We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterranee Thalasso Golf
Ranked #34 of 119 Hotels in Hammamet
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews but after reading reviews saying ''DON'T STAY'' I felt like I had too! For the price you pay this hotel is bloody brilliant! A few things do need updating but maybe that's just because I like things to be all modern, but in all honestly it's a real gem this hotel! The animation team are top notch, such a laugh! MOMO was the best I think, top bloke! There was a downside and that was some of the bar staff! Some of them seemed disinterested and it felt like they couldn't be bothered with you but hey, you still get your drinks! The rooms are lovely with a lovely view! Yes you only get a sheet to sleep with but its bloody 40 degrees, what do you want? A feather duvet? SO, DO STAY! Ignore the stupid one star reviews! Hopefully be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoshuaMarsay-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cléopatre M, Responsable commercial at Mediterranee Thalasso Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear JoshuaMarsay,
Thank you verryyy much for your kind comment !!
We are pleased to read that our team was able to manage your expectations and you had a wonderful holiday with us.
Your kind comment about the Smartline Mediterranee Hotel , our colleagues and the quality of our service is highly appreciated. We have shared your comment with the team and they are very happy to hear that their efforts have been recognized and you had a fantastic holiday with us.


Please feel welcome anytime.

Best regards
The Smartline Mediterranee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a brilliant weeks holiday at the mediterranee. Yes we did read reviews before we went but we had an open mind. On arrival there was plated cold salad which was nice but we were tired so just wanted to sleep. Room was good, full air conditioning, comfortable bed and lots of storage space. Cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding. Restaurant was clean and the variety of food was amazing. Food was labelled but if not you only had to ask what it was. Animation team were excellent, not pushy to join in but gave immense effort in what they were doing. Their shows were great and at times we laughed so much our sides hurt. Hotel not in busy area but for very cheap taxi journey you could get to town. Hotel had various nationalities staying and at all times the staff were friendly and helpful. We came home fully recharged with great memories of a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room near reception and on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Are holiday to Tunisia was awful, after what was meant to be a 1hr transfer it was over 2hrs.
We arrived at midnight and they showed us to are rooms.
The shower head was broken, the shower room was dirty, the room itself was the furthest away from reception even though we requested to be nearest the main part of the building. Dirty, filthy, bed was rock hard, had a sheet for a cover, air con didn't work.

The room was not the standard room advertised this room was awful and disgusting my heart instantly sank to think I would spend the entire week here. The shower head was broken so only pointed to the left towards the wall if it pointed outwards it would soak the entire bathroom but as the holder was broken it couldn't actually point directly at you any way. The floor in the shower cubicle was filthy and rotten. The room looked like something that a servant would be given not a paying guest. So after dropping our cases in the room we went to find the restaurant where the dinner had been left for us. The lights of the restaurant was off and know one was around so we had to find the plates for ourselves in the dark.

There had been 6 plates left out covered in cling film except for the bread roll that was left out for anyone to touch. The food was dry and old like it had been the left overs from two days ago, the salad was all dried up and the ham I think that's what it was had dried up around the edges it was darker and horrible so we went to bed hungry hoping breakfast would be better.

When we woke up we went to breakfast & had a walk around the complex. Again breakfast was a disappointment nothing was labelled we couldn't tell what was what, the only fruit available was the fruit in a yoghurt again the fruit in the yoghurt looked dried and old. After breakfast we made our way to the pool where we bumped into the entertainment guys and asked about the jet ski's and water sports. They literally laughed at us and said it was too early for those sports, which proves we were grossly miss sold this holiday. After speaking with them for awhile we found out we were the first English people to stay at the hotel and normally it would be the older generation to go there.

Finally the rep arrived and we told her how we felt and the concerns we had, she explained we had arrived on the very first day of the season so most things wouldn't be available just yet like the water sports it would be another few weeks. We told her how unhappy we were with the rooms and how we felt so far this holiday was a disaster & that we felt we'd been told what we wanted to hear just so they could get a sale and that we'd been miss sold the entire holiday.

She told us the hotel was new to the Thomas cook range and it was her first day there too, had we been informed at the start that the 2nd May was the start of the season & some things wouldn't be running yet or that we would be the first English guests at this hotel we would have reconsidered and gone later in the year/somewhere else, money wasn't an issue we just wanted a really nice holiday as three couples. The rep had to speak with management regarding the food, we asked to move rooms but this couldn't be done as nothing else was available, they didn't even offer to fix the shower or clean it.

She then offered to move us to another hotel she felt was better suited for us but it would cost £60 as this was effectively upgrading. At this point in time we were happy to pay this so we could just enjoy the rest of the holiday.I'd also like to add that the surrounding area of Smartline Mediterranee did not appear safe for us to walk around by ourselves & we didn't see any restaurants that we may be able to go to.

Having only stayed in this hotel one night I didn't rate it at all. We've made a number of complaints to Thomas Cook who have brushed these issues a side & said because we moved hotels and everyone else who stayed it rated it as satisfactory there was nothing they were going to do. Extremely disappointed, unsatisfied, saved for a fantastic holiday to wish I'd never gone.

Room Tip: just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cléopatre M, Responsable commercial at Mediterranee Thalasso Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We feel sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations with regards to the room quality as well as the food at the restaurant which we apologize for - however our staff is always trying to do their best to resolve any issues - if they may occur. A few procedures are in place to make you feel home upon your arrival:
- Giving you the first essential information about the facilities at the resort

-Our reception staff at your service (24/24)

Please be assured if you were not happy with the room you got there is always a possibility to move, our common target is the entire satisfaction of our guests.


We do sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to serve you and make up for any deficiencies you experienced and which are not representative to our services and quality.

Kind regards
The smartline Mediterranee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Was looking to going away with our group of friends so went into the local travel agent to speak to someone about what the best deal was for what we were looking for. We were only left with HUGE disappointment from the minute we stepped off the plane in Tunisia. We are 3x couples all aged between 23 and 28 so what we wanted was things to do in the day time as well as something to do in the evening but we were not after the clubbing scene so we were told Tunisia, Hammermet would be ideal. Our paperwork showed that the hotel transfer would be an hour, after travelling late in the day we found it took just over 2 hours to reach this hotel. It was pitch black when we were travelling so we did not have any idea what we would be lead to. When we arrived we found the hotel to be very basic and it does not live up to what it looks like in the pictures. They are not a true reflection of this hotel at all. We arrived in the hotel after the 2 hour transfer and were greeted with a drink which was nice. W were then given our keys to the room to which we found the walk to our bedrooms was 10 mins. The guy carrying some bags even gave up before we got there! We were placed at the other end of the hotel miles away from the reception, the bar and even the outside space. The rooms were very basic, they were dirty and quite small. They felt a little bit dark and dingy too. We found that the food was dry and left out uncovered for a while. None of the food was labelled so you didn't know what your eating. The food options were poor, there was not much available to eat. The main pool was in the shade covered over by palm trees so everyone was crowded round one pool trying to lay in the sun. The hotel was in a part of the town you couldn't go out and walk around, it was right on the beach but nothing was down there. The beach was just miles and miles of sand and water there was no chairs out for people to sit on and the activities we were promised did not exist. The only thing this hotel had going for it was the indoor pool being warm and big enough for a crowd and the entertainment guys were fantastic. Unfortunately we only lasted the night we arrived before we had to move the next morning as everything was just getting worse! Do not go here if you are looking to leave the hotel or lye on the beach. We found this holiday was not good value for money and it was NOT what we asked for. This isn't placed in a good part town and there is nothing in this hotel for a young group of friends to enjoy.

Room Tip: There isn't one they are all miles from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 91MissyMoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my aunt have just got back from a week at the Mediterranee. We paid a great price and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the holiday overall. Standard Tunisian style breakfast but lunch and dinner were good with enough choice for fussier eaters- all inclusive so will get repetitive if staying for longer, as with most all inclusive holidays. The rooms were well kept, traditional , basic but very clean with air conditioning. Very close to the beach, great service from the waiters and poolside staff. I booked a camel ride directly on the beach outside for 20 dinar, alot cheaper then booking through the reps. Water sports like boats and pedalos etc included in the all inclusive package. The all inclusive drinks side was ok, but the barman didn't like you ordering more than one drink at a time. But what made our holiday were the fantastic ANIMATION TEAM! They are all very enthusiastic, extremely hard working and a credit to the hotel. They encouraged participation in the day time activities like aqua aerobics (in the pool and sea), archery etc and put on hilarious shows in the evening, along with other shows that came from outside the hotel, like the snake charmer and belly dancer/fire eater nights (both great). Recommend visiting the marina and medina in Yasmin, but really haggle as jewellery which started at 80 dinar we ended up getting for 20!!
Special thanks to Momo, Marou, Ramsey and the rest of the team for making our stay a memorable one- give them a pay rise, they deserve it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cléopatre M, Responsable commercial at Mediterranee Thalasso Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Hayley b,

thank you very much sharing your holiday impression with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased learning you had an amazing week with us at the smartline Mediterranee Hotel. We learnt you enjoyed the service provided by our team especially our animation team.


Nearly everything was perfect - and we are working on a daily basis to improve where required.
Just come back for another holiday with your aunt - to exceed your expectations during your next holiday.

Best regards
The Smartline Mediterranee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Only 50mins on the transfer! It was for a holiday for me and my friend and it was the first time I have done all inclusive. The hotel is very clean, Got help to our room, unfortunately we didn't have the greatest view, but we barely spent time in our room.
The food was great, had no problems with the food, as I'm a fussy eater.
So much to do in the day time, they all have water-sports, archery, dance lesson and zumba!
The Animation team! Well they made our holiday even better with all the shows they put on! Always gave us a laugh! ALWAYS have smiles on their faces walking around making sure everyone was enjoying their holiday! I'd like to thank them all for making my holiday unforgettable!
Coming back next year no doubt!

Keep it up! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannaa_192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cléopatre M, Responsable commercial at Mediterranee Thalasso Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Joannaa,

we are so pleased reading your kind comment on Tripadvisor- thank you so much!
The satisfaction of our guests is our daily wish - our daily dream is to exceed all guests' expectatations - if we succeeded that's our main award.

We are looking forward welcoming you back next year - to exceed your expectations during your next holiday with us at the Smartline Mediterranee Hotel.

Best regards from all of us
The Smartline Mediterranee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I've just got back from this hotel where me and my partner went for 2 weeks. We arrived at 01:30am on the Sunday and got checked in quick, I asked for a bottle of water as we were thirsty from travelling. I asked could I change some £ into TND as I wanted to give the porter a tip, also the bank was shut on the Sunday. I did not get a receipt from the night shift man on reception. The porter taken our cases and showed us to our room. I later found out on the Monday I was about 38 TND short, so will always ask for a receipt if changing money. The banker in the morning always give you a receipt and counted the money with you.
The hotel was great for what we wanted, which was to chill out by the pool and the beach was only only a two minute walk. The hotel was clean and large Rooms cleaned daily to a good standard. Also had a nice kingsize bed.
There were three pools, one kids pool and a nice quiet salt water pool and a louder pool area. The animation team was great MOMO always made us laugh we met loads of friends and he had them all laughing. The lifegaurd at the pool Mohamed was lovely and always helped my partner to get a sun loungers, he was kept busy with all three pools to look after. The beach is lovely and clean, easy to get sun loungers also with free pedalos if you want to go out onto the sea for 15 minutes. The food is what you pay for It was nice enough but sometimes repetitive. There was always something to eat at the restatraunt but sometimes felt a bit repetaive. The taxis are really cheap and could take you to a restaurant for something different to eat, also the food is cheap to buy at restaurants and good quality. The breakfast was pretty standard but always someting to eat, the waiter we had at the restaurant we gave him a tip the first night and at the end of the holiday and really looked after us at meal times. The waiters in the bars always gave good service whether you tipped them or not Sammi always asked us if we wanted a drink when sitted with friends and could remember all the drinks.
The wifi is very slow and only available in reception, could do with a upgrade.
There are lots of activities to do such as archery, yoga, water polo etc if you want to do them. If you don't the staff are friendly and unpushy. We didn't go to many the evening shows as we met loads of friends but there was a guy singing and playing the keyboard most nights on the patio area which was good.
I would visit again as the value for money is so good and the beach and pool areas were lovely. Overall fantastic holiday can not wait to go back next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cléopatre M, Responsable commercial at Mediterranee Thalasso Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you very much - we are more than pleased reading your detailed review. We noticed how much heart you put in, especially by mentioning all the positives. Your praise of all the team is highly appreciated as well.

A big "thank you" for recognizing our daily efforts.
We will be truly more than delighted welcoming you back to your next holiday with us.

Best regards
The Smartline Mediterranee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 119 in Hammamet
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Azur
Hotel Bel Azur
#41 of 119 in Hammamet
236 reviews
6.9 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#26 of 119 in Hammamet
889 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#24 of 119 in Hammamet
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Thalasso Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Thalasso Golf

Address: Bp 30, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia (Formerly smartline Mediteranee)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: £43 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranee Thalasso Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Mediterranee is located on a sandy beach, just 3km away from the resort centre of Hammamet. Take a relaxing dip in one of the two pools or enjoy a pampering session in the thalasso centre. Take your pick from a selection of activities, including tennis, archery and volleyball, then get the family together for live shows and dance competitions in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mediterranee Thalasso Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranee Thalasso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing