We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 30th celebrations!!!”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #8 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I have returned from a week at the Phenicia with 4 other girls and can only describe it as a fabulous holiday!
As soon as we checked in we were greeted with friendly and approachable staff who provided us with refreshments, fresh face towels and gave us a tour of the hotel to highlight restaurants etc.
After getting settled and sorted in the room we headed down to the sun beds where we were greeted by some of the great animation team. Over the period of the week we got to know the animation team well and joined in a variety of activities such as Zumba, archery, darts, group dance and yoga. The animation team are fab, they are all very friendly and up for a great laugh!! So big shout out to them for all there skills - Dido for fab choreography of the shows, Coco for archery, Bibo for his Zumba, Pepito for his darts, Emily and Lama for there yoga, Billy, Marou, Aladin, DJ Daly, Super Mario, James, Shaggy, Boss Man, Tata and Nino. On an evening the animation team put on some great shows including Broadway, Celtic Tiger and Dancing around the World.
There was always a great variety of food in the restaurant at all meal times and it was always fresh and hot.
The hotel was kept clean and tidy and our room was cleaned daily. There were refurbishments being done while we stayed at the hotel however there was no disturbance to our holiday.
I will definitely be staying in the Phenicia again and thanks again guys for making my 30th birthday one I will definitely never forget :)
Jo xx <3

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Scottish-Jo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much sharing your review on TripAdvisor with us. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the service, especially the activities with our animation team, the food quality and the facilities. We feel honored that we have been the scenery of your 30th – thank you!

We are pleased welcoming you back on your return.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 6,229 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We went for an Easter break. I would say the hotel is OK however we were expecting more given some of the comments on Trip Advisor. Food side you can always find something that you like but I was disappointed with breakfast offerings. However fantastic puddings/cakes if that's your thing. Drinks are limited and local spirits are a lot weaker than we are used to.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank b4ugo_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much sharing your review on TripAdvisor. It would be helpful to us to know why we couldn’t meet your expectations concerning the breakfast. Would it be possible to you to send us details? Thank you. Thank you qualifying the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel as “OK” – we are hoping to get the possibility to exceed your expectations during your next stay with us.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just back from what I can only say has been the best holiday ever! I have been at Tunisia before but not stayed at Hammamet, the hotel was lovely and the rooms just what you needed, clean,tidy and spacious. We had an early flight and arrived tired and ready for breakfast. After booking in we were told that there would be breakfast, as breakfast was actually over it was bread and cheese and coffee. This was fine and we were soon by the pool starting what can only be described as a fun packed holiday. We were soon introduced to the animation team, what a great bunch! so funny! I have enjoyed Salsa with the amazing Aladdin, yoga with the beautiful Lama, water aerobics with the Tunisian James Dean, Learnt the group dance with the wee cheeky chap who is Billy, and not forgetting zumba with Bibo (only wish I was better at that one). We were entertained all day with Dj Dali and his mix. The very cheeky Mario, shaggy and marou simply made us laugh, and Coco tried hard to teach me how to do archery, while Pepito had a laugh at my darts effort. Nino the childrens entertainer made us laugh as well as the kids, loved his mini disco and joined in several times. We went to the shows every night and were always impressed and never disappointed, the dance routines were very well choreographed by the very talented Dido. I don't want to forget the lovely Emily who always stopped for a chat another lovely lady. I have no idea how they had the time to practice their routines as they were always busy. I can safely say I will miss each and everyone of them! The animation team boss was laugh, he clearly looks out for his staff but ensures they work hard.

The food was always lovely from breakfast to dinner and snacks. We had a lovely waiter who we tipped at the end of the week as his service was second to none. The bar staff were good although sometimes slightly slow, this has to be my only negative point about the whole holiday.

The pool was lovely and we spent most of our time there, we did make a trip on the crazy train with Mario and Shaggy, which was a laugh, we shopped at joys and then walked along the harbour.

As I said at the beginning it has been the best holiday and we are already looking to book for October this year and the next april. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you - we are very pleased reading your excellent comment regarding your recent stay with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel - your brilliant review based on the quality of our animation team is highly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

However we would kindly ask you to let us know if the bar service was slow everywhere or specifically in one bar? It is important to us you get very good/excellent service in all bars so that we could exceed your expectations during your next holiday.

We are more than happy welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just back after very pleasant week at this Hotel. Very close to an excellent rating but must be honest when writing these reviews. Food is excellent where ever you eat and waiter service is very good with dirty plates removed very quickly and drinks always topped up during meal. Staff are mature and always polite with porters wearing traditional dress. Gardens are well kept and clean, beach has soft/fine sand and loads of sunbeds, although could be a lot cleaner. Very safe environment for families and would consider bringing grand children here for holiday. Quite a few smaller children/babies here but certainly not a problem as well behaved and a credit to their parents. Room was I think refurbished, certainly repainted and kept very clean, perfectly adequate for our holiday needs. This has been mentioned before and there was a funny smell in our corridor during the day, sort of blocked drain smell but never had it in the room. Entertainment very good with a hard working and friendly team. Once entertainment over(about 22.30) it becomes low key and we wondered what the younger guests would do then. Certainly not a wild/party hotel, so please bear in mind, although this could be a big advantage to others. Reception very good and has money changing facility, we always used this facility for exchanging £'s. Concierge is a very nice and efficient lady called Kirsten and she helped resolve a little problem with the bar closing hours(Danke Schone Kirsten von der Heino, Hansi und de Eierman Fan Klub!!!!!)
Pool man brings round sun bed mattress covers and he works very hard, as do all the Staff.
To sum up, an extremely well run hotel that provides excellent food and service, not perfect but very, very close. Ultimate question is would we go back? Answer is of course a big fat YES!
Thank you all for your good work and a very pleasant holiday, see you again sometime.

Room Tip: Any problems, then see Concierge for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigelrummery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We really appreciated your detailed and very positive comment on TripAdvisor – thank you very much. It is a pleasure to us reading we are nearly perfect - we are constantly working on improvements. Therefore we have taken note to investigate concerning the “funny smell “in your corridor – thank you for mentioning.

The beach in front of the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel is cleaned daily – would it be possible you think the little brown balls are…? Please don’t, this is sea weed, ejected by the sea…..

Thank you as well replying with a “big fat YES” to the ultimate question of coming back – we are already pleased getting the occasion to surprise you even more at your return.

Kindest regards

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Just home today , boo ... First time in hamamet , and this hotel !sentido phecidio
All I can say is what a fabulous time i had , very warm welcome from the thomas cook reps , rooms clean and fresh ( I believe there due for a refurb ) but perfectly comfortable , all the staff in the restaurants were lovely , especially the waiter allocated to us for lunch and evening meal times Nothing was a bother ...

Now the best bit and the guys that made everyday fab , the animation team are super ... Emily and lama .. Lovely girls always smiling and willing to chat, just like sisters ,
Then the guys ... Coco , dido , James ... Dj ... Billy ... Aladin To name but a few , especially that very cheeky mario ... All up for a laugh and blether by the pool in between , keeping the day filled with activities , from archery to salsa ... Managing to fit in rehearsing there show for our evenings entertainment !!!all worked so hard , can't wait to get booked up for my next trip ..... Thanks again! Xxxxx

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much writing your review on TripAdvisor following your holiday at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the service, especially the activities with our animation team and the facilities. We feel honored that we have been the scenery of your 30th – thank you!

We are pleased welcoming you back on your return.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Back from here a week now,I didn't want to rush into writing my review.
On arrival the hotel looked really nice( it was late evening), greeted with a cocktail,nice touch,taken to our room which was 1 of the upgraded rooms on the first floor.
Waking up on the next day all I can say was a big disappointment,room had no view whatsoever,a big line of tall trees in front of us,so tall when the sun got over them it was over our room so no sunlight at all. All we had to look at was the roof of something below us that had litter,paint brushes & old swimwear lying around.oh & cats peeing into the guttering.
Hated the fact you were assigned a seat at lunch & dinner for your stay,we like to be able to sit where it suits us,choice at the buffet was not great,I had the spag Bol 3 times,chips every day,sometimes twice a day.
Breakfast was ok,omelettes made to order,fried eggs made to order,no bacon,no sausage,no beans,plenty of continental choices,tea was always nice & hot.
We booked the a la carte,it was ok,5 courses, though tiny wee plates was too much as they hardly had taken 1 away & the next was there even though we asked for time in between.Le Dragon( Chinese) was payable£8.00 each,good value,nice service,nice food,we actually went twice to avoid the main buffet.
Pool area& gardens were nice,only problem was 1 day lying in the garden area that backs onto the beach a great big rat ran right past me,no more lying in the gardens.
The beach is badly in need of a good clean,lots of litter,lots of lookie,lookies,so going for a walk along the supposedly private beach could be a bit of a pain,constantly saying no,no,no.
BBQ area was not open when we were there,pool bar was not open either,that was getting a makeover.
Tips,don't go there I know the wages in Tunisia are low,but when you feel as if you have to tip practically everyone that does anything for you becomes a right pain.
The animation team were very hard working,though to be honest we didn't go to the evening shows,but they were on duty from 10 in the morning till midnight with 1 day of a week,most of them looked very tired indeed.
As someone on here said before be very careful with your receipt for the pool towels( which along with the room ones are very poor quality) I did lose mine somehow,asked at reception about it & they didn't want to know,20Dinars each by the way,I asked the very very nice concierge last Kirsteen what to do,she took me to the shop,gave the lady in the shop a card with our room no on it& told her to make sure I got my deposit back,I don't think that would have happened without her help.
Building works are ongoing,only once did we have to complain at 11:45 one night when they were moving furniture in the room above us,to be honest though as soon as I called reception it did stop,they were in a push to have the floor above us all done for the 1st of May.
Regarding the building works Thomas Cook sent us an e-mail 48 hrs before we were due to leave saying we could change hotel not much notice at all,they said in the mail they had fully expected the work to be finished,which it's obviously not & won't be for quite a while.

Room Tip: Our room was 1016 view was non existent rooms looking on to the pool have not been upgraded yet,look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soon2bmrsb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your detailed and constructive review on TripAdvisor.
We have taken note of the positive as well as critical points you kindly mentioned
and already forwarded them to the appropriate departments for immediate review - thank you for this.

As a first result, we would like informing you that today the garden, especially the trees in front of the rooms will be “treated” in order to get the sunshine back in the rooms. We feel sorry, the room didn’t suit you – please don’t hesitate asking to be moved if you were unhappy – we will do our best to find a solution.

The beach in front of the SENTIDO Phenicia is cleaned daily, and we are advising our guests by a board next to the beach bar how to treat /behave with the sellers there - if needed please inform our beach attendant or safety guard. The beaches in Tunisia are public and have to be cleaned by the local community.

A pest control procedure/program is in place – we understand, you have been shocked – on the other hand unfortunately this may happen everywhere round the world – even with all pest controls in place.

The BBQ will be open during summer season as advertised in the brochure (15th June – 15th September) – the pool bar is actually subject of a final decoration, as well as the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor, which are to 75% ready.

We would be pleased welcoming you back one day to make up for any inconveniences you might have experienced and proofing how much we care about our customers’ expectations.

Best regards

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Myself and all the family have stayed in this holiday 5 times over new year.
The staff are great, the entreatment team make the holiday (Dali is one of the best and his work mates are great)
The hotel is very very clean
Food is great always something you can eat (Samy is our waiter every time lovely man)
Something for everyone at this hotel
Yes wifi could be better in your rooms or by the pool but your on holiday it's not all about getting on the internet it's about family time or just relaxing :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your 5th holiday with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the high level of service provided by our team as well as the facilities we have on offer at the hotel.
We will be even more than pleased welcoming you back on your 6th stay with a high speed internet connection.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
2,164 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
765 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#10 of 119 in Hammamet
1,314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana
Hotel Palace Oceana
#5 of 119 in Hammamet
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £42 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the east coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously palm and olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing