We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Le Hammamet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hammamet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Hammamet Hotel
Ranked #83 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Eexcellant going back 17th November for 3 weeks cant wait .i have stayed in this hotel since 1986 about 35 times Tunisia is a place you either love or hate there is no happy medium i am afraid this is my 27th year please do not compare it to typical european holidays . i have taken children elderly and disabled people with me food rooms a bit dated but clean food fresh and staff very friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JULIEHAVANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked the last 6 nights of our 2 week stay due to a terrible first hotel and it was lovely, we stayed in the Royal Residence part of the hotel which has it's own pool and bar, we had a 3 bedroom suite which was spotlessly clean and the cleaners came every day and changed bed sheets and replaced the towels, they kept the whole place immaculate.

The grounds within both sets of accommodation are kept immaculate, this includes the 300m walk to the beach which is for guests of the hotel only.

The food choice is plentiful for the amount of the guests at the hotel, there is enough choice for even the fussiest of eaters, the beach also does a lunch choice from 11.30 - 4.00 ish which is limited but very nice. The waiters are great, if you tip them (doesn't have to be much, they're happy with a couple of dinars (80p roughly) they'll look after you ... They have a late breakfast and a late lunch in the smaller bar upstairs, they also have evening nightclub which my son and husband went to one night, being English they were treated like Royalty, this hotel is owned by Dessole and they mainly book to Russian tourists so as you can imagine the whole hotel had about 98% Russian a few Algerian families and 1 English family, us, this did by no means make our time there any less enjoyable, if anything the opposite.

There was not one member of staff to complain about, they would all go out of there way to make you feel at home, any problems and they were resolved immediately.

I have read a few of the other reviews on here and cannot fault the accomodation, don't get me wrong its by no means the Ritz but it is kept immaculately clean, we did not encounter any sewerage smells, well not within the hotel anyway.

There are some lovely Restaurants all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel should you want to eat out, a taxi into Hammamet is no more than 5 dinar £2 ... The Yasmine is about 6 miles away and would cost about £3.50 in a taxi ....

If you're looking for somewhere where you will not have to mix with other English families then this is definitely a hotel for you, if you want English company try Les Orangers in Hammamet or Iberostar in Yasmine Hammamet

Finally if you've never visited Tunisia it is well to remember that it is not like Europe, it is Northern Africa and they do have political issues at present which reflects on some of the areas, this should not however put you off somewhere that has the most pleasant local people, guaranteed sunshine and best of all cheap !!

Room Tip: Ask for the Royal Residence side of the hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rdbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our first trip to Tunisia, I can honestly say I won't be rushing back any time soon. Hotel was in much need of renovation, the grounds were full of plants and overgrown bushes, however was quite nice walking through them to get to the room. The rooms were tired and not exactly
The cleanest. We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, a minute walk to the pool.

The animation/entertainment team were ok and they were there most nights. Became a bit repetitive after a week. One of the best things about the holiday I think my husband would say is the guy who made the fresh doughnuts and drizzled them in chocolate and sold them around the pool, they were bigger than your hand and very fresh and scrumptious as my husband had about 3 in one day!

Overall wouldn't recommend to anyone. We were there July 2011. The weather was very hot in that week, on the last day it was 46 c. My husband got heat stroke!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deebee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The room was very outdated, dirty and had an unpleasant odor. Taps in the bathroom full of rust.The hotel staff, especially the reception was very indifferent and unkind. The only positive impression left is a restaurant with a solid selection of food. In any case, the hotel is not even close to a 4 star.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Vuk8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

It was my first trip to Tunisia and I never forget it! This hotel will be always in my heart. Lovely accommodation in beautiful garden, room always clean! (very good housekeeping). I like this hotel also because is not big one. Superb and tasty food. Nice beach is close to hotel (about 300m). What do you want more?

Room Tip: I prefer room in the garden, not around the pool - there is little bit noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dracen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A belated report: We had a super holiday in Tunisia during April 2009 and part of it was due to this hotel. We stayed in the Royale Residence and had our meals in Le Hammamet Hotel. Our accommodation was excellent and kept clean. We found all the staff very pleasant. The food was superb which consisted of the more familiar Western European dishes to Tunisian/North African dishes. We always enjoy savouring local food whilst on holiday and it turned out to be a real treat here.

The 2 hotels are joined together via the delightful gardens. All the accommodation looked lovely in these settings. The walk down to the beach is superb. The 2 coach trips we had to Tunis and El Jem were splendid days out. Old Hammamet has an interesting Medina but the local traders can be a bit tiresome trying to get you to part with your money. But don't be put off by them, it is a poor country.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baldricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

In a dead end street, good food, staff typically Tunisian a bit slow but this is the part of the folklore, nice hammam, a bit too much chlorine in the pool. Out of both the old Hammamet and Y. Hammamet, somewere in the middle I would say, but you can take a nice beach walk or one of the taxi sitting outside the hotel 0-24. Stayed there in July 2009

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Hammamet
Residence Hammamet
#109 of 119 in Hammamet
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#27 of 119 in Hammamet
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#30 of 119 in Hammamet
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.0 mi away
Caribbean World Hammamet Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hammamet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hammamet Hotel

Address: Rue de Nevers, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £38 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hammamet Le Hotel
Hotel Le Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing