We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Not Yur Carling”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #8 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 19 July 2014

.It is a nice hotel..but needs outside evening entertainment.The food needs to be kept warmer,not cold.The staff all work very hard.No complaints.It also needs a indoor area for Pool and Other things like table tennis .All in all it was a little disappointing.Would I return,probaly not.

Room Tip: We asked for a certain type of room.Do not bother.Even though we booked about 9 mths aheadi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Stamoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Stamoor,

thank you sharing your short review with us on TripAdvisor. Your suggestions have been noted and forwarded to the relevant departments - thank you. We are happy informing you our outside evening program started last week end. Please be advised, even if you booked 9 months ahead
requesting a special type of room, we have to respect the fixed bookings first and are doing our best to fulfill our guests wishes whenever possible - requests (especially during peak season) are not guaranteed.
We are disappointed and feel sorry reading you would not return although you had no complaints.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 6,163 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

What can I say about Phenicia.. It's alright. I went with my girlfriend early July, first time in Tunisia and we were greeted with a 2 hour queue from the aeroplane to the coach. Our first experience of Tunisia was a 'porter' snatching our bags off us and saying 'coach 6 I take these'. After explaining that we don't want his help he ignored us and walked off with them anyway.. Great start..
He then demanded £10 for the gruelling 2 minute walk of which I politely declined and got robbed out of £5.
To the Phenicia - Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted with some juice and a hot towel and a tour of the hotel which I thought was nice. Our room wasn't refurbished and we had a nice view of a tree. I was a little annoyed as I had emailed the hotel explaining that it was our anniversary and could we get a refurbished room, which was completely ignored (a simple no would have sufficed).
Our experience with lunch in the main dining hall was shocking. We only went in twice and both times we experienced waiters shouting at each other and one stormed off. The BBQ on the beach on the other hand was very nice and the waiters were very friendly and helpful so we just ate there for the rest of the time. The evening meal in the dining hall again was pretty bad. Food was very average and it seemed the staff were quite rushed so we tried to avoid this best we can by paying for the other restaurants, of which the Chinese was amazing.
Most nights we spent either in the main bar or by the shisha lounge which were nice. A bit annoying having the football on in the shisha lounge but having to walk all the way to the main bar for a drink though. The entertainment wasn't my cup of tea to be honest but others seemed to like it (a lot of people hitting each other over the head with inflatables is the jist of it).
The daytimes around the pool or the beach were alright. People saying that you can't get sunbeds isn't exactly true. We came down for around 10am every day and managed to get 2 sunbeds by the pool or the beach no problem. Animation team are ok. They are there to get people involved so it's their job to be loud and mental. But if you don't want to take part they will just leave you be.
Also we only found out on the 2nd last night that there is a club/bar thing down the road that is pretty good. Expensive but everyone usually gets drunk in the hotel for free then heads down about 12:30am. Special mention to Wissem and Achraf both bartenders who were good lads. Overall the hotel was good and we had a good holiday so can't really complain.

Room Tip: Book with Thomas Cook. Thompson and First Choice customers get the scraps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D4N20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear D4N20,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the experiences you made during your holiday.
Please be assured that your valuable comments are positively taken on board and will be shared with the concerned managers and the team to have a look into it and to improve where required. Thank you very much for expressing your compliments regarding the service delivered by our bartenders Wissem and Achraf – they are so pleased reading your kind words. We are all happy you had a good holiday and you can’t really complain.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

From reading the reviews before we departed I was expecting two things from this hotel, an incredible animation team and a fantastic spaghetti. Unfortunately only one of these was correct, and although the spaghetti was great, the animation team almost ruined our holiday. Our first interaction with them was them shouting at us about how 'white' we were, and following a 4hr delay all we wanted to do was snooze in the sun. Unfortunately it got worse from there. They all behave like 'lads on tour', they try to be 'cheeky' but shouting at guests and being entirely rude is not ok, I was asked for cigarettes on several occasions, and one member kissed one of our friends on the lips when her eyes were closed, and another was jumped on by an animation team member. We were a group of 3 girls, and apparently the animation team (90% men) felt we needed flirting with, we didn't respond and yet the sexism and the misogyny continued throughout the holiday. The activities they provided were the same every.single.day, however the evening entertainment was brilliant, but only because is was AWFUL, hilariously so! Miming to songs, uncoordinated dancing, I cried laughing on two occasions. They like to say they are not professional etc, but why bother? Run karaoke or something if pekoe need entertaining.

The room itself was a lovely refurbished room (Thomas cook), however a little on the small side for 3 adults. Bring ear plugs! The room was so so noisy from the terrible entertainment.

The food was ok, nothing special but we found something nice at every meal, the Tunisian restaurant was a lovely experience, however the same food was in the main restaurant the next night. We didn't find any real problems with queues at dinner etc, just went at half 8 instead of our allocated 8, still had plenty of time to eat.

We did have real problems getting drinks at lunch, we spend an entire meal at the BBQ without drinks before giving up and going to the beach bar for drinks. Tipping gets you everywhere, but it seems being a man also helps. As a man seemed to get two drinks and we, had none.
As has been stated the drinks are weak, especially the cocktails (see fruit juice), and it's not just 'local drinks' we watched them being made, it's literally 5 drops of alcohol.
Towel war ensues at 5am, but often no one was on sunbeds until gone midday, we had sunbeds everyday but got up and out by 8 latest.

All in all, it's a nice hotel, if you like butlins, but hot.

Stayed: July 2014
9  Thank Fefif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Fefif,

Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia.
We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.
Please be assured that your valuable comments are positively taken on board and will be shared with the concerned managers and the team for immediate corrective action where appropriated.We are disappointed we couldn’t meet your expectations on this occasion at all and apologize to be compared to Butlins. Please let us know if we could be of any help on the spot - when you are back at home your precious holiday is over. Eventually the room was lovely, as well as the spaghettis and the Tunisian Restaurant – thank you.

We would be pleased welcoming you back one day – to exceed your expectations.
Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On arriving at hotel, check in went quickly. We were shown to a bar area, given drinks, wet towels to freshen up and wrist bands. After this we were given a quick tour of the hotel and then shown to our rooms. As we'd booked with Thomas Cook we had refurbished rooms, which were clean and decorated in a modern style and we had drinks in the fridge (which aren't replaced during stay) and a bowl of fruit, which was a nice touch.
The first night (a Sunday) the animation team are not on duty so we watched a " snake charming" show in the show room, it wasn't great, but it was funny as it was so bad. We also watched a comedy show another evening, by the animation team, which again was funny for the wrong reasons, although they did try hard. But we did enjoy the fire eating show on Saturday night. The trouble with the show room area and the reception area was there is not enough seating.
Overall we found there was plenty of choice in the restaurants, as a family of 4, we all had our favourites and certainly never went hungry. The worst thing was the waiter at the evening meal seemed to run off his feet and most evenings we only got one drink, maybe he had too many tables to wait. The best point at the hotel, was the delicious chocolate crepes which are made near the breakfast bar in the afternoons, they are absolutely delicious!
We had a free meal at the Tunisian Berber tented restaurant (although the Thomas cook brochure states there is a free meal at the Chinese restaurant, this isn't correct and this will cost you 20td). This has a fixed menu, which most of us enjoyed (the lamb was particularly good) it's worth checking the menu before you book. It would have been nice to have some local music or entertainment to make the night more enjoyable.
We found you' d need to be up early to reserve a sun bed near the pool area and there is a man who brings the mattresses (for a tip!). Although we did tip him and other staff, we didn't feel that they were waiting around for tips, everyone was helpful and polite that we came into contact with.
The animation team worked hard and everyday they asked us if we wanted to take part in this or that, a simple no was ok if you didn't want to. You could get involved as much or as little was you wanted, we never felt hassled.
We did book the quad biking with man at the resort and had a great time. There was one quad each and the scenery was lovely. Opportunity to buy drinks and photos which were really cheap. We also went jet skiing at the resort, which was good value.
The hotel is in between Hammamet and Yasmine Hammamet, which are both good for a couple of hour trip, only costing about 6-7TD by taxi.
Overall we had a great holiday, relaxing and had plenty to eat and drink!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank barney348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear barney348,

thank you very much sharing your kind and helpful review on TripAdvisor. We have taken notice of your experiences. Please be advised depending on your touroperator the minibar has to be stocked on arrival, which is included.
Afterwards we will be also happy restocking the mini bar, just let us know, please. (non included)

We are delighted learning you had overall a great holiday at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel
and would be pleased welcoming you back to exceed your expectations during your next stay.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is all about the buts
Food good BUT of the 4 restaurants your all inclusive covers only 1 the others are empty the main one packed so you have you choose an hour to eat in . So not relaxing
Entertainment team IN YOUR FACE 24/7 great if you want to join in but if you want a peacefully time by the pool forget it as from 10-12 and 3-5 music blaring out as they take over the pool .
Add this to the chipped plates and average service I struggle to understand the hotels reviews as again coffee facility in the room BUT no milk . Safe in room BUT you have to pay for it . Service ok BUT only if you constantly tip, no waiting till the end of your holiday .This isn't a 4.5 hotel if you are looking to unwind and relax pay the extra go 5* as by the time you add in the extras at this place it will be the same price. I'm 4 days in of 14 day break and wished I had only booked 7 .

Room Tip: Only pay extra for a sea view if you like music late into the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sharron H,

we are sorry you are so disappointed - please get in touch immediately with our Holiday Concierge, we are here to help.

We are looking forward meeting you as soon as possible.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We returned to the Sentido after a great holiday last year.We were given a refurbished room which was very nice.The staff were once again attentive and helpful.The concierge is a fountain of knowledge. The weather was variable in May but we had quite a few good days. We felt that the food was less varied this time and were quite disappointed in this aspect of the holiday.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanettemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Jeanette,

we are pleased reading you on TripAdvisor. As a loyal customer at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel we are really disappointed you felt the food has been less varied - we would like to make up this negative aspect of your holiday during your future stay. A big "Thank you" qualifying the staff as helpful and the refurbished rooms as very nice.

All the best to you - we would be happy welcoming you back to your 3rd stay with us.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was my second time visiting tunisia and again the hotel exceeded my expectations. I returned with my family after an amazing holiday last year, and we were accommodated in one of the newly furnished rooms this time round, which were modern and clean.
similarly to last year the staff were so helpful and considerate and the animation team were fantastic- billy, pepito, bibo, emily, lama, joker, dido,nemo, rango, mario, dali and shaggy kept us all entertained during the day and with their evening performances . I will definitely be returning once again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Jodie B,

we are so pleased reading your kind comment about your recent stay at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. We are really happy we managed exceeding your expectations again during your second holiday with us. Your compliments about our team, the rooms and the animation team are highly appreciated and will be shared.
Thank you very much for beinh so loyal to the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel - we will be delighted exceeding our hospitality on your 3rd return.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 119 in Hammamet
2,163 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#2 of 119 in Hammamet
752 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#1 of 119 in Hammamet
2,124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Diar Lemdina
Hotel Diar Lemdina
#11 of 119 in Hammamet
1,299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana
Hotel Palace Oceana
#3 of 119 in Hammamet
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8039, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#5 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £42 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the east coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously palm and olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing