We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THANKS COCO”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THANKS COCO”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A great holiday with the Family. Beach was the best we have been to and all the sports activities were great. Loved splashing in the amazing pool in the hot weather. Hotel very big but would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear MSE69,

thank you very much recommending the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. We are pleased learning you
enjoyed the beach and all the activities on offer.

We are looking forward welcoming you back on your return.
Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,481
    1,218
    385
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,832
1,725
139
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our 3rd holiday at Phenicia This year was with our best friends!! What a great time had by all can honestly say the best holiday ever !!! We had a refurbished room at the front of the hotel it was lovely . From the time we got off the coach we were greeted by hugs and kisses from staff members welcoming us back !! We totally felt back at home. The entertainment team were great had such a laugh will them Mario ,Alladin, Pepito, Coco ,Nemo and Tata just to name a few. The naughty train got very wet !! thanks Alladin. Food was excellent as usual never queued up for longer than a few minutes .The pancake man at breakfast always made sure we had a plate of hot fresh croissaints on our table every morning now that's service !!! Why people complain about this hotel beats me they must be very sad people!!! Spoke to Kirsten ( holiday concierge) before we left to say thankyou such a lovely lady. Just a few thank you's to Samir in Oasis bar for my cocktails ,Sami at dinnertime, Monuir at lunchtime , Habibip for our beds at the gorgeous beach !!!! and the pancake and omelette man at breakfast and to anyone else I have missed oh yes Mohammad on reception. Wish we were back there, missing it a lot hope to see you all next year !!!!!!! Jacqueline and Malcolm Taylor 10th-24th August

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsT38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jacqueline and Malcolm Taylor,

We are delighted to read that every aspect of your 3rd holiday - experience was excellent. It feels so special to receive such feedback from our regular guests. Your kind comments about our colleagues are highly appreciated. We have shared your compliments with our team and they are equally happy to hear that you had a brilliant holiday with us.

We will be more than pleased welcoming you home from home next year.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Had a wonderful 2 week family holiday here from 10th August to the 24th August.

Our Flight was delayed just half an hour, the flight was only 2 and a half hours which was nice and quick. But Enfida Airport was the worst airport weve ever been to. The queues for passport control were horrendous, there were not enough staff or security. People started to get fed up and began fighting pushing and arguing. We landed at 9.30pm and didn't get to the hotel until 12.45am. Which was longer than our flight. So was not a good start to our holiday. Although the reception staff gave us a very warm welcome, although we did not get the usual tour, I guess it was due to the fact we arrived late. We were given rooms 2100 and 2102 on the 2nd floor overlooking front of hotel. Not the view we had asked for, but the rooms were very spacious clean and modern.

We spent most of our days around the main pool. Although I had to get up by 6 every day to reserve sun beds. Wish there was a better system than this. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and clean. The mattress man came round every day to you could sometimes be a bit grumpy but other days happy. We always gave him a small tip. We enjoyed our lovely breakfasts every day sitting outside we all loved the lovely omelettes and pancakes and the man was always so happy.

There were 2 sittings for dinner we choose the early sitting of 7-8pm. Our waiter was Samir who was fabulous. Always filling our drinks up. The buffet always had something for someone but could do with more variation. I mostly had the pasta and salad. All the staff in the restaurant were so friendly and was also greeted by the lovely young boy on the door. We didn't choose to eat here at lunchtimes as we preferred to eat at the beach bbq, although the first few times we struggled to find a table and didn't have a friendly waiter. So we then decided to eat in the snack bar instead for a few days, then went back down to beach bbq earlier than normal and sat towards the back of the restaurant and had lovely waiters he even saved us a table a few times.
We also enjoyed the pancakes and ice creams in the afternoon too. Would highly recommend trying the Chinese restaurant, we ate here twice it cost around £8 per head for a 4 course meal. The waiters are great and the food is delicious. We also tried the beirber restaurant, where you get to experience a traditional Tunisian meal in a tent. It wasn't to all our taste although it was a lovely evening with great service and as much wine as you can drink. They do get a little offended if you don't eat it all. We all came out so full up. This is part of the all inclusive.

The animation team really were amazing. They work so hard all day making sure everyone is having fun. If you don't want to get involved they try to encourage you but aren't pushy. They had many activities on all day like aqua fit, line dancing, water polo, bowls, archery, yoga zumba, darts and volley ball. My daughters did yoga with lama nearly every day, Zumba with Bibo, Aqua fit with lots of them. They really are so friendly and quite often came round just for a chat always making sure everyone was having a good time. Most evenings the shows were outside which we must preferred, they are amazing dancers especially Emily, Dido, Bibo, Pepito and Coco. We personally didn't like the Micheal Jackson show as didn't like miming. But the dancing was amazing. The pool party was amazing too. we sat in entertainment room when they had rain forcasted , which felt like Butlins. Great Waiters so thankyou to Wissen and Achraf who took care of us so well inside and around the pool bar area. The Second comedy show we watched we really didn't find funny watching the boss hit Shaggy as hard as he could with a wet towel. . Was uncomfortable to watch, lots of other guests felt the same. The other issues we had was on Olympic day when they have 2 teams competing playing various games, my daughter cut her toe open on glass in the sea. I informed the head animator and he got the lifeguard to attend to it straight away. And they both came over the next few days checking how she was. Also my youngest daughter has very pale skin and for medical reasons has to wear a t shirt in the pool and one of the lifeguards told her to get out. We was most upset by this but it did get quickly resolved, after talking to the guest relations manager.

The other negatives really were the very small paper cups they serve drinks in around the pool area. I did read on here before that people take there own plastic beakers, but didn't think this was a major issue.
The hotel lets locals in on certain times and seem to all push in queues have badly behaved children and take over get better service and make you feel uncomfortable.

The beach was beautiful with lots of sunbeds. We did several watersports through Shaggy which were good fun also booked the naughty train with Shaggy. Its a train which takes you to a fixed price shop then onto the marina which was a lovely trip out. And the animators were still entertaining you.

We also booked the quad biking trip through a man at the hotel which was a great experience. Booked the 3 in 1 trip through Thomas Cook where you get to visit a traditional berber village and the a zoo and then onto a Pirate ship. Where you were all dangerously packed in like animals. This would of been a better trip had there not been as many people on it and should be a Thomas Cook exclusive trip.

All in all this is a beautiful hotel with exceptionally hard working and friendly staff and thank you for a great holiday! And we are missing it already!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanda073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear wanda073,

thank you very much writing your interesting and detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased learning all your family enjoyed the holiday with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. We are most grateful reading your compliments as well as your suggestions, which had our best attention and will be shared with the relevant departments to improve where required.

We are looking forward welcoming you back again.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel . Fantastic facilities & staff. All the family had a great time. We will return again !!!!!it was my sons 21st birthday . One he will always remember! The restaurants were a bonus and made a pleasant change, especially the Japanese restaurant .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Steve,

thank you very much. We are truly happy you had a great time with us at the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel and all the family enjoyed excellent facilities and the service provided by our staff.
We feel honored having been the scenery of your 21st birthday and would like to celebrate the
22nd birthday with you as well.

We are looking forward welcoming you back .

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've just returned from a two week stay at the Phenicia and the first person that made themselves known to us was Shaggy,who was a great help to us during our stay and nothing was too much trouble for him! He did a terrific job organising our watersports :- bananas, jet ski, and sofa(thoroughly recommend),and taking us on the noddy train into town which is a good idea for anyone who is wary about going into town on their own, as everybody stays in a group.
All the animation team worked very hard day and night ensuring we had a fun and memorable holiday.There were plenty of activities to partake in, but you weren't pressured if you said no. Pepito AKA Spiderman was loved by all, especially when he was running along the roof and climbing down the building. The team were always willing to have a laugh and joke whatever the time of day, and we became good friends over the course of our stay.

The hotel itself was very clean and well laid out. with wifi available in most areas. We had one of the refurbished rooms on the first floor and it was lovely, plenty of storage, full length mirrors and good lighting. we did have a bit of a problem with the shower changing temperature when we were getting ready in an evening, but we assumed it was because everyone was showering at the same time.

During the day there are plenty of places to eat and drink, the service was excellent and the food was good quality especially the freshly cooked pasta. Unfortunately in the evening the main dining room service was divided into two one hour sittings, most people opted for the second sitting which caused major congestion and huge queues, also there was very little room to move around the serving areas. This made evening dining quite stressful, although the food quality and service was still very good. it would maybe be a nice idea to keep the barbecue restaurant open as an alternative dining option.

During our stay we ate at the Chinese, L'Dragon, this cost about £7 each and the food and service were excellent. We also ate at L'Berbere where we sat in tents to eat, again we had brilliant service and really great food. This was a free restaurant which you can only use once during your stay but well worth a visit, and a lovely experience.

One thing we did have a problem with, was the tiny paper cups used outside by the poolside., We understand glass is not a viable option, but larger plastic cups would have been a better, as people were ordering 3 or 4 drinks at a time, causing delays in service. Got to say though, the waiters do an excellent job and work really hard, maybe there should be more bar staff on in an evening. A little tip; maybe take your own cups, although it is a pain carrying them round, the bar staff will happily fill them.
Over all, this is a really friendly hotel and the staff in all areas, are extremely helpful and work very hard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Lauren362,

Thank you very much sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased reading your compliments regarding the animation team, the room, food quality, the friendly and helpful staff.
Your suggestion concerning the paper cups will be forwarded to the Management - we didn't get bigger plastic cups until now however we tried.

We will be more than happy welcoming you back - to exceed your expectations and to ensure
another great holiday.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Bit slow at writing this review but feel I most write one :)
As soon as we arrived we were greeted very warmly, and our bags were taken up for us! (Please please remember to TIP) It's only small change to us but a big thing for them :)
The hotel is huge we had a good explore around the grounds and it is so beautiful. Huge pool and lots of sun loungers for everyone! My friend I proffered the beach as we didn't get pestered as much to join different clubs. (A tip for the beach sit a few rows back from the sea as you will get people trying to sell you items, if your further away they are not allowed onto the part that the hotel owns and security tell them to move on) and not forgetting the camels haha
Considering I am a fussy eater the food was good. Breakfast was lovely, the best croissants ever! Lunch we ate at the restaurant near the beach, relaxed atmosphere and lots of choice!! Dinner you get given a time slot therefore you always have the same table and the same waiter, (again please tip your waiter as he will treat you very well and even have your drinks waiting for you). The main thing is I never went hungry or thirsty and was never ill :)
Evening entertainment is good, standard cheese. Entertainment is inside so not good for smokers.
After the entertainment my friend and I were after a drink at the bar, however, que was very long and then there is no where to sit! That's the my only criticism.
Cleanliness good, staff good :) very happy :)
Remember you can't take home Tunisian money so spend it all when you can :)
I defiantly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAnd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you sharing your kind review with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted learning you enjoyed your holiday last September and you are recommending the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel. In the meantime the entertaining in the evening takes place outside, we got a new stage this year near the big pool.

Just come back – we would be pleased welcoming you again.

Best regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Returned yesterday after a ten day holiday with my girlfriend, and have to say we loved the place.
Felt obliged to write a great review after reading some ridiculous claims by others on this site, if you are thinking of booking a holiday in Tunisia then we strongly advise this hotel as we loved it.
On arrival you are greeted by the friendly staff and ushered into a bar where you are met with warm towels and a nice cool drink to refresh yourself, this was followed by a tour of the hotel to make you aware of your surroundings from the off and then you are given your room keys and showed where to exchange your money. All a smooth relaxed process.
Our room was lovely, wasn't a great view but as we booked last minute and the hotel is busy at this time of year, then that's to be expected, the room itself and the daily cleaning of the room however, was faultless.
Now I'll talk about the food and restaurants! Breakfast was great, I'd advise waiting for an omelette or to have fried eggs as these were really nice, you may wait a couple of minutes for these but that's fine. If that's not for you there are plenty of hot and cold options you won't have to queue for. Late breakfast starts at 10 for those who like to lie in and obviously there is less choice. As claimed earlier in a review that the beach BBQ was always too busy to find a table, this is untrue. There are 3 separate seating areas and we dined here 7 out of 10 days, and there was always seating. At worst you may wait a couple of minutes for cutlery to be laid on your table. If this is a massive issue and you aren't phased by walking 300m back to the main restaurant, then this is a second option at lunch. It's always quieter and a less busy lunch option for those wanting a more relaxed atmosphere with more attention from staff. Dinner is in two sittings, an early or a late sitting which you choose yourself. Always sat at the same table during the same sitting so no confusion there, waiters are great with the drinks and a little tip goes a long way. Good variety of food, lots of choice and the pasta was great in my opinion, my favourite. We used the free meal at the Le Berbere restaurant which is part of your holiday if your all inclusive, great experience, food will not be to everyone's taste but worth doing. Highly recommend the Chinese restaurant, we used it once. It costs about £7 per person for a 4 course meal, and it was delicious. Brilliant service from the head waiter and his team, really attentive and I'll reiterate that the food is tremendous in here. Didn't try the Italian restaurant as seafood isn't our thing.
Onto the water and bars! The poolside is the only place that sun loungers are harder to find, as the entertainment is so good everyone prefers this area and people are up earlier to place their towels out. In saying this we still managed to locate sun loungers the first afternoon we were there around the poolside! Great atmosphere here and plenty to do if your that way inclined, the entertainment team are relentless in getting people involved which is good to see. We preferred it around the pool bar where there is seating and a whirlpool twice daily. The beach was lovely and the sea too, we spent a lot of time here. Always sun loungers available and if your wanting a more relaxing day this is for you. About a 50m walk to the bar at most so if that's a problem then maybe you shouldn't be going on holiday ( saw someone complaining of this previously ). The bars are usually busy so you may have to queue for a couple of minutes at the most, not a problem, but the staff are really friendly.
The only issue we had with the hotel at all was the rudeness of the visiting Tunisians / Africans. There kids are poorly behaved and not watched by the parents, and they don't understand the principle of queues. Because we are the foreigners and they are locals, they decide they can just walk straight to the front of a queue and speak Arabic in order to jump the queue and place there order ahead of you. I'd like to see more done by the staff to prevent this, rather than just letting it happen, it was extremely frustrating and we weren't the only people to pick up on it.
That's our only negative on what was a brilliant holiday, and surpasses our time in Turkey and Egypt. Thanks for making it a great time, we highly recommend your hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Martin F,

we are truly pleased reading your detailed and kind review. We are aware the behavior and manners may be different, as the cultures are and we keep an eye on it - even if it is sometimes quite difficult to handle and to understand. Thank you so much mentioning so many positives about the SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel - we really appreciate.

Looking forward welcoming you back
Kindest regards
The SENTIDO Phenicia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
3.1 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.1 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Village Manar
Holiday Village Manar
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#24 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Averroes
Iberostar Averroes
#10 of 117 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing