We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Not long back from another week here. The weather wasn't fantastic while we were there but that didn't matter as we still enjoyed ourselves! The rooms are basic but have everything that you need - to be honest you don't spend that much time in them! They're cleaned every day with fresh towels etc.
The food is great - there's plenty of choice for everyone whether you're adventurous or just fancy plain pasta! The chefs and waiting staff are always on hand with a smile which makes the experience a pleasant one.
All the staff in the hotel work very hard to make your holiday a memorable one but the one team that work the hardest are the Animation Team.
They're on the go all the time, whether it's doing the various activities during the day or putting on the shows in the evening. They're a really lovely bunch of guys and gals and the ones that make you want to keep returning! Special mention must go to Mario who always made time to speak to everyone.
I had a fantastic week and can't wait to come back again in March. See you all soon xxxxxxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bevoirbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,983)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Phenicia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 5,985 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Don't be put off by reports of disruptive work. In 2 weeks I heard almost nothing, and the hotel is a very peaceful spot. Large and lovely gardens with a great beach. Good hotel for a relaxing time. All the staff, inc animations, are lovely,helpful and friendly. A great team.
I had one of the pre-refurb rooms and could find no fault with it that a lick of paint couldn't fix. Large comfy beds with lovely bed-linens. Big bathroom with well-lit huge mirror, powerful shower over bath, and a heated towel rail! All quite satisfactory except no view due to large trees. No lifts to upper floor rooms.
Food is pretty good, and drinks are fine (no funny-tasting spirits).
My holiday was spoiled by poor weather. Many cloudy days with a nasty cold wind which brought the temp down to only 8c one day. Not much warmer than south of England at the time, except when the sun came out (not often enough) when it was absolutely gorgeous! The hotel has a heated indoor pool with a channel leading to a heated outdoor one. Very popular.
I chose this hotel mainly for the on-site horse riding, which was excellent and reviewed separately. I would return here, so long as prices don't go sky high when the work is finished (estimated before Summer 2014)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynwill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive with my friend & I can honestly say we were pleasantly surprised.. The hotel is lovely, the food excellent certainly enough of it. All the staff at the hotel were friendly, hard working people. Yes they are doing refurbishment but, it does not interfere with the other rooms & virtually noiseless.. The odd drilling & banging but, not enough to complain about. And the end result is worth it, we were lucky to have one of the re-done rooms 1037 & it was great except for the balcony no view there I'm afraid never mind it wasn't hot enough to sit out there anyway.
Our only let down regarding this holiday was that we weren't able to wander out & about on our own. We both like to explore where we are & I'm afraid to say we did not feel safe as 2 women on our own. It is a shame that the locals are so desperate for money that they won't take no for an answer when selling goods & they can become quite aggressive & rude while I understand their plight that spoiled my holiday. Don't get me wrong I know lots of people will say rubbish but, I won't be returning to Tunisia. If I go shopping I don't want to be hounded leave me alone & I'm more likely to spend my money. This is my opinion but, I met lots of people that feel the same way. Anyway I can only say if want a holiday where you can just relax & stay around the hotel this is perfect, if you want more take a big burly man with you..LOL!! Like I said everyone connected to this hotel was excellent animation,managers,concierge,maids,waiters,etc too many to mention but they all get a thumbs up from us. If you leave this hotel hungry it is your own fault...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Once more we had a wonderful, relaxing holiday in the Phenicia sentido hotel, this being our firth time there. The service as good and courteous as always. Room clean and attended to for any need we may had. The food was excellent, as good as ever. The animation and sports team was truly good this year, the young boys and girls seem to have improved tremendously, we did enjoy the evenings entertainment. Our love of the gardens grows every time we go to the Phenicia, they are so well looked after that its a pleasure to walk around or simply relax amongst the flowers, on the green grass. Of course there is the lovely beach for those superb sunset walks.
Once more we visited "Sebastian House", the cultural centre of Hammamet, its such pretty house, and the citrus gardens are magnificent. We'd walked around the Medina and visited the shops in the town, all very interesting and enjoyable. There is no doubt that the Phenicia Sentido Hotel is well run, very comfortable and with a truly friendly atmosphere. Health permitting, we will go back again!

Room Tip: We enjoy a sea view and make sure we book one every time.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josefina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was my first time to tunisia and im glad to say i was not dissappointed. Upon arrival to the hotel we were greated with cocktails and a warm welcome from the animation team, we were then shown our room which im pleased to say were the newley referbuished rooms, the hotel is currently being updated and we were told about this prior to travel but im happy to say this did not disturb our stay here. The rooms were bright and airey and we had a great view. The animation team within the hotel are brillant they have a great team all friendly and polite and they really do put the hours, they do various activites throughout the day and the put on shows of an evening. There are a few bars dotted around the but if you want your uk brands they can be quite expensive .The restaurants within the hotel are good various things to choose from and from 3pm the snack restaurant opens and they serve great pancakes also there is a late breakfast served up to 12 so there is no rush to wake up early as weve done on previous holidays which is a great bonus. We do like to venture out and on 2 occasions we visited a restaurant that was recommended by our rep down in Yasmine Hammamet called The Rovers Return which were greated with a warm welcome, our first visit was an evening were we sampled dawns (the owner) steak pie and also a great t bone steak, and id like to point out they also have uk branded drinks which was a fraction of the cost of the hotel, we enjoyed our meal so much we did return on the sunday before we travelled home for the sunday dinner and Watch a bit of football a great way to relax before our late night flight home. The weather was warm but as soon as the sun goes in it can be chilly so id recomend you take a jacket. We will be returning as we had a great relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39arsenal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent holiday at the SENTIDO Phenicia. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided.
We are looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you back for another great relaxing beak.

Kind regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was my wife and my first visit to Tunisia with the hotel recommended by friends who stay there each year. We were NOT disappointed! The staff, food and communal areas were all excellent and we would stay there again without hesitation. Currently the hotel is being updated on two floors as the decor and furniture are a bit dated. Our room was fine with a very comfortable huge bed. Any work being carried out did not spoil our time there and did not detract from us having a terrific week.
Small touches eg. cold buffet in the afternoon, pancakes etc. helped to make the break very satisfying. I cannot say enough about ALL of the staff. Courteous, attentive especially Chiaeb our waiter for most of our stay. All in all a very nice break at this time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elephant2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the SENTIDO Phenicia.
We are delighted reading you enjoyed your recommended holiday, the facilities and the service provided, especially by your waiter Chaieb.

We would be pleased welcoming you back again anytime.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

On arrival you are given a cocktail and your bags will be taken to your room you will be expected to tip so make sure you get some currency on arrival at the hotel. Make sure you get a receipt for all your currency exchanges and change a little at a time and ask for change you will need this for tips. Tips ! When we got here it felt hard work not knowing what is the expected. So in short
Tip the maid a dinar a day. Bar people a dinar every so often not every drink. When we arrived we was told we would get the same person at each meal as you have same table .. But we haven't found that was the case and so we tipped on the day for good service. Some are better than others. A dinar is roughly 40p its a fixed currency so no need to shop around. You need 10 dinar a day for tips etc. Don't tip in pounds they can't change it unless they ask a friendly guest.. You shouldn't change it you will be breaking the law.
The room, we was in the 7000 rooms they are good, clean with a TV some English channels bbc news and a films channel. Twin Beds! They are twins in almost all the rooms don't expect a double you will be disappointed. Our room looked out on to a lawn and had a seating area with table outside. We chose not to upgrade as we didn't think we would spend much time in the room and with free drinks in the lounge we spent more time there. The wi fi is free! And good. Skype home if you wish keep your phone on airplane mode with WiFi on and you will not get a big bill next month. Get bottled water from the lounge bar its free.
The food is very good salads and the veg are fantastic. Sweets pancakes cheese etc. Meat dishes can be a bit ropey ..however on the whole very good. Food is available all day in one form or another. Drinks are local beers, coffee sprits you will not be short of a drink. But you will not find any English brands but who cares. The pools are cold.. We was in November so one pool is meant to be heated but I never worked out which one? All day activities are happening I did the archery the instructor was really good the people who are sports people in the day are the entertainments team at night.. I will come to that later!! Weather in November is like mid summer in the uk. 25 c first few days we was here.. 19-20 the rest of the time the odd rain shower..and you can get a fresh wind. Sitting on the beach is ok it tends to be sheltered from the winds. On the beach you will get the odd seller and camel ride people coming up to you just say no thank you. And they will go away. The hotel did put some security on the beach who did tell a few of the sellers to do one ! In shops only pay less than 25 % for anything .. If they will not accept that ...walk away.. They will chase you down the street and take your offer if they dont just go next door they all sell the same stuff. We paid 10 dinar for a leather bag priced at 80 that's the game they play.. Your the one with the power. When done right its fun and they will have a laugh with you.. If you feel they are to pushy walk off..they normally mock you as you walk away.. Its normal and makes me laugh As you should enjoy your shopping.
Its Showtime ! Or not.. The guys work hard really hard.. And doing shows in 3 languages none of which are not your own must be tough. What you end up with is dance routines with the team miming to the likes of Grease. I have seen on trip adviser that a few people have said the team concentrate on a select few guests and I can see why they say that but I understand why.. Most people don't want to know I don't, and a lot of the guests are older and not interested. So the same few people mainly teenage girls are the target. Having said that a few of dancers are good. And its better than most and its a tough crowd.
We was with first choice Mikey was our rep and he was ok the meeting I normally hate was helpful and only lasted 30 mins. My only real beef with first choice is the low luggage allowance of 15kg most people we met had 20 or more remembering you can't guarantee the weather its a bit low.
I had a good time over all but wouldn't go back again and a week was enough for me more as Hamamnet is limited in things to see than the hotel. Which had a relaxing atmosphere and had hard working smiling staff.
Sadly we did have to complain about a cashier who accused us of taking more currency than we had asked for, and insisted we had as there was 3 couples who weren't given receipts for their money they had said no so it must be us?! which was ridiculous as the cashier had counted it out to us and we knew how much it was so we would have given it back.We tried to solve it with the reception desk but not interested. 3 days later the hotel said it was a misunderstanding and sent a bottle of wine and some fruit to the room as we are all inclusive it seemed a little bit pointless to me and felt that they didn't the complaint seriously. It did spoil the day for us and after that the holiday didn't have the care free feeling we hoped for. We told the rep mikey the same day he was sympathetic but two days later we still hadn't had a response so we had to take it to the hotel concierge our self s she told us she had heard about it and was waiting for further information from our rep which was disappointing as it should have been resolved next day at the latest as we was only there for a week 3 days is to long to resolve a issue. We will be taking that up with first choice.

Room Tip: Tip the maid a dinar a day. Bar people a dinar every so often not every drink. When we arrived we wa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback with us on TripAdvisor.
Thank you mentioning the positives as well as the issue you experienced with the cashier which we apologize for.
Our Holiday Concierge has been informed about a complaint by your representative the late afternoon of the 11.11.13, saying you experienced a bad behavior of a girl working at the reception desk on Sunday after you exchanged 60 dollars. You have been asked if, due to an error made by the cashier, you eventually got more than 93 dinars back and you felt very bad when you stated you didn’t. Further details have been requested in order to start correct and fair investigations (When did the issue happen? Who was the person concerned/on duty?)
The 12.11. the Holiyday Concierge has been informed by you personally, you stated the cashier has been polite but the girl at the reception has been rude - we got all details needed, investigations started immediately, the Reception Manager has been informed, however both concerned staff members have been off the same day.
We felt so sorry, we don’t want to blame our guests - we therefore apologized and fruits and a bottle of vine have been sent - as gesture.
The 13.11., your departure day, the concerned receptionist was on duty in the morning – she confirmed she didn’t speak to you at all about any currency exchanges – and you did confirm it wasn’t her, it was the girl working as cashier. After the following investigation made we had to admit it could have been a language deficiency – she didn’t had the intention to blame you – please accept our apologies again.
We are pleased reading your kind comment regarding the food, wifi, room , the relaxing atmosphere and hard working smiling staff.
We would like welcoming you back – to get the opportunity to make up for any inconvenience.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,130 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
2,094 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.2 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#19 of 118 in Hammamet
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £46 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing