We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beachfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sindbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sindbad
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beachfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

The Sindbad has the benefit of being located right on a great beach, so if lazy days in the sunshine is your thing - then the Sindbad won't disappoint.

The service throughout the hotel is excellent especially in the restaurants and on the beach, where the beach waiters work really hard to serve you ice buckets of wine or water, cool beers and a full lunch menu. Well worth starting your holiday by finding your favourite spot (ours was far left, plenty of space) and tipping the waiter with a couple of quid.

The food throughout the restaurants was very high standard (we were just B&B) so can't comment on the half board fare. Personally I'd never stay HB or AI as there's so many restaurants in places like this that it would be pretty boring to stay in the hotel each evening.

For just £2 cab fare you can go into the town. We tried 4 different restaurants in Hammamet, the best by far being le Barberousse, which is located in the medina. Worth booking in advance and asking for a table with a view of the sea.

If the Sindbad needs any improvements it's in the bedrooms which, whilst comfortable, lacked any hint of luxury that a 5* hotel needs. The maid looked after us well (again a small tip each day is a good investment). Some of the communal walkways were not kept as clean as they should have been - nothing horrendous, just not prisitine.

Overall, I'd recommend the Sindbad if you like a beach hotel with good food and service to match.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    201
    79
    28
    19
See reviews for
123
298
47
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middlesex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

just returned for the second time at this fantastic hotel we just love it. it has every think for us all in one place. great beach good food clean rooms and lovely pools. we are going back next year for sure. it is the best hotel for a relaxing week away .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloverHounslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel is really nice. Set in beautifully maintained gardens right on the beach. If a quiet holiday is what you are looking for this hotel is perfect. Although worth mentioning is that it is not in the town center of Hammamet as we thought when we booked it. Takes about 30 minutes to walk to the medina and 4 minutes of so in a taxi.

The Sindbad offers great pool and beach areas. Free sunchairs and towels each day. Breakfast buffet was good, with a nice selection of food. The dinner/ lunch food at the hotel was pricy and frankly speaking not very tasty, very bland- I can not recommend dining here. We had lunch by the beach and dinner by the pool at the Sindbad and neither of the two dining experiences impressed me and my partner.

The staff at the hotel were ok. Reception staff could be more helpful, breakfast staff were nice and welcoming, and the man in a hat who helped us with our sunbeds on the beach everyday was lovely! The cleaning lady who made up our room each day was fantastic- fresh flowers on the bed each day : )

So in short; if you are going to Hammamet this is a great hotel to stay at, clean and really beautiful although the food was not so good (breakfast was nice).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikahelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel Sindbad was exactly as was promised in the brochure. The rooms, clean, fresh and up to date. Restaurant and staff excellent, food good and liked the change between waiter service and buffet through the holiday.

Beach excellent, great service from beach staff, from sunbeds to lunch service on the beach.

Enjoyed nighttime entertainment around the pool, lovely ambience all around the hotel.

Reception staff spoke several languages fluently and were very helpful at all times.

I cannot really fault this hotel and will certainly be going back there next year, they made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Nice hotel, very clean. Nice Spa, pools, restaurant.
Personnel is somewhat friendly but have a hard time smiling especially during the Ramadan season. The whole experience was very good. Amazed that personnel can speak French, English, Italian, German, Arabic and Spanish. Nice family resort and amazing beach and ocean. Would recommend

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank NatIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Booked this hotel based on excellent reviews and it lived up to our expectations. Tunisians 5* is our 4* but this is typical of most African and European countries.

On arrival we had drinks served to us and swift professional check in with concierge.
It seems mostly to be a couples retreat for all adult ages, giving it a very relaxing atmosphere.
As purposely chosen, there are no organised activities (or animation team) however in hindsight a hotel pedalo or canoe would have been welcome. Watersports tend to run from Yasmine Hammamet which is a purpose built resort 10 – 15mins by taxi approx. £3.50 (looks a bit like Disney Land in our opinion)

We booked this hotel through Travel Republic who were very competitive and offered very cheap return transfers for a total of £14 (for 2 adults this was unbelievable). The mini bus and coach were on time and comfortable, we could not have asked for more (others seemed to be paying £50+).
We learnt that this hotel truly does seem to be the best hotel in hammamet (as said by many locals and tourists who have travelled around Tunisia) and where others may have negative reports from Tunisia we can not sing the countries praises enough.

The following notes are observations and tips from our glorious stay:

Rooms –
Excellent, spacious, HUGE bed. Very clean, bath with shower as well as a very large separate shower unit. Fresh flowers and towels everyday with a very attentive cleaner (we tipped 10 Dinar at the start and finish of the stay but is probably not essential but made for a good relationship). Unfortunately we found 2 cockroaches on separate occasions in the evenings but house keeping were exceptionally proficient to respond and thoroughly cleaned the room (even at 9pm!) Unfortunately cockroaches can be expected in this climate and garden setting.

Beach –
Absolutely stunning, golden sand with clear water (this was what really made our stay tremendous). Some days the water was as still as a pond and others the waves were great for body boarding, both still with clear skies! When the beach is busy there could be a little confusion from beach staff and in the afternoon a shortage of towels. They offered a good waiter service for food and drink but could obviously be found a lot cheaper in local restaurants (as to be expected).

Food/ Restaurant –
This hotel only offers half board which we were very satisfied with. The main restaurant does 3 buffets a week and on the other nights a menu with 4 options is available. Drinks are not included. Breakfast was very diverse and delicious with food prepared in front of you (pancakes, eggs, omelettes, waffles etc) as well as a selection of fruits, cereals, breads, cold meats etc. The lunch menu offered down at the beach was wonderful but obviously more expensive than local restaurants. We went to eat Thai restaurant for one evening meal and were unimpressed by the quality and flavour of the food. The meat can only be described as unique (I have never seen chicken look like it did, grisly and fatty) and with only 1 other couple in the restaurant it speaks for itself. I would not recommend a visit.

Service –
This was exceptional; staff were discreet when necessary but warm/ welcoming and humorous when attending to your needs. Only occasionally did we ever need to ask for anything twice (with the exception of the beach staff who could do with better organisation and a system in place during the busy times).

Locality –
For us the location was excellent, we purposely wanted somewhere to hide away from for a week and enjoy each other in peace and tranquillity. The local medina (old town hammamet) is a 25min walk along the beach front which we did every day at lunchtime with ease in the sunshine and gorgeous breeze. Although the front of the hotel is not stunning you only need to go out that way if catching a taxi or buying large bottles of water from the shop about 50metres to the right (put this water into a ladies beach bag to be discreet).

Altogether we would strongly recommend this hotel if you want to visit this area of Tunisia as it really is the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiddles168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Myself and my fiance went to this hotel last year after an 11 night stay. This was without doubt one of the most wonderful hotels we have ever been to.This hotel is beautiful, inside and out. The interior is fantastic, and has a real feeling of luxury about it. The exterior is similarly lovely, with beautiful well-looked after gardens throughout the complex. By european standards it would probably be rated as a 4 star, but is certainly top of its class for Tunisia. The staff were very very friendly and extremely helpful at all times. Our room was lovely and had a real feeling of privacy about it - when we opened our balcony door we could hear the sea! From our hotel room it was a 2 minute walk down to the private beach, which had the most gorgeous golden sand I have ever walked upon. The food at the hotel was also first rate (we stayed half board) and the menu varied each evening, giving you an excellent choice of food options. I would heartily recommend going for the half board option as it represents excellent value. Tunisia cuisine featured regularly on the menu and was consistently gorgeous and delightful. Similarly, the breakfasts were stupendous and again the sheer variety of food available was mind blowing. The waiting staff were remarkable too and always incredibly respectful, courteous and humourous. We had one instance where I didnt like the soup that they served me (nothing wrong with it but it just wasnt to my taste) and the waiter noticed I hadnt touched it (by the way this was the ONLY instance in which I didnt like the food) and he insisted on swapping it for a different starter immediately, which was fantastic. The pool bar in the evening is a lovely place to relax with a beer or bottle of wine and the ambiance at the bar is incredible. Fantastically chic, with white sofas and low key ultra violet style lighting. Again the staff in the Pool bar were amazingly friendly, humourous and good natured, and I can honestly say I have never ever encountered such a friendly and truly warm people (and I have travelled extensively over the years). Outside the hotel, it is worth visiting the resorts of Yasmine and Hammamet Central. The former is a new-ish resort which is about 3 miles from the Sindbad and is a bustling and energetic sea port town with a thriving night life. I recommend a visit to the Medina there to take in one of the fantastically over the top cabaret nights (we saw an incredible show with guys eating fire and standing on beds of nails etc - a bit camp and cliched but still, if you get into the spirit of things, highly enjoyable). Yasmine is like a mini Las Vegas and if you approach it with that in mind you will enjoy it. Slightly closer to the Sindbad is Hammamet central which is untouched by modernity and has a beautiful old medina, with a wonderful sea front bar next door to it, which you can sit at and watch the sun go down. All in all this was a first class holiday and certainly one of the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Conez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
1.9 mi away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 118 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
3.5 mi away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#20 of 118 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
4.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
5.2 mi away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#31 of 118 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sindbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sindbad

Property: The Sindbad
Address: Avenue des Nations Unies, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#22 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#26 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sindbad 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent lush garden surrounded by palm trees and exotic plants you will find The Sindbad a charming hotel. Guest accommodation is in Moorish-styled bungalows with all comfort and amenities necessary to ensure a relaxing holiday. The 145 rooms and 9 suites have been entirely refurbished and are decorated in a contemporary style with an oriental touch. Be seduced by our exceptional service and our refined cuisine, offering flavours from around the world at anyone of our four restaurants. For your well being and relaxation, the hotel offers a choice of three swimming pools, one fitness room, a spa centre, yoga courses and in close proximity a horse riding centre. The Sindbad is a part owner of one of Tunisia's most beautiful golf courses, Citrus golf. Guests at our hotel benefit from a free shuttle bus and reduced green fee rates. Enjoy the charm, tranquility and pleasure of The Sindbad with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sindbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sindbad
Sindbad Hotel Hammamet
Sindbad Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing