We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animation team! Noo problem!!!”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Animation team! Noo problem!!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend have just returned from our 4th stay at the phenicia and are ready to book for the summer already! We've had the most fantastic 2 weeks and so sad to be back home!
I'll start with the one criticism I have which is the sun bed man! He is very nice but it takes him a very long time to get the beds out, I understand he has to work round both pools but one day we waited for over an hour, it would be a lot easier if you could get them yourself but I'm not sure where they are kept.

The food at the hotel is good there was something different to have every day I mostly had pasta bolognese just because it was so nice! I didn't get the name of our waiter but he was fantastic he made is laugh everyday and we looked forward for going to dinner every day because of him!

We wasn't in an updated room but there's no problem with the old rooms anyway they're still very clean and we had a very nice cleaner who did a good job everyday! (Room 5019)

As always the animation team made our holiday! (Defiantly recommend the jet ski with shaggy!!) Every time we come back the team gets larger but they have the most fantastic team we love every single one! You're all like family and we miss you already and can't wait to see you again! So massive thank you to you all, amine, dido, pepito, marou, dali, billy, shaggy, bebo, Aladdin, James-steve!!!, coco, tata, neno and of course super Mario! Not forgetting my sisters! Emily, lama and mya absolutely lovely girls!
see you all in the summer xxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korenpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much – we are so pleased reading you have been here with us already for the 4th time, this means so much to us. Thank you for your loyality and your kind compliments. Referring to the sun bed man we will have a look on it in order to improve the service – thank you for mentioning.

Feel at home during your 5th holiday with us in summer.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,713
    1,237
    385
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,957
1,771
147
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited Phenicia July 2013 and had a fab holiday with hubby and girl of 11 and boy of 15. The kids were safe enough to go off and explore around the hotel complex. We had the best relaxing holiday by the quiet pool, however we did join in with the entertainment during the day. The pancake man is just the best and our waiter was second to none. The food in all restuarants was abundant and catered for every whim. My only dissapointment was the free gym - it was a little bit out of date and the equipment had see better days but we laughed it off and just swam off the delicious food. You can pay to go to the indoor gym but I felt a bit cheated having to pay extra for the gym which was a bit dated also. We had a massage within the complex which was very relaxing.
We had two adjoining rooms so the kids could have a little privacy. The view wasnt the best but we werent on holiday to sit in the room?!
We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked again in July and am sure we will get the same first class treatment (and joining twin rooms please).
NB be aware when visiting Hammamet - gentlemen are pretending to be hotel staff on their day off and offer to take you around the town - this is a guise to get you in to certain shops and spend your money - they are not harmful or rude but it just gave me a sense of unease when I found out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crisipaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you sharing your holiday experience from last year with us on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased welcoming you back – enjoy a second and even more pleasant family holiday with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel with regards to all the improvements we have done since your last stay.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived around 8pm on the Wednesday night. After a quick check in we went and got something to eat in the main restaurant followed by some drinks. The room wasn't an upgraded room, but was still nice enough.

Next morning we attended the meeting with the Thomas Cook rep - he was very friendly and funny. We booked a trip leaving the next morning, which was 2 days including an overnight stay at a different hotel. (If you want to see more of Tunisia book the trip, its worth it - crammed a lot in over the 2 days)

On the Saturday night there seemed to be a bit more going on as the hotel had seemed quite quiet up until then. It turned out that there had been some locals staying in the hotel due to some Salsa Competition - wouldn't have bothered us, but they were playing really loud music until 5am ...not sure where is was coming from but other half wasn't amused. We complained and reception staff assured us that it wouldn't happen again, guests were leaving that day and they offered to move us if we still had concerns. Luckily it seemed to be a one off and had no further issues.

Next few days were spent pretty much at the pool relaxing and reading our books - the entertainment staff don't bother you to join in if your not keen to, although they will try :) ....We did go into the old hammamet madina - much better than Yasmine Hammamet Madina...tip - go early about 10am, the shop keepers don't bother you the same, and you can get some bargains - even in the fixed price shops, try haggling)

The entertainment staff work their socks off - we went to the shows a couple of times, how they get time in between entertaining everyone at the pool during the day is beyond me. They were all friendly and chatty and talented.

My only gripes would have been that the bedrooms felt stuffy at night because the air con isn't switched on at this time of year. The pool bars weren't open nor were some of the other restaurants.

The main restraint was great at lunch and evening - we didn't fancy the Chinese or the Italian choice was limited. The local wine (we stuck to red) is very nice, I never realised Tunisia made such a decent wine! and the local beer is good too. Wasn't too fussed about the cocktails. Breakfast wasn't the greatest, but a good selection of breads and the omelettes were good too!

We went for a massage one day - was ok - just half an hour isn't long enough and it was a bit noisy being next to the indoor pool.

The pool's were still a bit too cold at this time of year, but can imagine they would be very refreshing during the hotter months.

*Note - Thomas Cook emailed us before hand to say we had an option to change hotels as this one was undergoing renovations. I'm glad we stayed with our choice, we weren't bothered at all by any of the renovation works, you wouldn't have known there was any works going on.

The hotel staff were very helpful and polite - couldn't do enough for you.

If I was to go back to Tunisia I'd stay here again; however there's so much more of the world we have to see, so we wont be back too soon. I would recommend the hotel and will consider staying at a Sentido hotel elsewhere on our next holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th floor room to get a better view if its important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicaroo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor.

In response to the gripes you kindly mentioned please be advised the AC is supposed to work from mid-June on, the pool bar has been subject of improvements (new decking, new borders)
during winter season and is open now.

Your kind compliments regarding the lunch and dinner quality, as well as the helpful and polite staff are highly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We would like welcoming you back one day to the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel or one of the other
SENTIDO Hotels round the world.

Best regards
The SENTIDO PheniciaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have just returned from 1 wk in the Sentido Phenicia. The hotel itself is overall pretty good and the renovations cause very few problems as you spend most of the day outside. On arrival we were given a drink and brief descripton of the hotel services. This was followed by a guided tour of the hotel which i thought was a nice touch. We were shown to our room which was on the ground floor. Unfortunatly it was filthy and by that i mean we could litteraly write our names in the dust and did in several places in order to show the management that this room was not ready to be used. The door to the balcony didn't lock and i didn't appeciate the man who came to sort the problem on 3 occasions telling me he had fixed it only for me to go straight up to the door and gently push it open on each occasion. The view from the room was onto a flat roof that was full of litter and a rubbish bag that had been abbandoned. In fairness to the management they moved us to another room on the same floor once we made it clear we were not happy with the room. The room we ended up with was room 1049 and this was much better. The building alterations start about 8am in the morning and most days they woke us up but hey you spend most of your time outdoors catching the sun. Quite a lot of the guests were complaining about the late night working which the management assured us was not going on but at 11pm an inspection by several of the guests found the builders fitting wardrobes in the rooms. When this was pointed out to the hotel the work was stopped. The Thomas Cook brochure said the room had tea & coffee making facilities and a mini fridge stocked with soft drinks. A kettle arrived 2 days before we left with no tea or coffee and the mini bar was never stocked. The maid did clean the room well and the room was beautifull. We had the towel decorations on the 2nd day but then it stopped and never happened again. The hotel was not busy so there was no real excuse.
Food at the hotel was well presented but nothing special. The waiter service was good and very attentive.
The animation team was the largest i have ever seen at any hotel around the world. They also seem to have loads of visitors / friends at show time trying to whip up some kind of excitement.
What really annoyed me about them was the way they would just come into the main lounge / lobby where live muscians were playing and singing and constantly shout show time at the top of there voice while the musicians played to as large a crowd as they were playing to in the main theatre. Which would you prefer to watch and listen to - real musicians and singers or a group of dancers that mimed with wooden cut out guitars who couldn't keep time with one another when dancing the same repetative moves over and over again.
The hotel needs to look at the bingo being played as i saw this as just a big con. We were entised into buying tickets which we payed 10 dinars each for in order to play bingo one night. The game started and one line was played and that was it. The winner recieved 60 dinar and a massage costing 25 dinar. Where does all the other money go to that everyone else has contributed. Surely there should be more games and i hate bingo but this just seemed like a rip off.
Towels are provided for by the pool for a deposit of 20 dinars but these are very old and thin. You can only exchange your towelsby the pool on tuesdays and saturdays unless you again wish to pay for the privalage of a clean fresh towel.
The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere. Forget the shops bar and restaurants that are suppose to be 200 - 300mts away. The areas around this hotel look like they have been bombed. There is nowhere to go walking it' s a mess. Yasmin Hammamet 1hr 11 mins to walk. Hammamet 1hr 15 mins to walk . Both are around 15 mins in a taxi so that is the best way of getting there.
We like Tunisia and this is our 6th visit in the last 7 years and i would recommend Yasmin Hammamet as a place to stay rather than Hammamet. There is so much more to do and it's nice tobe able to walk somewhere.
My overall opinion of the hotel is that it is trying to be a good hotel but it is in the wrong place. Would i go back? Probably not as there are many hotels that are better. Trip advisor needs to look at some of the contributors to this site as i notice that the majority of them (not all) have only written 1 review and it seems to be about how wondedful the animation team is. Yes they are friendly and nice but i think something is not quite right here some of the reviews are obviously notwritten by english people as stated and seem very biased.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished away from work with View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much sharing your detailed and helpful review with us on
TripAdvisor. We are dissappointed we couldn't meet your expectations a 100% this time.
We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and have taken note of all the negatives you kindly mentioned in order to have a look on them and to start improvements where required.

The Thomas Cook brochure was printed for winter and summer season – definitely all arrivals upon the 1st May get tea and coffee facilities, a stocked minibar.

Thank you qualifying the waiter service as good and attentive and the food as well presented.

We would like welcoming you back one day in order to prove our constant care for our guests.

Best regards
The SENTIDO PheniciaTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

In April, myself, my best friend Jess and her mum, Barbara visited Hotel Phenicia in Tunisia. As soon as we arrived, we felt very welcomed as our suitcases were immediately taken up to our rooms and we were given a full explanation of how things worked in the hotel.

We settled in extremely quickly which wasn't difficult as all the staff made you feel like part of a big family, especially the animation team! Our favourite member of the team was Billy. We had a very special bond with him and he had such a cheeky attitude, plus we both thought he was GORGEOUS. We miss him so much!!

The food was to die for! There was a huge range every night and special thanks go to the pasta man, it was delicious every night!:) They also had a crepe stand open everyday from 14:30 onwards which we took full advantage of as they tasted supreme!

Half way through the holiday, we decided to go jet skiing as we had never done it before. Shaggy - a member of the animation team took us and we felt in very safe hands and completely trusted him. He gave us an absolutely great time and it was one of our highlights of the holiday!

Even if it wasn't the best weather, there was no time to be bored as the animation team made every single moment enjoyable and we genuinely felt like we made really special friends. They always had activities that anyone was able to take part in and we did volleyball, belly dancing, darts and all of the dances! We got on especially well with Pepito, Bibo, Marou, Shaggy, Billy and of course Super Mario! They made it extra special for us and we were devastated when we had to leave.

The shows every night were out of this world! The whole animation team put in such a massive effort and always interacted with the audience; they always looked so professionally done and we have no idea how they did it so flawlessly every night!

We can't begin to explain how incredible our holiday at Hotel Phenicia was. I doubt we will ever forget it and we are planning to make a second visit next summer as we miss everyone so much, especially Billy. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, we can assure you, if you go, you will not regret it!

From Jess and Molly
xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much – we appreciate your kind comment about the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel and are happy learning you felt welcome and as a part of our big family. We are honored to read your holiday with us had been incredible – thank you again.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the nearest future or at latest next summer.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My self & partner just recently returned from the sentido phenicia after spending my 22nd birthday there.
On arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager & given a cocktail refreshment. We were asked would we like to be shown around to get our bearings, which we did & i personally thought this was a lovely touch.
We were then shown to our room (6035) which was located on the ground floor with a garden & pool view. The room it self dose need modernising & a fresh lick of paint however I do know the hotel is in the process of been refurbed. Our room fit all requirements that was needed.
The food was fantastic so much choice & the Chinese restaurant is a must & well worth the £8pp.
The drinks aren't as strong as you may think so double up. The cocktail 'phenicia' & 'blue lady' are a must .
The staff are all lovely & will bend over backwards to help you & as for all the animation team there fantastic and complete the holiday.
Over all I had a fantastic holiday & birthday, made some lovely friends who we will stay in touch with & already looking at going back.
Thankyou to all the staff & animation team for making this such a perfect holiday ☀✈

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

we are delighted reading your positive feedback after your holiday with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. Thank you very much that we have been the scenery of your 22nd birthday.
Your kind compliments about the staff, food, cocktails, the Restaurant “le Dragon” are highly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Scottish Borders
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I have returned from a week at the Phenicia with 4 other girls and can only describe it as a fabulous holiday!
As soon as we checked in we were greeted with friendly and approachable staff who provided us with refreshments, fresh face towels and gave us a tour of the hotel to highlight restaurants etc.
After getting settled and sorted in the room we headed down to the sun beds where we were greeted by some of the great animation team. Over the period of the week we got to know the animation team well and joined in a variety of activities such as Zumba, archery, darts, group dance and yoga. The animation team are fab, they are all very friendly and up for a great laugh!! So big shout out to them for all there skills - Dido for fab choreography of the shows, Coco for archery, Bibo for his Zumba, Pepito for his darts, Emily and Lama for there yoga, Billy, Marou, Aladin, DJ Daly, Super Mario, James, Shaggy, Boss Man, Tata and Nino. On an evening the animation team put on some great shows including Broadway, Celtic Tiger and Dancing around the World.
There was always a great variety of food in the restaurant at all meal times and it was always fresh and hot.
The hotel was kept clean and tidy and our room was cleaned daily. There were refurbishments being done while we stayed at the hotel however there was no disturbance to our holiday.
I will definitely be staying in the Phenicia again and thanks again guys for making my 30th birthday one I will definitely never forget :)
Jo xx <3

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish-Jo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much sharing your review on TripAdvisor with us. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the service, especially the activities with our animation team, the food quality and the facilities. We feel honored that we have been the scenery of your 30th – thank you!

We are pleased welcoming you back on your return.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,043 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
630 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
2,003 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
5.7 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#25 of 118 in Hammamet
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing