We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Holiday for my daughter's 30th Birthday x”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Girl's Holiday for my daughter's 30th Birthday x”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There was 5 of us in our party and we had planned our holiday to celebrate my daughters 30th birthday. We flew from Newcastle on Wed 23rd of April at 5am!! We landed at Enfidha ahead of schedule - good start extra time in Tunisia!!! The coach took us to the Phenicia where we were met by the friendly staff offering us a refreshing drink and face cloths. We then had a short meeting with "house" rules followed by a guided tour of the hotel. We went to our rooms which were very comfortable and clean. We did know before we arrived that there were renovations happening but it didn't affect our stay. The food was very good from breakfast to snacks to evening meals with plenty choice to suit everyone. I have left the best to last - the animation team what a lovely group of friendly people. We knew Dido and Coco before from last year (at Les Orangers) but it didn't take us long to get to know the rest of the team. They organise a fantastic menu of events from yoga to archery, football, aquarobics, salsa, almost anything you want BUT you don't get hazzle if you don't want to do them!! They also arrange for you trips out and about - we went on the Crazy Train into Yasmin to the shops and the Marina - fab morning out. Just like to finish by saying we will certainly be back xx Thanks again to Dido, Coco, Bebo, Pepito, Marou, Mario, Aladin, Shaggy, DJ Daly, Lama, Emily, Nino, Billy, James and not forgetting the Boss xx Love you all to pieces xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_15759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for being the scenery of your daughters 30th birthday and sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased learning you appreciated the facilities and the service provided, especially the performance of our animation team.

Please feel welcome back.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,477
    1,218
    385
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,832
1,723
139
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 week which was just the right length of time.
The deal we got on this holiday (through Thompson) was a cheaper deal compared to previous holidays so for the money we paid we were content and happy with the hotel. On arrival we got a refreshing drink, and a tour of the hotel which was a great welcome.

We spent most of our days on the beach which was empty, the beach bar was great and the staff were fab. If the bar in the center of the swimming pool was open we probably would have spent more time there. However they only open the pool bar when it's busy enough.

The food was great, a big selection of both traditional Tunisian food and a few English options for the less adventurous (like me!). The waiters were fantastic, your glass was never empty, they were friendly, funny and some were cheeky chappies! Overall they were faultless. Not just in the all inclusive dining area but throughout the whole hotel. In between lunch and tea time they served light bites (that weren't so light), the pancakes which they made fresh in front of you were absolutely delicious! I highly recommend them. There is no cooked english breakfast in the morning, we were told this when we booked the holiday. There were fresh croissants, pan au chocolat, boiled eggs, toast, a range of tea and coffee. There was omelet which was very nice. Cooked fresh in front of you with choices of toppings.

The hotel included 1 dining experience in their traditional Tunisian restaurant which was o.k. My partner ate more then I did. I'd give that separate restaurant 3 out of 5.
There was also a Chinese restaurant, this was not included in the deal and a fee is charged to dine there. We didn't try it out but heard good reviews from fellow guests but the all inclusive food was great.

The room was fine, not spectacular but we can't grumble as we didn't pay much for the deal. We hardly spent any time in the room. There was a telly, small bathroom and I was pleased with the view from the balcony, we could just about see the sea but have lovely views of the complex (the building itself i found impressive) and weren't overlooked. We were in room 8039. One section of the hotel was having a refurb but we weren't disturbed by any noise or renovations.

We walked down the beach in the morning to old Hammamet where there is a fantastic Medina, well worth a visit. Be prepared, you'll get pestered loads by shop owners but the old Medina is beautiful. Lots of little shops/cafes within the higgledy piggledy walled city. I took hundreds of photos.

The entertainment at night was errrmm an experience. It was entertaining but i'm not sure if it was so in the way they intended. One night we were enticed to play bingo which was 10 dinar each. They played 1 line and then that was that, it was a bit of a con to get you into the entertainment hall. I enjoy a bit of bingo and was disappointed there was no 2 lines and full house, especially after paying 10 dinar. The con worked and we then stayed in the entertainment area, again, I can't fault the waiters that worked in this section of the hotel. They were fab and probably the only reason we stayed to watch the show, because of their amazing waiter service.

There were 2 different pool areas and also the beach. One pool was heated and was half outside, half inside. We really liked this area and it was a nice touch to have an indoor part with showers and seats. The main pool was unheated, I wasn't brave enough to go in! But many people did, this was the pool that had a bar area in the centre.

Overall a fun holiday! We completely chilled out, I feel like our money was well spent and we came home feeling refreshed :-)

Room Tip: The block facing the sea, on the opposite side of the reception was a good location. Room 8039. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much writing your detailed comment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased reading you relaxed, chilled out and you are actually feeling refreshed at home – that means you sent your senses on a holiday – which is our SENTIDO philosophy.

Please feel welcome anytime for another relaxing break well worth the money you spent.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st neots cambs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

what to say but just fab had a amazing room 3017 sea view and refurb. Every one so friendly and helpful.Always something to eat for everyone and hot and good service never have a empty glass.Anamation team are amazing from morning till night if you want to join in or not .Will be back later in the year i hope,
sure if you try you wont be disappointed.Everything is brilliant.

Room Tip: Sea view room recommened amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you writing your review following your holiday on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to be qualified as a fabulous hotel and will do our best to please you again on your return.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just got back from our honeymoon with our son and really enjoyed our stay at Phenicia hotel!
The staff were all very friendly especially the very enthusiastic Animation team! My 2 year olds favourites being Mario, Mya and Shaggy! They work very hard and put a lot of effort into daytime activities and evening entertainment.. I really liked the club dance including the African Skank! They also looked after us when we went on their train with them to visit the nearby marina.
The pool area kept clean with recycling bins aplenty and a lovely sandy beach attached to the hotel..just watch out for the camels!
The food was tasty and the freshly made omelettes at breakfast and pancakes in the day were yummy and too hard to resist!
We had a refurbished modern room which was very comfy!

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 719MJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much sharing your comment with us on TripAdvisor.
We are more than pleased learning you enjoyed your honeymoon with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel as well as your little son.

We will be happy welcoming you back in the nearest future, back to a "very friendly hotel"

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

First time ever to the Sentido Phenicia , it was fantastic , the staff were amazing, from the time we got to the hotel right up until we left. I have never meet such helpful and friendly staff.
As we walked into the hotel we were welcomed by the reception team and from then on the staff looked after us day and night. The animation team were so friendly and made us laugh, Shaggy , Neno your the best, Super Mario and all the other's were fantastic.They all made time to stop and speak everytime we saw them. Brahim from the bar was such a laugh and looked after us every evening,along with the other bar staff team, the service we got was outstanding.The staff at the beach were great, friendly and helpful. The staff in the restaurant at night were brilliant. Infact every member of staff in the hotel were the best ever.I have never been to a place were everyone welcomed us and looked after us like they did at the Sentido Phenicia. The beach was beautiful, the pool's were great, everywhere was so clean and tidy, food was amazing and so much to choose from We would like to say a big Thank You to all the staff at the Hotel for making our holiday the best ever.Once you have been to the Sentido Phenicia you will want to go back again, its such a warm and friendly hotel you just don't want to leave it.
Anyone that has stayed at this hotel could not complain about anything, but if you did complain they would deal with it straight away to make your holiday a happy one.I have told everyone about this hotel since i have been back and how amazing it has been . We have been back a week and already booked another holiday to come back in September.
See you all in September CAN'T WAIT. Gill and Emily Williams,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill610085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you – we are so pleased learning we could exc eed your expectations – that’s what we are all working for. To be refered and recommended as a hotel which offers “amazing holiday” is an asset to all of us – thank you so much.
See you back very soon in just a couple of month – you are always welcome.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On all the holidays I have ever been on this has by far been the worst, I am currently still in Tunisia on the rest of my holiday at this hotel but couldn't wait any longer to let other people know how bad it really is.

On arriving we waited 2 hours to be checked into our room as they said it wasn't ready, yes two hours waiting, then as we had to find the room ourselves the room we had been given was in a block with no lifts and plenty of stairs, I'm 5 months pregnant and my mum suffers from horrendous back problems, to make matters worse it wasn't refurbished either.

We went back to reception and explained this we got told if we wanted to change rooms we would have to pay as it would be a refurbished room so we refused and have had to put up with the room we are in.

The fridge wasn't stocked as stated in the brochure and there was no coffee making facilities either again we questioned this and the reply we got was 'well you can get a bottle of water from the bar and put it in your fridge' as for coffee making faculties we rang room service and after 3 phone calls and 8 hours we received a kettle but no cups! They also don't provide an iron you have to pay room service for this service!

On our first breakfast in the hotel we were astonished to discover there is no cooked english breakfast. The only hot food that is served is either tomato slices or scrambled egg dripping in grease. We have survived on juice and toast.

The food is bland and tasteless, whatever is served at lunch is disguised as something slightly different in the evening.

We decided to try the Chinese restaurant so booked for the next evening, after eating our starter we waited 25 minutes for our empty plates to be moved even though there were only 5 tables with people eating at the time. The chicken curry was fatty and chewy and as soon as they started to get busy forgot we were there, we left our money on the table and walked out.

Getting a subbed and cushion is a nightmare as you have to find the one man that brings them out when needed which takes 20 minutes each morning there is on pool bar which serves hot and old drinks in plastic cups so small one sip and its gone.

As for all-inclusive the only option you have in between meals is a stale sandwich or tiny cakes that have been leftover from breakfast. So the six hour time you go from lunch to dinner you end up starving.

Steps down to the main pool area are covered in either cigarette ends or bird poo as there are lots of birds nests around the bar area. You cannot sit for longer than 5 minutes without being hassled by entertainment team or people selling trips.

I asked for a non alcoholic cocktail and they just brought me orange juice with a straw.
Most of the holiday we have spent being so disappointed and fed up as we feel so let down.

I have never written in this site before never complained but could not let this go without letting people know. When you pay for a 4 star hotel you expect four star quality this is most definitely not a four star. As you can see from reviews the hotel only replies to good comments not complaints and as for the compliments I really cannot see how the hotel has earned them.
The while time I've been here I have never seen one cleaner for toilets around the hotel I spotted a bell boy going into men's toilet and pulling out the sheet which us signed every hour to be cleaned...he signed it did no cleaning and left. I've constantly been using antibacterial gel as I'm scared if what germs are hiding in the toilets like I said not once have I seen a cleaner for any area of the hotel,

Please don't make the same mistake as us and stay here it has put me off ever coming back to Tunisia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lizmumaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

we have also been so dissappointed to read your comment on TripAdvisor.
Our reaction was meeting you immediately and to find solutions in a way you could enjoy your holiday. First of all we checked all negatives you kindly mentioned and informed the revelant departments to have a look on it.

We hope, the conversation with our Holiday Concierge and the information/action given have been helpful to you and you enjoy your holiday now.

Please don't hesitate if we could be of any further help.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Where to start with this hotel! First when you get to reception you are greeted with warm smiles, warm towel to freshen up and a nice cold drink. The staff at reception come round and take your passports to check you in, while they are doing this you are shown around the hotel, and given times of meals and where they are because dinner and lunch are separate from where breakfast is served. Once we had finished the tour of the hotel we were shown to our rooms. We did not have a refurbished room, however it was clean and the beds are comfy. We were on the 4th floor and had a fantastic sea view which also looked over the hotel grounds. (the refurbished rooms look amazing).

When you go into the restaurant you are given a table which is set through out your stay, so you have the same waiting staff, which is a really nice touch because you then get to know them and they know you, so you never have to wait for a drink because they know what you have. The food is really good here as well, there is plenty of choice and if you can't find anything you like then you must be really fussy. We also tried the La Dragon restaurant while we where there and for £8 pp it was really good, the service was amazing and the food was lush .The bar staff are really good as well because they will bring you drinks as they start to remember what you like to drink even if you do change it.

The pool is like ice, however with the weather hot it was nice just to get in (or thrown in), even the heated pool was not that warm but it was nice with the inside bit as well.

While we were out there we did Jet skis, which was amazing and quad biking in the mountains which was fantastic and well worth it, I would recommend this to anyone. We also decided to do the train ride with Super Mario, Shaggy and Aladdin, they take you shopping and to the marina. It is well worth doing.

This brings me to the animation team, but where to start! They are the nicest bunch of people I have ever meet. They made our holiday what it was. They work so hard day in day out to entertain people and they do a fantastic job of it. There is always activities going on which you can join in with from salsa with Aladdin to Football with DJ and Dido. There is also the evening shows which they all work so hard in and it really does pay off there was never a show that we did not like. I want to say a massive thank you to Billy, Bebo, Amine Dido, Peptioo, Marou, Shaggy, Aladdin, James, CoCo, Neno, DJ (i don't know) Super Mario, Emily, Mya and Lama. for making our holiday so fun.

We will be returning in November/December time and we already can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harriet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

we are delighted reading you had “Best holidays ever” with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel.
Thank you so much – we are pleased knowing we could exceed your expectations and will do our very best to provide you even better holidays during your next stay in Novemeber/December.

You are very welcome.
Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#23 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Averroes
Iberostar Averroes
#9 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing