel (then turn right when you get to the top of the road). We walked past it one day and didn't go in because it was closed but it actually looked really interesting. Sunset also offer some nice trips. We did African nights which was very enjoyable and good value as you get a nice meal included. We also did the Sahara trip which is good because you getto see a lot of the country but it is very tiring.

The area livened up a little at the weekend and had a bit more of an atmosphere. If you're looking for bars and lots to do in the evening I'd say this isn't for you. However if you're looking for a relaxing holiday at the beach or pool it should be fine. I'd just advise to think carefully about what sort of holiday you're looking for so you're not dissapointed.

If you've never been to Tunisia prepare yourself to get some hassle off the locals especially if you're a woman. Even though I was with my boyfriend some of the men still very indiscreetly would look down my top. A lot of Tunisians may hassle you to come in their shops, hassle you for tips and you also get touts on the beaches and streets. It's best to just be firm with them and say no. Unfortunately it's sometimes best to completely ignore the touts because as soon as you engage them you'll find it very hard to get rid of them. Sometimes they'll tell you an item is free but don't take it off them as they won't leave you alone until you pay. Having said this, you just have to understand it's part of their culture and they're just trying to make a living. Don't let it ruin your holiday. I went to Tunisia 6 years ago and I must say the Tunisians seem to have calmed down a lot since then with their hassling,or maybe it was just that i knew what to expect this time.

All in all we had a good holiday. Probably won't go back to Tunisia or this area but that's not to do with the hotel. We just like to try new places and like a bit more to do in the local area. Probably wouldn'tbe a good holiday for children as not much to do locally.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddytabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Interesting reading other reviews. We to found the hotel an excellent base (B&B) for exploring. Hotel food very good and cheap, 12 (£6) dinars for a four course set menu ? High standard of cleanliness and friendly staff. Best rooms 312 to 318 quiet side, top floor.
Easy to get train to Tunis, Sousse or anywhere north or south. Just get a taxi to Bir Bou Rekba station.
Hotel beach nice and clean, however first week of holiday the walk to Hammamet was littered everywhere with anything from plastic bottles to nappies ! A week later they had a massive clear up and it was fine. Watch out for the scammers to who offer euros for your pounds and then may run off with your bags or purse and don't leave your bags and shopping on the non private parts of the beaches they will be nicked too !
Hammamet a great place, fun haggling in the medina and good food to be had, check out Restovert, wacky place ! Chez Achour is a beautiful place for an evening meal which is not expensive £30 max for three courses and a bottle of wine for two set amongst the fig trees.
Nabeul is also worth going to for the medina and shopping alike. Interesting museum there and good food. Always eat where the Tunisians' eat, it worked for us and we were never disappointed.
All in all a much more down to earth holiday without the glitzy likes of El Kantaoui etc.
Just remember your in an Islamic country and as such respect it so !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was very clean and conveniently located. We were very happy to just have bed and breakfast as we found some nice restaurants in Hammamet Medina area (L'Angolo Verde was particularly good). The restaurants near the Hotel weren't very good - mostly touristy and we kept on getting over charged! When we complained they said that we had looked at the English menu and the prices had since gone up. Nevertheless, we did always pay what we saw on the English menu and they were happy to change the bill.
The beach allocated to the Hotel was lovely - the little cafe was good value too and the man serving the food was very friendly. However, I found the rest of the beach extremely unappealing. There was rubbish everywhere - mainly plastic bottles, but I did see some broken glass and used nappies on our walk to Hammamet medina. There was also a plastic bag full of rubbish just over from the Hotel beach area that was not moved the whole week we were there. It just sat near the sea edge.
Apart from the rubbish everywhere we thoroughly enjoyed Tunisia. I didn't find the haggling at all bad compared to other countries I've been to. If you want pottery go to Nabeul (easy to catch a bus there). It's also really easy to get to Tunis and Carthage using public transport instead of the 75 dinar trip Thomas Cook offers. There's a regular bus to Tunis and then you can catch a metro to Carthage. It's really easy to walk around the central sites and is lovely to do so.
If you want a good value hotel use this one. Otherwise splash out on a very expensive 5 star hotel. I overheard a lot of disappointed customers on the plane coming back who had had awful food and service from their 3/4 star hotels.
One tip - take ear plugs as the dogs outside barked all night!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence la Paix
Residence la Paix
#58 of 118 in Hammamet
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hamilton Hotel
Hamilton Hotel
#84 of 118 in Hammamet
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bel Azur
Hotel Bel Azur
#33 of 118 in Hammamet
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Emira
Hotel Emira
#103 of 118 in Hammamet
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Citronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Citronniers

Property: Hotel Les Citronniers
Address: Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Citronniers 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Citronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Citronniers Hotel
Les Citronniers Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing