We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shalimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shalimar
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strange place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived all looked good and the pool area was fantastic. You can't expect English customs in Tunisia but they certainly don't cater for a British clientele. The food was the worst selection we've ever had and we came home with dihorrea. God help you if you took young children as they would never eat. If you want a holiday with a loud continual disco then it's perfect for you but no amount of complaining seemed to get it turned down. Also you get constantly badgered by somebody selling something. If you want a relaxing holiday with reasonable food and drink don't bother coming here. It has put my wife and I off coming to Tunisia again. Oh! By the way the weather was fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank simonrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    101
    65
    47
    64
See reviews for
138
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Of course when you arrive after a long journey, you might think...hmmm not too sure about this place, and yes it is not what we expect of a 4 Star European or American grading! Bathrooms and elevators could do with some work.The 2nd elevator always took us to the 2nd floor instead of going down...did that spoil our holiday?? Far from it! The Rooms were very clean, the staff very friendly, from the reception to the restaurant staff (special thank you to our Waiter Sala!)the barmen, the room attendants, as well as the shop assistants. Nevery missed a Hello and Have a nice day. Food from the Buffet was varied, Tunisian wine was very nice and the Animation Team deserve were also great as they did a great job entertaining the children.
The outside pool was very clean as well as the lovely and warm indoor pool. 5 minutes walk from the beach and away from the Touristic Trap of Yasmine Hammamet. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Holiday was great enjoyed Tunisia, would go again however would upgrade hotel next time. Price was good however evening shows were held in conference room with no bar. So not many guests would turn up. Even I had to as had children who were involved with the mini disco every night at 8:30. The hotel needed some maintenance work to be carried out regarding railings on balcony, shower fixings, air con.
Animation crew were good spoke ok English and understood must of the time. Children and partner did enjoy so holiday was a success. Had some great weather so the little bits didn't bother us.
Give Tunisia a try its a great country.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luth1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is truly horrific, first day on arrival staff seemed to be OK, after going to our room it was run down and overlooking the sewer plant nextdoor, asked to be moved to a different room which they did after showing us 3 rooms to pick from but then got told we was not aloud the 1st 2, so had to pick the last which then looked over roofing with broken glass everywhere,

The outside space OK.. food was herendous lacked variety and was basically leftovers from previous meal,

1 drink per person served in plastic cups and if you asked for anything felt like it was too much to ask for,

Hotel rep was useless did not want to help out at all..

Walk to the beach all though only a couple of mins away you basically walk through rubbish to get thier and a bad smell in the air,

Also after dinner that closed at 7 thier was know where you could get food from, was told you could get out and buy some from the supermarket up the road (meant to be all inclusive) we went to go out but felt so unsafe and had to walk back to the hotel

After a series of complaints we eventually got moved.. was only thier 2 days and that felt like a eternity... if I could score a 0 I would... stay well away from this hotel..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked at fairly short notice as my partner and I fancied a week of sunshine to relax, we had a lovely time and enjoyed our stay at The Shalimar with only a few minor hesitations, for such a low cost holiday you can’t really go wrong!

We booked it based mainly on the pool which is lovely and a good size, nice and clean and with great sun bed facilities around, there is also an indoor pool which was perfect for the earlier mornings and the not so warm days. The outdoor pool does have loud pop music playing all day by the animation team which might not be to everyone’s taste!

The room was perfectly nice, not luxurious but it was clean and tidy with the facilities you would expect. Only negatives were no fridge, no hairdryer and because we were in the main building it was noisy at night.

The rest of the hotel facilities were all fine, the bar was nice and the beach is very close, just a short stroll down the road (less than 5 mins). The town is a very short taxi ride away and costs about £1-£2. The pool bar was never open though so only the main restaurant for food. The staff were perfectly nice and polite, even when they were struggling with the English.

The only real complaint we had was with the food. Breakfast was fine but there was limited choice at lunch and dinner, plenty of salad but the hot buffet was very basic, only a few dishes to choose from and not to the highest standard. The soft drinks were very sweet and a bit sickly but the wine was actually surprisingly nice for an all-inclusive resort so that was a plus.

All in all we had a lovely time, I think we went just a bit too early in the year, the weather wasn't quite as hot as we would have liked and things weren't really set-up properly for the tourists yet, but these were only little things and so didn't really matter.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas rather than the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just got back from a two week holiday, stayed at hotel shalimar in hammermet Tunisia, the rooms were ok, food was terrible, no we're to dry your hands after useing the toilet, bar closed at 11pm and every night at around 10-30 am they always ran out of vodka, only 1 drink was allowed at a time, hotel was run by a bank, holiday rep was so horrible and arrogant I nearly punched her lights out. Nothing to do for young children, I would not even recommend this hotel to homeless people, DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT A HOTEL FROM HELL.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline19632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel very poor
Food was of a very poor quality
Staff did not speak much English
Throughout the stay toilet did not work. Told staff this a number of times, they stated they had fixed problem however problem was always there .
If it were not for the British especially the Liverpool guests me and my friend would have not enjoyed any part of the stay.
I would urge people not too book there unless it is bull dozed,rebuilt and some of the staff are reincarnated as better cooks,chefs and waiters.

Shepherd

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Menara
Hotel Menara
#46 of 118 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#63 of 118 in Hammamet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence la Paix
Residence la Paix
#53 of 118 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
Hotel Le Royal Hammamet
#37 of 118 in Hammamet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hammamet Garden Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shalimar

Property: Hotel Shalimar
Address: Jinene El Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shalimar 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shalimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing