We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected..great week away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything we expected..great week away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very easy to say that the hotel is a good 4* standard. Very clean and well run with attentive staff, plentiful and varied food, well maintained grounds,modern room with fridge & kettle and an enthusiastic entertainment team. Very much everything we would expect of a such a resort in Tunusia/Egypt.

By western/european standards it's not quite 4*, but that would be nit-picking, and be-little how hard everybody works to make you feel welcome. Remember you are in different culture and what seems normal for them is odd for us and vice-versa.

The hotel is about 5km from Hammamet Central and Yasmine Hammamet. Both are a quick 6Dinar cab ride away. Take a trip if you fancy it, but neither are anything amazing, but it's worth going "off base" to get a feel for where you are staying.

Other useful stuff..Camel was 20DInar for 30 minutes(really enjoyed) and JetSki was 40Dinar for 15 mins. I am rubbish at haggling, so maybe you can do better.

Animation team left us alone, and we left them alone (we like a quiet time), but sometimes they did appear a little to "hands-on", or maybe I'm old fashioned?

A great holiday :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tango555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much – we are happy reading you spent a great holiday with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel.

We would very much like to exceed your expectations during your next holiday.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,323
    1,202
    379
    129
    80
See reviews for
1,751
1,675
133
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel, and I have to say it was the best holiday I've ever had!! The Animation Team absolutely made our holiday!! Such lovely people and always up for a laugh! Thank you all, especially, Bibo, Dido, Emily, Lama, Shaggy, Mario, James, Maru, Pepito and Billy!! Lots of activities to get involved in with a variety of choices depending on what you like to do.

We also thought the service from the Bar and Restaurant staff was brilliant, thank you to our waiter and favourite bar man Mohammed!! We never went low on our drinks and always had lots of laughs! The food in the restaurant is lovely and always loads to choose from. The hotel itself is superb, our room was modern and very clean and the pool area and bar is great!!

I can't honestly fault this hotel and we will be visiting again very soon!!
Thank you again for such a brilliant holiday!!
See you all very soon,
Emma x

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

A big “thank you” to you – we appreciate your compliments so much and were happy we exceeded your expectations.

We are pleasantly looking forward welcoming you back with your friends.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First trip to Tunisia so was`nt expecting much,however pleasently surprised.
hotel Sentido Phenicia was very clean,,large Queen bed and flat screen tv in the rooms with two good movie channels showing movies all day. plenty of space with two dbl wardrobes and lots of drawers lovely view from the nice balcony, of flowered garden area or pool side, luxurious carpeted foyer, good sized bathrooms with shower etc.Only two lifts for the the four floors which would be a problem if one broke down.
Reception area is clean with basic tiled floor etc and wicker seating and tables.
But over all very nice hotel.
Food was plenty ful and a good choice for each sitting.
Breakfast all the normal choices cerials, toast, eggs which ever way you want them, cooked infront of you,cheeses,pastries and even chicken curry??? fruit juices coffee and teas.
lunch and dinner always lots of salad choces various meats,chicken lamb liver,pasta veg options,chips,mash etc could not fault it.
Two pool areas one quiet and one full of entertainment and games hourly if thats what you like.
and this is where i mention the entertainment team,they were all FANTASTIC,they were helpful friendly funny worked very hard to get you involved and kept us amused for the two weeks,
Coco,Mario,Mia,Pepito,Lamia,Marou,Emily,James,Shaggy,DjBob,Bebo,Nino,Ahmin(no problem),Billy,Su Su and Aladin(total nutcase) they all work so hard from early in the morning to the evening entertainment shows although they were only just putting those together as the season is just starting for them now.
The water sports on the beach which is thirty seconds from the hotel are very good we did the Jet ski,banana boat,sofa and para sailing all very reasonable around £25. Horse riding also an enjoyable couple of hours.Camel rides for as little as £4 if you barter with the locals
The pirate ship trip was a good way to spend four hours, dolphin spotting and jumping off the ship into the clear green sea.
All the staff are helpful and friendly,and they dont seem concerned whether you tip them or you dont we never got any dissapointed looks just always helpful.

My overall impression of the Hotel is i will be returning here in the near future as i have no real complaints at all.
So book here and enjoy a great holiday for all the family you will want to come back i assure you.
Thank you to all the guys for such a good time...Thanx Allan "Daddy"

Room Tip: Higher floors get the best of the sun for private sun bathing on the spacious balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much – your compliments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We would be pleased welcoming you back with your family in the nearest future.

Kindest regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is ok not what you expect from a 4 star hotel, there is NO air con until July so if it's a very hot day prepare to suffer, seems there's no air con in May because it's to cold but also no heated pool, either have one of the other not both off!
do not come here if you have children! , currently having a extensive refurb, we were fortunate to have a refurbished room (thank god) rooms on the 4th floor are like going back to the 1950s. The weather wasn't great actually it was warmer at home when we went and if you have children this is a problem, the children's area is all sand which can be annoying, We were quite annoyed as our little one couldn't play in there due to work being done on the stage next to children's area very noisy. Play area isn't lit up at night no idea why it isn't as apart from children's disco for half hour your stuck for things for them to do, try keeping a 2 year old amused is hard work.
If the weather isn't warm enough to go in the pool then not much you can do, the indoor/outdoor pool should be heated till its constantly warm/hot or at least change it and have a permanent indoor pool as it's very windy even when warm so water doesn't heat up, so trying to entertain a young child with no children's area or much to do is very hard, Tata the children's entertainer is a credit to the hotel and a shame she's not treated equally to the others and overlooked, she's the only one who doesn't pester you to buy things, if you want to buy a tshirt for your child get it off her, they all get commission and seems that they all beat Tata to it which I found out when bought one from another girl not knowing they all sell.
Don't buy the CD they try and sell its just a load of songs they don't even play, fair enough if all the children's songs and catchy ones they play and dance to were on there but there not just a waste of 25DT

Big big warning be very wary of the shop, not everything has a price on it and even if it does count in your head before hand because few times I bought things knew how much they cost and the moody woman would round it up or change prices so had to point out no it's this much, few times she added an extra 10DT and 5DT another, so think she's pocketing the extra money. When I told her she got quite rude and funny with me, not something you'd expect but she's getting away with it, the prices are double / triple what they are outside the resort but I think that's down to the moody older woman with blondy grey hair.
the animation team are the best specially Mario all very friendly but the girls seems abit to friendly and dress very provocative during the night and very flirty with any man.

Don't bother with mini golf or tennis it's like apocolypse now and looks like an abandoned waste land.
MOST staff are amazing specially the cleaners they can't do enough for you ours was fantastic so friendly, we didn't feel pressured to tip but you do get more appreciation if you do
Food is ok but nightmare if your a fussy eater or like just plain food, my son ate pasta, cheese and meat all week not good for his stomach everything is rich with spices and random added extras.
Couldn't sleep properly beds were rock hard and no bedding/pillows
There are two sittings for dinner apparently it's 6.30 or 8pm, one thing that annoyed me was if you arrived a little later or took longer to eat due to have a child they start taking all the knives and spoons away so you can't have anymore and turning everything off at dead on half 7 even taking dessert stuff first so after supervising feeding my son and sorting him out there was little for me by the time I even wanted desert, why not make first sitting 6pm till 7.30pm which would be much better and child friendly. Saying that this hotel isn't child friendly one bit!
Games room is a joke outdated and tiny space if more than four people want to use it who don't know each other. God know what it's like in the summer
I would return but only if all issues were sorted out especially sacking moody shop woman.
Thank god for the wifi as unfortunately I'm still stuck at this hotel and have spent most my time with my son watching films in the room nothing else for him to do.
If you can do take a taxi to yasmine hammamet and marina, about 5DT for a taxi there and there's loads of bargains, don't be afraid to haggle the people are lovely and lots to see.
be careful on the beach sellers and camel people prey on you simple say no, the camels are in bad condition and beaten which we had to watch everyday due to our room being positioned next to the long strip of abandoned sand next to the hotel, nothing like a bit of animal abuse in the morning.
All in all don't do it, save your money and book with thomson, there's a riu hotel next door which will make you feel jelious specially as reception tells you that's where the cash point is so it was like another world walking in there .

Room Tip: don't go if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you sharing your detailed review with us on TripAdvisor. Your comment had our best
interest – we apologize, if we couldn’t meet your expectations this time, due also to the weather, which was changing every day from hot to cool and again…not usual at this time of the year. Your comment has been forwarded to the relevant departments to have a look on it and to take the appropriate measures where required. Thank you!
The indoor pool is the pool to be heated during winter season – we stopped heating at the end of April – it was already very hot at this time. The big outdoor pool can’t be heated at all and will be warmer every day with the summer heath. The AC will be working from the 15th of June/ high season.
Please let us know if we could be of any help next time referring to the bed, or food for your son. We provide a “childrens’ corner” in the Main restaurant – we are sorry, if you haven’t been informed about – our Headwaiter will help – children are considered as little angels in Tunisia – they will get whatever they want.

We would be pleased welcoming you back one day.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our 3rd time at this hotel and it was the best visit yet.

The one thing that makes this hotel so special is the animation team, the guys work so hard to make your holiday memorable.

During the days there is lots of activities to keep you busy like water polo, Zumba, water aerobics, volleyball, football, but if you don't want to take part that's cool aswell.

The team put on nightly shows which are fantastic.

The service in the hotel is great from the reception desk to the bars and restaurant...especially Mohammed in the Entertainment bar.

We can't wait to come back again in October.

Thank you to to Dedo, Bebo, coco, Pepito, Marou, Mario, Aladin, Shaggy, DJ Daly, Lama, Emily, Nino, Billy, James and not forgetting the Boss...we miss you already!!!!!!!

Love Emma and Ness

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wraggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much – your comment regarding the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel, especially the performance of our animation team is highly appreciated.

Thank you being so loyal to the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel, which is one of the best recompensation we could get as a hotel – we are looking forward welcoming you back in October.

Best regards

The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is by far one of my favourite holidays I've ever been on, i loved it so much I'm trying to come back in October. The service was amazing, everyone is so helpful and nice, really welcoming when we arrived. We had a lovely twin room which was spacious and comfortable. The entertainment team was by far my favourite part of the hotel, they are a fantastic group of people who made my holiday brilliant. The food was lovely, lots or different food to choose from, overall I loved the experience, and I look forward to going back end of this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonestori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much – we all appreciate reading your excellent comment about the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel, especially the animation team, which made your holiday brilliant.
We are looking forward welcoming you back at the end of this year.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Arrived back last week after a relaxing week at this good hotel.The staff are first class, very polite, attentive and they cannot do enough for you.The hotel's food is very good, my only complaint would be the fresh fish which is grilled infront of you.Its always OVER COOKED such a shame whether it was tuna, squid or other local fish. The grilled food was very tough to eat.
I want my comments to be positive as this is a great hotel.
One big warning is the shop and jewellers.The jewellers watches are all counterfeit but are sold as the real thing. The prices asked are very high for counterfeit watches. The staff state they are the real thing.This is untrue as they are the same watches that are sold at the local markets for a fraction of the price.
The hotel would be wise if they closed this retail outlet down.
,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you – your comment qualifieing the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel as a « Great Hotel » is much appreciated. Referring to the fish we will inform our Chief Cook to have a look on it – thank you mentioning.
Please be advised that real jewelers’ watches will be even more expensive in Tunisia than in Europe – and that nearly all European countries don’t allow bringing counterfeits in…and we think the shop staff, which is not part of the hotel, may have sometimes difficulties to understand perfectly the languages… We will speak with the shop owner to have a look on it with his staff.

Best regards – we would be so pleased welcoming you back.
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#3 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.8 mi away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#8 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing