We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected”
Review of Hotel Dar El Olf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dar El Olf
Ranked #82 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

just got back after 2 weeks , first the good points ,first class staff couldn't fault them especially Neufal the waiter and Ahmed and moomoo animation ,really nice, friendly and helpful . nice room overlooking the pool, nice pool area ... bad points even though ive mentioned the animation team there was no entertainment at night (except on Tuesday our last night ) I think it was because they were fed up of me complaining haa haa but sorry to say they needed a bit more practise ,well done to them anyway for trying . Lastly the food !!!! very poor , same thing everyday never hot. the chicken was always overcooked, at times you couldn't even cut it with a knife ... oh nearly forgot the beach !!! only about 5 sunbeds and no facilities at all for hotel guests . wont be going back !!!

Room Tip: ask for upstairs pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank headlander29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    148
    71
    75
    113
See reviews for
153
144
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We couldn't wait till our weekend is over at Dar olf to drop a line and give our feedback. The hotel cannot under any circumstance be ranked as a 4 star hotel. When we first arrived we were denied access to the hotel parking, the guy said it was full, at our astonishment we saw him being bribed by 4 Customers who were immediately given a space in the hotel parking. Once in the hotel , the reception skills of the lady at the desk were very poor not to say hostile. The wost is yet to come, we were given a HORRIBLE ROOM with a view onthe filthy ceilings of the hotel.it was absolutely stifling and boiling in the room and there was no ac functing. Water cuts in the bathroom were very frequent. The food was very basic. Here comes the surprise,guess what did we find in the room, a geko. We called the reception an the answer was " open the door, it will leave by itself". To cut a long story short, this is by far the worst hotel i ever visited in Tunisia. A golden tip, don't come, your holidays will be ruined

Room Tip: No ac, phone not functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heythem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Dar El Olf, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour;
Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires et nous espérons vous accueillir très bientôt à l'hôtel dar El olf .
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammamet hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful holiday stay at Hotel El Orf. First time in Tunisia for myself and my friend and we received a friendly and warm welcome from the Manager and reception. Staff always helpful, polite and friendly. Very relaxing hotel, nothing a problem for the great staff at Hotel El Orf. Very very clean and beautiful pool area, great food, always a choice and all freshly prepared every day. Fresh croissants great every morning. Lunch and dinners always very good with fresh salads and choice of hot food. Waiters attentive even on a busy weekend for them. Thank you to everyone at Hotel El Orf for making our stay so enjoyable. I would love to return to Tunisia and stay at Hotel El Orf.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tara201468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Its so lovely hotel nd i do like it and spend a wonderfull time there.its nearly to beach nd so lovely room,looking so nice nd so friendlu staff there.so i am sure no 1 will regret to spend sum wonderfull days.emmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gastonnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djerba Island, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the best hotel i ever seen in my life. the reception, room services, the meals. even the staff are so kind. if you want to spend a marvellous holiday i advise you by HOTEL ELOLF. you will not regret believe me ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mira1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castres, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As many have said, this can't be considered a four star hotel. However, would you really expect to get four star treatment for two star prices?
We stayed for 11 days in January 2013, all-inclusive. There were very few of us in the hotel - so few at times that the chef came out and asked us what we would like to eat at lunch time. He made some Tunisian specialities and really went the extra mile. Evening meals were a bit repetitive and generally cooled and cooled ( a microwave provided to warm things up) but again, there were only around 10 of us for evening meals at the time. Without exception all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, which made the holiday for us.
The indoor pool was nice and warm but no other facilities (night club, bowling alley or spa) were open. Rooms were cleaned daily and new towels provided. The beds were comfortable and the shower powerful with plentiful hot water. In the room the TV didn't work properly or the hairdryer. However, we were told we could swap rooms if we wished. In general the hotel is a bit run down and has seen better days. There were workmen there repainting a dark bar area and improving rooms on the 2nd floor but it is really in need of a complete facelift.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Medina, which has an excellent and cheap Hammam. One restaurant recommendation - the Mediterraneo Pizzaria/restaurant, above 'The view' English bar at the beach nearest the hotel. It's run by Italians, uses Italian ingredients and is simply superb. Treat yourselves.
Would we go back? Hammamet, yes. The Dar el-olf, probably not because there are plenty of other good / better hotels nearby.

Room Tip: The staff recommended 2nd floor rooms. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tominfrance81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Go and have fun at the best hotel in hammamet lovely staff great animation team and lovely cuisine stayed there for 8 days and felt like i was family so much hospitality one of the best vacation i ever had i just wanted to stay longer in hotel el olf because it was a great place to stay and i will be going back for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noureddine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Fell
Hotel El Fell
#64 of 117 in Hammamet
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Flora Park
Vincci Flora Park
#29 of 117 in Hammamet
861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
Hotel Bravo Hammamet
#42 of 117 in Hammamet
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Machmoum
Hotel Machmoum
#105 of 117 in Hammamet
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Palace
Marina Palace
#102 of 117 in Hammamet
297 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Nesrine
Hotel Nesrine
#52 of 117 in Hammamet
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar El Olf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar El Olf

Property: Hotel Dar El Olf
Address: Zone Touristique | Yasmine Hammamet, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar El Olf 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dar El Olf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Olf Hotel
El Olf Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing