We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just came back from this hotel had a great week the staff are very helpful and hard working, food was great and varied, the rooms and corridors need updating and the hotel needs to employ a glass cleaner as all the glass and windows in the hotel are dirty (on the stairs on the terrace at the spa, in the smoking room and around the pool bar) the only windows that look like they have been cleaned are at the front entrance . The animation team do there best to look after you and kept us all entertained especially mouse and super mario.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guests,

excellent value for money - thank you! We will share your kind comment immediately with
our staff regarding the cleaning of the glass fronts - thank you for mentionning.

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 6,070 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away in April. I had high hopes after reading reviews and looking directly on the Sentido website. We travelled with two children age 1& 4.

Whilst the grounds are good, the rooms are nothing more than a YMCA hostel set up. Very tired, very basic, broken items that were not repaired during our stay. There is some room refurbishment going on - I can tell you that first hand as we had banging and drilling (without warning) from 6.30am until after 8pm. It only stopped then as my husband complained and said he would not leave the reception until the workmen came down!

Food was ok for a few days, but was very limited in places.

If all you want to do is lay in the sun and not spend any time in your room then go. But if you need any kind of luxury in your room, then forget this hotel. You'll get a rock hard bed, most likely a rubbish view from the balcony, and TV that has one English channel. Dark dingy corridors that lead up to your 'hostel' room are not great either!

I would put this hotel at a 3*. Just don't look at the Sentido website that says it is wall to wall luxury - that it isn't!

Room Tip: If refurbishment is complete ask for one of these rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor with us. Yes, we started renovating
the rooms of one floor, as well as the corridor. We apologize, if you haven't been happy with your
room - please let us know next time, there are always possibilities to improve if necassary.
We are pleased reading you enjoyed the garden.

Best regards - we would like welcoming you again!
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

As a pair of wrinklies we mostly thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the all-inclusive deal at this comfortable hotel which we feel gives good value for money

Staff - the hotel staff usually respond happily to a greeting and a smile, although some bar staff are quite rude. We found tipping up-front gains you excellent and efficient service, and modest tips throughout your stay are appreciated by all staff - it really doesn't cost you much to tip and will make your stay much more pleasant. There were about 2.4 dinars to the £ and a modest dinar tip as a rule, up to say 10 dinars for your regular waiter who will attend your table on most days and your room maid seemed to work OK. These people work long, long hours!

In fact we found in general most Tunisian people to be friendly and kind, although you will get quite aggressively followed and hounded by shop-keepers, beach hawkers and anyone selling trips, which can be a real pain.

Food - we felt the quality was excellent, with varied menus and not too fatty food, in the buffet dining room - in fact we did not take up the offer of 1 mediterranean dinner per stay (held in the paying Chinese restaurant as the other paying restaurant was being renovated while we were there - tho it's open again now). Don't expect traditional English food like cheddar or bacon to be available, but do try the Tunisian salads, chicken dishes in sauces and the breakfast made-while-you-wait omelettes which I loved. From what we could see, food hygiene seemed very good, and the chefs are very proud of their dishes and love to receive a compliment. There is now a separate vegetarian section.

Rooms and other areas - some areas are tired and need freshening up but are clean - there are staff cleaning most areas all day. The gardens and pools are interesting and beautifully cared for, as is the private beach area, (but avoid a sun-bed next to the sea as the hawkers will hound you - they're not allowed to come further onto the hotel grounds). There are nice bars near the sea and by the pools. Outside, it's a long way to anywhere of much interest, and there's rubbish and litter everywhere, but Yasmine Hammamet marina and shops are around an hours walk down the beach to the right, or about a 6 dinar taxi drive, with a decent fixed-price shop called Joys if you hate haggling over prices.

Entertainment - the animation team work hard to provide varied activities during the day and are a grand bunch! Evening shows didn't grab us although they really did try - there are some great dancers in the team.

Overall - we'd definitely recommend the hotel, although be warned if you are phobic about birds, as there are hundreds of swifts, martins, pigeons, blackbirds and other birds living at the hotel! (We did see a Hoopoe in the hotel front grounds which was stunning.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much - we are pleased reading your kind and detailed comment , espacially
concerning the Bar Staff - we apologize. Investigations will follow.
We are delighted knowing you enjoyed "bird watching" and you are recommending the SENTIDO
Phenicia.

Best regards from Tunisia
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I went on holiday with my partner and I had a lovely holiday. This is the first hotel I would come back to. The hotel is not perfect, but for the price you pay, you really can’t complain! We were treated extremely well by staff and the hotel was lovely. They just need to have better vegetarian food.

Hotel and room:
The hotel was lovely and was kept very clean. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and rooms and you can get a little signal at the pool, but it is very weak. When you arrive you are greeted with a lemon drink and a warm towel to freshen up. They sit you in the smoking bar (not the best as it smells) but you are in there for a few minutes and then they take you on a tour of the hotel, this was a great touch as most hotels don’t do this.
We had a twin room, so we pushed the beds together. The room was very nice and very good considering the price we paid. You put a paper pyramid on the bed if you want the sheets changed and you need to put the towels in the bath to be changed. The bathroom was very nice and clean. We had a TV which had BBC world news and two movie channels. My room was always clean to a good standard, but no animal towels  There is a fridge so you can put water in it from the hotel (every time you order water it comes in a bottle). The room also has air con.

Bars:
Service at the bars is good but the only problem me and the friends I had made on holiday was the alcohol in the drinks. So many times we asked for double vodka and lemonade and they only gave us lemonade. I don’t know if it is because they are told not to give as much to save money, or it is their own personal views about alcohol but it was very annoying considering you have paid for it and you should get what you pay for. We complained about it several times but nothing was done. I am not a big drinker at all so it didn’t bother me too much, but my friends who drink where very annoyed. And my friends tipped the bar staff a lot so it was very frustrating for them.

Food:
It was cooked to a good standard and everything was fresh and to good standard, but as other reviews have said, it is not good for vegetarians, however I think they are getting better.

Breakfast - croissants, pain au chocolat, different breads and a toast machine, cereals, jams. Eggs, sausage, cold meats. Freshly made to order pancakes with sugar, lemon and chocolate and freshly made omelette. Different teas, coffee, hot chocolate, freshly made fruit juice, water. They also had grapefruit. Breakfast was the best meal of the day!

Lunch and dinner - very similar. You have your own table for the duration of your stay and have the same waiter for dinner. I had Sami and he was AMAZING. All the waiters should learn from this man, he is on the ball all the time and works very hard. On his day off our dinner service was rubbish compared to him and his standards! They always have rice and potato (mash or sliced) and always chips. Then there was always a chef with plain pasta and he added tomato sauce and meat if you wanted, mixed it all together and added whatever spices and flavour you wanted, very yummy and good for vegetarians. They always had good selection on the grill including tuna steaks, beef steaks, mixed grill etc. Different meat dishes and always had some veg (carrots, peas, sweet corn, cabbage all of which was lightly flavoured so it was nice) They also had a salad bar which was good, but they did add meat to a lot of it which was annoying. The only problem for me was the lack of vegetarian options. They considered carrots, mash potato and chips as a vegetarian diet, no veg chilli/lasagne/cottage pie etc so I basically ate rice, pasta and potato for a week. It didn’t bother me too much but I couldn’t have eaten there for two weeks on that. Plus the free al a carte does not do vegetarian option which is very annoying! They have lots of yummy deserts and ice creams and also have strawberries! Which I could have eaten all night!

Snack time/afternoon tea had pizza, some cheese and cold meats, bread, mini deserts and tea/coffee/hot chocolate. They also have a man that makes pancakes/crepes with jam/chocolate/cheese. They chocolate ones are so yummy!

Pool and beach and spa:
The beach was lovely, very clean and sun beds were good. The only problem was the sellers, they really annoyed me so I didn’t go on the beach after that day but friends I had made there said they did leave you alone after the first day or so. I just couldn’t be bothered with the hassle. The pool is very clean but a tad chilly! Was lovely though to cool in. Sun beds had two mats, the blue ones which are really comfy and the green ones which aren’t as much. The heated pool is nice on the colder days. I did not use the spa as the price put me off. It was something like 38 dinar for a 30 minute massage, I would rather have one at home for a similar price and with someone I know.

Entertainment/animation team.
There are loads of activities to do during the day. Yoga, salsa (Titi and Mira, really lovely girls), zumba, archery, darts, French boules, water aerobics, water polo, volleyball. The animation team work extremely hard throughout the day. I have no idea where they get the energy to work 14 hour days, 6 days a week and be so happy and friendly. They made my holiday, very polite and always up for a good laugh, but know when to leave you alone. They do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your holiday and when we had one day of rain they made extra effort for us. The shows are good too, you can see they work so hard. Mino who does the archery is a very polite gentleman, he remembered my name and respected your space, he never bothered me to do archery, and I know a lot of other guests really appreciated his laid back nature as most British people HATE being bothered all day everyday! And if I remember correctly archery was a lot of fun and very popular! If you want to go out to a bar/club, the animation team go out basically every night. They meet you outside the hotel and walk you to the place. They stay with you and make sure you are having a good time, but also give you space and let their hair down! I have to give Nino a massive thank you for walking me and my partner back to the hotel to make sure we were safe. It was only 1 minute walk (if that) and he wasn’t working so he didn’t have to walk us back at all but he did, which just shows you how lovely the team really are. They really do care about their guests. I know a lot of people that read reviews think that the comments about the team are over the top and some are biased from girls that fancy the male members... but going with my partner I can honestly say the whole team are so polite and friendly, they really are the best I have experienced!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McRhiRhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest,

it was a pleasure reading your detailed review about the SENTIDO Phenicia - thank you very much! We will investigate to find out what went wrong with your double vodka/lemonade drinks - and forward your comment to our Chief Cook - to improve the variety of vegetarian food.
Your compliments regarding our animation team are highly appreciated - thank you!

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

Kindest regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just recently came back from a weeks holiday at the Phenicia hotel.
This was our first time in tunisa we would recommend this hotel as all the staff works so hard to make your stay enjoyable .There was a wide range of food available,special mention to Ben our waiter and Titi who were excellent!

Hope to see you all again,
Many thanks The Witting's.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellewitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent holiday at the SENTIDO Phenicia. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by Ben and Titi was to your entirely satisfaction. We would wish you will enjoy many more delightful stays with us.
We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back.

Best regards and greetings
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

21 and 25 year old couple, stayed at this hotel for a week in late April.

-Welcome was rather odd- being dragged away from your suitcase is a bit disconcerting. However, it was all in good faith. We were shown around the hotel (which was useful). Although, when describing the Chinese restaurant, the man showing us around made the 'chinese eyes' gesture. Awkward. This happened more than once on our stay by various members of staff.

-Room was fine, no problems. We got WiFi in the room, which was nice as we didn't expect it. No problems. Was cleaned every day to a high standard.

-Food is probably the best part (although we have never been on an AI holiday before), and it surpassed our expectations. Lots of choice. Different food each day. Good quality, and constantly restocked. Something for everyone. And 3 courses on offer every lunch & dinner, should that be what you want.

-We had Ben as our Waiter, he was a very nice man. We tipped him about a dinar a day, but I don't think that really changed the service (not sure). Drinks were refilled. We felt well attended to.

-Pools are lovely, and very comfy areas to sunbathe. However, they are bloody freezing at this time of year (maybe go later in the year?). We did swim twice a day. But it wasn't warm!

-Beach is lovely- all white sands and gorgeous water.

-Reasonable options at the bar (after all it is AI), BUT the wine is VILE. Really, really disgusting. Do NOT drink the wine. All the other drinks are fine. I liked the cocktails, my partner had beer which he said was nice.

-Moorish Cafe is amazing for turkish coffee, wide selection of teas and really good shisha. The shisha is about 2 pounds a go. The coffee is the best coffee I've ever had.

-Animation Team- well, this isn't really our thing at all. They do work hard, and there is something to do every night, should you want it. However, the racism (chinese eyes) made us feel uncomfortable. One of the animation team is a dwarf, and was constantly the butt of the jokes (e.g. dressing up as a woman etc), it was like going back about 30 years in the UK and we did not like this at all. However, mercifully, they did leave us alone as they could tell it was not our vibe at all. Everyone else on here seems to be rating the Animation Team so maybe we just have different tastes.

-One of the only issues was being kept awake by the disco (downstairs in the reception area) and then woken at for 4 for morning prayers. The prayers was fair enough, but the disco played awful music.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexxxxandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you writing this detailed review - we appreciate your comments. We apologize if you felt
offended by a special kind of humour shown by a few members of the staff - please be assured they don't mean it in a sense of rassisme as some European guests would naturaly do or think.
The big outdoor is warm in summer, heated by the sun only.
We provide a heated indoor pool in the winter season which you could enjoy. (26°)
We would be interested knowing which vine is "vile" - there are many sorts - please send us an email if possible to check. Your comment regarding the music in the disco will be forwarded
to the Animation Manager in order to improve if appropriated.
We are very pleased reading you have enjoyed the quality of the food and the service by Ben,
the beach, the gardens.
We would like welcoming you again.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

i stayed last week with my daughter for a extra holiday - late booking...

All staff from the reception on arrival, to the gardeners, cleaners, beach bar , restaurant staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel had a happy feel right from the moment you entered.

The ENTERTAINMENT TEAM we such fun, hard working and all wonderful - but a special mention to Steve (aqua ), Bibo, Shaggy and of course Super Mario, who I wanted to take home, a very special person. They included everyone and full of energy.

The rooms though basic were very clean, with great sea views and good bath and shower room, the gardens, pools and beach were great and well maintained with very comfortable loungers.

I shall be taking back the rest of the family this year - I already miss my pancakes - which are made at breakfast and in the afternoon - It was such a lovely holiday and catered for all ages, families, couples etc and tremendous value.

Thank you and hopefully see you all later in the year

Room Tip: All the rooms were good - but I understand that some have already been updated - I would like to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Susan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences about the SENTIDO Phenicia on TripAdvisor with us.

It is a pleasure reading you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us - we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant futurewith your family

Kind regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 119 in Hammamet
2,145 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
2,115 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#14 of 119 in Hammamet
1,280 reviews
3.8 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £45 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing