We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yela Yela - The Animation Team Made My Holiday”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #8 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What can I say, have just returned from a week's stay at the Phenicia and I really don't have any faults at all.
The rooms were good when all you need are a bed and somewhere to have a shower!
The food and drink were plentiful and you could be as adventurous as you wanted - there were always the staples of spaghetti bolognese for those that didn't fancy trying the local specials. We went to Le Panache for our meal one night (one trip included in your stay) and had a very good fish meal. We also booked for the Chinese restaurant one night (20 dinar per person - about £8) and the food was fantastic - you had to choose your courses before you went and I would certainly recommend a trip there.

However, my best review goes to the animation team - they tirelessly worked throughout the day getting everyone involved in all the events and then did their shows in the evening. Special mention for Rio and Nemo who were my favourites.

Am already looking into going back next year.......

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bevoirbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding the SENTIDO Phenicia.
We will be happy welcoming you back next year!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,649 - 2,655 of 6,372 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Wow. What a week. Fun, sun, relaxation and plenty to do, eat, drink, and enjoy.

Got to say the room was all we needed.

The entertainment team are superb. Britt your yogi session this morning was superb, well done babe.

Cannot fault this week.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much - "wow" what a good comment - come back please for another
week!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is amazing, beautiful, friendly and the entertainment team make the hotel Rio, Fifi, Nemo, Amine, Bebo, Alex, Dee Dee & all the other guys made our holiday special, fun & full of memories. I can't even start to describe how hard they.work, always a smile and a "hi ya" when they see you. Whether it's by the pool in the shows or at the beach or pool parties that were amazing guys,!!!, we danced the night away smiling & laughing all night. The best for us was crazy Rio xxx he is so great he saw that we were a bit shy to start with and made us feel welcome & relaxed & laughing all the time at the crazy things he did even when it got him in trouble with the boss lol , love him & will miss him the most xxx. The hotel its self is better than the pictures trust me beautiful & so clean and well kepted. The room we had was 10/10 big ,clean , big flat screen tv just could do with more English speaking channels but channel 8 had English movies on all day so that was good. Arriving in the room decoration on the bed was a delight and the fruit basket made it extra special. Our view over the main big pool was top class loved sitting out watching the action in the pool but the bushes in front of us were beautiful but a bit high and in need of cutting back a bit to improve the room view a small thing but worth the hotel looking at, we were in room 6020 and we would love to cone back and stay in there again. The all inclusive : the bar staff are great & they work hard the choice is a bit basic could do with a few more choices ie I missed my Malibu which was not available but apart from that all good & easy to enjoy. The restaurant was nice once you get your head around tipping your waiter is great they bring you your drinks as soon as you sit down & remember what you like as you have your own table & same. Waiter for every evening meal. The food was good I am a bit of a fussy eater but enjoyed most nights meals. The only bad part of the hotel is the shop the lady in there was rude and aggressive and the choice in there is small & the prices to high. The highlight of our stay tho was the poolside entertainment & the animation crew thank you guys once again you made our holiday amazing and you make the hotel what it is and make it stand out from all the rest best we have ever met the hotel would be crazy to ever let you go. We will be booking to come back again just because of you, even tho boss man does call me whitey due to me hiding in the shade and still being white even on my last day lol ( friendly joke). Anyway love the hotel love the staff and most of all love the entertainment team and sad to have left missing you all already thank you . Xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathywest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guests,

we are pleased reading your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed espacialy the activities with the animation team. Just come back next year and have a nice Malibu - available in the Bar Carillon (not included). The trees will be cut a little bit in automn - as usual.

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is 100% recommended from me, the hotel staff are friendly and welcoming, the weighters are always on hand for drink top-up's, but the animation team are on a different level, they are non-stop hard workers all day, and put on various different shows and activities through-out the day, the hotel itself is bright, well air-conditioned and clean, the rooms could do with a little bit of modernisation, but all in all very clean and the facilities in the room are top-notch. It was our first time at the Phenicia, and we are looking to go back for definite next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

what a pleasure to us - we are absolutely delighted to read such a good comment.
Thank you very much!
We will be happy seeing you again next year

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

..from two weeks at the Phenicia and can thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is very clean and the food choice extensive. For those with a conservative palet there was invariably a roast meat available each evening and spag bol. For the more adventurous local foods such as Bric could be had (I can't recommend the Cuttlefish!). The staff were friendly and attended to the one or two minor issues we had promptly. The animation team were tireless in ensuring guests were entertained, providing several opportunities throughout each day (except Sunday - their day off) to get involved in activities such as archery, darts, table tennis, water polo, aerobics, salsa dance, zumba, yoga, beach volleyball, french bowls and football. There are two pools on site: the larger, busier pool and a smaller, quieter and deeper pool (1.6M). There are are also loungers available on the beach located 100M from the large pool. The beach restaurant is situated in a lovely spot and was a quieter option for breakfast. Our party was made up of two families including three teenage girls. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience with tripadvisor members!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the SENTIDO Phenicia.
It would be an honor for all the staff welcoming you again.
Best regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We returned from the Phenicia at midnight last night after an 18 hour delay which wasn't their fault but just the icing on the cake of a pretty terrible 12 days.

We went on this holiday aware the fantastic reviews,so maybe our expectations were a little high...

It's a long one and more therapy for me than probably useful for you, but just go with it..

General information
The Gym is 7 dinar an hour! its a tiny cupboard with not even a treadmill. Dont bother.

TV. Flat screen has only news 24 in English and a movie chanel with subtitles but my kids found some good films and ignored the subtitles. there are 1 french and 1 german sports chanel, the rest was french.

No tea and coffee facilities in room.

Free wireless in reception and round the pool which they dont tell you about.

If you dont tip them they mostly treat you like [--]

If you've been to Egypt in a good hotel you will hate this place. I'm serious, we went 5 star all inclusive to Sharm in May. It wasnt the best hotel in the area, but compare to this dump it was like the 7 star hotel in Dubai. We felt like Royalty. here we felt like a burden just because we wanted a cold fizzy drink and not a flat warm one.


Pro's
Short flight and transfer time
Beach is lovely powdery golden sand and clean with crystal clear warm sea. Gorgeous
Pool is a nice interesting shape and warm.
Amimation Team are without doubt the best thing at this place.
erm...
I cant think of anything else....
OH! Yes. Kersten the Concierge. She is wonderful. She is helpful and friendly and listens to your woes. Nothing will get done however, because she is fighting a losing battle with a hotel gone to pot. But thank you Kersten. You were lovely and we appreciated everything you tried to do for us that was ignored totally.

CONS
everything else...

Room. Awful. you think the picture in the brochure looks a bit spartan? Wait til you get there. We booked a double bed and the bed was a tiny rock hard 4ft 6 affair with about 1 foot either side!! the balcony is 3 ft deep and thats your living accomodation. Even if you want a doubl bed, ask for a twin and you get the bigger room and you can push the beds together. Seriously, Our kids were in a twin and it was a good 6ft longer and more wardrobe space. we were in room 6010 and 6007 and the location of these rooms is great. right over the breakfast room and overlooking the pool. The location of our roomm was one of the only things we liked. Some rooms were miles away from the pool with terrible views.
Food. Ok, we didnt die from food poisoning and great if you like chips and pasta. Very samey range, but considering I booked this hotel BECAUSE of the food reviews and the pictures of the meals looked so good, I was WELL fed up with the choice and quality.


Breakfast was served until 10am, no bacon, awful sausages and grey scrambled eggs. Juice is warm, flies everywhere. Not good. The crepe and egg guys were great though. Great omlettes too if you dont mind the wait. They serve breakfast at the beach too but the flies drive you nuts and the crepe guy is just learning and messes up more than he delivers. However we could get a pot of tea there so we had breakfast up at the hotel and then went down to the beach bar for a tea, ridiculous!!

Lunch. Go to the main restaurant. its air con and more choice. The beach restaurant is fly ridden and hot with no dress code. Men in spedo's really put me off my lunch!

Snacks from 3-6 - alright if you want crepes cold pizza or cakes. No food to be had ANYWHERE after 9.30pm.

The queues were a nightmare and I swear to god, if you book the 8.30 sitting they start clearing away from 9 onward. Our waiter was a darling though and brought us drinks constantly and it was the ONLY PLACE YOU CAN GET A COLD FIZZY DIET COKE. Thank you!

BAR
OH MY GOD DON'T GET ME STARTED. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

I dont drink alchol, although I wished I had after this holiday. I like tea and I like a diet coke. I could barely get either. Every coke machine was broken. The barstaff battling with 3 glasses full of foam and pouring from one to another to get one good glass which was then flat and warm. There are NO TEA MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS. I complained and Kirsten the concierge got us a kettle, but we had to steal cups to get clean ones and get our own tea bags!!

The guy at the beach bar is a MISERABLE OLD [--]!! he made me cry when on day 2 of no diet coke or hot water, he shrugged and asked what was he supposed to do. So my hubby went to the restaurant 3 metres away and asked for a pot of hot water so I could have a tea and they refused! Said they HAD NO HOT WATER! this was 10 mins after 10 oclock when they had just been serving breakfast! So we had no coke and no water for tea on an expensive all inclusive holiday. We immediately went to the hotel reception and complained, they told us to speak to Kirsten. She arranged the kettle in our room, and phoned the beach and told him to have a thermos of hot water down there for us every day until we went home and bottles of diet coke in the fridge for us... guess what? THIS NEVER HAPPENED!! even when we complained again. Kirsten tried for us but they didnt want to know!

POOL STAFF
Vile people. If you dont give them a big tip the first day you might as well be dead bodies littering up the poolside for the care and attention you are shown. Pool shuts at 6pm. at 5 the man took my husbands seat pad. I asked for it back and he said "NO pool closed" I said its only 5. He ignored me. My husband ran over and asked for it back. he said NO pool closed. Hubby grabbed pad off him and a wrestling match ensued. Hubby won, put pad back on bed and went off to get a crepe. Pool man stole seat pad AGAIN! hubby saw him, went up and told him that he wanted it back or he was going to the manager. He gave it back. This battle happened most days. One woman had her seat pad swiped from near enough under her bum as she stood up!!

If you don't tip the bar staff and pool guy straight away you will be treated like crap. I have been to Egypt and there, you get great service in hope of a good tip. In Tunisia they only give you good service if you give them a good tip. I will NEVER go to Tunisia again. I dont care if it was just this hotel and not typical. I went to 3 hotels in this country and they were all rude bar my waiter, and the crepe guy. (who both got BIG tips on the last day)

I told the Phenicia I had 2 families at home waiting form my opinion of this place before they booked. Both booked somewhere else today thank god.

On all the other negative reviews, the Phencia management go on about how if you had only told us we would have done something. People complain about the lack of sunloungers and you say you only have to ask. Well guess what?

NO THEY WONT BRING YOU ONE IF YOU NEED ONE. PEOPLE WERE LYING ON THE GRASS! Or do you HAVE TO TIP SOMEONE AND THEN MAGICALLY ONE WILL BE AVAILABLE!!

Disgraceful!!

We asked for help on all our issues on several occassions and the hotel did NOTHING. They promise these things are no longer happening. but they are folks! People who came last year said the place had gone to the dogs. it has. The Riu (thomson platinum) next door is gorgeous, we had a look round and its like paradise compared to this place.

RUN!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED FIND ANOTHER HOTEL. FIND ANTHER COUNTRY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laurasimonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a perfect hotel in my opinion, i went to this hotel in the summer of 2010 for 2 weeks, the welcoming into the hotel was perfection, whilst waiting to sign in we was presented with a lemon drink and a cool towel which was perfect after being on a non air conditioned bus for 2 hours!

The hotel was stunning, the layout couldn't of been any better. Everything from the reception to the animation room (where they performed in the evening) to the pool to the beach was just exceptional.

We just had a normal room, the view wasn't the best as we where looking over the dirt track, although occasionally we did see a few horses.. We met up with a few people over there and one of them was a rep of some sort who was writing a review for the hotel, so they gave her the top room which was at the very top of the hotel and was a deluxe suite or something along those lines. Know thats what i call a view, you could oversee the pool area and had a perfect view of the beach and sea, almost like heaven.

The pool area was incredible, very clean which was hard to do because it was such a big area. The sun loungers where good as well, with the sun lounger man giving you covers and even would go and fetch them for you, although tere was a rush to get them in the morning so set your alarm early if you want a decent seat!

The animation team was perfect, they would ease you into stuff but after careful persuasion, if you didnt want to do it they wouldnt force you but you always wanted to because they were so nice. Females would of been in heaven, the competition of who was the best looking animator was always up in dicussion. The amount of sports available was incredible, not only did they overlook and sometimes play they had the perfect sense of humour. There were incredible workers aswell, they would finish doing their sports and within an hour sometimes they where doing dance routines around the pool in clothing in about 40 degree heat, i would of overheated but they always had a smile on their faces.
The evening shows as well were perfect, so many different routines they had to remember, i dont know how they did it! Every show was different, sunday was when they didnt do anything, one of the nights they had a snake charmer, who didnt do his job description justice.

Like any hotel you need to meet the right people, luckily as a 16 year old then i met some girls who came on the same day so that was perfect.

I would reccomend this hotel, but my experience was 2 years ago and what made the holiday was meeting the right people and the animation team, the animation team has completely changed. For me i would go back in a instant because it was just perfect, a couple holiday would be perfect as the views and hotel are gorgeous.

Have fun if you do go, beware of the touchy feely man on the beach trying to make you go on the camel, major expenses if you do. Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

we are very pleased to read such a good comment about the SENTIDO Phenicia - thank you very much! Just come back this year - for another stunning holiday!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,176 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
791 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
6 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £39 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the east coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously palm and olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing